Play Nice Random Chat Thread VI

• Thread starter Thread starter DesertRoo

Yes.

It's also quite ironic about criticisms of his comedy style of "black ppl are like this, white ppl are like this..." considering he made it big through Chappelle and doing gigs in front of predominantly African Americans as well as being the only white comic on many of these occasions. he's always been very "progressive" when it comes to African Americans.

He's mellowed out and become more PC of late, his wife is a staunch democrat and with the the party moving further left he's unfortunately begun dumbing down his content to cater to this. has the occasional good rant, but nothing like the early days.

I reckon he’s toned it down a bit because of the Hollywood factor.

Joe Rogan is not in the same league intellectually as Sam Harris.

What Rogan said was absolutely and unequivocally racist and would qualify as white supremacist thinking. I disagree that most people say stupid sh*t of that nature from time to time, especially when they know they are being recorded.

Rogan admits that himself. He was quoted the other day when asked about the situation,

I used to say it if [I was talking about] a Richard Pryor bit or something, I would say it in context,” Rogan said. “Somebody made a compilation of every time I said that word over 14 years and they put it on YouTube, and it turned out that was racist as ****. Even to me! I’m me and I’m watching it saying, ‘Stop saying it!’ I put my cursor over the video and I’m like, ‘Four more minutes?!'”

“I haven’t used that word in years,” he added. “But it’s kind of weird people will get really mad if you use that weird and tweet about it on a phone that’s made by slaves,” and then segued into a bit about labor conditions at overseas cell phone factories.

Later, he mocked his other major controversy — the anti-vax information that’s been discussed on his podcast.

“I talk shit for a living — that’s why this is so baffling to me,” he said. “If you’re taking vaccine advice from me, is that really my fault? What dumb shit were you about to do when my stupid idea sounded better? ‘You know that dude who made people people eat animal dicks on TV? How does he feel about medicine?’ If you want my advice, don’t take my advice.”

He constantly refers to himself as a moron and a meat head. He does have some absolutely brilliant guests on though and it’s his ability to get them to explain things so the layman can understand what they’re talking about is what makes the interviews compelling.

Sometimes when you listen to two intellectuals having a conversation it can become a bit dry and boring, happens with the Lex Fridman podcast, Sam Harris’s podcast, Eric Weinstein's podcast.

Though those others I mentioned don’t have the range of guests on that Joe has, like comedians, fighters, hunters and musicians.

Rogan admits that himself. He was quoted the other day when asked about the situation,

I used to say it if [I was talking about] a Richard Pryor bit or something, I would say it in context,” Rogan said. “Somebody made a compilation of every time I said that word over 14 years and they put it on YouTube, and it turned out that was racist as fu**. Even to me! I’m me and I’m watching it saying, ‘Stop saying it!’ I put my cursor over the video and I’m like, ‘Four more minutes?!'”

“I haven’t used that word in years,” he added. “But it’s kind of weird people will get really mad if you use that weird and tweet about it on a phone that’s made by slaves,” and then segued into a bit about labor conditions at overseas cell phone factories.

Later, he mocked his other major controversy — the anti-vax information that’s been discussed on his podcast.

“I talk sh*t for a living — that’s why this is so baffling to me,” he said. “If you’re taking vaccine advice from me, is that really my fault? What dumb sh*t were you about to do when my stupid idea sounded better? ‘You know that dude who made people people eat animal dicks on TV? How does he feel about medicine?’ If you want my advice, don’t take my advice.”

He constantly refers to himself as a moron and a meat head. He does have some absolutely brilliant guests on though and it’s his ability to get them to explain things so the layman can understand what they’re talking about is what makes the interviews compelling.

Sometimes when you listen to two intellectuals having a conversation it can become a bit dry and boring, happens with the Lex Fridman podcast, Sam Harris’s podcast, Eric Weinstein's podcast.

Though those others I mentioned don’t have the range of guests on that Joe has, like comedians, fighters, hunters and musicians.
From my brief foray into the world of Joe Rogan a couple of days ago I would say a major problem is that he has guests on that purport to be experts but really aren't, like an American journalist on transgender issues, or an associate editor of the UK Spectator claiming that a society reflecting on gender and identity was a tell-tale sign of the fall of ancient empires.

But as you say, getting actual experts, with evidence-based research to support their claims can be dry and boring. Although, I don't generally find it so.

Fair points KT, let me just give you a little lesson. When you’re a student who catches public transport everywhere you have nothing else to do but surf the internet even when I’m going to chapel street to hang out with some friends or that special someone hehe.

Days off of work like today I have nothing to do so I just be lazy and shitpost whilst waiting for the clock to click to 5:50 so I can be on my way to footy training.

I also have O week coming up where it’s gonna be hectic.

I just love to talk about north rather than politics. People can post a lot and still have a life hehe
As I said, no judgement. I did the same as a student and still do when I'm bored.

The only person that was passing judgement was you to Mcarcherey.

From my brief foray into the world of Joe Rogan a couple of days ago I would say a major problem is that he has guests on that purport to be experts but really aren't, like an American journalist on transgender issues, or an associate editor of the UK Spectator claiming that a society reflecting on gender and identity was a tell-tale sign of the fall of ancient empires.

But as you say, getting actual experts, with evidence-based research to support their claims can be dry and boring. Although, I don't generally find it so.
Which is the issue with a lot of people. A 5 min google and people think they have Rogan all figured out.

