Play Nice Random Chat Thread VI

• Thread starter Thread starter DesertRoo

So painful… they surely have to provide a taxi voucher, even LATAM put me up in a hotel and paid my taxi/food fir the night.

Hope you and fam are well mate

Yeah, all good. Leaving the nice weather at the end of next week to get back to Melbourne, work and renewed optimism for my footy team.

Dumb question but has anyone else grew up a bit rough, fighting etc.… I did ?(sorry w***er alert) so started Karate when I was 6 then did kick boxing, moved onto Muay Thai and eventually boxing. I’ve tried my hardest to get my girls into self defence but they literally don’t feel like they need to protect themselves because they’ve never had to.

i had them doing BJJ 2 hours 3 times a week and they loved it but since the iso break they didn’t want to go back. I don’t want them boxing or kickboxing, any suggestions? the worst part is my eldest is really good at BJJ.
Yes lol because my dad was a professional Muay Thai fighter I was basically forced to to kickboxing & karate. Grew up around it.

Do you regret him making you do it?
Not at all, it was pretty fun and I regret not carrying on with it. I can’t remember the year but I think 2015 we went to his nationals comp in Spain

Dumb question but has anyone else grew up a bit rough, fighting etc.… I did ?(sorry w***er alert) so started Karate when I was 6 then did kick boxing, moved onto Muay Thai and eventually boxing. I’ve tried my hardest to get my girls into self defence but they literally don’t feel like they need to protect themselves because they’ve never had to.

i had them doing BJJ 2 hours 3 times a week and they loved it but since the iso break they didn’t want to go back. I don’t want them boxing or kickboxing, any suggestions? the worst part is my eldest is really good at BJJ.
✋

Judo an option? Idk man you can't really force kids into things. Maybe even a contact sport would help. The worst thing for people about getting assaulted for the first time is the shock of it, they freeze...so even contact sports help in that respect.

I had a flight cancelled last week. No alternative provided. They did provide accommodation near the airport for that night (in Paris) but we were left to make our own way back to our destination. Wizz Air.
I had a flight over sold in the US. I was flying out of Austin on my way to Vegas.

It was an early morning flight the day after SXSW finished so every man and his dog was flying out of there.

Was there early and it took ages to get through security.

8 passengers bumped and no seats available anywhere out of Austin.

Had to shuttle to San Antonio, wait three hours on the tarmac before we could take off because of tornado warnings.

After getting to Austin airport at 6.30am I finally got to my hotel in Vegas at midnight.

Did get $700 US as compensation but that's hardly the point.

I had a flight cancelled last week. No alternative provided. They did provide accommodation near the airport for that night (in Paris) but we were left to make our own way back to our destination. Wizz Air.
I saw a movie trilogy about this.....

✋

Judo an option? Idk man you can't really force kids into things. Maybe even a contact sport would help. The worst thing for people about getting assaulted for the first time is the shock of it, they freeze...so even contact sports help in that respect.

Judo is like a weak version of BJJ. BJJ is perfect for self defence, especially for girls.

Personally I never got into wrestlin/grappling because of my striking, but girls don’t usually have that option, generally speaking.

No offence bur

Judo is like a weak version of BJJ. BJJ is perfect for self defence, especially for girls.

Personally I never got into wrestlin/grappling because of my striking, but girls don’t usually have that option, generally speaking.
My experience being on the other end is that probably just let them do what they wanna do, they will still retain some what they have learnt, I still grapple or fake fight with my dad and brother lol.

The more I was being forced to do it the more I didn’t wanna do it anymore.

Cheers. If I can get them to one session a week I’ll be happy. I was probably pushing them to much with 6 hours a week but they really loved it before iso. Now all they want to do is go on their iPads

My experience being on the other end is that probably just let them do what they wanna do, they will still retain some what they have learnt, I still grapple or fake fight with my dad and brother lol.

The more I was being forced to do it the more I didn’t wanna do it anymore.

They want to do bloody rock climbing and I have no idea where to start. There’s a few indoor joints around I could start with.

I have a uni friend who is into it!! heck his forearms are absolutely massive like they are bigger than his biceps and they are massive as well.

I could ask him 😊

My old man started me doing Tae Kwon Do in Hobart when i was really young and I stopped cos we left the state at the end of primary school. Ended up getting into other stuff. If I'd stayed i'd have probably kept doing that with the same teacher.

I was probably pushing them to much with 6 hours a week but they really loved it before iso. Now all they want to do is go on their iPads

Iso and devices conspired to gether to stuff up alot of things for kids. I reckon you need to push them to get off their devices and do a certain amount a week. Maybe one session and an hour a day at home with you on two or three other days. At least have that as a goal. It might not always work but its a something exercise wise.

You're their dad. You're allowed to make what seem like arbitrary rules if you really think they need them. Don't worry what any one else says.

I got into that. Fell off the highest bit at Queenscliff once as a result. A bit of rock broke off in my hand. I was on crutchs for three months. I didn't always worry about ropes and harnesses and carabiners and other gear. It would have helped that day tho.

Rock climbers are fit and strong. Probably a good sport to pair with BJJ for self defense purposes actually. You could use that. But the gear costs money. I dunno about indoor climbing cost wise etc.

Cheers. If I can get them to one session a week I’ll be happy. I was probably pushing them to much with 6 hours a week but they really loved it before iso. Now all they want to do is go on their iPads
Yes! I dunno nowadays idk parenting is so hard because of technology, I feel sorry for you guys.

They all be addicted to their iPads and stuff, I feel so old for saying that when I was a kid, yes I had Xbox and iPads and iPods but it wasn’t so addicting and I would be playing out in the street till dark.

Especially when children have lost like years of their development from missing school and social interactions it’s really like difficult now.

Good luck with them!

When you walk into work and a Stink Kilda supporter tries to rip into you about moving to Tassie….. it’s turned into a pretty quiet morning 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Its been a pretty hectic day. How's this for perspective.

This is a photo from the James Webb telescope released earlier today. Some of the light in this image travelled for 13 billion years before it was caught by that shiney gold mirror.

STScI-01G7JJADTH90FR98AKKJFKSS0B.png
The zoom out is pretty cool