Discussion Random Discussion

Yeah, the pic is a photoshopped joke off Instagram. Harmless fun. It is not a serious or real image.

But anyway, showing pics of politicians happy and celebrating fires and burn out firefighters (like it has never happened in Australia's history before) is actually very ridiculous given the current real situation. People can stoop very, very, very low to get political points in this world. A lot of the volunteer firies from the scrub and country are more pissed off with people like the greenies and people from the city that don't let them backburn/manage the threat properly.

Bushfires are not a new thing. Repeat. We are a dry ******* country. The aboriginals were dealing with this long before us.

BUSHFIRES WILL NEVER DISAPPEAR. WE WILL ALWAYS HAVE THEM.

Linking the current BUSHFIRES to Australia's co2 levels (Wwhich is less than 1% of the world) is WRONG, WRONG, WRONG and POLITICAL BULLSHIT.

I don’t think Morrison should be around just because of the fires but he bagged Christine Nixon for going to dinner on Black Saturday. No issue if they hold themselves to the standards they set.

Nothing to see here, move along folks.

Also found out today, apparently the federal government approved a $110,000 donation to the Sydney branch of the Hillsong church which, surprise surprise, is Scott Morrison's church. But we don't have money to pay firefighters or even pay for equipment for volunteer firefighters.

And people wonder why I say a bunch of preteens could run the country better than the Liberals. :tearsofjoy:
The most offensive spend was half a billion dollars to bring corporate people to the Great Barrier Reef so they won’t destroy it. No putting it to tender, no cost benefits etc. Also conflict of interests with people on the board. They claim they didn’t even ask for the money.

Population growth isn't the mechanism by which climate change occurs. What does population growth lead to? Hungry people who need housing and amenities. This leads to further logging, farming, coal burning etc. Stop with the surface level analysis and blame shifting to poor ass African countries. Countries like ours, the US, most of the EU. Are the ones capable of making changes. The population growth would be fine were it managed in an environmentally friendly way but it's not. That's not on some mother of 7 in Botswana.
What you want me to give you the abc of the effects of 100 years of rampant population growth?

You already know some of the more obvious problems yet your contention is we’d be fine if it was managed in an environmentally friendly way, please that’s rainbow and lollipops stuff as you well know it didn’t happen. The only blame being attributed to anyone in the climate debate is to wealthy industrialised countries, everybody else no matter their record is lining up for a handout and or given a free pass to continue to increase omissions.

I’m sorry but that’s not going to wash, the US pulled out, the cash cow has bolted others will follow. How about you acknowledge that I’m just calling for a one in all in approach that addresses the problem. Of course wealthy countries will do more and probably contribute more to any technology that addresses climate change. You can’t be as concerned as you profess if your happy to hand out free passes.

I don’t think Morrison should be around just because of the fires but he bagged Christine Nixon for going to dinner on Black Saturday. No issue if they hold themselves to the standards they set.
She had an operational role to play which clearly sets her apart from Scott Morrison.

Nothing to see here, move along folks.

Also found out today, apparently the federal government approved a $110,000 donation to the Sydney branch of the Hillsong church which, surprise surprise, is Scott Morrison's church. But we don't have money to pay firefighters or even pay for equipment for volunteer firefighters.

And people wonder why I say a bunch of preteens could run the country better than the Liberals. :tearsofjoy:
Do you have a link to that, churches run all sorts of charities that could be reasonable or shonky as hell.

The most offensive spend was half a billion dollars to bring corporate people to the Great Barrier Reef so they won’t destroy it. No putting it to tender, no cost benefits etc. Also conflict of interests with people on the board. They claim they didn’t even ask for the money.
That doesn’t seem possible, 500 million were they giving away gift bags like an oscars booster party.

Check it out I got a permit to frac half of QLD in mine, what did you get. I’m sick of all these ******* who enter politics with the arse out of their pants and a couple of years after leaving they have serious money.

Just quietly it’s seriously hot in Elwood now with some wonderful smoke adding to the fun.

I’d drive the 1klm to the point Ormond care park and have a swim except I’d probably melt before I made it there. Not getting aircon is looking more and more like an inspired decision, we should be retired to the muppet gallery gringo.

What you want me to give you the abc of the effects of 100 years of rampant population growth?

You already know some of the more obvious problems yet your contention is we’d be fine if it was managed in an environmentally friendly way, please that’s rainbow and lollipops stuff as you well know it didn’t happen. The only blame being attributed to anyone in the climate debate is to wealthy industrialised countries, everybody else no matter their record is lining up for a handout and or given a free pass to continue to increase omissions.

I’m sorry but that’s not going to wash, the US pulled out, the cash cow has bolted others will follow. How about you acknowledge that I’m just calling for a one in all in approach that addresses the problem. Of course wealthy countries will do more and probably contribute more to any technology that addresses climate change. You can’t be as concerned as you profess if your happy to hand out free passes.
The population of the earth is expected to cap out at maximum 10 billion people in about half a century, we could cover the energy requirements of double that number of people with the effective implementation of solar power worldwide. We could feed 3 times that with GMOs. We could easily house hundreds of times that without logging ancient trees that store more carbon than young trees. So yes actually, I do believe that because I trust in science and statistics and they agree with me.

Nothing to see here folks, climate change definitely isn't causing temperature spikes earlier in the year than ever before and hotter than ever before or anything. Side note, how good is Hawaii?

