Play Nice Random Chat Thread VII

My Twitter feed is a cornucopia of outrage and sadness right now.

I don't get Twitter. I've never heard someone say "I enjoyed something I read on Twitter" or "I had a productive debate on Twitter today".

A properly/randomly shuffled deck of cards is always different. Never the same. That goes for every deck ever shuffled and every deck to be shuffled.

The various combinations is 52 factorial or 52x51x50x49 etc etc which equals a 1 with 67 zeros.

I stole this bit, but it gives you an idea of the scale....

if you make friends with every person on earth and each person shuffles one deck of cards each second, for the age of the Universe, there will be a one in a trillion, trillion, trillion chance of two decks matching.

Speaking of scale and I stole this bit too, but it is such a mind-blowing fact.

the conditions for life (in the entire universe) won't be there forever. In fact, there's probably only 100,000,000,000,000,000 years of viable life time. That sounds like rather a long time, but hold your horses...

Eventually, the universe will fizzle out. The last stars will have died long ago, and their remains sucked into black holes. The work of the Second Law will be done - entropy will finally stop increasing, because everything will be maximally disordered. Nothing will happen, and nothing will continue to happen, forever. But that is going to take rather a long time indeed. In fact, it's going to take around 10, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000 years - give or take.

As a fraction of the lifespan of the Universe, as measured from it’s beginning to the evaporation of the last black hole, life as we know it is only possible for one-thousandth of a billion billion billionth, billion billion billionth, billion billion billionth, of a per cent.”

And yet here we are discussing footy.

My reading of it is that when those mid 30s people were young the medical focus was on the physically hyperactive part of ADHD. If you didn't display manifestly hyperactive or troublesome behaviour in your youth then you probably did go through life without raising suspicion. Since then understanding has evolved a bit and now assessments are more thorough.

Yes, agree.

But do people who may have "mild" ADHD managed to have relatively successful and productive lives NEED a severe intervention like daily amphetamine use?

Given the immense risks that carries.

Yep, there are some people clinging for a diagnosis and they may be misdiagnosed by a quack. They may have something else going on but got misdiagnosed as well. But there are plenty of people now being properly diagnosed.

I suspect a lot of folks have fairly basic anxiety issues but our culture rewards pathologising everything and there's too many docs happy to indulge them.

As I said above, it just feels just like oxycontin 2.0.

I mean, the great success of Oxycontin was that it was a pill you ate. But its basically heroin.

Dexamphetamine is a pill you eat, but its still basically meth.

A properly/randomly shuffled deck of cards is always different. Never the same. That goes for every deck ever shuffled and every deck to be shuffled.

The various combinations is 52 factorial or 52x51x50x49 etc etc which equals a 1 with 67 zeros.

if you make friends with every person on earth and each person shuffles one deck of cards each second, for the age of the Universe, there will be a one in a trillion, trillion, trillion chance of two decks matching.

the conditions for life (in the entire universe) won't be there forever. In fact, there's probably only 100,000,000,000,000,000 years of viable life time. That sounds like rather a long time, but hold your horses...

Eventually, the universe will fizzle out. The last stars will have died long ago, and their remains sucked into black holes. The work of the Second Law will be done - entropy will finally stop increasing, because everything will be maximally disordered. Nothing will happen, and nothing will continue to happen, forever. But that is going to take rather a long time indeed. In fact, it's going to take around 10, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000, 000,000,000 years - give or take.

As a fraction of the lifespan of the Universe, as measured from it’s beginning to the evaporation of the last black hole, life as we know it is only possible for one-thousandth of a billion billion billionth, billion billion billionth, billion billion billionth, of a per cent.”

Good stuff Mr.Green.

Also I won't discount there being an environmental factor (e.g. how we consume more fast, on tap media than ever before) actually creating adult ADHDers.

Social media/screens etc may very well contribute to a condition that mimics ADHD, for sure.

LOL, absolute master troll

Love watching and listening to Brian Cox. Brilliant.

Also, Neil deGrasse Tyson. Great thinkers.

And they post interesting information on social media. Even sometimes X.

Got all the Cox stuff and attended his " lectures / shows " at South Wharf. Brilliant to listen too. Can't warm that well to Neil. Bit too " American " for me.

Big Carolyn Porco fan. Had some correspondence with her few years ago. She has done alot of imaging for the Voyagers and Cassini probes.

Love watching and listening to Brian Cox.

I reckon he's pretty crap, but if he works at his craft things can only get better.

But do people who may have "mild" ADHD managed to have relatively successful and productive lives NEED a severe intervention like daily amphetamine use?

Speaking from personal experience, most psychiatrists in Australia do not prescribe any of the amphetamine-based ADHD medications as a first resort/treatment plan.

Typically the first medication prescribed is a long-acting/extended release methylphenidate prescription (such as Ritalin, although it's usually branded something else here).

The days of dexamphetamine or lisdexamphetamine as the first medication prescribed are long, long over. Mainly because of how insanely tightly regulated it is. For a pyschiatrist/doctor to prescribe one of those medications, they need to seek a Schedule 8 permit.

The notion that doctors are just dolling out dexies in 2023 is simply untrue.

