Play Nice Random Chat Thread VII

I heard a dude today saying dogs have already started to die. Mayor Pete doesn’t know s**t about transport, wonder how he got that gig?

Its a nightmare. I don't even know where to begin... when I was a kid I used to read blurbs on books in supermarkets at a few places cos shopping was boring as, and there is one I've never forgotten about a cloud of toxic gas floating around the US. It could have been the plot of this event only its so much worse than what happened in the story.

Nah, who’s that?

He's a guy in Belgium serving time for kidnapping and murder of young (ie 10-14 iirc) girls. he took the fall but appeared to be a procurement agent for the sort of people who run Europe. There were huge riots in Belgium at the time of his arrest as some details leaked out about his connections and the people who weren't investigated.

Not really. I follow her on Twitter. She’s a bit annoying, very anti-US but she does make some good points.

LOL That is such a perfect summary of her actually. Its probably worth following on twitter.

Imagine building a career as an online pundit from Thornbury/Northcote coffee shops based on criticing the US deep state. Full credit to her for making it work. I know conspiracy theorists in the US who think she is some kind of genius. Really she's just a lefty hippie from Melbourne's inner north saying the same shit those people have said for decades.

Saw this the other day, kind of sums up where we are at right now...

Screenshot-2023-02-15-at-04-30-53-No-Agenda-Social.png

lol

This bloke must be packing dacks.

This guy looks like he's on good terms with his captors tho. There is a photo where they are sposed to be holding his wrists to show he is in their custody and he is actually holding the other guys hand to make it look realistic. Its kind of funny.

Hard people in those mountains tho, they fight like bastards and go to war all the time. I knew a couple of initiated young men from that way who came down to play AFL at Coolangatta. Tough as. If they took their shirts off they were covered in initiation scars and built so tough they put most of our current players to shame.

Actually I just googled him, I do know who that is. I listened to the casefile episode on him.

Extremely disturbing. Maybe one of the most disturbing true crime cases on the podcast, and that’s saying something.
****ed up stuff seriously...

I may have heard of them, but I’m not a massive UFO nut. I only really started paying attention a few years ago when the NY times had the tic tac story.

For some reason I was right into UFOs as a kid. Had some relos who kept buying me books about them - it was the early 70s. Then some guy went missing flying across Bass Strait after reporting being buzzed by a UFO. i've seen about 30 things i could call UFOs over the years and at least four or five of them are genuinely weird, not just odd lights in the sky (ie airplane lights being distorted by the atmosphere etc.)

One night me and a friend sat on the escarpment behind Bacchus Marsh and watched them over Melbourne. The entire city was covered in very low fog, you could see the tops of the buildings in the CBD sticking out of it. These weird orange lights were flying around disobeying the laws of physics and three cop choppers took off from Essendon Airport to investigate them one after another. The choppers would take off, fly around near the lights for about 10 minutes then go land and as one landed another would take off to replace it.

It was wild.

Back in Melbourne about an hour later, under the fog it was very eerie and a bit weird considering what I'd seen above the city an hour or two earlier.

i dunno if I "believe" in anything about them. The world is full of weird shit we haven't worked out yet.

Its a nightmare. I don't even know where to begin... when I was a kid I used to read blurbs on books in supermarkets at a few places cos shopping was boring as, and there is one I've never forgotten about a cloud of toxic gas floating around the US. It could have been the plot of this event only its so much worse than what happened in the story.

He's a guy in Belgium serving time for kidnapping and murder of young (ie 10-14 iirc) girls. he took the fall but appeared to be a procurement agent for the sort of people who run Europe. There were huge riots in Belgium at the time of his arrest as some details leaked out about his connections and the people who weren't investigated.

LOL That is such a perfect summary of her actually. Its probably worth following on twitter.

Imagine building a career as an online pundit from Thornbury/Northcote coffee shops based on criticing the US deep state. Full credit to her for making it work. I know conspiracy theorists in the US who think she is some kind of genius. Really she's just a lefty hippie from Melbourne's inner north saying the same s**t those people have said for decades.

Saw this the other day, kind of sums up where we are at right now...

Screenshot-2023-02-15-at-04-30-53-No-Agenda-Social.png

lol

That meme is perfect. There’s so much going on that it can be exhausting.

