Discussion Random Discussion

They are either too thin or too fat in Rome. Rome has pretty average food overall. SPQR in the city is good too.

Gawd. Back in 02 we just walked into a little trattoria in Rome with the check table cloths in a side street that was pretty deserted and had the greatest pizza of my life. So it seemed pretty easy to find good pizza to me!

I have a theory that the best Pizza's in the world come from Lygon street. As opposed to the most traditional ones.
I know for sure the ones in the USA are garbage.

The worst pizza in the world comes from Ireland, along with burgers, and soggy chips. Disaster...it's like they've taken the worst ideas from the U.S. & U.K. And decided that it is the best way to be patriotic to themselves. There's a Romanian crowd that have opened up a pizza place just up the road...I call it Carpathian pizza...it's no where near Lygon st. Good, but you can at least digest it.

Gawd. Back in 02 we just walked into a little trattoria in Rome with the check table cloths in a side street that was pretty deserted and had the greatest pizza of my life. So it seemed pretty easy to find good pizza to me!

Melbourne is probably one of the best food cities in the world. We are seriously spoiled here. In London we went to an Australian style Vietnamese restaurant and all over the world you can get St Kilda style coffee now.

https://www.goodfood.com.au/eat-out...-culture-to-the-united-states-20170530-gwgphb
https://www.smh.com.au/business/sma...alian-coffee-to-new-york-20171107-gzg8hd.html

The worst pizza in the world comes from Ireland, along with burgers, and soggy chips. Disaster...it's like they've taken the worst ideas from the U.S. & U.K. And decided that it is the best way to be patriotic to themselves. There's a Romanian crowd that have opened up a pizza place just up the road...I call it Carpathian pizza...it's no where near Lygon st. Good, but you can at least digest it.

The UK is in a cuisine vacuum. It should be better than it is.

Indeed!
Your like Dennis hopper out of True Romance and VDS66 is Christopher Walken
Don't know if you have seen it. But there is a truly memorable scene where
Dennis informs Walken on where Sicilians were sporned from! lol

Best scene of the movie. I quoted it a couple of times to some old Sicilian mates. I now have only one Sicilian friend (with a sense of humour) left.

I'm related to the Fazios who trained in Sicily as pizza makers.

If I want to know about betting on horses, pissing my pay against the wall, getting drunk and belting ny best mate then spewing all over the missus, I'll be sure to ask an Aussie.

And in your case if i ever want to know about getting punched up by girls, I'll call you.

Cheers.
Dear God! :eek:

What have I created?
Fwiw I consider myself a full Aussie being born here and all, so do
Aussies with a Greek background count?

Cos I'm pretty sure I have all the above bases covered! Woohoo I win!

Wait a minute! D'oh........:oops:

The UK is in a cuisine vacuum. It should be better than it is.

The UK is still waaay better than Ireland for food...which is pretty sad. It's still difficult to get basic ingredients over here in Ireland. Dublin has opened up it's taste buds over the years...but geez, it's difficult to find a place that satisfies. I really, really miss Melbourne for that...and many other things too. Plus I'm sick and tired of the Irish telling me that they're the highlight reel of the AFL when they make for just over 1% of the ENTIRE playing register of all players. Delusional...is the best way to describe it, but that's another topic.

I can help with most of the above. Drop me a PM if you get stuck.

Talking of food Mikka, you should get on the vegan bandwagon. My daughter is vegan and we went to plenty of vegan places in Europe, it's huge there and the places are all packed and expensive. Vegans have their own apps and networks and they are like anaemic spending machines. Alison White that had the Terminus in Abbotsford started a vegan pub on Lygon street and we have been a few times, seriously you can't get a booking for months. Just have a few options even and they are all over it and share the shit out of it on SM.

A guy I knows son started a vegan cafe in Avondale Heights which should be bogan country. He started it on about $40k and is selling it for something like $350k a couple of years in. It's a cash cow, selling food with nothing in it for prices that are fine dining money. I paid about $12 for vegan beer that tastes just like beer. Send me a royalty cheque if you make a fortune.;)

The UK is still waaay better than Ireland for food...which is pretty sad. It's still difficult to get basic ingredients over here in Ireland. Dublin has opened up it's taste buds over the years...but geez, it's difficult to find a place that satisfies. I really, really miss Melbourne for that...and many other things too. Plus I'm sick and tired of the Irish telling me that they're the highlight reel of the AFL when they make for just over 1% of the ENTIRE playing register of all players. Delusional...is the best way to describe it, but that's another topic.

