Discussion Random Discussion

Talking of food Mikka, you should get on the vegan bandwagon. My daughter is vegan and we went to plenty of vegan places in Europe, it's huge there and the places are all packed and expensive. Vegans have their own apps and networks and they are like anaemic spending machines. Alison White that had the Terminus in Abbotsford started a vegan pub on Lygon street and we have been a few times, seriously you can't get a booking for months. Just have a few options even and they are all over it and share the shit out of it on SM.

A guy I knows son started a vegan cafe in Avondale Heights which should be bogan country. He started it on about $40k and is selling it for something like $350k a couple of years in. It's a cash cow, selling food with nothing in it for prices that are fine dining money. I paid about $12 for vegan beer that tastes just like beer. Send me a royalty cheque if you make a fortune.;)

My missus is a "Class 5 Vegan". She doesn't eat anything that casts a shadow.

Bahaaaa. Please bitch, so they know how to put pomodoro on some pesce. Meh. Lesbians aren't regular women, they are much tougher. The rest I'm good for...well besides the racing.
Not that there’s anything wrong with that..
I lived in Brunswick for a couple of years and there was a pub that had a lesbian night once per week. No man dared go anywhere near it. Some of those girls could beat up your average pub brawler without blinking an eye.

Talking of food Mikka, you should get on the vegan bandwagon. My daughter is vegan and we went to plenty of vegan places in Europe, it's huge there and the places are all packed and expensive. Vegans have their own apps and networks and they are like anaemic spending machines. Alison White that had the Terminus in Abbotsford started a vegan pub on Lygon street and we have been a few times, seriously you can't get a booking for months. Just have a few options even and they are all over it and share the shit out of it on SM.

A guy I knows son started a vegan cafe in Avondale Heights which should be bogan country. He started it on about $40k and is selling it for something like $350k a couple of years in. It's a cash cow, selling food with nothing in it for prices that are fine dining money. I paid about $12 for vegan beer that tastes just like beer. Send me a royalty cheque if you make a fortune.;)
Might leave that to the experts mate.. I couldn’t think of anything worse. Sher Wagyu from ballan or David Blackmore anyday of the week.. I respect people’s decicions to become vegetarian or vegan, but it’s a tiny percent of the population. Terribly but realistically, my biggest earning pubs are pokie thumpers that have free toasted sandwiches and $5 snitzel’s, that I’m not sure actually have chicken in them.

We do have a bunch that are food driven and I’m very proud of ( original pubs I started with ). But there’s only so many of them that actually make money these days unfortunately. Very tough market.

Hey so how about that pre-season huh

Well as long as the boys are staying off the pizza, I don’t really care how much the warriors on here are eating :D

Might leave that to the experts mate.. I couldn’t think of anything worse. Sher Wagyu from ballan or David Blackmore anyday of the week.. I respect people’s decicions to become vegetarian or vegan, but it’s a tiny percent of the population. Terribly but realistically, my biggest earning pubs are pokie thumpers that have free toasted sandwiches and $5 snitzel’s, that I’m not sure actually have chicken in them.

We do have a bunch that are food driven and I’m very proud of ( original pubs I started with ). But there’s only so many of them that actually make money these days unfortunately. Very tough market.

Check out the Green Man Arms though, you seriously can't believe the amount of people there. It's a seriously good market with a generation that spends. Even the public bar is so packed you can't walk through it.

Yeah, I get over there a bit and around the commission flat or anywhere in Smith Street you get heaps of them. St Kilda is actually pretty cleaned up right now. East St Kilda/ Balaclava seem to have inherited a lot of it. A big group hang outside the Prahran town hall on the corner of Greville and Chapel street too.
Perhaps it's just Gippsland then. There used to be tiger and brown snakes everywhere, they just seem to have disappeared along with the water dragons there. Water dragons used to be on every big rock along the river and all the Christmas beetles and a heap of butterflies varieties and stuff are all gone too. It's like diversity has gone to about one 1000 of what it was. It's mostly kangaroos, possums and wallabies now. There used to be big goannas even and they don't seem to be around. We are abutted by state water catchment forrest and on a river so should be as diverse as anywhere, it's untouched.

