Play Nice Random Chat Thread V

Yep, hard to take many positives out of a situation like this, but one silver lining is that it will hopefully steer those that are close to Ben (and maybe even some others, too) away from that kind of "indestructible, mouthy dickhead" behaviour down the track. TOD Jr and ten or so of his mates are just about to go away for some post-exams r&r, and this reality check of the worst kind will definitely weigh heavily on them and help to curb any smartarse behaviour when heading out to pubs, etc. So that's a plus.

Ben's mum and step-dad are doing it tough as you can no doubt imagine, but are receiving a lot of support from friends and the local community. GoFundMe page has been set up. Think they've raised about 10 grand in the 24 hours since kicking it off. Another plus.

Anyway, cheers, man. (And to SDS and krak, also.)
So sorry to hear TOD. I watched a mate get king hit by one of Kizons crew back in the day. My mate did noting but brush up against a car. He was ok, but 2 weeks later they did the same thing to another kid, in the same place, and that kid died. Its just so ****ed how a stupid act can cause so much pain.

I hope your lad and his mates pull together and help each other.

That second goal against England though 😘👌....
RIP Diego, you were a childhood hero of mine
What he did at Napoli was nothing short of amazing and completely out of control at the same time.

The movie Diego Maradona on Amazon is an absolute ripper.

A few years ago I worked with a guy from Naples and I once asked him if he thought Maradona was God. His reply: "No, I know he's God".

What he did at Napoli was nothing short of amazing and completely out of control at the same time.

The movie Diego Maradona on Amazon is an absolute ripper.

think they are still the last side not from Turin or Milan to win Serie A

The $10,000 cash ban has been dropped

That second goal against England though 😘👌....
RIP Diego, you were a childhood hero of mine
i must be a little older, was big soccer fan before crossing to AFL in under 11s. for me it was Pelé . but thats taking nothing away form Diego. other players i love for the combination of their skill and firey personalities would be Gazza and Cantona. Pelé was a true gentleman and a statesman as well as being brilliant.

Would have loved to have seen Georgie Best more and Pele

Sort of sad that for a lot of younger people George is remembered more for his quote "I spent most of my fortune on drink and women and wasted the rest" rather than his exquisite ball control. Both His and Peles ability to work through traffic were remarkable, defenders rarely stood a chance one on one.

Great quote though.
some of hes others were pretty memorable as well.

-. “If you’d given me the choice of going out and beating four men and smashing a goal in from 30 yards against Liverpool, or going to bed with Miss World it would be a hard choice. Luckily I’ve done both.”

-. “In 1969 I gave up women and alcohol. It was the worst 20 minutes of my life.”

-. “I used to go missing a lot. Miss Canada, Miss United Kingdom, Miss World...”

-. “Maradona good, Pele better, George Best.”

Can't believe you blokes haven't mentioned the very god like Chris Waddle 🤣🤔😂😂 the boy Giggs would have a great deal wider acclaim if he played for England. So many superstars of the game, Totti, Baggio, van Basten, even our very own H Kewell was so much better than people out here think, imo.

Kewell at Leeds = Awesome player
Kewell at Liverpool & after = shadow of a man

Kewell at Leeds = Awesome player
Kewell at Liverpool & after = shadow of a man
I asked him if playing at Leeds was the most fun he had had as a player and he said that he pretty much grew up with all of those lads, so yeah it was fun. Was always his dream to play for Liverpool. Yeah he started of ok but then really struggled. Still, a lot nicer bloke than many would reckon, with soooo much time for anyone. I have him up there with G.Archer and Stevo

I heard through a friend that met him he is really genuine in person, glad to hear you confirming it 👍
For our generation he always is in our hearts

Sad news about Maradona, probably not that unexpected though. The ‘party’ life catches up with you eventually. I absolutely idolised him growing up in the 80’s and 90’s. Incredible god given talent, no one compares. Messi for all his greatness will always be in Diego‘s shadow. Maradona carried a football obsessed country on his shoulders and won a World Cup off his own boot (and hand). A flawed character with almost child like qualities as Martin Tyler described him on radio this morning. If only he had good people around him instead of the leeches, pimps and mafioso he attracted. Should instead have been on the football gravy train like Pele. But he was always anti establishment, pro marxist, anti US etc. One of the great highlights of my sporting life was watching him live back in ‘93 when Australia played Argentina in a WC play off in Sydney.

Havnt mentioned oliver kahn either. So whats your point?

Was mainly hinting about the boy Waddle, but I was eating my lunch, got distracted and rattled off a few others.
About 40 seconds in he sits a young Giggs on his backside, lol, well almost :-D

3ab9d1023cbc0cf7427b1323a3030edd