Discussion Random Discussion

The ABC is neutral but looks like it communist because most others are politicised. The Age is pretty centrist these days, still politicises to push the centrist agenda though. It's for inner city w***ers like me who want to feel like we are good people while not really doing much but drinking coffee and looking concerned for poor people. The Guardian on line here is pretty much the left wing equivalent of the Herald Sun. It's unapologetically left leaning and editorialised to suit their agenda.

Its kind of funny when some hardcore lefties criticize the ABC for being controlled by the Libs. ( under the current government ).
Its hard to say that they haven't done a decent job of staying Neutral.
But the one eyed only want everything either for or against.

so ok to have left wing abc and the age, but right wing sun is a cancer.
Murdoch runs this country and the Liberals are his puppets. Every paper in QLD is owned by Murdoch and look at how the last election was won. All I want is a fair democracy, I think plenty agree.

Considering almost everything good the Liberals have "done" in response to covid has been at the behest of Labor pulling them there kicking and screaming I'd say the major parties would've done a fair bit differently personally. For starters Labor wouldn't have released another budget that will further cripple our economy giving tax cuts that we know don't stimulate the economy at all. Secondly, if any tax cuts were given it would be to people who actually need them; not people who earn 150k a year or more. Jobseeker and Jobkeeper would have been extended and expanded, university funding would not have been cut, etc etc etc.
Strange. And I thought gringos response was state government.

They both have different ways of spending but at least money is still flowing. I agree that I think Swan probably did it better but you have got expect the different sides will do it differently. Some political differences are going to show up. Most of it doesn't make a huge difference to regular people on the ground.

There was already a world recession on the way before this, it will hit and won't be all the coalition decisions. This has just hobbled an already broken down horse.The sh*t you don't want is for the governments to respond with austerity measures. That never works. The wold's financial systems need an overhaul and hopefully the pain will let that happen. We are at a technological cross road right now.
We went from the highest rated OECD economy after the GFC to outside the top 20 in 7 years. We should be in the middle of one of the greatest periods of economic growth in Australian history with a flourishing car industry, a world class nbn system, the best pooled natural energy resources of any country in the world, a Great Barrier Reef that isn't 90% dead, actual measures in place to prevent the bushfires from being as bad as they were last year as has been predicted for nearly 3 decades. We should've spent at least 1 dollar of the 4 billion promised in fire recovery aid, healthcare supplements with covid, teaching and childcare improvements at any point instead of more cuts. But instead we have none of that, instead we have more tax cust for people who earn over 150k a year and consistently worse living conditions for everyone else.

It's not much of a muchness between parties. One is a corrupt front for corporate donors and media backers, one is not. One would actually do literally anything useful for its citizens, one does not.

The ABC is neutral but looks like it communist because most others are politicised. The Age is pretty centrist these days, still politicises to push the centrist agenda though. It's for inner city w***ers like me who want to feel like we are good people while not really doing much but drinking coffee and looking concerned for poor people. The Guardian on line here is pretty much the left wing equivalent of the Herald Sun. It's unapologetically left leaning and editorialised to suit their agenda.
not to sure about the abc being neutral, the rest seems to be fair enough/

My apologies, I misread your post and thought you were saying you wanted evidence that the Murdoch press supports the LNP.
No Murdoch is a right wing fool but I wasn’t talking about him. The original post was disgusting though and as far as Murdoch is a right fool he isn’t responsible for more damage than terrorists or Covid. I’m pretty sure I’d rather Murdoch pedal his crap than having the next bin laden in our back yard.

We went from the highest rated OECD economy after the GFC to outside the top 20 in 7 years. We should be in the middle of one of the greatest periods of economic growth in Australian history with a flourishing car industry, a world class nbn system, the best pooled natural energy resources of any country in the world, a Great Barrier Reef that isn't 90% dead, actual measures in place to prevent the bushfires from being as bad as they were last year as has been predicted for nearly 3 decades. We should've spent at least 1 dollar of the 4 billion promised in fire recovery aid, healthcare supplements with covid, teaching and childcare improvements at any point instead of more cuts. But instead we have none of that, instead we have more tax cust for people who earn over 150k a year and consistently worse living conditions for everyone else.

It's not much of a muchness between parties. One is a corrupt front for corporate donors and media backers, one is not. One would actually do literally anything useful for its citizens, one does not.
Oh and to top it off, we are not even close to being "back black" like scotty from marketing tried to advertise last year. We have 640 billion dollars of national which is the highest in Australian history and 4 times what the debt was at the last point in time Labor had a majority in federal government. After the GFC. We got a stimulus package that was larger and yet still less effective than labor's gfc despite literally every federal liberal campaign since the GFC being run on "debt is bad" and "stimulus packages are stupid".

The abc and the age are not left wing. That's surely a joke right?

70% of the ABC news staff were at Newscorp prior to arriving there these days.

