Discussion Random Discussion

I have been on about our gas industry for a while but we have just given the same people the keys to the safe during COVID to rebuild our economy. A family friend's final project was to review the gas deals and he said that if the public knew what went on they'd tear down politics in Australia. He was a senior partner at one of the world's biggest auditors Australian branch. He's no lefty or alarmist, he's about the most conservative man you could come across.

30d122b3f467eee82b3bb264ff1123ad.jpg

These lawnmowing professionals taking no prisoners Mowman plugger66

I think I’m going to have to take the punt and occasionally work. I have no moral issues at all. I see no one when working. The only time I see someone is buying lunch which I do whether I work or not.
Well it may become more than just a moral issue 🤔🍗🍟

vTS0u44.jpg[img]

Clive Palmer is a fatty mcfu**head. In my opinion.

He's a nut sack, unfortunately a nut sack that is just sending out repeated law suits knowing that governments prefer to pay up a settlement instead of fighting for 10 years in court. The federal government gave up against Murdoch and handed him half a billion dollars because they'd made him pay tax once. The government will give Clive $20 million in settlements to go away and he'll have lost no money and he'll leave everyone alone for a while.

He's a parasitic slug.

You have to be careful calling it racism. I think people are lacking compassion for their plight at times but it doesn't automatically make it racist. There is a big difference between lacking compassion and racism. Most people seem to be of the opinion that it's just a non issue and if one of their own sold it so it's their own problem. There is always a fine balance between paternalistic taking control of all their issues instead of letting them sort it out themselves. You could easily argue that it's an issue that they will have to lobby government for and doing so will be a good way for their administrative bodies to get some taste of using political clout.

Sometimes having a cause worth fighting for helps bring the disparate bodies together in a common aim and they might be able to use it to better a whole lot of indigenous outcomes. Most white politicians seem to fu** up Indigenous affairs, they can't do a worse job themselves.
Not buying it - the language used in many posts was a classic example of casual racism.

As to a solution - should be straightforward actually given the Minister has been aware of the issue for years and in the light of recent WA govt actions where they introduced legislation overnight to not only cancel someones legal claim, but also prevent them from lodging another claim, then cancel his right of appeal and extinguish the legal liability of anyone connected to the State Government related to the matter.

Acquiring a copyright should be simple.

Not buying it - the language used in many posts was a classic example of casual racism.

As to a solution - should be straightforward actually given the Minister has been aware of the issue for years and in the light of recent WA govt actions where they introduced legislation overnight to not only cancel someones legal claim, but also prevent them from lodging another claim, then cancel his right of appeal and extinguish the legal liability of anyone connected to the State Government related to the matter.

Acquiring a copyright should be simple.

Technically it probably is. I guess all I'm saying is if you tell someone they are racist you've won the moral battle and feel like a better person, but a lot of people are going to listen more if you put up a reasoned argument and educate them. Hardly anyone backs down let alone changes their opinion if you brand them. Even hardcore racists probably don't see quite how racist they are so shaming them only riles them.

Yeah, governments don't want the hot potato, they let it be someone else problem. The current federal Coalition government is courting the harder right that would vote Hanson so isn't going to do something with this. It's a real statement piece, it looks like something you need the Greens to arc up over and nail it to the end of something one of the majors wants sent through parliament. Seeng as they have only sat 25 days or something this year and we can't move politicians around and the pandemic, that's not happening either.

The government should have some one work out fair value and pay the company out for the copyright in an ideal world. There is some logic to holding it as a copyright so that Indigenous bodies have some control over it's use and it's not a national flag as such. You kind of don't want it on a million fridge magnets made in china or crass T shirts. If you could buy it and send an annual royalty cheque to the artists family I think that would be ideal.

A hopefully good thing but a sad remembrance happened to me today and as I have no contact with anyone it’s all social media. A mate of mine at school, Thomas Cooper, was killed in front of his girlfriend way back in either 79 or 80 by the man known as the man in the cowboy hat. They never solved the crime but today announced a million dollar reward. As with all things rumours are they know who it is but no one has ever come forward. Hopefully the good thing today is a million dollars could flush out someone. The poor guy was just 18. It really hit our McKinnon high and east Bentleigh community. Hopefully now for his sister it can come to an end. Sadly his mum and died not knowing who did it.

Our poster from WA cops a bit sometimes, but i reckon he gets a fair bit right

DOCKERS’ PART WAYS WITH CONDITIONING BOSS

Player agent Colin Young‘s often tense relationship with Fremantle over its handling of his clients’ injury and conditioning management will ease given the club’s decision to part ways with strength and conditioning boss Jason Webber.

Young, who has a significant number of Fremantle clients on his books, has long been critical of the Dockers‘ injury rehabilitation and prevention.

Young said late last year: “I have serious concerns on how the club rehabilitates its players (and) it‘s my opinion that this area of the club needs an immediate review.”

“Immediate changes need to be made or the club is going nowhere.”

His concern in recent times centred on defender Joel Hamling‘s ankle injuries which has already required two surgeries, with another one already scheduled.

Freo are going to really improve under their new coach. Seems to have plenty in the media who know footy wrapping him up. And on a good note I’ve worked 3 of the last 5 days without anyone dobbing me in. I have no moral issue because I can’t think of a safer covid job outside your home but mowing lawns. Get on board follow lawn mowers. Safety for own older clients is vital.

I'm the opposite, my mate who was giving me work has had an override on the permission he got and cancelled my work until I don't need it.

Sunny here.

Wind + rain.

My fave was coming from work where it'd be pissing down, I'm talking you drop 60km otherwise hydro planing, then get other side of Melb and dry as a bone, as if Moses said 'yeah nah".

And on a good note I’ve worked 3 of the last 5 days without anyone dobbing me in. I have no moral issue because I can’t think of a safer covid job outside your home but mowing lawns. Get on board follow lawn mowers. Safety for own older clients is vital.
Your inspirational video has had more hits than Magda’s one 👍🏻

vwwH82k.gif

Did anyone hear Kennett on SEN yesterday? That guy struggles to see where the lines between conflict of interest stand. Was using his Hawks presidency speech to go after Dan Andrews, started on suicide for Beyond Blue where he went into why Labor was killing the state and said there won't be any jobs left which just about gave me an anxiety attack listening to it. Then went into AFL basically saying all vic sides will survive next year but then a distinct possibility that the weak club will have to fold or kill the whole competition. I was depressed listening to him and he had so many agendas you couldn't work out which one fitted with which hat he was wearing. I wish he'd go away. He's always been a bully and still is.

Wouldn’t waste my time listening to him mate, doing everything he can to stay relevant and those days for him have long past

Simple questions could be asked.

Jeff how much were you paid for your role at Beyond Blue because you no longer list wages of its
staff ...the Australian Taxation Office report that since 2003 the wages bill accounts for a 2000 fold increase
over $36 million .it’s not just him but lots of retired politicians & bureacrats all parties.

Overseeing misery pays well look at the Aged Care listings on the ASX.

By the way didn’t Jeff say my role in 2017 is to find the next President of Hawthorn .

Looked in a mirror by the sound of it.

When he was premier of Victoria he used to occasionally call up my brother-in-law in the middle of the night when he was pissed off his skull and abuse him. He is the true definition of a narcissist and as you say a bully.

I was close school friends with family members and they think he's an arseh*le. We know a few people on both sides of politics in vic and anyone who was around in his day seems to have nothing positive to say about him. He's apparently aiming to come back as premier as well according to some and has been white anting O'Brien with the help of some Lib power brokers. O'Brien is a squib but at least he hasn't run his race already, surely they have more than Jeff to put up.