Discussion Random Discussion

The Lignite ( brown coal ) in Gippsland holds a lot of water, and due to its nature, dodgy hydrocarbons, that need to be evaporated off during a drying process prior to burning. The whole efficiency factor was based around being able to have the Power stations close to the coal mine, within easily transmissible distance to Melbourne.
You only need to see some of the big electric dredgers feeding Loy Yang ,directly via conveyor belts to imagine the logistics of trucking in Black Coal from NSW or Queensland. Its also problematic to transmit electricity from that distance.

Another thing which completely goes under the radar is International Shipping.

It would seem likely that Australia, with manufacturing shutting down, and our constant flow of iron ore to China, are amongst the major contributors to this source of CO2 emission.
I urge all devout Vegans to also forgo imported goods.
Surely you're not suggesting that vegans are hypocrites because they wear leather shoes, purchase plastic items, wear clothes manufactured in sweat shops and wipe their arses with paper?

Not to mention requesting vegan meals on their flight to Europe... And protesting on their smart phones made of minerals extracted by child labour in third world countries...

Surely you're not suggesting that vegans are hypocrites because they wear leather shoes, purchase plastic items, wear clothes manufactured in sweat shops and wipe their arses with paper?

Not to mention requesting vegan meals on their flight to Europe... And protesting on their smart phones made of minerals extracted by child labour in third world countries...
A vegan walked up to me once because she thought see had recognized me from her Vegan action group.
I told her I had never met herbivore

No , i'm merely pointing out that there is more they can do to further the cause, apart from making sure there isn't a trace amount of animal fat in their potato chips.

The Lignite ( brown coal ) in Gippsland holds a lot of water, and due to its nature, dodgy hydrocarbons, that need to be evaporated off during a drying process prior to burning. The whole efficiency factor was based around being able to have the Power stations close to the coal mine, within easily transmissible distance to Melbourne.
You only need to see some of the big electric dredgers feeding Loy Yang ,directly via conveyor belts to imagine the logistics of trucking in Black Coal from NSW or Queensland. Its also problematic to transmit electricity from that distance.

Another thing which completely goes under the radar is International Shipping.

It would seem likely that Australia, with manufacturing shutting down, and our constant flow of iron ore to China, are amongst the major contributors to this source of CO2 emission.
I urge all devout Vegans to also forgo imported goods.
I was going to write a reply but the age has just done it for me in relation to brown coal.

I’ve been talking about energy usage and generation a lot lately including pricing it’s very interesting, incredibly politically sensitive.

I could write 20 pages and just scratch the surface, every question I ask seems to throw up five more. Absolutely convinced more than ether that selling off our assets into private hands was madness.

BAD PUN FRIDAY

I was addicted to the hokey pokey... but thankfully, I turned myself around.

Most people are shocked when they find out how bad I am as an electrician

I bought some shoes from a drug dealer. I don't know what he laced them with, but I've been tripping all day.

R.I.P boiled water. You will be mist.

I ordered 2000 pounds of Chinese soup. It was Won Ton.

I tried to write with a broken pencil but it was pointless.

This morning some clown opened the door for me. I thought to myself that's a nice Jester.

Confucius say, man who runs behind car will get exhausted, but man who runs in front of car will get tired.

I finally realized my parents favored my twin brother. It hit me when they asked me to blow up balloons for his surprise birthday party.

I was going to write a reply but the age has just done it for me in relation to brown coal.

I’ve been talking about energy usage and generation a lot lately including pricing it’s very interesting, incredibly politically sensitive.

I could write 20 pages and just scratch the surface, every question I ask seems to throw up five more. Absolutely convinced more than ether that selling off our assets into private hands was madness.

Environment Victoria said brown coal was Australia's "dirtiest source of electricity", with Victoria's three remaining brown coal power stations producing more than 8 per cent of Australia's greenhouse pollution and "fuelling unprecedented drought and bushfire conditions"

Now this Statement from Environment Victoria really bugs me.
If people advertising real estate used this sort of deceptive BS they would go to jail.

We are talking about 8% of Australia's greenhouse emssions (if we believe them , and i don't because they bullshit enough to make themselves untrustworthy ), of the 1% of the GLOBAL emmissions.
That's right you flogs at Environment Victoria. We can't actually influence the Bushfires and droughts by closing our power stations, like you try to make people believe you can.