Nothing sticks, just rolls on from one thing to the next.

This guy looks like he's on good terms with his captors tho. There is a photo where they are sposed to be holding his wrists to show he is in their custody and he is actually holding the other guys hand to make it look realistic. Its kind of funny.

Hard people in those mountains tho, they fight like bastards and go to war all the time. I knew a couple of initiated young men from that way who came down to play AFL at Coolangatta. Tough as. If they took their shirts off they were covered in initiation scars and built so tough they put most of our current players to shame.

Hes on good terms but they’d do him in a heartbeat, no doubt about it.

This is one of those cases I wouldn’t be surprised to see him pick up arms and help his captors, it’s pretty messed up what’s happening up there.

Hes on good terms but they’d do him in a heartbeat, no doubt about it.
Ruthless warrior culture, but funnily enough those sort of people have more respect for life than alot of us. I reckon they'd treat him well whatever the outcome. Its only rreally thugs and arseholes who treat hostages badly.

Your mate Jocko would do him in a heartbeat too if his mission depended on it.

That meme is perfect. There’s so much going on that it can be exhausting.

Nothing sticks, just rolls on from one thing to the next.

If that isn't a perfect description of the times right now I dunno what is.

At this stage we're moving to Tassie next year. Decided to let the eldest girl finish primary school here and the youngest do one year at the school she has hung out at forever with her older sisters. (it looks like Bluey's school in that kid's cartoon too so it will be good for her to have some memories at such a beautiful location.)

I'm honestly wondering if I've made the right decision. Hopefully everything doesn't go fully pear shaped till we're safe in Tassie.

:tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:

:eek:

Ruthless warrior culture, but funnily enough those sort of people have more respect for life than alot of us. I reckon they'd treat him well whatever the outcome. Its only rreally thugs and arseholes who treat hostages badly.

Your mate Jocko would do him in a heartbeat too if his mission depended on it.

Oh yeah Jocko is a stone cold killer.

any of you had much experience working for the APS vs working in the private sector?

I currently work private, but might have the opportunity to move into an APS role soon and I'm genuinely conflicted about what to do. Essentially, I absolutely love the people I work with and my management at my current place but hate the company, the senior leaders and what they stand for and some of their practices, and I despise the fact that basically all I'm doing is making them money.

On the other hand, although I'll make more money in the short-term, my 'future earning potential' is obviously undermined working for the APS. My manager is something of a mentor and they've said they have a lot of faith in me and could see me quickly graduating into a more senior position. In fact, they've pretty much promised a promotion soon in my current job (pending HR approval lol, and if what I've heard is anything to go by, it might not result in an immediate salary increase).

The idea of contributing to society absolutely appeals to me too and is probably my main motivation to wanting to work APS, but I'm concerned that the slow nature and probable lack of creativity will lead to me getting bored and losing interest quickly.

Any advice from people who have experienced both or been at a similar career crossroads?

any of you had much experience working for the APS vs working in the private sector?

I currently work private, but might have the opportunity to move into an APS role soon and I'm genuinely conflicted about what to do. Essentially, I absolutely love the people I work with and my management at my current place but hate the company, the senior leaders and what they stand for and some of their practices, and I despise the fact that basically all I'm doing is making them money.

On the other hand, although I'll make more money in the short-term, my 'future earning potential' is obviously undermined working for the APS. My manager is something of a mentor and they've said they have a lot of faith in me and could see me quickly graduating into a more senior position. In fact, they've pretty much promised a promotion soon in my current job (pending HR approval lol, and if what I've heard is anything to go by, it might not result in an immediate salary increase).

The idea of contributing to society absolutely appeals to me too and is probably my main motivation to wanting to work APS, but I'm concerned that the slow nature and probable lack of creativity will lead to me getting bored and losing interest quickly.

Any advice from people who have experienced both or been at a similar career crossroads?
If you hate what the job you are doing stands for and how its done why would you want a promotion at the company?

On the other hand if all that matters is the money who cares what they do?

If you hate what the job you are doing stands for and how its done why would you want a promotion at the company?

On the other hand if all that matters is the money who cares what they do?
Mainly because the actual people I work with and my management are fantastic and it's a fun work environment at my level. I actually don't mind my job, i just don't like the fact I'm making money for those people.