Play Nice Random Chat Thread VII

Does he still have his bar? One of the all-time great nights of my life was in that place.

That’s long gone.

Had a few wonderful late nights there way back when.

Ficifolias flowering and our new ladies having a real crack,

ABLVV874m_Tt9srxVxjLG8WMYlM70o_C4oorDjuqAXJxDn_reScd1617TEorRmWkSgxyEk3vJeA02yKOznD9Pk8qMsUmLr6jUHfrrsOiCiR2Fe92fr9j1KZTuP0jg6llhaQvGuAkBccbUoRg6QwTanzEoInSM0bIcTrYtDyV8CDXYxlh_FpGt85HZOI6apWn9NkG2YrIBX2Bur7ib_BsJenrg0gDtECv9w21O_57qZEh6GuBgmRLj0iT57ck_Ub_viT5PSBjbPSqLBnim_wpNuJXxeTz2J6YsgJDnh0X5mxki_0iAXDZ16r8SO6VOp-xILntRbCt2AgkFxrqS-nDtXwRRC4xulXAqDOBEfbVZPAazcqtR8V23zfRvd4Jy0ddHf6h0PFcuYpVNumvX2QQEPGqddlCbFphEr-uhWardozbDQv1UkY73O48QoxvAXTtE1ziG-Td-XddvViYRkN180KP9_6k-2RJ8yVZCp32vanoWezjejExKlkWk0AoG6pTJEJc5K05MckfymB9sa2ryuyfaXTOUL7wh8RyNTXx1jEY8AVVLbnpE1izcRUYQAmV0txTEqGhA2ah_FO77EeZ6km1aYlXGKNjuNFpGaYrxAKleQIc5BGoG7SQXQyyRfnYGYq9LZ1pCdprI6ikQaS5TMKoZ1GFsoko6c55hCig-5eaIe14EKLB6ry93aZMRBcwcAfuCi718VTzZg3uK166wr4L01H2tnPlEoHTm8mpmFoe-je_aaIERXSwvcxsjjVxVV3mhZhLMfUWxrTK2DRADNqUR_0U7oFZGRkqGdD-6DuVOquG6qVVA9aWjh9hc4G1Bn33KUywwIPA_0U9HNpsADNL4mve0lXmbzgLeeYHMGW03NoGP0_w1GCmhJdxiSJwVtkTfHUUfAk=w966-h1288-s-no-gm

My eldest is 7 years old and his latest thing is that he really likes playing golf. I’m not sure where this has come from, as I haven’t played golf in about twenty years, and I’ve probably played less than 50 rounds in my whole life.

Turns out it’s actually quite an enjoyable thing to do for Dad-and-eldest time, because when he plays footy he can get super competitive and too self critical, (even though he’s pretty good) while with golf he just likes doing his best and laughs it off when he shanks it. And it’s good for banter and bonding.

So anyone got any experience buying kids clubs? Seems like there’s bugger all around. The only ones I’ve seen locally are Brosnan “little mates”, which I guess I’ll go with in the absence of any suggestions.

My eldest is 7 years old and his latest thing is that he really likes playing golf. I’m not sure where this has come from, as I haven’t played golf in about twenty years, and I’ve probably played less than 50 rounds in my whole life.

Turns out it’s actually quite an enjoyable thing to do for Dad-and-eldest time, because when he plays footy he can get super competitive and too self critical, (even though he’s pretty good) while with golf he just likes doing his best and laughs it off when he shanks it. And it’s good for banter and bonding.

So anyone got any experience buying kids clubs? Seems like there’s bugger all around. The only ones I’ve seen locally are Brosnan “little mates”, which I guess I’ll go with in the absence of any suggestions.
get a cheap 2nd hand half decent set cut down. ideally some entry brand like bronson with perimeter weighted ( nice and forgiving) oversized irons, how tall is he?

120cm+ I reckon.

Cutdown seems interesting, I hadn’t considered that.

I was just gonna get one of those Bronson little mates kits with a driver, hybrid, 7, 9 and putter for 200 something bucks.

120cm+ I reckon.

Cutdown seems interesting, I hadn’t considered that.

I was just gonna get one of those Bronson little mates kits with a driver, hybrid, 7, 9 and putter for 200 something bucks.
played golf as a junior and pretty much all the kids i played with had cut down sets, its also not a bad idea to get a half set ( wedge to 7i) with possibly a 5i hybrid thrown in maybe forget the driver for now,
, with reduced club head speed that shorter folk/less leverage due to shorted shaft get they will hit a mid iron as far as a driver/3I as loft is more important in that scenario ( long irons juniors tend to lack carry and they just lose all pace in the grass. ) , if he can carry a 7i 100m its a damn good start and a good foundation to build a longer game on.

