StCicatriz
Hall of Famer
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
if you wanna get into some nature and trails, check out the old john forrest train tunnel

System Upgrade - Search is back! - Post feedback.
PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
Thanks for the handy info mate!i asked a bloke at work for recommendations for a friend who was coming over from melbourne. he laughed and said melbourne already have everything we have but better in terms of food, drink etc.
if you are here you really wanna go down south or visit the beaches. anything cafe, bar, hotel, restaurant wise will be lame compared to what you have already seen.
are you able to hire a car and go down south for a couple of days? if so Margaret River is your go! would recommend that!
if not visit the swan valley for a brewery or wine tour. its east of perth. can get from the CBD to there in like 30 mins. you can also catch the train to Guildford, check out one of the first settlements and older area of perth. check out the guildford hotel. then jump on a bus to the swan valley.
beyond that fremantle is worth a look. markets + freo oval + jail + older area near the port + esplanade. grab lunch at a cafe on south street? or little creatures... avoid the fish and chip shops there. massive tourist trap.
you def wanna check out the beaches. go to cottosloe and maybe scarborough (its just been redeveloped). swim and then a pint is the tradition. the cott and the sand bar. they're popular spots though. avoid hillary's. want a quieter alternative try the mullaloo beach.
if you want another day trip, check out rottnest island. ferry in the morning. hire a bike, check out the island, grab a pint and dinner, late ferry back.
another day trip is penguin island, its pretty small though. can check out rockingham beach whilst ya there. another place for a swim and a pint.
check out kings park in the CBD.
how many days you here for?
Thanks for the handy info mate!
I leave tonight and will be there for 11 days. Staying with a mate of mine who lives in High Wycombe. Been to Perth a couple of times but only for the football, haven't actually done the tourist stuff. So you could say I've never actually "been" there.
i asked a bloke at work for recommendations for a friend who was coming over from melbourne. he laughed and said melbourne already have everything we have but better in terms of food, drink etc.
if you are here you really wanna go down south or visit the beaches. anything cafe, bar, hotel, restaurant wise will be lame compared to what you have already seen.
are you able to hire a car and go down south for a couple of days? if so Margaret River is your go! would recommend that!
if not visit the swan valley for a brewery or wine tour. its east of perth. can get from the CBD to there in like 30 mins. you can also catch the train to Guildford, check out one of the first settlements and older area of perth. check out the guildford hotel. then jump on a bus to the swan valley.
beyond that fremantle is worth a look. markets + freo oval + jail + older area near the port + esplanade. grab lunch at a cafe on south street? or little creatures... avoid the fish and chip shops there. massive tourist trap.
you def wanna check out the beaches. go to cottosloe and maybe scarborough (its just been redeveloped). swim and then a pint is the tradition. the cott and the sand bar. they're popular spots though. avoid hillary's. want a quieter alternative try the mullaloo beach.
if you want another day trip, check out rottnest island. ferry in the morning. hire a bike, check out the island, grab a pint and dinner, late ferry back.
another day trip is penguin island, its pretty small though. can check out rockingham beach whilst ya there. another place for a swim and a pint.
check out kings park in the CBD.
how many days you here for?
Do the pubs still have live music? That's something Melbourne lost with the pokies. Don't forget my favourite place in Oz, the Kimberley. It's only a few k up the road....
Thanks for the handy info mate!
I leave tonight and will be there for 11 days. Staying with a mate of mine who lives in High Wycombe. Been to Perth a couple of times but only for the football, haven't actually done the tourist stuff. So you could say I've never actually "been" there.
Thanks Di! I am into most alcohol (ha) so I'll definitely have a look!I believe a tour of the Freo jail is excellent. I say “believe” because we could not get a ticket it was so busy there. So book if you want to go.
Also, if you are into Gin, in the Swan Valley near the wineries is a small distillery, “OldYoungs”, and the owner does very good tasting sessions with some history thrown in. I’m not a gin drinker, but I found the tasting interesting and different from the usual wineries. Also maybe worth booking if you can because it’s small although we just pitched up.
Not to mention that it's important that you familiarize yourself with the jail George, As you may end up there should you have the unfortunate experience of running intoI believe a tour of the Freo jail is excellent. I say “believe” because we could not get a ticket it was so busy there. So book if you want to go.
Also, if you are into Gin, in the Swan Valley near the wineries is a small distillery, “OldYoungs”, and the owner does very good tasting sessions with some history thrown in. I’m not a gin drinker, but I found the tasting interesting and different from the usual wineries. Also maybe worth booking if you can because it’s small although we just pitched up.
Can you please bring me back a tin foil hat?Thanks Di! I am into most alcohol (ha) so I'll definitely have a look!
Yeah will do. It’s a restaurant, bar & cafe ground level. Hotel, Ballroom and Rooftop bar.. we start in March and done by April next year. I’ll keep you updated and if you’re ever there let me know and it’s my shout. The restaurant should be pretty sweet as well. Teamed up with a prominent chef here who’ll run that to a Michelin standard. Exciting times!
There are heaps of Aussies in NY as well.. ( well a few anyway.. ).We need to lobby Finnis to play for premiership points in NYC!
You don’t own a restaurant in Shanghai by any chance Mikka84?
There are heaps of Aussies in NY as well.. ( well a few anyway.. ).
Unfortunately not.. Hong Kong on the other hand.. watch this space!
