Discussion Random Discussion

I’ve posted this on the soccer thread but I thought it also may be of interest to others .

Download from Microsoft store , or Apple store , a little program called Global TV . It’s free , no sign up or anything. When you open the program a list of countries comes up, choose England. Then a whole list of channels comes up , many of which are on Foxtel here like Discovery , Disney , movie channels , news channels, sports channels, MTV , HBO etc . It’s all free . If you have unlimited download data for your internet then it’s fine because you stream the channels .
The only down side is there is no listing saying what’s on each channel. You have to connect to a channel to see what’s on , but you may be able to find out over the internet.
I found out that the EPL is shown on Flow1 channel.

Don’t think Fox sports are on the English station but I know it is on a lot of the other countries stations . Whether the afl will pop up on any we will probably have to wait and see .

Anyway it’s free so go for it . Let me know if you find any station worth watching .

Also the last series of Game Of Thrones will be on HBO so that itself is enough reason to get this . Use it before Murdoch finds out and tries to get it banned lol.

Go Saints

Looking at the cricket again . How many brain cells do the selectors have between them ?
Why would you play a part time spinner against probably the best players of spin in the world . India play top class spinners all the time because their pitches spin . They must be laughing that we have chosen a part time leggie to bowl against them . The question that springs to mind straight away is why was he chosen above Maxwell . Maxwell is usually a tight slow bowler, a better batsman and one of the worlds best fielders . Maxwell should have been playing long before Mitch Marsh got a game . How did Mitch Marsh get the job as vice captain anyway ?

Go Saints

Honestly, I understand what you’re talking about.

However, someone suggesting my ute couldn’t carry that load is the same as someone suggesting that a commercial courier couldn’t carry that load. Sheer lunacy.

When I get my trestles and scaff planks up there they would weigh three times that load. When I go camping I carry more weight than that load. In no sane world could somebody competent look at my Ute and the load and say, ‘nah mate, it’s too big’.

Honestly, that forklift operator was being malicious. For what reason I don’t know.
possibly ... and possibly he hase gotten into trouble for incorrect loading practices before so he is perhaps taking an extream exception in this case ..

Looking at the cricket again . How many brain cells do the selectors have between them ?
Why would you play a part time spinner against probably the best players of spin in the world . India play top class spinners all the time because their pitches spin . They must be laughing that we have chosen a part time leggie to bowl against them . The question that springs to mind straight away is why was he chosen above Maxwell . Maxwell is usually a tight slow bowler, a better batsman and one of the worlds best fielders . Maxwell should have been playing long before Mitch Marsh got a game . How did Mitch Marsh get the job as vice captain anyway ?

Go Saints
Glen Maxwell has just changed his name by deed poll, to Glen Marsh. He has been rushed to Sydney and appointed captain, replacing Tim Paine. Contingent on Glen agreeing to captain NSW.

Bunnings wouldn’t let me load up 8 lengths of 150x25 Pine Valleyboard (total weight 50kg?) today on my Hilux with Industrial roof racks.

The forklift operator wanted me to produce an engineering certificate for the racks.

have a saints sticker or number plate on ya car?

he probably took one look at it and went "yeah nah that things gonna crumble under the slightest bit of pressure" ;-)

Bunnings wouldn’t let me load up 8 lengths of 150x25 Pine Valleyboard (total weight 50kg?) today on my Hilux with Industrial roof racks.

The forklift operator wanted me to produce an engineering certificate for the racks.
There are better places to put your wood , than in the middle of a big rack.

Glen Maxwell has just changed his name by deed poll, to Glen Marsh. He has been rushed to Sydney and appointed captain, replacing Tim Paine. Contingent on Glen agreeing to captain NSW.

I want to get into cricket again but they are so utterly shit it drives me mental. This test looks like the Indians are playing a school side. Most of them would have struggled to get a shield game 10 years ago.

cricket australia got played beautifully. they forfeited their own ****ing series on their own accord.

i reckon if we had steve smith we wouldnt have lost the first test and therefore wouldn't have conceded the series.

they're utterly clueless cricket australia.

cricket australia got played beautifully. they forfeited their own ******* series on their own accord.

i reckon if we had steve smith we wouldnt have lost the first test and therefore wouldn't have conceded the series.

they're utterly clueless cricket australia.

I have loose morals and reckon 3 to 6 months would have been heaps fo ball tampering. No other country gives a shit about it. Warner and Smith would have at least made it not embarrassing. The last two days have been hard to process. Pant and Jadeja are cricket nobodies and they looked like they were just taking the piss.

There are better places to put your wood , than in the middle of a big rack.
That wood would be heavier than the other wood would.

Glen Maxwell misses out mainly because he is a Victorian. Look at the fast bowlers. All over rated, with Pat Cummings the only one worthy of constant selection. When I first hear of Pat Cummings years agp there was another quick, who was regarded as the best in Australia potentially. James Patterson. How many games has he played for Australia in the last few years. Also a Victorian.

Agree with the general sentiment, bb, but to be fair Pattinson has had more injuries than Wile E. Coyote.

If Warner and Smith didn't miss at least a huge chunk of Australian Summer there'd be no point in banning them at all. Like it or not, most of Australia cares about cricket from the first ball of the opening test (be it Gabba or Radelaide) to the Big Bash Final then care drops back to zero.

Anything which saw them play in this Test series would have effectively resulted in no real loss of integrity or punishment in real terms, particularly re: respect of the Australian Public and local earning potential. They probably should have been allowed to play shield cricket, but no Big Bash and no International Cricket was the only way for it to be a real statement and punishment.