Yep, my Grandad did this for me. Started with a 5 and a putter, sunk a long put to win a 7 iron off 1 of my grandads mates, finally grew a bit, ladies clubs and off I went, wagging school and to be found either at Chirnside Park or Ringwood Golf courses.

Change the date so everyone can enjoy Australia Day. It’s so easy.
I don’t care what date Australia Day is. Change it, no worries. If it were up to me anyway I’d make Australia a republic and then change the date to coincide. I’d also change the flag by removing the Union Jack and inserting the aboriginal flag.

That said, there’s something that I don’t get about the change the date argument. It seems that the date of the 26th is very important to many indigenous people (and some non indigenous people) as it marks and draws attention to dispossession. All day I’ve seen interviews with aboriginal people saying it was always their land and always will be and we can’t forget what happened.

Well doesn’t Australia Day on the 26th give them exactly that?

If the date is changed to sept 12 does the 26th of Jan still stay invasion day? I would assume it would. So nationally we mark the 26th of Jan as invasion day. On the 12th of September are people morally free to celebrate the colonised version of Australia we have all lived our entire lives in? Will the aboriginal people that wanted to change the date participate in that?

I don’t care what date Australia Day is. Change it, no worries. If it were up to me anyway I’d make Australia a republic and then change the date to coincide. I’d also change the flag by removing the Union Jack and inserting the aboriginal flag.

That said, there’s something that I don’t get about the change the date argument. It seems that the date of the 26th is very important to many indigenous people (and some non indigenous people) as it marks and draws attention to dispossession. All day I’ve seen interviews with aboriginal people saying it was always their land and always will be and we can’t forget what happened.

If the date is changed to sept 12 does the 26th of Jan still stay invasion day? I would assume it would. So nationally we mark the 26th of Jan as invasion day. On the 12th of September are people morally free to celebrate the colonised version of Australia we have all lived our entire lives in? Will the aboriginal people that wanted to change the date participate in that?
i think the general population would be pissed if you took a long weekend off them at the end of Jan to shift it to sept 12.

Just shift it to first Friday in Feb, people can morn the week before and have a lead up to a celebration.

i think the general population would be pissed if you took a long weekend off them at the end of Jan to shift it to sept 12.

Just shift it to first Friday in Feb, people can morn the week before and have a lead up to a celebration.

lol clearly the timing of the public holiday is important to some 😂

I just picked the 12th of sept because the date of the public holiday literally couldn’t make me care less.

lol clearly the timing of the public holiday is important to some 😂

I just picked the 12th of sept because the date of the public holiday literally couldn’t make me care less.
Marketing 101, change the date protests are missing a key ingredient, what too?

Give the population an alternative and I think most would just shrug and say yeah cool.

I say we’re ripped off with one day, turn the thing into a week..

Marketing 101, change the date protests are missing a key ingredient, what too?

Give the population an alternative and I think most would just shrug and say yeah cool.

I say we’re ripped off with one day, turn the thing into a week..

As much as many people don’t like to admit it, it’s worth celebrating that we live in a country where people can debate and argue so vigorously about what they believe in

And we have arrived at this point with a specific history

We are the story of ancient cultures hidden away at the bottom of the world, undisturbed for 40,000 years, taken over by the British empire, reinforced by mass migration of people that want a better life.

It’s perfectly valid to celebrate the 26th of Jan and mourn it.

Jan 26th will always be invasion day.

I don’t care what day is chosen for us to celebrate Australia, they can could change the date every year and it would be the same for me.

I agree that if we become a republic that would be the perfect day, celebrating a British conquest and the Union Jack as something to be proud of as Australians is just very bizarre to me…Australians are either descendants of convicts, immigrants or indigenous, so I really don’t understand the need to celebrate something the British did.

I’m not hung up on the notion that Australia Day has to be the 26th of January. With the exception of Christmas Day, Easter and several other dates in the year…..Australia Day could be any day of the year.

The problem however with changing the date is that there’s no guarantee the days leading up and day of the new date being hijacked. IE Historical monuments being destroyed, protests against having an Australia Day (yes there are some nut jobs that express that view), retrospective indigenous guilt propaganda, neo nazi types protesting.

What do you do?