They are still around Gringo . Saw Two in 4 days at Mallacoota last week IMG_8533 resize.JPG

Check out the Green Man Arms though, you seriously can't believe the amount of people there. It's a seriously good market with a generation that spends. Even the public bar is so packed you can't walk through it.
I’ll check it out. It’s the old Astor, yeah? Haven’t been back since the reno.

It's on my list, actually looks beautiful and I love a bit of coastline. It's about all I have left to see in Italy....well by area. There is always more to see, I could spend 10 years in Rome and not get bored.
I can recommend the Aeolian Islands. Stromboli is my favourite. Taormina is a beautiful spot also with a greco-roman theatre. If you go in summer the granita in Sicily is sensational

**** that. What's the point of living if you can't partake of its gastronomical bounty!

Been there! Ever watched that show Inspector Montalbano? He always has great meals in his part of Sicily...washed down with great wine. And all the girls in that show are supermodels. A favourite. And he usually solves the case....
That's where my parents were born, right in Ortigia.

Haven't been back since 94 but apparently they have totally fixed the place up.

It's on my list, actually looks beautiful and I love a bit of coastline. It's about all I have left to see in Italy....well by area. There is always more to see, I could spend 10 years in Rome and not get bored.
Yeah have to agree with Rome from an historical perspective.

Sam Fazio runs cooking tours in Syracuse these days.

I can recommend the Aeolian Islands. Stromboli is my favourite. Taormina is a beautiful spot also with a greco-roman theatre. If you go in summer the granita in Sicily is sensational
You're killing me!

There's this great spot near Taormina, can't recall the name.

It's a chasm at the base of Etna.

You go down in an elevator to the river which is ice cold. All the sides are layered in volcanic lava as it cooled.

I used to be as skinny as a rake until my last trip which was Christmas time AZ nd winter. My cousin owned a bar and Pastichecceri. I whacked on about 10kg in 3 weeks.

Anyway, back to work.

Perhaps it's just Gippsland then. There used to be tiger and brown snakes everywhere, they just seem to have disappeared along with the water dragons there. Water dragons used to be on every big rock along the river and all the Christmas beetles and a heap of butterflies varieties and stuff are all gone too. It's like diversity has gone to about one 1000 of what it was. It's mostly kangaroos, possums and wallabies now. There used to be big goannas even and they don't seem to be around. We are abutted by state water catchment forrest and on a river so should be as diverse as anywhere, it's untouched.

They are still around Gringo . Saw Two in 4 days at Mallacoota last week View attachment 593355

Malacoota is still pretty good for wildlife. That's the ones we used to get. We are on the Thompson river down from Walhalla and it's disappearing there. They still have them up around the NSW south coast too.

I’ll check it out. It’s the old Astor, yeah? Haven’t been back since the reno.

I can't remember the old name but it's the one at the start of Lygon's main drag. It's actually pretty good despite the vegan thing.

You're killing me!

You go down in an elevator to the river which is ice cold. All the sides are layered in volcanic lava as it cooled.

I used to be as skinny as a rake until my last trip which was Christmas time AZ nd winter. My cousin owned a bar and Pastichecceri. I whacked on about 10kg in 3 weeks.

Anyway, back to work.

A friend put up a heap of pics of Taormina when he stayed there, they all look like pro photos. It looks awesome.

Malacoota is still pretty good for wildlife. That's the ones we used to get. We are on the Thompson river down from Walhalla and it's disappearing there. They still have them up around the NSW south coast too.
Is that where you live ? looks a lovely place

Nah just a country property. I couldn't live permanently in the country, I'm too soft.
Ah , yeah i wondered as there isnt a lot going on there , wouldnt be much if any work there . Whats the fishing like in the river ?

You're killing me!

Anyway, back to work.
Not familiar with that spot but will look into it next time I visit.
One meal a day rule for Italy or you start staking on the kegs. I have to stay away from the torrone. Too bloody addictive!

Ah , yeah i wondered as there isnt a lot going on there , wouldnt be much if any work there . Whats the fishing like in the river ?

There isn't much in the river, they have dammed it further up and apart from some fish the locals call blackfish and a few other piddly things it's below average. Good sized fresh water crayfish though. Yeah closest big town is Traralgon and that's pretty light on for jobs too. It's half of our old family farm.