Discussion Random Discussion

Well I’ve bored a lot of people on here talking about my health so I should talk about last week . I have no memory of Wednesday or Thursday. Both my wife and my GP thought I had a stroke . Apparently I was very confused and slurring my speech . Luckily for me it was just a case of different medications reacting with each other . I’ve stopped both those meds now and seem to be better . My GP is now pretty sure it wasn’t a stroke , let’s just hope he is right .

Don’t Panic !!

Well I’ve bored a lot of people on here talking about my health so I should talk about last week . I have no memory of Wednesday or Thursday. Both my wife and my GP thought I had a stroke . Apparently I was very confused and slurring my speech . Luckily for me it was just a case of different medications reacting with each other . I’ve stopped both those meds now and seem to be better . My GP is now pretty sure it wasn’t a stroke , let’s just hope he is right .

Don’t Panic !!

Sounds a lot like me on Saturday night voluntarily.

Not sure how people think Facebook can control the content.
Imagine if you went on holiday's , posted your selfie, then waited a month for Facebook to review it. They'd need to employ thousands of people to review everyone's content, and that would create its own privacy issues.

The alternative to killing each other seems to be breeding ourselves to a state of overpopulated misery.
The very instincts that helped us become the dominant species will become our undoing.
In Media the greatest fate that can befall someone is not to be able to procreate, and in medicine we spend millions to fix the problem.
Capitalism drives and encourages it.
Eventually there will be not enough jobs , food , or space, but but as long as we can sell more SoyaCola the big businesses will be happy.
( coke is amazing , it must cost around 10c a can to produce , look what they sell it for ).

Well yes, which is partly why we need a good world war to cull the over population in where it is most at risk to damage economies, such as the Middle East where archaic resources are & SE Asia to expand into the ocean further instead of just the Mediterranean.

We're simply lucky where we are geographically speaking in that if push came to shove and countries needed to survive; we could, rather easily, as there is a lot of export that would stay at home to use in meat production, natural resources to maintain consumption and reliable land for farming, our issues would be like the death knell of manufacturing locally.

I'd worry about the mainland, as in where the majority of the world population lives. Countries like India would implode under their own weight, Britain would fracture and we'd be looking at a Russia or Chinese absorption of the area over time. Suffice to say, the USA would break apart into independent nation states and become the modern day European Union.

Part of me wants to see this happen to go "I told you so" because by god it would be something to behold, but that part of wants to see the world go out with a bang instead a whimper, whilst we trot along in our own little part of it wondering why the stupid people who know better are doing the things they are doing.

The larger part of me wants us to grow up, shoot for the stars and unite in the concept of one species, one life, one world and to build to make more, be more and be the best that we can be.

Because so long as there is the propensity for good in people, the person can be as horrible as they want to be and they will eventually be dealt with, but the dream will never die.

Also, nah 10c is more for things like O-rings, you'd be looking at maybe 40c +shipping.

Tin is cheap yes, but consider the quantity you would need globally and it'd add cost.

Not sure how people think Facebook can control the content.
Imagine if you went on holiday's , posted your selfie, then waited a month for Facebook to review it. They'd need to employ thousands of people to review everyone's content, and that would create its own privacy issues.

They have very good algorithms that can scan words or even images. The do for nudity etc. You only need certain words or even the image/ video data to block all instances of it.

False Positives and False Negatives everywhere though. Look at Tumblr and the NSFW content block they implemented.

Yeah i can understand what an algorithm for Nudity in a photograph or video would entail. But surely its a whole different ballgame to interpret everything that's going on in streaming video.
Disturbing photographs would also get through in some instances.

The algorithms are looking for specific things and filtering them.
Our Prime minister seems to be calling for ALL material to be reviewed which is very different.

Computers are dumb, they just do lots of dumb things really really fast.

False Positives and False Negatives everywhere though. Look at Tumblr and the NSFW content block they implemented.
And Facebook would be terrified of making the system crappy for the millions of people who like posting content.

Then there's the international factor.
Scott Morrison can talk to Facebook Australia , he can introduce legislation but what about other software makers who may want to do video streaming, which may have no entity in Australia, are we going to start blocking/censoring more of these? Are we going to force Google( Android ) and Apple to ensure that every app has appropriate filtering algorithms ( the ones that aren't invented yet).

I'm not saying that its not possible but it just seems that those calling for it don't really have a clue what a big thing they are asking for.
Meanwhile the traditional media are happy to run with it , because at the end of the day Facebook and the like are their enemy.
( Nothing like Samantha Armitage in her best "trying to sound smart" voice , "we have to be really strict about what we televise so why shouldn't facebook " )

Well yes, which is partly why we need a good world war to cull the over population in where it is most at risk to damage economies, such as the Middle East where archaic resources are & SE Asia to expand into the ocean further instead of just the Mediterranean.

We're simply lucky where we are geographically speaking in that if push came to shove and countries needed to survive; we could, rather easily, as there is a lot of export that would stay at home to use in meat production, natural resources to maintain consumption and reliable land for farming, our issues would be like the death knell of manufacturing locally.

I'd worry about the mainland, as in where the majority of the world population lives. Countries like India would implode under their own weight, Britain would fracture and we'd be looking at a Russia or Chinese absorption of the area over time. Suffice to say, the USA would break apart into independent nation states and become the modern day European Union.

Part of me wants to see this happen to go "I told you so" because by god it would be something to behold, but that part of wants to see the world go out with a bang instead a whimper, whilst we trot along in our own little part of it wondering why the stupid people who know better are doing the things they are doing.

