Play Nice Random Chat Thread VI

Essentially (and this is in a nutshell type stuff. I don't pretend to be an expert), Christian Porter received a huge donation from an unknown 'blind trust' for his legal fees regarding the historical alleged rape and the defamation suit against the Milligan and the ABC, and the federal government has consistently resisted efforts from other politicians to investigate the source of that donation. The speaker, the man in the photo, a Liberal MP no less, ruled that the case should be referred to a parliamentary committee for investigation, but the government, the speaker's own party, voted it down, the first time such a thing has happened if Dempster's research is correct.

It opens all sorts of questions, the most extreme of which, for example, is that an unknown figure(s) has just indebted a sitting MP, which opens him up to all sorts of manipulation.

That’s disgraceful.

Though for the second point, I must admit I assume all MP’s are corrupted by people/organisations they accept donations from.

The only solution would be to get donations out of politics completely. The system would probably collapse though lol.

Reminds me of something I heard said. Don’t know who said it but I’ve heard different variations of the following statements (usually applied to a PM or president), anyone who wants to be the leader of a country should be eyed with suspicion, someone should be dragged kicking and screaming into the job because they’re the right person to do it, not become they want to do it.

I’m pretty sure I butchered that. But the meaning is pretty obvious

That’s disgraceful.

Though for the second point, I must admit I assume all MP’s are corrupted by people/organisations they accept donations from.

The only solution would be to get donations out of politics completely. The system would probably collapse though lol.
The difference is that a majority of political donations over a certain amount have to be declared I'm pretty sure, so at least there's some transparency there.

Sorry to derail but some of these Mark Twain quotes are brilliant (obviously)

"Sometimes I wonder whether the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on or by imbeciles who really mean it."

Essentially (and this is in a nutshell type stuff. I don't pretend to be an expert), Christian Porter received a huge donation from an unknown 'blind trust' for his legal fees regarding the historical alleged rape and the defamation suit against the Milligan and the ABC, and the federal government has consistently resisted efforts from other politicians to investigate the source of that donation. The speaker, the man in the photo, a Liberal MP no less, ruled that the case should be referred to a parliamentary committee for investigation, but the government, the speaker's own party, voted it down, the first time such a thing has happened if Dempster's research is correct.

It opens all sorts of questions, the most extreme of which, for example, is that an unknown figure(s) has just indebted a sitting MP, which opens him up to all sorts of manipulation.
The thing is too, the whole scenario hasn't made that much press either. There was a a bit of coverage when Brittany Higgins story was coming out and that sort of rolled into the Porter allegations and was big a few months ago at the protest. But now, the blatant secrecy and corruption (I would argue Porter's donor is very much in the public interest) is hardly getting a peep. Nobody resigns anymore. ScoMo knows the attention span of the public and just how to sit out the media cycle.

It was so refreshing to see Gladys step down the other day. I can't remember the last time a significant politician accepted some responsibility and set an example. Certainly not in Federal politics.

The difference is that a majority of political donations over a certain amount have to be declared I'm pretty sure, so at least there's some transparency there.
Yeah, even minor unelected positions in local gov need to register a bloody free coffee. My only hedge involves not knowing if he still holds any public position, does he? Maybe even if he doesn't now, a requirement for re-entry to public service should be the exposition of this potential trust conflict.

The thing is too, the whole scenario hasn't made that much press either. There was a a bit of coverage when Brittany Higgins story was coming out and that sort of rolled into the Porter allegations and was big a few months ago at the protest. But now, the blatant secrecy and corruption (I would argue Porter's donor is very much in the public interest) is hardly getting a peep. Nobody resigns anymore. ScoMo knows the attention span of the public and just how to sit out the media cycle.

It was so refreshing to see Gladys step down the other day. I can't remember the last time a significant politician accepted some responsibility and set an example. Certainly not in Federal politics.
65777DCB-610B-4696-8252-B3C1A7806FC2.jpeg
It is endemic at the moment. The ALP are running hard on this.

Fair play to the Greens and Andrew Wilkie, they have been on this for many years.

True, but a lot of donations come via the 500 Club or various "Leaders Forums", etc to avoid some of that transparency.

Tar and feather…
Transparency is the only way forwards, these cockroaches hate light shining on them, there needs to be no more secret deals, no more overuse of national security,
if you’re in the public space, you should have to open up everything and justify your decision making process.

Reminds me of something I heard said. Don’t know who said it but I’ve heard different variations of the following statements (usually applied to a PM or president), anyone who wants to be the leader of a country should be eyed with suspicion, someone should be dragged kicking and screaming into the job because they’re the right person to do it, not become they want to do it.

I’m pretty sure I butchered that. But the meaning is pretty obvious
Those who are the most qualified are the least willing iirc.

Tar and feather…
Transparency is the only way forwards, these cockroaches hate light shining on them, there needs to be no more secret deals, no more overuse of national security,
if you’re in the public space, you should have to open up everything and justify your decision making process.

Didn’t our PM pretty much say that they shouldn’t be investigated after Gladys had to step down? Or was that something I just got from some Murdoch minions?

I’ve got no idea, but I’d love to have a whistleblower about now..

LOL like the one who blew the whistle on Downer using Australian spies to rort Timor for the mining company Downer ended up working at. Such a scandal and they went after the whistle blower and the lawyer set up by government for whistle blowers to go to and Downer is swimming in cash. campaigner should be locked up.

So now you know the █████ Russian collusion story is full of it.. it’s interesting Downers named popped up in the origins too, they would never have been able to open the fbi investigations without him…

sehlling for the Intel.

Being a bit of an extremist there old chap. Pointing out the blatant corruption, incompetence and criminality of the current federal government is partisan in the extreme.

BTW, totally agree with you. A Federal ICAC with retrospective powers, like the Fitzgerald Inquiry, but permanent, all those years ago is an absolute must.
some actions dont even need to be corupt per say ( all though its difficult to beleive that some of the decisions made historically such as tying in peppercorn gas prices for multinationals, providing royalty holidays for miners or leasing ports to foreign countries are in the national interest) but do arise suspicions on what the motivation of the decisions was. Definitely both the major parties have been complicit in such deals.

an example i dont necessarily reckon Robs decision to lease the darwin port was corrupt but its so close to treason that i havnt seen any action more so in recent history. And to then take a paying job as a consultant to said entity is mind-blowing.

some actions dont even need to be corupt per say ( all though its difficult to beleive that some of the decisions made historically such as tying in peppercorn gas prices for multinationals, providing royalty holidays for miners or leasing ports to foreign countries are in the national interest) but do arise suspicions on what the motivation of the decisions was. Definitely both the major parties have been complicit in such deals.

an example i dont necessarily reckon Robs decision to lease the darwin port was corrupt but its so close to treason that i havnt seen any action more so in recent history. And to then take a paying job as a consultant to said entity is mind-blowing.
It is corrupt behaviour 101.

‘The public service code of ethics that all federal employees must receive a formal training session on ethics and behaviour annually.

‘’This very example could be straight out of the teaching points.

U have a big thumb sir

That’s my left hand lol. My right thumb is ridiculous after shattering it a few year’s ago. Looks like a mr spoony from toy story without the googley eyes. My hands aren’t too bad considering footy/fights/carpentry. My face on the other hand, total horror show😬. Probably tells you if I was any good at boxing 💀🤣

Omg are u a carpenter omg

people who say that their face is a horror show are lying! I bet ur face is fineeee

also we should probably do a hand comparison lol I have the smallest hands EVER