Australia puts out around 500 Mt of CO2 from power stations. TOTAL.
this year China have INCREASED their output by 230 Mt. Do the maths.
People use all sort so f per capita from different places, but in the end the only figure that matters is the total amount of CO2 going into the atmosphere of the planet.

Its simply wrong to suggest that we can stop our droughts or bushfires with our energy policy. ( if in fact they are caused by global warming ).
We had brownouts last summer, we need to have reliable energy.

Imagine a water reservoir connected to several houses, you are told to save water.
You use 1% of the water coming from the dam, and you stop watering your garden, you only flush number 2's, you get thirsty because you are avoiding washing.
The mansion next door uses a third of the water. Next year they will use about as much as you save ,in addition to what they are already using.

Are you helping prevent the dam from emptying...significantly?
Are you sure you are influencing what your neighbour does?

Environment Victoria said brown coal was Australia's "dirtiest source of electricity", with Victoria's three remaining brown coal power stations producing more than 8 per cent of Australia's greenhouse pollution and "fuelling unprecedented drought and bushfire conditions"

Now this Statement from Environment Victoria really bugs me.
If people advertising real estate used this sort of deceptive BS they would go to jail.

We are talking about 8% of Australia's greenhouse emssions (if we believe them , and i don't because they bulls**t enough to make themselves untrustworthy ), of the 1% of the GLOBAL emmissions.
That's right you flogs at Environment Victoria. We can't actually influence the Bushfires and droughts by closing our power stations, like you try to make people believe you can.

Australia puts out around 500 Mt of CO2 from power stations. TOTAL.
this year China have INCREASED their output by 230 Mt. Do the maths.
People use all sort so f per capita from different places, but in the end the only figure that matters is the total amount of CO2 going into the atmosphere of the planet.

Its simply wrong to suggest that we can stop our droughts or bushfires with our energy policy. ( if in fact they are caused by global warming ).
We had brownouts last summer, we need to have reliable energy.

Imagine a water reservoir connected to several houses, you are told to save water.
You use 1% of the water coming from the dam, and you stop watering your garden, you only flush number 2's, you get thirsty because you are avoiding washing.
The mansion next door uses a third of the water. Next year they will use about as much as you save ,in addition to what they are already using.

Are you helping prevent the dam from emptying...significantly?
Are you sure you are influencing what your neighbour does?
Yes it was full of absolute garbage imo, the only part I was directing posters to was the decrease in brown coal usage.

I have no idea how some of the statements that are made go unchallenged I guess it’s a sign of the times and reflects one popular narrative. So many things that are said are just factually incorrect like the recent amazon fires, whilst obviously a worrying situation it wasn’t unprecedented.

I remember when I was politically active rather than shitting people on footy forums I tried to tell people it would be a **** up. There was a real monorail salesman vibe to asset sales under Kennett. I had mates from the UK that were huge advocates for keeping utilities in public hands after the Thatcher era sell offs. It is impossible to keep prices cheap while making increased profits every year. The whole system needs to be run for less and charge more until it's at the point we are now. People are unable to buy anything discretionary because the cost of living is out of control.

I remember when I was politically active rather than s**tting people on footy forums I tried to tell people it would be a fu** up. There was a real monorail salesman vibe to asset sales under Kennett. I had mates from the UK that were huge advocates for keeping utilities in public hands after the Thatcher era sell offs. It is impossible to keep prices cheap while making increased profits every year. The whole system needs to be run for less and charge more until it's at the point we are now. People are unable to buy anything discretionary because the cost of living is out of control.
Interestingly I saw a report that’s a few years old now but we’ve been trending down in terms of usage slightly in the last 8 -9 years.

The drivers were efficiency, mainly regulatory, structural change in the economy although there was no real detail and seemed somewhat contradictory. It cited the closure of port Kembla steelworks, Kurri Kurri aluminium smelter and the Clyde refinery but went on to say the usage amongst the top 100 users had been remarkably constant and that there had been no “ collapse “ in manufacturing. The third driver was price particularly amongst the residential consumers, so screwing users drove down usage.

Interestingly I saw a report that’s a few years old now but we’ve been trending down in terms of usage slightly in the last 8 -9 years.

