Play Nice Random Chat Thread VII

Taylor Swift - Can someone explain the hype and why she's so popular?
Great songs. Eleven albums into her career and hasn't had a bad one yet.

Any hype about relationships, etc is only there because people keep buying/listening to the records and turning up to the shows.

She's Michael Jackson for this generation's white women.

i honestly couldnt tell you a single song i know of hers, not saying she is no good as i wouldnt know.
The scale of media coverage, 3 MCG shows sold out in minutes….I’ve never seen anything like it in my lifetime.

She's Michael Jackson for this generation's white women.
She likes to touch little boys?

Fantastic songwriter, in the sense that she's clearly got a knack for writing music with a broad public appeal. Not my cup of tea at all, but she's been putting out almost nonstop hits for over a decade now.

I have similar feelings about Ed Sheeran. Don't like his music, but you can't deny his body of work and his popularity over a long time.

I also think because when I was young and in school her music really brings back a lot of memories and her fan base is majority people around my age.

I can’t help but to also belt out love story from time to time lol

I also think because when I was young and in school her music really brings back a lot of memories and her fan base is majority people around my age.

I can’t help but to also belt out love story from time to time lol
Definitely. Limp Bizkit used to get shit on all the time during their prime, but they're having a huge resurgence now that a lot of the kids that listened to them are adults now.

That’s probably true, but for this white Australian bloke, she sure as hell feels more inescapable right now than any other popular culture icon in my lifetime.

I can’t ever recall being so inundated by the minutiae of a single persons existence across news outlets, watercooler chat, social media, supermarket music, you name it.

█████ in that first year of his presidency is about her only real rival in terms of sheer everyday zeitgeist saturation, I reckon.

On a note somehow probably related to Taylor Swift, driving this arvo/evening through the suburbs was ****ing apocalyptic. Tree branches and debris all over the road, random intermittent SES trucks, and a free for all at major intersections as a result of the power outage. 10/10 would do it again

My kids don't listen to Taylor Swift. I don't think they know who she is. They listen to all sorts of weird kid music. I didn't even know she was that big till I read the last three pages.

Her lyrics are pretty naff, but she’s nailed the Max Martin ideal of pop song writing, where the careful placement of syllables and rhythmic vocal emphases is deemed significantly more important than the actual words you use.

Can’t lie, there have been occasions when the Spotify algorithm has thrown this on while I’m deep into a long run, and I’ve vibed it.

Fantastic songwriter, in the sense that she's clearly got a knack for writing music with a broad public appeal. Not my cup of tea at all, but she's been putting out almost nonstop hits for over a decade now.

I have similar feelings about Ed Sheeran. Don't like his music, but you can't deny his body of work and his popularity over a long time.
Has shared the same producer, Mutt Lange, as those mighty boys from Sheffield - Def Leppard, Bryan Adams and he was of course married to the very lovely Shania Twain. Bloke can make a record.

Jack Antonoff and Max Martin are probably her two most important collaborators, who incidentally are two of probably the five most significant producers of pop music since 2000.

The two of them have been instrumental in the careers of dozens of the most successful white American pop stars this century.

Her lyrics are pretty naff, but she’s nailed the Max Martin ideal of pop song writing, where the careful placement of syllables and rhythmic vocal emphases is deemed significantly more important than the actual words you use.

Can’t lie, there have been occasions when the Spotify algorithm has thrown this on while I’m deep into a long run, and I’ve vibed it.

**** I REMEMBER I WAS IN YEAR 6 THIS CAME OUT.

Seriously 2014 were the days.

2014 elimination final too.

Nah the album was released in 2014 mate.

Yep lol silly me just looked at the music vid.

I feel like the newer generation are genuinely gonna miss out on the pop craze lol they have missed out on the absolute chokehold that 1D had on every girl (including me).

Those days we also had psy making everyone doing the gangnam style. Now it’s TikTok dances lol