Still reckon Warner should be left to play both Shield and hit and giggle, but Bancroft deserves the opportunity to play for an Opener position (alongside Renshaw and Harris) and Smith 100% has a place at 3 or 4 in the lineup, even if he shouldn't captain for a good further length of time.

Yeah, they leave guys free to go with 3 meter lengths of pine hanging out the back of a hatchback but worry about a roof rack all of a sudden. Must just be some officious idiot who got excited by having a name badge.

I wanted to hire a Tandom trailer once and was told i had to have a 4WD.
I was like wtf? ( I had a 4wd Territory so it didn't matter but it got my bristles up )).
I was "what has the number of driving wheels got to do with the towing capacity".

For example:
Ford Falcon: 2WD Towing Capacity : 1600Kg or 2300Kg depending on the pack. 750Kg Unbraked.
Hilux : Up to 2500Kg 750 Unbraked.
Jeep Wrangler: 2500Kg braked, 750Kg unbraked.

In fact nearly all the unbraked ones are 750Kg.
But the Falcons and Commodores out tow a Kluger, ( which is based on the Camry ).

But yeah Bunnings would know.
Shit the whole reason they have "Tandom" trailers is because they take more weight of the vehicle.

I wanted to hire a Tandom trailer once and was told i had to have a 4WD.
I was like wtf? ( I had a 4wd Territory so it didn't matter but it got my bristles up )).
I was "what has the number of driving wheels got to do with the towing capacity".

For example:
Ford Falcon: 2WD Towing Capacity : 1600Kg or 2300Kg depending on the pack. 750Kg Unbraked.
Hilux : Up to 2500Kg 750 Unbraked.
Jeep Wrangler: 2500Kg braked, 750Kg unbraked.

In fact nearly all the unbraked ones are 750Kg.
But the Falcons and Commodores out tow a Kluger, ( which is based on the Camry ).

But yeah Bunnings would know.
Shit the whole reason they have "Tandom" trailers is because they take more weight of the vehicle.

But are the trailers from Polymate, Mate!?

The fact that 4 of our batsmen have been bowled on a good batting wicket shows there are problems with their batting techniques. When I was young and learning the game we learnt to try to cover our stumps somehow . The idea was if you got hit on the pads then at least the umpire had to make a decision, but if you got bowled it was over . If you have a good technique you shouldn’t get bowled on a good wicket very often .

Saw the squad for the 20/20 games coming up . Can’t believe they dropped Short , with the World Cup not too far away he is the sort of opener we need . And he is in good form .
I don’t know why they have brought back Siddle after 8 years out of the side , I would have preferred Tremain , why not try someone like that . Siddle is just a medium bowler who doesn’t do much at all . They could have picked Weatherald to add a bit more excitement to their batting .

Go Saints

Was just on Twitter for a few minutes. This American Christian as all up in arms because she was somewhere and they had a gender neutral toilet . In other words anyone could use it . So she had this huge melt on Twitter about it saying it is against gods teachings etc . So many people pointed out to her that her bathrooms at home are gender neutral as well so what’s her problem. She hasn’t replied yet lmao.

Go Saints

Was just on Twitter for a few minutes. This American Christian as all up in arms because she was somewhere and they had a gender neutral toilet . In other words anyone could use it . So she had this huge melt on Twitter about it saying it is against gods teachings etc . So many people pointed out to her that her bathrooms at home are gender neutral as well so what’s her problem. She hasn’t replied yet lmao.

Go Saints
Wow your toilets are gender neutral?

Radical.

My wife is not permitted to use my urinal...

not wanting to kick a hornets nest but is there really an issue with African gangs at St Kilda beach ? admittedly i go there with tourist eyes on whenever i come to Melbourne so i may not see what is there to be seen but i thought the issue was more the homeless and drugged out people in that area ...

The non-existent gangs which may have contained immigrants from Africa are now pretty mobile and can be wherever they want. They seem to like StKilda. Because it hasn't been stopped by the cops and courts , the neonazi f-wits are getting involved. Total Mess.
If our cops and courts and immigration system weren't so stupidly tolerant, the racially intolerant nuffies would never get a foot in the door.

Meanwhile i'd suggest the "gang members" have caused a lot more trauma to innocent people than the nazi's no matter how offensive they are.

The non-existent gangs which may have contained immigrants from Africa are now pretty mobile and can be wherever they want. They seem to like StKilda. Because it hasn't been stopped by the cops and courts , the neonazi f-wits are getting involved. Total Mess.
If our cops and courts and immigration system weren't so stupidly tolerant, the racially intolerant nuffies would never get a foot in the door.

Meanwhile i'd suggest the "gang members" have caused a lot more trauma to innocent people than the nazi's no matter how offensive they are.

I’d suggest you’re wrong.

the issue is the forklift driver loading it ... realistically a customer walking out and loading their own car they have little control over but once they have to load it they are part of the loading responsability so the risk is on them ... considering the fines that are involved i dont blame the forklift guy for not wanting to risk it
That's all fine St trav, but he was driving a hilux ffs!! I mean like, when has that ever not been enough??

that sounds a tad like saying "if she wasnt wearing such a short dress they wouldnt attack her"
as i said from here in Perth i can only go by what is reported on the news but from my (all be it limited) experiance in Melbourne i can honestly say i havent seen any of this "gang" action in Melbourne that is apparently happening all the time, so my question to you guys who are locals who are in Melbourne all the time is it really a big problem as it is reported ?
im of the age and i reckon StCicatriz would have a similar recollection that i still remember the time when it was the Vietnamese gangs so called terrorising Perth (gangs like the Dragonboys , Swordboys etc) and that launched a pretty hostile counter group who used the community fear of those gangs to build up their own "gang" of justice fighters ... at the time to me it just looked like a good excuse to have fights ... i wondering if this is a similar situation heading for melbourne