Play Nice Random Chat Thread V

Have you used sarms? I did it years ago. Gave me heaps more strength and the gain was ok but not worth the money. At the time was about the same price as juice. Pretty sure it made my hair thin out a bit too.

Definitely not worth the money IMO and there's a reason I should be known as TheBaldMan rather than TheManBun. Did help heal a really busted shoulder though.

The Mind Has No Firewall.

It's a crazy article but the title hold a grain of truth. You need to code your own firewall for your mind. You can see the effects of not doing that on one of most prolific posters.

Yep, I was a hugely prolific Facebook user and it was only when I realised it was listening to me that I began to have doubts, but even then, like any good addict I was like nah surely not must be some other reason I wake up scratching and sniffing ever morning.

It was only when they just summarily banned me that I noticed its absence in a good way. I gave up alcohol around the same time, and I can honestly say there's been an equivalent improvement in my mental health from giving Facey as booze.

The other thing is that these outlets provide people who may be looking for one with an identity.

Angry old dude who won't cop shit from these up themselves young people with their dumb ideas is an identity as old as the hills, and these algorithms actively promote it.

Collingwood's version of Teffy got slapped down pretty hard on Twitter

View attachment 1131397

Hmmm, I'm with black and white Tef on this one.

She was Bulldog supporter in 2016 for the flag, now she's magically a Collingwood supporter?

This does actually look like a case of someone career/resume padding at the expense of a footy club.

And who are least likely to be culturally adept enough to realise just how much they are being played and sucked in.

Said before, saying it again, Facebook is the East India Company of our times, selling us opium in the form of our dopamine.

There’s an Australian researcher who’s now based in the US that did a study on it (can’t remember his name). He reckons they’ve figured out how to hijack the part of peoples brains that we have for survival. It’s why people get addicted to pokies. He used the example of a game called ‘flappy birds’, the game never ends, it just keeps going, the person who made it removed it because they were concerned by how addictive it is.

Edit- here’s his book

There’s an Australian researcher who’s now based in the US that did a study on it (can’t remember his name). He reckons they’ve figured out how to hijack the part of peoples brains that we have for survival. It’s why people get addicted to pokies. He used the example of a game called ‘flappy birds’, the game never ends, it just keeps going, the person who made it removed it because they were concerned by how addictive it is.

Oh completely. It is exactly the same risk/reward mechanism being tapped into via pokies that Facey et al use.

That Netflix doco recently on the subject was actually pretty good.

It was only when they just summarily banned me that I noticed its absence in a good way.

Exact same thing happened to me and despite the initial sadness of losing lots of photos and memories, it has been a blessing. I'm no longer interacting deeply with people I have virtually nothing to do with otherwise and have increased interactions with mates and family. Also much more relaxed and far less confrontational, and have a lot more time for genuinely enjoyable hobbies.

This is it, social media promotes confrontation.

Zerohedge just retweeted this, does anyone know someone who can speak the language check if it’s correct? I’m not buying it. No way China would be this sloppy. The timing is strange too, now that the lab leak hypothesis is mainstream.

I reckon it’s a troll.

Way too real man

A friend of mine is dealing with similar, in this case his sister has gone full QAnon nutso.

She came at it via another well worn path - wellness to anti vaxx to all the shit in the world - but it is basically no different to what your old man has done.

Tbh, I don't think there is much you can DO. They're in the heady stages of an addiction that we don't fully understand yet.

I'd try and focus on what you still have in common with your Dad, and avoid blueing about politics etc, you're not going to change his mind

Edit- here’s his book

Its called memetic warfare.

Memes (not internet memes but the things Richard Dawkins started talking about in The Selfish Gene,) are, for want of a more complex description, ideas that stay in your mind, hook your emotions and spread.

A chair is a meme, a spear is, as is a bow and arrow. A trap for game is. As is the knowledge of animals behaviour if you can exploit it for hunting.

The idea that strangers are dangerous. (Ie the unknown is a threat.) Also the idea that strangers are a benefit and can bring new ideas and genes to your tribe.

Indigenous cultural burning is a meme, cos if you walk around Australia naked and barefoot in summer then you need to manage the fuel loads the country creates. So Hazard Reduction burning is a meme as well (tho less effective cos HR burning can cause more problems than it solves. Its a much newer thing tho and hasn't had as much time to be tested and refined.)

Its not just ideas tho cos survival is an emotional thing. So its the interplay between your nervous system (and the ideas it works with) and your endocrine system, which plays a huge role in regulating emotional responses to situations including threats. IE the idea triggers emotional responses.

And on the surface threats (to culture and to life itself) seem to be the pathways modern memetic warfare uses. Its why so much of this stuff (on "both sides") is so Fight or Flight. Survival and fight or flight responses are the first neuropathways we activate when we are born (maybe even before we are born) and they are the oldest living response we can accurately quantify afaik. Move towards it and eat it or move away so it doesn't eat you.

It old circuitry in your nervous and endocrine systems.

I've never had a facebook account. Same with twitter.

My missus is admin for a music group with about 14 or 15 thousand members and its a constant shitfight, mostly over the political shit we are talking about here. But in any confrontational situation it almost immediately splits into two groups who start arguing with each other.

Zerohedge just retweeted this, does anyone know someone who can speak the language check if it’s correct? I’m not buying it. No way China would be this sloppy. The timing is strange too, now that the lab leak hypothesis is mainstream.

I reckon it’s a troll.

They may say it to stick it up the US but there is no way they'd be saying it if it was true because that is an act of war outside the agreed rules of war with worldwide collateral damage. It would invite all sorts of responses including a nuclear one. the US isn't the only country to have suffered from this.

If it could be proven China released the Wuhan Wheeze as a deliberate act of biological warfare and it was my call I'd immediately nuke Beijing, no warning or nothing. Just wipe that city off the face of the planet. How could you not? Its only a matter of time before they do it again with something worse or genetically targeted. India has nuclear weapons.

(If i was Chinese and could prove the US was responsible I'd react the same way.)

Maybe, if they were available, a kinetic weapon would be more appropriate.

Too right.

What have you done with your life?

It'll be over before you know it and you'll be looking back wondering why you wasted it caring about what the woke say.

I know who I'd be employing based purely on my observations here.

I reckon it’s a troll.

China and Iran were the first two countries absolutely obliterated by the virus, and despite all the secrecy and cover ups they still gave the world plenty of warning to keep the virus away from other countries' doorsteps - most of the world instead chose to do nothing. I know who I'd be looking at blaming and it ain't those two.