You poor bastards must be going insane.

As would the lawns!
Yes, although many would say i wasn't quite right before the lock downs
August is a slow month for lawns, so they shouldn't get to out of control

You poor bastards must be going insane.

As would the lawns!
I think I’m going to have to take the punt and occasionally work. I have no moral issues at all. I see no one when working. The only time I see someone is buying lunch which I do whether I work or not. Most I do are for older people and they are ringing me telling me how unsafe it is working on the cape weed to hang the clothes or weed the gardens. And more importantly I think I will go insane. Living on your own and seeing the chicken lady once a day is no way for anyone to live.

Yeah its not great and even more silly when the councils are allowed to mow its lawns, makes no sense I can go weeks without seeing a customer

Honestly, a little common sense from Dan wouldn’t go astray. I fail to see how you guys can’t work - you’re probably wearing masks anyway.

Wife mentioned tonight how thin the dog was looking
got plenty to do around the house but lack motivation to do crap if i'm not getting paid for it
have a golf net and putting green that takes up a good 40 minutes a day

Yeah, I know that one, I was going to renovate at work and do heaps around the house, so far nothing. I can't motivate myself.

Find a project boys... make the most of the time to learn a new skill, something to keep your mind busy & creative.

Udemy.com has heaps of online courses, YouTube had heaps of ‘how to’ videos... anything like that. Most are free to do as well.

I’m laying my 1st concrete slab next weekto pop a new shed on. Its a reasonably simple project but but will keep me & my mind busy.

How do you get the concrete in? I like doing work around the house until I start doing it.

If its old people , you can say you are a carer.
Just make sure they slip you some cash.

Its crazy the way they have arbitrarily allowed some high risk non-essential industries to stay open , while not allowing certain low risk.

Who would have thought that you needed permission to use the Aboriginal emblem.
Now I’m not Indigenous, but I think it’s wrong that one company can use the emblem for profiteering, it’s a bloody disgrace to all current & past Indigenous people.

thats what i need to do with my mum's cat. tooo fat. i need a leash to walk the cat.

Years ago we had a cat. When my wife and i walked the dog it would follow on the sly. You'd see it in the corner of your eye and look around and it would dart into someone's driveway and hide. We'd walk a km or 2 and it would follow the whole way.

Who would have thought that you needed permission to use the Aboriginal emblem.
Now I’m not Indigenous, but I think it’s wrong that one company can use the emblem for profiteering, it’s a bloody disgrace to all current & past Indigenous people.

Australia declared it a "Flag of Australia ".
Sometime later the original designer claimed copyright. That should not have been tolerable. Does any other country have an official flag that an individual owns the copyright to? We are great at being embarrassing.
The flag status accidentally expired ( government bungle ).
IMO it should not have been automatically re-instated.

It is not tolerable that a "Flag of Australia " has copyright held by a private individual who is happy to sell it to any shonky organisation.
There should have been pressure placed upon the owner to relinquish the copyright. ( not saying for free ).

I hate copyright laws. Yes its a great flag, but i can't see that the artist spent more than 8 hours working on it. I could be generous and say a week. He's set for life and so are his kids.
IMO he can go down in history as a greedy bastard or someone who gave something important to indigenous Australians.

For Example :
{{In 2010 Thomas was involved in a dispute with Google over its intended use of a 12-year-old Australian girl's artwork incorporating the Australian Aboriginal Flag into its logo. Thomas refused to allow Google to use the image featuring the flag after negotiations over compensation failed, resulting in a modified design in which the flag was not used. Thomas claimed that Google had opened negotiations with a request for free use of the flag and, while he allowed free use to non-commercial operations that gave health, educational, legal and other assistance to Aboriginal people, he charged a fee to commercial operations. He described Google's subsequent offer as a "pittance".}}

So we are talking about the special screen google sometimes does. https://www.google.com/doodles. How much do google make from their special screens when they celebrate famous people, things and events? Meanwhile there is a 12yo girl somewhere who missed out on getting her work on the google page.
Google probably thought they were doing the right thing , promoting indigenous Australians, until Mr Greedy got involved and it all got too hard.
--------
If i found a way to make Nuclear fusion i have 20 years to capitalise on it. Copyright lasts until 50 years after the death of the creator.
So that tells you something about the difficulty in getting people to invest in technology that requires billions of dollars of research.

Meanwhile software writers have managed to hoodwink the world into thinking that their "engineering code" is a work of literature or art.
I'd put it out there that the imagery and text should be, but not the methods used to switch the transistors that control the electronics. ( software ).

Sometime later the original designer claimed copyright. That should not have been tolerable. Does any other country have an official flag that an individual owns the copyright to? We are great at being embarrassing.

It is not tolerable that a "Flag of Australia " has copyright held by a private individual who is happy to sell it to any shonky organisation.
There should have been pressure placed upon the owner to relinquish the copyright. ( not saying for free ).

I hate copyright laws. Yes its a great flag, but i can't see that the artist spent more than 8 hours working on it. I could be generous and say a week. He's set for life and so are his kids.
IMO he can go down in history as a greedy bastard or someone who gave something important to indigenous Australians.