The drivers were efficiency, mainly regulatory, structural change in the economy although there was no real detail and seemed somewhat contradictory. It cited the closure of port Kembla steelworks, Kurri Kurri aluminium smelter and the Clyde refinery but went on to say the usage amongst the top 100 users had been remarkably constant and that there had been no “ collapse “ in manufacturing. The third driver was price particularly amongst the residential consumers, so screwing users drove down usage.

I still think things like Pink Batts, LEDs, Solar, removing all the metal Halide highway lights for LED in warehousing etc must play a part. Also more efficient forms of appliances and heating etc. I know from when we changed from all halogen at work to LED it made the bills so much cheaper. Over a whole house it must be much better too.

I don't think many people change their habits unless they are ensioners who can heat their houses because of cost.

I still think things like Pink Batts, LEDs, Solar, removing all the metal Halide highway lights for LED in warehousing etc must play a part. Also more efficient forms of appliances and heating etc. I know from when we changed from all halogen at work to LED it made the bills so much cheaper. Over a whole house it must be much better too.

I don't think many people change their habits unless they are ensioners who can heat their houses because of cost.
Higher standards in the construction of new housing, energy ratings on household appliances etc are all just no brainers. We’re not saving the planet it just makes sense on any level to do more with less where you can.

Price definitely has had an impact on usage, when you get into areas that are under any form of household financial stress any rise in price prompts change. They can link to other surveys and studies that confirm this plus of course they have access to usage data, obviously more detailed with smart metres.

I had a bit to do with the old SEC in my younger days.
It was an awesome organization, they had planning going out decades, things like their preventive maintenance was up there with world best practice, bit the Unions really got their claws into it, demarcation of trivial tasks was terrible, and they would down tools over stupid things, just to get the arvo off, or to be generally annoying or to assert their authority. It started really good for everyone, went too stupid , until something had to give, and that's made it shitty back the other way under privatization.

Friend of mine did a lot of work in HR while they were heading towards privatization, which was a huge project in itself.

Higher standards in the construction of new housing, energy ratings on household appliances etc are all just no brainers. We’re not saving the planet it just makes sense on any level to do more with less where you can.

Price definitely has had an impact on usage, when you get into areas that are under any form of household financial stress any rise in price prompts change. They can link to other surveys and studies that confirm this plus of course they have access to usage data, obviously more detailed with smart metres.

Hot Water service with 2 star = gas ring under a steel tank.
Hot Water service with 3 star = gas ring under a steel tank with a block of foam around it.
Bastards were milking us.

Hot Water service with 2 star = gas ring under a steel tank.
Hot Water service with 3 star = gas ring under a steel tank with a block of foam around it.
Bastards were milking us.
Like my washing machine, I saw a show on plastic in the food chain surprisingly from washing, clothing fibres.

I was also having trouble with tree roots in old pipes so I checked my fairly new machine, no filter. I rang the manufacturer, yeah no worries $50+ We’ll post it, gee thanks you make it but don’t fit it what a joke.

BAD PUN FRIDAY

I was addicted to the hokey pokey... but thankfully, I turned myself around.

Most people are shocked when they find out how bad I am as an electrician

I bought some shoes from a drug dealer. I don't know what he laced them with, but I've been tripping all day.

R.I.P boiled water. You will be mist.

I ordered 2000 pounds of Chinese soup. It was Won Ton.

I tried to write with a broken pencil but it was pointless.

This morning some clown opened the door for me. I thought to myself that's a nice Jester.

Confucius say, man who runs behind car will get exhausted, but man who runs in front of car will get tired.

I finally realized my parents favored my twin brother. It hit me when they asked me to blow up balloons for his surprise birthday party.
My children have just disowned me...

I remember when I was politically active rather than s**tting people on footy forums I tried to tell people it would be a fu** up. There was a real monorail salesman vibe to asset sales under Kennett. I had mates from the UK that were huge advocates for keeping utilities in public hands after the Thatcher era sell offs. It is impossible to keep prices cheap while making increased profits every year. The whole system needs to be run for less and charge more until it's at the point we are now. People are unable to buy anything discretionary because the cost of living is out of control.

Its been a massive **** up with both quality going down and cost rising.