Teage is an amazing chef and a saints supporter too. Ezard and Gingerboy both cracking restaurants. This project will be pretty amazing.. it’s the Ballroom/functions that makes all the money - simple supply demand over there. The rooftop bar will be amazing as well. Bit like top of the standard in the meat packing district if anyone’s been there.Your fancy chef isn't Teague Ezzard is it? I saw him on a donors list once for the Saints. He's now my favourite chef ever.
There is an ex master chef contestant set up in NYC too, he seems to be killing it.
My missus did PA work for Teagues then missus so I had the pleasure of eating at his house around 2002.Teage is an amazing chef and a saints supporter too. Ezard and Gingerboy both cracking restaurants. This project will be pretty amazing.. it’s the Ballroom/functions that makes all the money - simple supply demand over there. The rooftop bar will be amazing as well. Bit like top of the standard in the meat packing district if anyone’s been there.
My missus did PA work for Teagues then missus so I had the pleasure of eating at his house around 2002.
I liked his ex missus TBH.I love Gingerboy, Ezard at Adelphi is a bit too uptight for me but the food is excellent.
Have promised the kids a white Christmas for a while nowTeage is an amazing chef and a saints supporter too. Ezard and Gingerboy both cracking restaurants. This project will be pretty amazing.. it’s the Ballroom/functions that makes all the money - simple supply demand over there. The rooftop bar will be amazing as well. Bit like top of the standard in the meat packing district if anyone’s been there.
Absolutely. My shout.Have promised the kids a white Christmas for a while now
Leave the porch light on.
cicerellos ….What is the name of the Fish and Chip shop on the wharf at Freo, with the kayak on display with the shark bite out of it?
Mate, you’re welcome over to my house in Sweden, espeically if you’re willing to help out with shoveling my driveway and front yard in the snow.Have promised the kids a white Christmas for a while now
Leave the porch light on.
.i asked a bloke at work for recommendations for a friend who was coming over from melbourne. he laughed and said melbourne already have everything we have but better in terms of food, drink etc.
QUOTE]
that's such a Perth comment … but its totally wrong maybe about 10 years ago yes but now days Perth has caught up a hell of a lot , the coffee is on par with Melbourne (although costs more) and the food game has stepped up significantly
being in High Wycombe you are in the suburb next door to me so you would be most likely looking for stuff around my area … as a rule don't go to the local pub in High Wycombe unless you like hanging with bogans with high quality mullets and uncontrolled kids called Porshar, Brock, Sharnaia or Cody destroying everything … go a suburb over to Guildford where you will find much better pubs .. The Rose and Crown is WA's oldest and most haunted pub, its over priced for food but its decent quality and its beer garden on a Friday is pumping with after work drinkers (heck im there most weeks) they have usually an acoustic set played in the beer garden so well work a look, for the local tip you go to the "Rosie" for the drinks but then walk across the train line to Alfreds Kitchen for a feed (best burgers in Perth) Alfreds is a Perth institution its been around since the 50's as a late night burger joint and is hugely popular.. if you feeling super hungry go the Cram and a side of pea soup ..
Swan Valley is great to check out especially if you like the booze , personally I would avoid the Chocolate factory its not really worth the hype and to be honest the free sample bowls that have had 100s of grotty kids sticking their hands in doesn't appeal to me, but do check out the nougart factory and the cheese factory, some seriously good wines out that way as well and a fair few distilleries and Breweries... a cool one is Funk Cider they have a whole heap of flavored ciders that on a hot day are super easy to drink.. just be warned the hotter it gets the easier they are to drink and the more likely you are to lose the ability to walk … only warning ill give you is watch out for the many wine tour busses this time of year they are filled with hens day parties and bucks party busses they can be fun to watch but after a while and after a few too many wines ontop of ciders ontop of beers ontop of gin on top of chocolate it can get messy ..
Perth is known as the breakfast capital of Australia !! so we have literally hundreds of breakfast cafe's to suit any occasion we are the smashed avo kings !!! a good little place is just up the hill from where you are staying called Mason & Bird in Kalamunda if you are there at lunch time checkout their buttermilk fried chicken burger its fantastic
if you are heading out for a feed check out Leederville for some great Vietnamese food at Bun Mee , run by a former masterchef contestant I don't remember from the show the small little restaurant (only 6 tables) is fantastic value high quality food .. in Northbridge its worth checking out La Cholita if you like Mexican food and margaritas
if its coffee some of the best coffee is in some unexpected places for example the coffee shop in the centre of the Fremantle markets just before the fresh fruit section is fantastic , in the city check out La Veen for their Cokespresso to get you firing on all cylinders or check out Gordon Street Garage ..
as a general rule if the place is front and centre in high tourist spots its going to be over priced and not great here in Perth we like to hide our real gems out of sight and work off word of mouth for them to gain popularity ..
places like:
Three Coins
Miss Potts
Sauma
but im sure your friend will have their own faves to show you
disagree .. as my local haunt ive been going there for years and the food quality is exactly the same as it was 15 years ago .. they spent some big money on the carriage for people to dine in and the cleaned up the outside area but the feel of the place is still the same (same staff and same cook out the back) they did put the price up but that's kinda understandable but for the most part its still the same Alfreds … was there on Wednesday night and its exactly the same as it wasAlfred is a tourist trap now. Up there with ciccerellos. They sold the joint a while back. It's not the same as what it was. Grew up eating there before they did the reno and then the current reno.