This ABC is Left Wing rubbish ,it’s getting death by a thousand cuts , News staff that have been there
for years gone , if you don’t toe the line by minimising criticism you will be moved on , replaced by
young reporters that were mothballed through AAP , these are facts open your eyes .

Hence the attacks on Facebook & Google .

Rarely watch Channel 7 , 9 these days , mustn’t be the only one , commercial TV is dying replaced by
streaming services Stan & Netflix and many others which are booming.

70% of the ABC news staff were at Newscorp prior to arriving there these days.

This ABC is Left Wing rubbish ,it’s getting death by a thousand cuts , News staff that have been there
for years gone , if you don’t toe the line by minimising criticism you will be moved on , replaced by
young reporters that were mothballed through AAP , these are facts open your eyes .

Hence the attacks on Facebook & Google .

Rarely watch Channel 7 , 9 these days , mustn’t be the only one , commercial TV is dying replaced by
streaming services Stan & Netflix and many others which are booming.

The age is right win, it is run by well known leftie Peter Costello and the ABC is also so soft on the LNP that it is a ****ing joke.

Murdoch runs this country and the Liberals are his puppets. Every paper in QLD is owned by Murdoch and look at how the last election was won. All I want is a fair democracy, I think plenty agree.

Why would Murdoch give a damn when he's running USA and UK? He's been far more involved in USA and UK politics than Australia, and any comments he has made have often varied from those of this locally run media outlets?

Its kind of funny when some hardcore lefties criticize the ABC for being controlled by the Libs. ( under the current government ).
Its hard to say that they haven't done a decent job of staying Neutral.
But the one eyed only want everything either for or against.

I think a big part of that is David Spears. He's politicised the Insiders to the right, Barry Cassidy had a slight left leaning vibe but was pretty careful to look neutral. Spears doesn't even pretend not to lead questions to an agenda. The Libs are trying hard to make the ABC the government of the days broadcaster or at least push it slightly right to mirror the free to air commercial channels. Ita Buttrose is pretty right and they have stacked the board with political appointments.

Spears is an absolute pisstake and designed to punish them for not behaving. He was the political editor at Fox News. You seriously couldn't get a more biased news service in Australia than Fox. The guy who started Fox in the US ( Roger Ailes) actually deliberately made a fake new service that looks like news but is designed as a propaganda exercise. It's no wonder people are confused by what is news and what is entertainment.

Why would Murdoch give a damn when he's running USA and UK? He's been far more involved in USA and UK politics than Australia, and any comments he has made have often varied from those of this locally run media outlets?
Because we have a **** load of wealth to steal and some country needed to be ground zero

The age is right win, it is run by well known leftie Peter Costello and the ABC is also so soft on the LNP that it is a ******* joke.

The Age editorials at election time usually lean to the Libs these days but they still court the centrist people, they still shy away from the mad Nats and Hanson clones that Murdoch doesn't have a problem with. Melbourne is one of few major cities that predominantly vote Labor or Greens and it's got 2 papers. The SMH in NSW is the same paper and that's the other big stronghold for Labor. Murdoch generally will always back conservative interests but he's also for sale. If you go on your knees and offer him what ever he wants he'll help Labor governments get in, just behave or you get the Rudd treatment.

He has business interests outside of media that make him money. He's a business man, he's not doing propaganda at a loss for fun. He got given the money for running local papers, the Australia network, has been given relaxed media ownership laws etc. Had a hand in breaking up the NBN plans to hold on to cable longer etc.

The Rudd plan for the NBN was literally close to identical to the proposal that Turnbull had proposed but with a bit more access to more areas. Turnbull then had to pretend that his own plan was a load of shit and unviable. It was actually pretty funny and sad at the same time. Oh well Australia's greatest spend on a public infrastructure project that just blew out to about double the initial cost came in late and doesn't even work.

If journalists were after some shameful government that should be top of the list and sports rorts for that matter. To me the Bushfire stuff with Morrison was bad optics but nothing he actually caused, a bit like Hotel Quarantine. The scale of **** ups and corruption aren't equal to their seriousness in the media.

Federal Labor still does some shitty stuff but the current Lib/Nats are a really shitty lot. The Liberals had a civil war at Federal level and the guys that have taken over are the worst of the worst. They have moved to that kind of idiot tea party populism while putting corporate interests in to ministerial jobs.

Politicians on both sides get scared off if they are half decent or want things to change.

Labor should put Jim Chalmers up, he doesn't seem to stand for much but he talks well and can argue a point. They see to pick ****ing idiots for leaders that even their own parents wouldn't vote for. Albo is as appealing as haemorrhoids and he was an improvement on Shorten.

Labor should put Jim Chalmers up, he doesn't seem to stand for much but he talks well and can argue a point. They see to pick ******* idiots for leaders that even their own parents wouldn't vote for. Albo is as appealing as haemorrhoids and he was an improvement on Shorten.
I never got why people found Shorten unelectable tbh.

Bloke fought against work choices and was immense during the Beaconsfiled mining rescue, Only thing i can see was going against Rudd.