For Example :
{{In 2010 Thomas was involved in a dispute with Google over its intended use of a 12-year-old Australian girl's artwork incorporating the Australian Aboriginal Flag into its logo. Thomas refused to allow Google to use the image featuring the flag after negotiations over compensation failed, resulting in a modified design in which the flag was not used. Thomas claimed that Google had opened negotiations with a request for free use of the flag and, while he allowed free use to non-commercial operations that gave health, educational, legal and other assistance to Aboriginal people, he charged a fee to commercial operations. He described Google's subsequent offer as a "pittance".}}

So we are talking about the special screen google sometimes does. https://www.google.com/doodles. How much do google make from their special screens when they celebrate famous people, things and events? Meanwhile there is a 12yo girl somewhere who missed out on getting her work on the google page.
Google probably thought they were doing the right thing , promoting indigenous Australians, until Mr Greedy got involved and it all got too hard.
--------
If i found a way to make Nuclear fusion i have 20 years to capitalise on it. Copyright lasts until 50 years after the death of the creator.
So that tells you something about the difficulty in getting people to invest in technology that requires billions of dollars of research.

Meanwhile software writers have managed to hoodwink the world into thinking that their "engineering code" is a work of literature or art.
I'd put it out there that the imagery and text should be, but not the methods used to switch the transistors that control the electronics. ( software ).
Pretty obvious which way the prick wants to go , just disgusting

For Example :

--------

Also , interesting how the white man gets a bad wrap yet this is one of their own holding them to ransom, lets see a march on parliament house for this ,,,,,,,,,,, Not a f---king chance

Except that the one holding the AFL to ransom are the people who hold the copyright licence - WAM clothing - care to guess race and skin colour of the owners of this company.

If you don't like it then perhaps you'd like to sign this petition

Except that the one holding the AFL to ransom are the people who hold the copyright licence - WAM clothing - care to guess race and skin colour of the owners of this company.

Yeah they maybe white the clothing company , but tell me how they got copyright , it wasnt because he liked them , anyway i signed it for the right reason

Talking of rubbish , why would the club say on their website that they will be wearing the jumper designed by Matty Parker ? From whats been said on here that defiantly wont be happening

Yes , after selling the rights to a shonky company that was later prosecuted for selling cheap indonesian art as aboriginial, Mr Greedy sold it to WAM.
They are not holding the AFL to ransom, the AFL are refusing to pay, in response to a movement to get the rights given back.

The Government ( as usual ) are to blame.

If you are going to adopt someones work as an "Australian Flag " it should only be under the condition that anyone with potential copy rite sign an agreement.

Question: Did the rights to the Flag ever get sold prior to its status of "Australian Flag "? If not , you could argue in court , that they are not actually selling the design of the Flag , but rather they are selling its status of an "Australian Flag ". The value is not in the design , its in the symbolism.

The Australian flag with union jack and southern cross is OK. But people don't use it because it looks good, they use it because its an Australian Flag.
The value is not in the design.

The indigenous flag is fine example of outrage culture, the same people would be just as outraged if an indigenous person was being denied the right to profit from their art.

Outrage for the sake of outrage.

The indigenous flag is fine example of outrage culture, the same people would be just as outraged if an indigenous person was being denied the right to profit from their art.

Outrage for the sake of outrage.

What do you mean? I reckon he should probably have been paid for his design once and then it becomes public property, perhaps a perpetual annuity for his kids while it's in use maybe. Perhaps with a clause that it has to be approved for fair use by an approved indigenous body. It's more an interesting copyright case. It's technically not a national flag so is treated differently to other flags so has a different legal definition.

The race thing is totally irrelevant other than the people who bought the design are arseholes and are profiting from something that isn't really something that should be profited from. Like that Pharma bro in the US or a guy in Australia that put in a patent for the human genome and sent claim letter to every genetic research lab in the world claiming that they needed to pay up or cease and desist any research.

It isn't outrage over nothing, it's just poor behaviour from businesses that are morally deficient. To me it's no different to any other corrupt profiteering.

What do you mean? I reckon he should probably have been paid for his design once and then it becomes public property, perhaps a perpetual annuity for his kids while it's in use maybe. Perhaps with a clause that it has to be approved for fair use by an approved indigenous body. It's more an interesting copyright case. It's technically not a national flag so is treated differently to other flags so has a different legal definition.

The race thing is totally irrelevant other than the people who bought the design are arseholes and are profiting from something that isn't really something that should be profited from. Like that Pharma bro in the US or a guy in Australia that put in a patent for the human genome and sent claim letter to every genetic research lab in the world claiming that they needed to pay up or cease and desist any research.

It isn't outrage over nothing, it's just poor behaviour from businesses that are morally deficient. To me it's no different to any other corrupt profiteering.
Anyone doing anything illegal?
Anyone?
Carry on.

Anyone doing anything illegal?
Anyone?
Carry on.

But neither did the guy who patented the genome which was public property. Or Martin Shkreli who bought up the rights to sell drugs for rare diseases and put the price up from $1.50 per tablet to $30 per tablet for his company's profit. There are literally millions of ways to make big money out of doing legal but morally questionable things.

There are plenty of people who go around patenting existing things like the gene sequences and send out letters of claim against people using it the way that has always been possible in past fair use. Often they fall down in court but it's easier to pay $5000 to some loser than get a lawyer to take it to court which you would be lucky to get out of for under $50,000 even if it's immediately thrown out.

At the moment big companies are fighting to be able to use people's clothing and graphic designs to make money and not have to pay them for it. Companies like K-Mart will steal a designs and pay no royalties to the original designer.

That's exactly what these guys have done. Found an iconic image and found a way to license it for profit, yes the old bloke shouldn't have sold it to them but if you were old and had **** all someone handing you a bag of cash would be pretty handy. People have done it in the past with domain names where early on they went and bought up all the .com names for companies and blackmailed them to buy it back for huge money. My wife used to be a commercial lawyer, there are plenty of campaigners in the world that will act in shitty ways to profiteer.