My mate was from Dublin growing up, it's a shit cuisine. Potatoes and grey rubber meat seemed to be the extent of it.

Dear God! :eek:

What have I created?
Fwiw I consider myself a full Aussie being born here and all, so do
Aussies with a Greek background count?

Cos I'm pretty sure I have all the above bases covered! Woohoo I win!

Wait a minute! D'oh........:oops:

Yeah I reckon you're one of us bro, a few thousand years of culture and civilisation went out the window in one generation. From the Chiton to the Chesty Bonds.

Talking of food Mikka, you should get on the vegan bandwagon. My daughter is vegan and we went to plenty of vegan places in Europe, it's huge there and the places are all packed and expensive. Vegans have their own apps and networks and they are like anaemic spending machines. Alison White that had the Terminus in Abbotsford started a vegan pub on Lygon street and we have been a few times, seriously you can't get a booking for months. Just have a few options even and they are all over it and share the shit out of it on SM.

A guy I knows son started a vegan cafe in Avondale Heights which should be bogan country. He started it on about $40k and is selling it for something like $350k a couple of years in. It's a cash cow, selling food with nothing in it for prices that are fine dining money. I paid about $12 for vegan beer that tastes just like beer. Send me a royalty cheque if you make a fortune.;)
Yep, expect it to increase too. Meat production has a pretty bad name with a large section of the community who care about nutrition and health, and lots of people are looking at alternatives.

It was actually some of the better food I had in Europe. France would be a tough ask to go vegan though, she had to watch me ingest slabs of butter and cheese the whole trip. Dairy in France is like heroin...well and pastries and everything else.

How's it going there, Paris is burning but hopefully life's more calm in Nantes.

It was actually some of the better food I had in Europe. France would be a tough ask to go vegan though, she had to watch me ingest slabs of butter and cheese the whole trip. Dairy in France is like heroin...well and pastries and everything else.

How's it going there, Paris is burning but hopefully life's more calm in Nantes.
We're off to Hanoi and Sydney via CDG in a week for the Xmas hols, hope they've stopped blocking the roads and runways by then.

All I'm seeing locally is a lot more cops and firetrucks driving around. The Gilet Jeune protests are big news here though, loads of cars have a hi Vis vest on display on their dashboard in solidarity/fear.

My mate was from Dublin growing up, it's a shit cuisine. Potatoes and grey rubber meat seemed to be the extent of it.

We'll, let's put it this way gringo. When you're in a nations capital and you ask for satay sauce and you get a thin gravy with a peanut in it...you just want to cry and give up on life.

i'm trying to remember where we ate in Northern Ireland, don't think there was much memorable.

We'll, let's put it this way gringo. When you're in a nations capital and you ask for satay sauce and you get a thin gravy with a peanut in it...you just want to cry and give up on life.

James Joyce wasn't a depressive drunk, he was just fed up with peanut soup passing for satay.

Next time head down to Sicily and Siracusa and be enlightened...

It's on my list, actually looks beautiful and I love a bit of coastline. It's about all I have left to see in Italy....well by area. There is always more to see, I could spend 10 years in Rome and not get bored.

i'm trying to remember where we ate in Northern Ireland, don't think there was much memorable.

You can actually get many of the things in the North that you can't get in the republic to make your own stuff...but eating out in restaurants etc is pretty bog standard and in line with the rest of the country. They're genuinely disinterested in food by and large. I've made some ripper stuff over my years here (not to toot my own horn, but screw it...I'm a bloody good cook) but it just freaks them out. Anything not burnt, well done, tasteless, and served with over boiled limp as shit cabbage is a terrorist threat...or worse "foreign." My wife (Irish) however loves it, and finally wants to come home to Oz. I'm fairly itching to get back too.

Next time head down to Sicily and Siracusa and be enlightened...
Been there! Ever watched that show Inspector Montalbano? He always has great meals in his part of Sicily...washed down with great wine. And all the girls in that show are supermodels. A favourite. And he usually solves the case....