Play Nice Random Chat Thread V

The last few pages of this thread are for the toilet - as bad as anything in the first hour of an autopsy thread after a huge loss.

Yes, there are fringe elements on the left that want to cancel anything they find offensive. No, they are not reflective of broader society, or even the broader left-of-centre community.

Yes, there are fringe elements on the right that go out of their way both to offend people as much as possible in the name of “free speech” and to cry foul at the fringe elements of the left as though the “wokes” are trying to cancel everything. No, they are not reflective of broader society, or even the broader right-of-centre community.

Would still be nice to see people treat each other with a little more respect in this thread - no need for name calling and insults.

.......well hopefully we can start winning some games of footy so we can talk about finals, top 4, GF tickets, premierships etc instead of left, right, woke, nazi, Murdoch, ABC type shite.

Casually strolling through the Metropolis on the way to a night at the theatre with my best little mate. We spied a couple of dodgy looking fellas kinda casting their eyes over everyone, and then a rather masculine looking person in a red evening dress that was scowling like [PLAYERCARD]Ben Cunnington[/PLAYERCARD] at the tribunal last night. Little mate tells me he is scared and are there vampires in the city. I told him "nah mate. Don't be scared son, this is your city too. People in the city sometimes forget how to smile". "Why dad?" "They're too busy being busy mate, they need to calm their farm and just be a bit less uncool". "Yeah" he says. Then off to Shaun the Sheep. Get facked scary people!

Tassie guys like Ferbs and I sort it out.

Sorry to hear especially your little man.
Thanks mate, pretty sure he'll be fine :-) We've already gone the boxing pads as he is a rough little hombre. He's only grass high, but he had a bigger fat kid (for description purposes only) poking at him at indoor soccer. He slapped his hamburger greased fat hand (again, sorry, just for description purposes again) away and told him not to do that. Fat kids dad wobbled out and told his son "best leave him alone". Or words to that effect. Probably would have been easier to just throw him a Mars bar, but I am not sure of I can say that, so I left it out :-)

Coach Emeritus Scamper from today:
View attachment 1102839
he stood his ground today:
one of the ladies (who helps out) brings her 2 dogs with her. one of them was getting to close to Scamper and he hissed at him (and i saw the whole thing)
he maybe a nice little Geelong Cat, but don't mess with him.

They’re actually pagan rituals if you really care to look into it.

It's not my historical speciality, but I know quite a few people for whom this part of history is. The idea that Easter and Christmas are 'pagan' rituals and festivals or purely syncretized to co-opt already pre-existing historical festivals and customs is as much a bastardization of history as the train of thought that adamantly denies that some of the more peripheral cultural customs around those times have anything to do with pre-Christmas cultural customs. It's a fairly Anglo-German centric line of thought.

I can’t remember the name of the book, but it’s about the theory that the whole Santa and the flying reindeer comes from when people housed to eat those read and white spotted mushrooms and trip balls. It’s laid out perfectly in the book. Reindeers to this day still eat those mushrooms so they can trip out. When the practice was banned the Sharmans (elves) would sneak into peoples huts via their chimney to give them the mushrooms.

Obviously it’s more nuanced then it’s just a pagan ritual but it is historically accurate that when the Romans went Christian they co-opted a lot of the pagan rituals into Christianity to make it a smother transition.

I can’t remember the name of the book, but it’s about the theory that the whole Santa and the flying reindeer comes from when people housed to eat those read and white spotted mushrooms and trip balls. It’s laid out perfectly in the book. Reindeers to this day still eat those mushrooms so they can trip out. When the practice was banned the Sharmans (elves) would sneak into peoples huts via their chimney to give them the mushrooms.

Obviously it’s more nuanced then it’s just a pagan ritual but it is historically accurate that when the Romans went Christian they co-opted a lot of the pagan rituals into Christianity to make it a smother transition.

Santa Claus is based on Saint Nicholas, whose feast day in many Christian countries remains on December 6. My understanding is that the first mention of reindeer came from 19th century pop culture, some 1600 odd years after December 25th was determined as 9 months from the feast celebrating the conception on March 25th, and long long after the Romans converted to Christianity.

I love how some people have made history really interesting and accessible to the general public, but there are huge bodies of really respectable work on this stuff that kind of get shoved under the carpet sometimes.