Random Random Chat Thread XL

Didn't know where else to ask but just got an email from Bupa and my premium has gone up to $103.87 a fortnight (only basics and for two of us), so wondering what private health provider everyone else goes with? I don't know if this is just a normal price or not but paying over $200 a month for the bare minimum is frustrating.

With Bupa too. Not sure what we pay but I'm sure it's too much. I'd be happy for them not to provide cover for aroma therapy, massage therapy, feelings therapy, any other kind of stupid arse therapy you can think of and cheap movie tickets that I never use in exchange for realistic premiums.

Same! I just need physio, dental and optical but for some reason have aromatherapy etc on there which I don't want or need.

I would love to be able to change it online but I have to ring them and I honestly can't be ****ed talking to them on the phone :rolleyes:

It's the same reason Foxtel make you buy 40 channels you'll never watch before you can get the footy.

Difference between Foxtel and health insurance companies though is the health insurance companies will probably still be here in 10 years. Foxtel is circling the drain.

Well, I got sick of bupa with their ever increasing premiums and diminishing returns. Also, what’s with their own dental clinics and optometrists? I didnt trust them anymore.

Then my dentist said he wasn’t one of their preferred providers as it was like doing a deal with the devil. So I swapped to a ‘members first’ fund. There’s a lot of them. Some are restricted like defence health but some are open to everyone. My partners grandfather was in the army so we went with defence health. The premiums were considerably less and I’m pretty happy with them and I got quite a bit more back on my last visit to the dentist.

I reckon it’s worth the effort and a straight swap of funds should not impact waiting periods or put you at any disadvantage.

Ive been cooking up a scheme so cunning you could pin a tail on it and call it a fox…

Defence, what a weird thing that countries budget for. Defence, what even is it? It’s like that stupid insurance policy you pay for year on year then when you finally need it and try make a claim they get you with a clause and it’s rendered unusable.

As if we are actually capable of defending this country, zero chance if anyone actually wants to come. ZERO. We all know if anyone comes, our allies will be here quick smart, quicker than you can say war machine - they are our defence, not because they like us, not because we help them… but because they loveee wars.

In 200 odd years of us being a nation, how many times have we needed our defence? Once… and you saw how well that went – yehh umm I think we should pull back to a line half way and give the Japanese the top half – if they promise to stop at Alice Springs…

Why do we even have tanks? If you are going to have 121 tanks you might as well have zero tanks, will do the same job on a land size of 7.3 million square kilometers… it’s like having 4 pickets on your front fence and calling it a (d)fence.

So I propose we do have zero tanks, and zero defence.

We spend per annum around 40 billion on defence, rising to 60 billion per year in 2025. In comparison, 33 billion spent on education, 75 billion on health.. so skewed!

So we spend zero on defence, we plough another 20b into education, 20b into health care – or maybe the public services we sold off...we are all better people for it.

Then we instigate a devilish state ran media campaign for outside eyes – Australia today tested its state of the art new missile defence system, Australia today signed off on 10,000 new tanks, Australia has installed sea mines and submarines around its circumference, Australia has enlisted all crocodiles to man their borders, Australia now has nuclear capabilities… We portray to the world how good our defence is – it’s all a game anyway right? Kim Jong photo shopping missiles, Russia showing fake launches, Grandiose shows of military might across the globe.. it’s all puff pieces and posturing anyway…

I say we build our house of cards via optics and use the actual money elsewhere. Like the bloke at the pub who cant fight but acts all crazy and yells a lot so never needs too.

40 billion per year!

What a waste, lets use it better :p

Ive been cooking up a scheme so cunning you could pin a tail on it and call it a fox…

Defence, what a weird thing that countries budget for. Defence, what even is it? It’s like that stupid insurance policy you pay for year on year then when you finally need it and try make a claim they get you with a clause and it’s rendered unusable.

As if we are actually capable of defending this country, zero chance if anyone actually wants to come. ZERO. We all know if anyone comes, our allies will be here quick smart, quicker than you can say war machine - they are our defence, not because they like us, not because we help them… but because they loveee wars.

In 200 odd years of us being a nation, how many times have we needed our defence? Once… and you saw how well that went – yehh umm I think we should pull back to a line half way and give the Japanese the top half – if they promise to stop at Alice Springs…

Why do we even have tanks? If you are going to have 121 tanks you might as well have zero tanks, will do the same job on a land size of 7.3 million square kilometers… it’s like having 4 pickets on your front fence and calling it a (d)fence.

We spend per annum around 40 billion on defence, rising to 60 billion per year in 2025. In comparison, 33 billion spent on education, 75 billion on health.. so skewed!

So we spend zero on defence, we plough another 20b into education, 20b into health care – or maybe the public services we sold off...we are all better people for it.

Then we instigate a devilish state ran media campaign for outside eyes – Australia today tested its state of the art new missile defence system, Australia today signed off on 10,000 new tanks, Australia has installed sea mines and submarines around its circumference, Australia has enlisted all crocodiles to man their borders, Australia now has nuclear capabilities… We portray to the world how good our defence is – it’s all a game anyway right? Kim Jong photo shopping missiles, Russia showing fake launches, Grandiose shows of military might across the globe.. it’s all puff pieces and posturing anyway…

I say we build our house of cards via optics and use the actual money elsewhere. Like the bloke at the pub who cant fight but acts all crazy and yells a lot so never needs too.

40 billion per year!

Read your policy wording.