The population of the earth is expected to cap out at maximum 10 billion people in about half a century, we could cover the energy requirements of double that number of people with the effective implementation of solar power worldwide. We could feed 3 times that with GMOs. We could easily house hundreds of times that without logging ancient trees that store more carbon than young trees. So yes actually, I do believe that because I trust in science and statistics and they agree with me.
UN DESA projects 11.2 billion in 2100 and I’ve seen other experts with much higher figures.

Crusty why are you worried about climate change clearly we have energy, food and housing covered according to you. I like to do my own research but I always appreciate a link to an interesting article, paper etc. if you have any post them.

The Hillsong one was a ripper by the way, that appears on the surface to be an absolute scam.

UN DESA projects 11.2 billion in 2100 and I’ve seen other experts with much higher figures.

Crusty why are you worried about climate change clearly we have energy, food and housing covered according to you. I like to do my own research but I always appreciate a link to an interesting article, paper etc. if you have any post them.

The Hillsong one was a ripper by the way, that appears on the surface to be an absolute scam.

I'm not even bothering to check any of his numbers now, every fact and figure he posts is like that.
He continues to produce false information to support his arguments.

Population growth isn't the mechanism by which climate change occurs. What does population growth lead to? Hungry people who need housing and amenities. This leads to further logging, farming, coal burning etc. Stop with the surface level analysis and blame shifting to poor ass African countries. Countries like ours, the US, most of the EU. Are the ones capable of making changes. The population growth would be fine were it managed in an environmentally friendly way but it's not. That's not on some mother of 7 in Botswana.

Why do you consider Australia has the capability to drive change.
Please give an example taking into account our actual size and significance, politically and environmentally.

Yeah, the pic is a photoshopped joke off Instagram. Harmless fun. It is not a serious or real image.

But anyway, showing pics of politicians happy and celebrating fires and burn out firefighters (like it has never happened in Australia's history before) is actually very ridiculous given the current real situation. People can stoop very, very, very low to get political points in this world. A lot of the volunteer firies from the scrub and country are more pissed off with people like the greenies and people from the city that don't let them backburn/manage the threat properly.

Bushfires are not a new thing. Repeat. We are a dry ******* country. The aboriginals were dealing with this long before us.

BUSHFIRES WILL NEVER DISAPPEAR. WE WILL ALWAYS HAVE THEM.

Linking the current BUSHFIRES to Australia's co2 levels (Wwhich is less than 1% of the world) is WRONG, WRONG, WRONG and POLITICAL BULLSHIT.

Surely all the politicians in Australia should fly into Sydney so they can inhale the smoke for cheap political points.
Maybe some will suffer respiratory problems, then they can go to hospital. I'm sure the health workers need more people to look after.

What's he meant to do? Get some cheap photographs looking at maps on a table with someone wearing fire fighting gear?
If this country falls apart the moment the PM leaves, we're in more trouble than just fires.

I get that it looks bad. And honestly, given Morrison took Christine Nixon to task when she had dinner during the fires perhaps he deserves a bit of the blowback but it's all a bit silly.
It's a bad look, nothing more. There was nothing that could have been gained by him being in the country. Nothing.

It's all about the side, not the facts and common sense these days.

I really detest when things like these natural bushfires (some lit by firebugs btw) get used for political purposes. Its so wrong, wrong, wrong.

What's he meant to do? Get some cheap photographs looking at maps on a table with someone wearing fire fighting gear?
If this country falls apart the moment the PM leaves, we're in more trouble than just fires.

I get that it looks bad. And honestly, given Morrison took Christine Nixon to task when she had dinner during the fires perhaps he deserves a bit of the blowback but it's all a bit silly.
It's a bad look, nothing more. There was nothing that could have been gained by him being in the country. Nothing.

I's be more concerned he's spending dollars to sit on a beach in Hawaii when he could spend it in Queensland while our country is in a recession.

Nothing new, it does add some sobering evidence for the one in all in approach and exposes the equity and equality gag.

How is the heatwave you have over there? It looks brutal; anything over 25 degrees and I'm in trouble!
Was 46 at our house yesterday afternoon. Not too bad as there was no wind.

Filled up our bird bath and watched the larks, sparrows, minor birds and sulphur crested cockatoos all make friends around it.

Was 46 at our house yesterday afternoon. Not too bad as there was no wind.

Filled up our bird bath and watched the larks, sparrows, minor birds and sulphur crested cockatoos all make friends around it.

46 degrees is unimaginable to me, unless it's 46 fahrenheit! A lovely 5 degrees maximum here in Manchester today; it puts hair on your chest.

Don’t worry it will barely break 20 today.

I’m not sure how many big cities have temperature variations like Melbourne, hot winds from the interior and cold fronts straight up from Antarctica. It’s part of the charm of the place imo, yesterday was uncomfortable for a while with the heat and smoke but hey presto it’s a mild day with clean air today.

Don’t worry it will barely break 20 today.

I’m not sure how many big cities have temperature variations like Melbourne, hot winds from the interior and cold fronts straight up from Antarctica. It’s part of the charm of the place imo, yesterday was uncomfortable for a while with the heat and smoke but hey presto it’s a mild day with clean air today.

Yes, much more comfortable than the NSW and Queensland heatwaves, which look terrible. I just can't do extreme heat. I went to went to Greece on holiday during a heatwave a few years back, and it was the most miserable two weeks of my life: couldn't sleep, couldn't eat. Beautiful Mediterranean views etc, but I just wanted to get home.

If we didn't have conflicting opinions, we'd still be living in caves arguing over the colour of the curtains.
Faarrk yeah curtains.
download (3).jpeg
After all these yrs why didn't I think of that.