Black Saturday fires were a direct result of the Electrical network being improperly maintained.

the NBN, not only did we pay $8 billion to buy back the copper network that we paid for in the first place, the absolute debacle that has become is mind boggling.

the closure of Hazelwood power station is another sign of mismanagement and lack of private funding into a state critical infrastructure, Hazelwood was due for closure no doubt but now the 3 remaining power stations are also due for closure and there is no proposal for their replacement.

Private sector might work in high population zones such as England and the USA but the fact we are the same landmass as the USA and a population less the greater New York means that private sector is not going to invest in those areas.

The hindsight way forward would of been maintaining the infrastructure in public hands and on selling to the private sector.

I’ve given up asking rhetorical questions. What’s the point?

A friend said to me the other day “ I don’t believe in coincidences.” I said “Oh my God, me either!”

I’ve decided to sell my vacuum cleaner. It’s just collecting dust.

Its been a massive fu** up with both quality going down and cost rising.

Black Saturday fires were a direct result of the Electrical network being improperly maintained.

the NBN, not only did we pay $8 billion to buy back the copper network that we paid for in the first place, the absolute debacle that has become is mind boggling.

the closure of Hazelwood power station is another sign of mismanagement and lack of private funding into a state critical infrastructure, Hazelwood was due for closure no doubt but now the 3 remaining power stations are also due for closure and there is no proposal for their replacement.

Private sector might work in high population zones such as England and the USA but the fact we are the same landmass as the USA and a population less the greater New York means that private sector is not going to invest in those areas.

The hindsight way forward would of been maintaining the infrastructure in public hands and on selling to the private sector.

The private sector there doesn't work either. They are having the same conversations there. Essential services aren't the things to skim money off. I remember in the 90s some English Tory knob said he only bathed once a month because they'd sold all the water assets and the company wouldn't invest in more storage. A country with nothing but rain was running out of water. Then the public purse was raided to pay for more storage that was given away again to the private sector who slash jobs and profit by raising prices. It's just basic logic that it's not good for the public.

Its been a massive fu** up with both quality going down and cost rising.

That would also allow the government to make decisions about the "type" of power station being built.

As for brown coal, i don't expect many technological advances to be made in the near future. Most of our brown coal technology is bought from Germany, and they really aren't looking at it much any more.

The private sector there doesn't work either. They are having the same conversations there. Essential services aren't the things to skim money off. I remember in the 90s some English Tory knob said he only bathed once a month because they'd sold all the water assets and the company wouldn't invest in more storage. A country with nothing but rain was running out of water. Then the public purse was raided to pay for more storage that was given away again to the private sector who slash jobs and profit by raising prices. It's just basic logic that it's not good for the public.

Trouble with privatising services is that you need to spell out every little thing they are expected to do, or they will find a way to shortcut it.

Think of trains skipping stations so they can meet their run on time targets.
Why would anyone in their right mind think that's acceptable.
People on train get there on time , as opposed to 5 minutes later. People on platform might be 40 minutes late.

I plant trees :)

Random Discussion seems like the right place for this.

I was at the premier of "Australian Dream" (Adam Goodes Doc) at TIFF (the Toronto Film Festival) last week, my wife works for CBC and was interviewing the director.

I said hi to Goodesy (I must say the he's a nice bloke!) and through the doc was excellent.

McAddams and Winmar are fantastic, and Eddie looked like a idiot, but I was wondering about its response inside Australia.

I always liked Goodes (except when he played the Saints), thought he was a supper talented player and was very fair and a real tough bloke especially as an undersized ruck. But because I was travelling around the world at the time and only lived in oz for maybe 1 or 2 months of the controversy, I never understand were the "he's a dirty player/stages for free kicks" thing came from.

Did I mis something, or was this just the excuse that was used to justify the continuation for the booing as people jumped in the bandwagon.

The doc went down very well! Canadians sometimes think they have all of this sorted out, but many of them are smart enough to no they don't and know that there history is full of similar issues, and they are in a similar position.

Ive got to say, I find it sad that a two time Brownlow medalist and premiership captain now can't watch the game, very sad!

Not meaning to upset anyone her guys and gals, but I was full of emotions and love for my home and I think the doc actually painted a hopefully way forward. My wife was crying at one point, and she can name 10 afl players (9 of them are St Kilda players)... very powerful!