The day is already dead. When it’s down to some multinational stocking cheap wares…it’s done.
Let’s grow up and figure out something better.
Growing up = cutting
ties & becoming a Republic.Follow along with the video below to see how to install our site as a web app on your home screen.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
The day is already dead. When it’s down to some multinational stocking cheap wares…it’s done.
Let’s grow up and figure out something better.
ties & becoming a Republic.I’m not hung up on the notion that Australia Day has to be the 26th of January. With the exception of Christmas Day, Easter and several other dates in the year…..Australia Day could be any day of the year.
The problem however with changing the date is that there’s no guarantee the days leading up and day of the new date being hijacked. IE Historical monuments being destroyed, protests against having an Australia Day (yes there are some nut jobs that express that view), retrospective indigenous guilt propaganda, neo nazi types protesting.
What do you do?
The point being……there shouldn’t be protests of any kind on a National day of celebration.Did you see how many people protested in Melbourne yesterday? It’s was crazy.
Who cares if a few knucklehead neo Nazis protest? What are they going to do, take on the cops? Good let them try, they’d get their asses kicked.
The point being……there shouldn’t be protests of any kind on a National day of celebration.
Things have become so toxic that I’m at a stage in which I’m gonna avoid television and the internet as much as possible in the days leading up to Australia Day. Just focus solely on the family bbq.
Ideally there shouldn't be protests ever, protesting is a symptom of other things, practically the only thing i ever see always achieving a quorum is when the pollies vote on their own payrises, virtually everything else people have differing opinions.The point being……there shouldn’t be protests of any kind on a National day of celebration.
Things have become so toxic that I’m at a stage in which I’m gonna avoid television and the internet as much as possible in the days leading up to Australia Day. Just focus solely on the family bbq.
We should just change the name to Invasion Day, keep the date and face up to the cost of Australia on the people who were already here.I don’t care what date Australia Day is. Change it, no worries. If it were up to me anyway I’d make Australia a republic and then change the date to coincide. I’d also change the flag by removing the Union Jack and inserting the aboriginal flag.
That said, there’s something that I don’t get about the change the date argument. It seems that the date of the 26th is very important to many indigenous people (and some non indigenous people) as it marks and draws attention to dispossession. All day I’ve seen interviews with aboriginal people saying it was always their land and always will be and we can’t forget what happened.
Well doesn’t Australia Day on the 26th give them exactly that?
If the date is changed to sept 12 does the 26th of Jan still stay invasion day? I would assume it would. So nationally we mark the 26th of Jan as invasion day. On the 12th of September are people morally free to celebrate the colonised version of Australia we have all lived our entire lives in? Will the aboriginal people that wanted to change the date participate in that?
Yeah just have a long weekend at the end of summer and call it "Tough shit kids you're back to school next week" day.i think the general population would be pissed if you took a long weekend off them at the end of Jan to shift it to sept 12.
Just shift it to first Friday in Feb, people can morn the week before and have a lead up to a celebration.
As much as many people don’t like to admit it, it’s worth celebrating that we live in a country where people can debate and argue so vigorously about what they believe in
And we have arrived at this point with a specific history
We are the story of ancient cultures hidden away at the bottom of the world, undisturbed for 40,000 years, taken over by the British empire, reinforced by mass migration of people that want a better life.
It’s perfectly valid to celebrate the 26th of Jan and mourn it.
I went to an Australia Day function in Kyogle cos a mate's missus became a citizen that day. Its obviously important for them. Drove over to the inlaws and the back suspension leg on the car shat itself yet somehow he had it fixed and replaced by sunset and ended up back in Kyogle at another having a beer with some indigenous guys I used to play footy with.That’s exactly what I did this year, till the end of the day and I had a look on twitter to see what was happening.
Imagine Poland change their national day to 1 september or something?Are we the only country that celebrates the date of the invasion?
I'd like to kick Basil between the legs
Are we the only country that celebrates the date of the invasion?
What happened? I'm out of the loopYou’ve got to admit that it was pretty ****ed up the release an edited clip.
I just cannot wrap my head around it.Imagine Poland change their national day to 1 september or something?
India has its national day on Jan 26th cos that's the day they were free of the Poms.
What happened? I'm out of the loop
Would you regard toxic hatred towards our democracy and burning of the national flag as acts of mourning?We should just change the name to Invasion Day, keep the date and face up to the cost of Australia on the people who were already here.
Have another day to celebrate the many good things about our country and a day for people to mourn what we all lost and reflect on what we can do better. One day we'll all be mature enough understand that and we can pick another day to celebrate the good things together as well.
Probably. People get pretty upset when mourning something.Would you regard toxic hatred towards our democracy and burning of the national flag as acts of mourning?
the irony is if it wasn't a public holiday they would be at work assuming they have jobs,Did you see how many people protested in Melbourne yesterday? It’s was crazy.