He gets heaps of actual experts on.

As I said, no judgement. I did the same as a student and still do when I'm bored.

The only person that was passing judgement was you to Mcarcherey.
And imma keep on judging lmao because I personally think the Joe Rogan experience is the most boring podcast ever.

I follow a tiktoker who doesn’t share the same political views as me but he hits the nail on the head with this one.

Each to their own at the end of the day.

And imma keep on judging lmao because I personally think the Joe Rogan experience is the most boring podcast ever.

I follow a tiktoker who doesn’t share the same political views as me but he hits the nail on the head with this one.

Judge away, it's in your DNA after all...

Season 5 Nbc GIF by The Office

Fair points KT, let me just give you a little lesson. When you’re a student who catches public transport everywhere you have nothing else to do but surf the internet even when I’m going to chapel street to hang out with some friends or that special someone hehe.

Days off of work like today I have nothing to do so I just be lazy and shitpost whilst waiting for the clock to click to 5:50 so I can be on my way to footy training.

I also have O week coming up where it’s gonna be hectic.

I just love to talk about north rather than politics. People can post a lot and still have a life hehe
to be fair, when it comes to BF if there was a venn diagram of posting a lot and having a life then they'd just about be two complete different circles

Which is the issue with a lot of people. A 5 min google and people think they have Rogan all figured out.
I don't claim to have Rogan figured out at all. I don't even know what it means to have him "figured out".

What I do know is that Val listens to it and thinks that Abigail Shrier and Douglas Murray have some sort of expertise on the subjects they talk about. Not a criticism of Val or other listeners who might be led astray, it just highlights the problem with the "Don't listen to me, I'm a moron" defence.

finally an honest answer. with the exception of saying he caters for institutions, this is simply an opinion.

unlike most which attempt dress up their disdain for Rogan in arguing he's not intelligent enough, should take more social responsibility, quoted nutella 12 years ago or are watching out of context sound bites of experts commenting on a issue outside their specific field (for 3 minutes of a total 4 hr show)

Just say you don't like the show. i get it, sometimes you don't like peoples voice, how they speak, what they ask etc.

i did find it ironic this guy says the only other podcast he likes is Tim Dillion - he'd still be a mortgage broker on long island doing stand up on the side if it weren't for Rogan.

finally an honest answer. with the exception of saying he caters for institutions, this is simply an opinion.

unlike most which attempt dress up their disdain for Rogan in arguing he's not intelligent enough, should take more social responsibility, quoted nutella 12 years ago or are watching out of context sound bites of experts commenting on a issue outside their specific field (for 3 minutes of a total 4 hr show)

Just say you don't like the show. i get it, sometimes you don't like peoples voice, how they speak, what they ask etc.

i did find it ironic this guy says the only other podcast he likes is Tim Dillion - he'd still be a mortgage broker on long island doing stand up on the side if it weren't for Rogan.
You’ll realise the cooler people in life like to listen to the rush hour with JB and Billy😎

For example?

Jesus how long have you got?

Steven Pinker, David Sinclair, Eric Weinstein, Amishi Jha, Bret Weinstein & Heather Heying, Rhonda Patrick, Lex Fridman, David Sinclair, Carole Hooven, Neil DeGrasse Tyson, Shanna Swan, Brian Greene, Avi Loeb, Carl Heart, Nicholas A. Christakis…. and on and on.

I don't claim to have Rogan figured out at all. I don't even know what it means to have him "figured out".

What I do know is that Val listens to it and thinks that Abigail Shrier and Douglas Murray have some sort of expertise on the subjects they talk about. Not a criticism of Val or other listeners who might be led astray, it just highlights the problem with the "Don't listen to me, I'm a moron" defence.

Yeah but I’m smart enough to make up my own mind. The reason I mentioned Murray was because you posted an article about Rogan saying that falling civilisations are obsessed with gender and I just responded that that’s what Murray told him. I’m smart enough to know that’s not why civilisations have collapsed in the past. It wasn’t even the point Murray was making, he said it’s something they all have in common.

Historically speaking the main reason civilisations have fallen has mostly been due to climate change. Not all obviously, like Rome for example but they did prosper coincidentally or not during a period of good weather for farming.

See this is what annoys me. I saw the tweet and had a look and there’s barely any complaints about what she said. In fact most comments are supportive. Purely click bait. There’s no outrage, all the comments are from people saying how ridiculous it is that the “left” would be angry about this. Absolutely gutter journalism

Yeah but I’m smart enough to make up my own mind. The reason I mentioned Murray was because you posted an article about Rogan saying that falling civilisations are obsessed with gender and I just responded that that’s what Murray told him. I’m smart enough to know that’s not why civilisations have collapsed in the past. It wasn’t even the point Murray was making, he said it’s something they all have in common.

Historically speaking the main reason civilisations have fallen has mostly been due to climate change. Not all obviously, like Rome for example but they did prosper coincidentally or not during a period of good weather for farming.

and of a 3 hour long convo, Rogan may make a joke about a current politically charged issue, the expert guest will make a small insignificant comment and that's what will make all the headline. People who never watch the show then google Rogan to try and make an uneducated conclusion about what their opinion is and here we are today.

The recent interview with Dr. Robert Epstein, as awkward as it was was pretty interesting. He thinks he’s proven how Google and Facebook manipulate elections. Sort of weird how that didn’t get any MSM attention

i physically cringed everytime Epstein said "...and guess what!?"