Play Nice Random Chat Thread V

Every week 60 Minutes promotes and hypes up its ‘major’ story as if its some sort of Watergate level scandal. Tonight it just added a bit of extra mayo on the Ben Roberts scandal from a few months ago. Elite special forces psycho soldiers getting drunk and being top shelf dickheads in their downtime isn’t exactly the cover up scandal of the year. Don’t get why photos etc need to be taken in such instances, it can only come back to bite you on the arse. Yep a lot of horrible, unsavoury and ugly shit happens in war and in the battlefield. Doesn’t justify what has occurred here but war unfortunately has no rules and pleasantries. My guess is that Roberts has enemies within the special forces ranks and have basically ratted on him.

Every week 60 Minutes promotes and hypes up its ‘major’ story as if its some sort of Watergate level scandal. Tonight it just added a bit of extra mayo on the Ben Roberts scandal from a few months ago. Elite special forces psycho soldiers getting drunk and being top shelf dickheads in their downtime isn’t exactly the cover up scandal of the year. Don’t get why photos etc need to be taken in such instances, it can only come back to bite you on the arse. Yep a lot of horrible, unsavoury and ugly sh*t happens in war and in the battlefield. Doesn’t justify what has occurred here but war unfortunately has no rules and pleasantries. My guess is that Roberts has enemies within the special forces ranks and have basically ratted on him.

Will " all of Australia be watching " ?

Every week 60 Minutes promotes and hypes up its ‘major’ story as if its some sort of Watergate level scandal. Tonight it just added a bit of extra mayo on the Ben Roberts scandal from a few months ago. Elite special forces psycho soldiers getting drunk and being top shelf dickheads in their downtime isn’t exactly the cover up scandal of the year. Don’t get why photos etc need to be taken in such instances, it can only come back to bite you on the arse. Yep a lot of horrible, unsavoury and ugly sh*t happens in war and in the battlefield. Doesn’t justify what has occurred here but war unfortunately has no rules and pleasantries. My guess is that Roberts has enemies within the special forces ranks and have basically ratted on him.
Any idea on why he buried them?

Disappointed that we only have one home game in Victoria over the next 8 weeks

“Disappointment 2021”

Should have been a bumper sticker motto this year.

Wait a minu

I'd like to know why the **** people pull out their phones at a piss up?

When will they learn

On Pixel 4a (5G) using BigFooty.com mobile app

It’s all good. If what you’re googling puts you on a list then we’re all f’ed. The amount of crazy stuff I Google to show mates, settle debates, etc would have me on some sort of list.
Yeah, a google list to sell to advertising companies...

I was more worried about the war crimes and their validity, than the kkk dress up at a bloke piss up. Harry dressed with a Nazi armband at a party, doesn’t make him one. The news of a cover up is far more distributing and reprehensible.
There is alot of underlying racism in the military.

My experience is that the bloke beside you is your mate, and you trust him with your life, as he does you. I have stood beside the English, Irish, Koori, Fijian, Malaysian, American, Kiwi and your typical larikan Aussie and had to depend on them all. Is it there? Like everywhere or anywhere sadly, but at exactly the same time, it so is not. Imo.

My far briefer experience is similar. Never met a finer bunch of men and women in my life. They put up with a lot in service to their love ones, community and nation with minimal complaint. I imagine the more racist elements are the more combat-weary ones, but I am only guessing.

Even then I don’t think it’s racism. From my extremely limited knowledge of listening to them it’s more an us V them mentality. Race doesn’t come into it. My grandfather apparently loved the Vietnamese he fought with but hated the Vietnamese he fought.

Yeah i'm not having a go or denying that, but its no different to the rest of the country and at the same time most of the ex army people I know are open minded, not bigoted and not a pack of campaigners. I've been good mates with some, we've partied, fought, fought fires and played footy together.

But the blokes I knew who left in the 80s and ended up in Africa as mercenaries for example. I wouldn't say the same thing about them.

Yeah i'm not having a go or denying that, but its no different to the rest of the country and at the same time most of the ex army people I know are open minded, not bigoted and not a pack of campaigners. I've been good mates with some, we've partied, fought, fought fires and played footy together.

But the blokes I knew who left in the 80s and ended up in Africa as mercenaries for example. I wouldn't say the same thing about them.

A massive clue in that word, imo There are sh!t fish in every sea sadly.

Some of the stories I heard about 1980s Kapooka and some of the stuff they did 30+ years ago, I’m not surprised at what they produced in return.

This wasn't the lede you banana.

"Australia's most decorated soldier perverts course of justice and intimidates witnesses during investigation into his alleged war crimes" is what you eamn.

The fact that one of our most powerful media moguls is still backing him is pretty big news too.

I don’t think anyone can be shocked that we turn people into killing machines and they become killing machines.

THIS.

SAS went from being a reconnaissance unit to bloodthirsty commandos/regular infantry.

They shouldn't kicking in doors every night for years on end.

Howard starting the fetishing of the SAS, which is what has ruined them.

Will be 20 years this November since SAS started fighting in Afghanistan.

They were never designed for that kind of long and bloosdy COIN campaign.

No wonder parts of them went crook halfway through.

I've spent a fair bit of time with various miliatries over the journey.

In order of who I'd want to have a beer with, as in individual soldiers.

Americans, especially Marines

Daylight

Brits

Weeeks worth of daylight

Australians.

I've spent a fair bit of time with various miliatries over the journey.

In order of who I'd want to have a beer with, as in individual soldiers.

Americans, especially Marines

Daylight

Brits

Weeeks worth of daylight

Australians.
And you can certainly turn that on it's head as to who I would rather be fighting alongside. Just saying.