Got all the Cox stuff and attended his " lectures / shows " at South Wharf. Brilliant to listen too. Can't warm that well to Neil. Bit too " American " for me.

Big Carolyn Porco fan. Had some correspondence with her few years ago. She has done alot of imaging for the Voyagers and Cassini probes.

Will look her up.

And speaking of great thinkers we could do worse than employee Magnus Carlsen or anyone of the top players as a trade strategy consultant!

We'd really be playing 4D chess with the opposition. Dodo wouldn't know what hit him...

I reckon he's pretty crap, but if he works at his craft things can only get better.
Jake Gyllenhaal Reaction GIF

Of course it is.

But a whole bunch of middle class people in their 30s and 40s are getting bullshit diagnoses and either quickly or slowly blowing up their lives with meth they get prescribed.

One guy I went to school with in the 90s and was very successful personally and professionally had a minor mid life crisis a few years ago, found some quack who would prescribe him gear and has subsequently blown up his previously very happy marriage.

Coz turns out taking meth every day when you don't need it turns you into a pssssyyyyyyyyyyyyyychhhhoooooooooooo.

For males, if you have ADHD that requires a hardcore intervention like daily medication, its manifested in childhood and had a huge impact on your life - like makes schooling nigh on impossible, contact with the justice system etc.

You don't get to 38 and go hey actually I thought I'd be more than a middle class office dude, there must be something to blame!

Then of course once you get the piss easy diagnosis of course you think you're doing great NOW ... coz der taking meth every morning does make you feel lots better.

Its the new Oxycontin, we're addicting a whole bunch of people to full on drugs when they absolutely don't need them.
This times a million,
A had a misspent youth, I was lucky as hell to be travelling a lot with work around this time so got away fairly well unscathed but I know so many professionals who are now taking prescription uppers and downers to keep up with busy schedules and then be able to crash out for what little sleep they get.
Give it another couple of more years, and we’ll see a bunch of jitterheads scratching ice bugs at their desks.
When you know signs, you know.

Speaking from personal experience, most psychiatrists in Australia do not prescribe any of the amphetamine-based ADHD medications as a first resort/treatment plan.

Typically the first medication prescribed is a long-acting/extended release methylphenidate prescription (such as Ritalin, although it's usually branded something else here).

The days of dexamphetamine or lisdexamphetamine as the first medication prescribed are long, long over. Mainly because of how insanely tightly regulated it is. For a pyschiatrist/doctor to prescribe one of those medications, they need to seek a Schedule 8 permit.

The notion that doctors are just dolling out dexies in 2023 is simply untrue.

Ritalin is also a very powerful medication that's routinely used for recreation purposes.

But prescription rates for both are increasing dramatically.

Screenshot_20231007_062645_Chrome.jpg

Source:

Predictably the kind of doctor who supports your view is on the take from the drug dealing companies flogging the gear.

Screenshot_20231007_063123_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20231007_063138_Chrome.jpg

It is Oxycontin 2.0

It will have the same result too - massive overprescription followed by moral panic and huge overreaction that hurts the people given ghe gear.

This discussion started from me posting about how pseudoephedrine is hard to get now because of the panic about meth.

And how the replacement doesn't work.

We're getting a generation that doesn't need powerful drugs addicted and then we'll rip it away from them and leave them deeply vulnerable.

It's disgusting but what happens when you allow such a naked profit motive in medicine like this.

This times a million,
A had a misspent youth, I was lucky as hell to be travelling a lot with work around this time so got away fairly well unscathed but I know so many professionals who are now taking prescription uppers and downers to keep up with busy schedules and then be able to crash out for what little sleep they get.
Give it another couple of more years, and we’ll see a bunch of jitterheads scratching ice bugs at their desks.
When you know signs, you know.

I genuinely think thst a solid bunch of these folks would benefit far more from a CBD oil and light sativa prescription.

On this, we agree.

Which one are you gokangas

Real talk - everyone should read Hans Fallada's diaries of 1920s and 30s Berlin.

He talks about laughing at these kind of people with their silly street demonstrations and wild ideas.

And then waking up one day to realise they had uniforms and guns and were in power.

Classic No Voter's too I'll bet.

DO YOU KNOW ONCE MY MATE ASKED ME “WHAT CARD AM I HOLDING?” OUT OF 52 I GUESSED THE RIGHT ONE

This is so flipping funny.

█████/MAGA types were propping up RFK in the hopes he would siphon votes away from the Democrats.

Instead, he's more popular with Republicans/█████ supporters, and now he's going to run as a 3rd party independent and they are shitting themselves.

This is so *ing funny.

█████/MAGA types were propping up RFK in the hopes he would siphon votes away from the Democrats.

Instead, he's more popular with Republicans/█████ supporters, and now he's going to run as a 3rd party independent and they are shitting themselves.

Yeah, I never really understood that take from conservatives. RFK is super antivax, which is obviously going to be a major turn off for left-wing voters.

how important are references?

I’m applying for a promotion basically as I work for the same company and I wanted someone to be my reference but they haven’t gotten back to me yet!!

For retail? Not very important at all.

Why do you need a reference for an internal promotion, or am I misreading?