The news is interesting enough without having to spin a narrative or pander to masses.
Federal Labor still does some shitty stuff but the current Lib/Nats are a really shitty lot. The Liberals had a civil war at Federal level and the guys that have taken over are the worst of the worst. They have moved to that kind of idiot tea party populism while putting corporate interests in to ministerial jobs.

Politicians on both sides get scared off if they are half decent or want things to change.

Labor should put Jim Chalmers up, he doesn't seem to stand for much but he talks well and can argue a point. They see to pick ******* idiots for leaders that even their own parents wouldn't vote for. Albo is as appealing as haemorrhoids and he was an improvement on Shorten.

Shoot the lot of them.

Abbott got in by being a 2 year old going "no, I don't wanna" as his modus operandi, after Rudd got in since little Johnny sucked at cricket and bullshitted a fair bit an Costello was unelectable, like finding an onion attractive, but Rudd was more "Ima doer, lookit these things that aren't exactly costed but generally needed". Then he obviously got benched by "he's a bit of a dick and I have a lawyer degree and long hair" Gillard, who actually attempted reform of things then got shouted down because boat rocking and damn woman get back in the kitchen. Talcolm came in all ALP lite and half arsed it like a boss, left a bit of a smell then pissed off and Scotty arrived all "see this dog, it's a pig, you want this swallow, brb I have this great deal on a 2007 Honda only it's missing a few wheel, carburetor, steering, gearbox, window actually screw that here's what we're gonna do to that fig, marinate it in plum sit it on a bbq and what was I saying again?" meanwhile Shorten was in the background "I knife people, these are policies, read bitches" and everyone went "dashit is going on with these muppetts?"

Clean the lot out, start again. Be all, we have minerals and natural wonders, lets not be dicks and let people pillage.

But then, I've bitched and moaned that the suburb I live in was pillaged by Lib bullshit, so this is tinged by my local member not being a bitch and reasons why Yoda normally appears on my voting cards and I usually went minor party. Burn it all, or give it to Clive Palmers all consuming girth, gimmie Jurassic park 25 you fat bastard.

I never got why people found Shorten unelectable tbh.

Bloke fought against work choices and was immense during the Beaconsfiled mining rescue, Only thing i can see was going against Rudd.

I know people in state Labor that hated him....and spend lots of time with him. An old friend knows his wife and he hates him, he reckons he only married her to make the most of his political ambitions. They both reckon he's so driven to power he'd eat his children to get there. They reckon he's two faced and snaky.

Not many people have nice things to say about him and that's the ones on his side. Albo is meant to be a good bloke but he's like taking a hamster to a pit bull fight. Morrison would sit on his head and teabag him in a campaign and Morrison looks like the fat kid at school that people would have spat on in the hall.

The news is interesting enough without having to spin a narrative or pander to masses.

Shoot the lot of them.

Abbott got in by being a 2 year old going "no, I don't wanna" as his modus operandi, after Rudd got in since little Johnny sucked at cricket and bullshitted a fair bit an Costello was unelectable, like finding an onion attractive, but Rudd was more "Ima doer, lookit these things that aren't exactly costed but generally needed". Then he obviously got benched by "he's a bit of a dick and I have a lawyer degree and long hair" Gillard, who actually attempted reform of things then got shouted down because boat rocking and damn woman get back in the kitchen. Talcolm came in all ALP lite and half arsed it like a boss, left a bit of a smell then pissed off and Scotty arrived all "see this dog, it's a pig, you want this swallow, brb I have this great deal on a 2007 Honda only it's missing a few wheel, carburetor, steering, gearbox, window actually screw that here's what we're gonna do to that fig, marinate it in plum sit it on a bbq and what was I saying again?" meanwhile Shorten was in the background "I knife people, these are policies, read bitches" and everyone went "dashit is going on with these muppetts?"

Clean the lot out, start again. Be all, we have minerals and natural wonders, lets not be dicks and let people pillage.

But then, I've bitched and moaned that the suburb I live in was pillaged by Lib bullshit, so this is tinged by my local member not being a b*tch and reasons why Yoda normally appears on my voting cards and I usually went minor party. Burn it all, or give it to Clive Palmers all consuming girth, gimmie Jurassic park 25 you fat bastard.
I never understand a thing you write. Thankfully

Money 💰

Australia is a plaything of the rich dynasties, they marry , go into business together

Rothschilds , Murdoch’s ........Tony Blair is Godfather in the clan for example .

As Gringo said in the main Rupert didn’t care as long as they were owned ( politicians)

Paul Keating is a mate of Ruperts .

Lachlan however is scary dangerous. , right wing , evangelical, NRA lover , climate denialist
and he is the future .

Murdoch's press has never been impartial , but he doesn't just choose sides.
He has supported Whitlam, Thatcher, Blair.

Sometimes it seems that he's aligned with someone for personal advantage.
Other times it seems as if he's mirroring the popular view, so as to keep the media he sells popular.

Trump ???

Most of their money comes from selling news , which is why they like the sensational.