That aside, you would probably need to look at a breakdown of what is actually covered by defence, as you mentioned "what is it?".
We have to have an armed force of some kind, to respond to any threat both foreign and domestic.
We need to deploy people out to help in other countries, this would also be covered under the budget. We also need to house these soldiers both while they train and overseas, more money spent.
We need to conduct intelligence on both what is happening inside our country and outside, so that would I imagine be a big spend. Knowledge is power.
Military also creates many jobs, training and employs a lot of people, Not sure you can remove it as you have just gotten rid of a heap of jobs from the market. Do our defence play any role in border protection? Another thing to consider.

I do like the idea of embellishing what we are capable of however, to be honest we- like most countries- probably already do.

Read your policy wording.

That aside, you would probably need to look at a breakdown of what is actually covered by defence, as you mentioned "what is it?".
We have to have an armed force of some kind, to respond to any threat both foreign and domestic.
We need to deploy people out to help in other countries, this would also be covered under the budget. We also need to house these soldiers both while they train and overseas, more money spent.
We need to conduct intelligence on both what is happening inside our country and outside, so that would I imagine be a big spend. Knowledge is power.
Military also creates many jobs, training and employs a lot of people, Not sure you can remove it as you have just gotten rid of a heap of jobs from the market. Do our defence play any role in border protection? Another thing to consider.

I do like the idea of embellishing what we are capable of however, to be honest we- like most countries- probably already do.

Maybe you can have a territorial army to deal with natural catastrophes ect, and the odd uprising ;)

most of that was in jest but then I get to thinking.. why not? isn't most of the world just posturing so they don't have to have a fight?

$40 billion seems a lot of money per year when its way more than actual education, I guess some of it goes toward giving tenders for building things which in turn helps economy.. but then they go and give them away to foreign companies.. even worse.

id love to find an actual breakdown of the spend, reckon that's well hidden or readily available?

Maybe you can have a territorial army to deal with natural catastrophes ect, and the odd uprising ;)

most of that was in jest but then I get to thinking.. why not? isn't most of the world just posturing so they don't have to have a fight?

$40 billion seems a lot of money per year when its way more than actual education, I guess some of it goes toward giving tenders for building things which in turn helps economy.. but then they go and give them away to foreign companies.. even worse.

id love to find an actual breakdown of the spend, reckon that's well hidden or readily available?

Would be in budget reports if anything. Not sure they ever breakdown any of the individual portfolios including health etc, at least not advertised. Would be too transparent for us to see what money is being spent where.

40 billion per year!

I think this is a fantastic idea. Our whole defence strategy based on perception management.
All it needs is a strong media campaign, lead by Paul Hogan:
“That’s not a nuclear bomb.......”

I think this is a fantastic idea. Our whole defence strategy based on perception management.
All it needs is a strong media campaign, lead by Paul Hogan:
“That’s not a nuclear bomb.......”

New Australian defence policy... 100% free and organic

dangerous-australia.jpg

was on the train last Saturday, pretty sparse patronage... sit in the free 4 seater, there was a glistening little book sitting on the seat.

Passport of Norway, looked fairly knew.

My mind immediately thought back to the times I was in flea bitten countries, paranoid id lost my passport and id be trapped for ever - then I thought about this poor soul and the frantic feelings they probably have..

I opened it up, Matthias something or other, with the o with the line thru it - visa stamped Canberra - consulate must be there.

poor geezer.

I thought id try look him up, did a bit of a facebook search and found a guy with the same name that looked pretty close - send him a message, dude, you lose a passport? ive left it with the Clifton hill station master, cheers.

so I left it at the station.

days later no reply - then I realized hang on, if you send somebody a message who isn't your friend I think it goes into weird out of the way box... I know it wasn't really my problem now but I couldn't stop thinking about it, I wanted closure, so I added him as a friend to see if that would work.

few hours later I got a reply... mate thanks!! so much!! ive been to the police, trying the PTV, nobody would help.. legend! this was much easier, you saved me.. I owe you a meal or something

nah its cool I said, ive travelled and know how bad it can be to lost the passport, enjoy your stay, later.

but he's insistent on taking me for a meal, i'm starting to feel awkward like its a proposition!

also a bit scary knowing how easily a stalker can find you on the face book hey.. took me 4 minutes to track him from a book on a train

was on the train last Saturday, pretty sparse patronage... sit in the free 4 seater, there was a glistening little book sitting on the seat.

Passport of Norway, looked fairly knew.

My mind immediately thought back to the times I was in flea bitten countries, paranoid id lost my passport and id be trapped for ever - then I thought about this poor soul and the frantic feelings they probably have..

I opened it up, Matthias something or other, with the o with the line thru it - visa stamped Canberra - consulate must be there.

poor geezer.

I thought id try look him up, did a bit of a facebook search and found a guy with the same name that looked pretty close - send him a message, dude, you lose a passport? ive left it with the Clifton hill station master, cheers.

so I left it at the station.

days later no reply - then I realized hang on, if you send somebody a message who isn't your friend I think it goes into weird out of the way box... I know it wasn't really my problem now but I couldn't stop thinking about it, I wanted closure, so I added him as a friend to see if that would work.

few hours later I got a reply... mate thanks!! so much!! ive been to the police, trying the PTV, nobody would help.. legend! this was much easier, you saved me.. I owe you a meal or something

nah its cool I said, ive travelled and know how bad it can be to lost the passport, enjoy your stay, later.

but he's insistent on taking me for a meal, i'm starting to feel awkward like its a proposition!

also a bit scary knowing how easily a stalker can find you on the face book hey.. took me 4 minutes to track him from a book on a train

Decline the meal but offer to catch up for a quick beer and exchange a couple of travel stories. A bar is always less awkward than a restaurant/cafe. If things go well and you're enjoying yourselves he can always shout you a countery.

Random Random Chat Thread XL