The larger part of me wants us to grow up, shoot for the stars and unite in the concept of one species, one life, one world and to build to make more, be more and be the best that we can be.

Because so long as there is the propensity for good in people, the person can be as horrible as they want to be and they will eventually be dealt with, but the dream will never die.

Also, nah 10c is more for things like O-rings, you'd be looking at maybe 40c +shipping.

Tin is cheap yes, but consider the quantity you would need globally and it'd add cost.

you want governments to murder millions of people to cull the population?

Just looked up the price of a Teflon "O" ring we buy. 2 Euro cents .
I'd expect rubber to be cheaper.
That's ex-europe, but 10 cents is still way over the top.

I assume the manufactured cost is less than our purchase price.

According to the below, my guess on Coke is pretty close. The guy here estimates the price of the can to be around 1c, which is the most expensive part of the drink. He hasn't really allowed for processing costs, but for cola its pretty straight forward ,and in high volume, i don't think you'd go much over my ten cents.
https://www.quora.com/How-much-does...o-they-get-so-many-people-to-pay-so-much-more

Its a pity that we, as a species are no smarter than rabbits or Kangaroo's that will breed until they run out of food and die of starvation.

Most people with altruistic idea's think in terms of "i'm going to do my bit ", but that simply cannot work.
Granted, the Chinese were successful, but if we think its going to happen here, we need to wait until after the revolution.

Every now and then i have the dreadful feeling that maybe Stalin was right.

I'd start in WA;)

hahahaha would anyone be bother making the trip across the desert to do it?

we are like south australians, except we don't like next door. noisey, bogan, feral neighbours only concern you when they're close. if they're in the middle of no where no one gives a shit. its like, given them a shit load of combustible material and let the problem fix its self.

you want governments to murder millions of people to cull the population?

Now that Bigooty has summarily regained its composure and not crapped itself, short answer is obviously not you bellend.

It's a coining of a phrase that the answer to overpopulation is a good ol fashioned war, and obviously the reference for natural resources as the place of this war is a snipe at the Bush led administration for WMDontworryaboutusbullshittingeveryone that it turned out to be.

If I wanted to be inflammatory, I'd recite that the Aboriginal tribes were the original racists and thus their coining of invasion and besmirching of those that came is done with a hypocritical tone that people don't really recognise because of the hardships experienced since the arrival of the British and "white Australians", as if 2 wrong made it right that they were a racist group of humans initially.

Facts be damned that this is actually recorded history by both sides of the arguments locally, globally and part of actual world history since the pangean age. The sheer fact that my skin pigmentation is white and my ancestory is European means it's invalidated, and thus inflammatory that such an opinion is held by one such as I.

So you see, war solves nothing, as all it does it just give bad times to those living the moment, those who come after, and those impacted on both sides even centuries after the actual event took place. Where no one really benefits and all that occurs is that peoples opinions change as often as the time.

The tldr is she'll be right mate, remember; breathe.

Now that Bigooty has summarily regained its composure and not crapped itself, short answer is obviously not you bellend.

It's a coining of a phrase that the answer to overpopulation is a good ol fashioned war, and obviously the reference for natural resources as the place of this war is a snipe at the Bush led administration for WMDontworryaboutusbullshittingeveryone that it turned out to be.

If I wanted to be inflammatory, I'd recite that the Aboriginal tribes were the original racists and thus their coining of invasion and besmirching of those that came is done with a hypocritical tone that people don't really recognise because of the hardships experienced since the arrival of the British and "white Australians", as if 2 wrong made it right that they were a racist group of humans initially.

Facts be damned that this is actually recorded history by both sides of the arguments locally, globally and part of actual world history since the pangean age. The sheer fact that my skin pigmentation is white and my ancestory is European means it's invalidated, and thus inflammatory that such an opinion is held by one such as I.

So you see, war solves nothing, as all it does it just give bad times to those living the moment, those who come after, and those impacted on both sides even centuries after the actual event took place. Where no one really benefits and all that occurs is that peoples opinions change as often as the time.

The tldr is she'll be right mate, remember; breathe.
Strange response but sure

Is the world over populated. I'm not so sure. Are some of the developing nations over populated. Hell yes. The issue really is their transition into becoming a developed nation and the pain that comes with it. No different to Europe coming through the industrial revolution and all the nasty bi products from it.

Technology and their further growth will fix that before war does.

Beyond that expansion beyond our planet.

The flip side to the developing nations transitioning will be the decline of standards amongst the poor in the developed nations. Automation will only add fuel to the fire in that regard.

I feel there's a revolution coming in the next 20 years. I think the next generation will be more active in standing up to their governments and the inequality in wealth.

Is the world over populated. I'm not so sure. Are some of the developing nations over populated. Hell yes. The issue really is their transition into becoming a developed nation and the pain that comes with it. No different to Europe coming through the industrial revolution and all the nasty bi products from it.

The flip side to the developing nations transitioning will be the decline of standards amongst the poor in the developed nations. Automation will only add fuel to the fire in that regard.

I feel there's a revolution coming in the next 20 years. I think the next generation will be more active in standing up to their governments and the inequality in wealth.
Maybe in democratic countries, but don't see it happening to be honest. Simply because the corrupt powers will always rule through oppression, violence and fear.

We just witnessed the fizzer that was the Arab spring non event.

Eventually we will wean ourselves off oil and let the middle east fight among themselves, and not bat an eyelid.

Maybe in democratic countries, but don't see it happening to be honest. Simply because the corrupt powers will always rule through oppression, violence and fear.

We just witnessed the fizzer that was the Arab spring non event.

Eventually we will wean ourselves off oil and let the middle east fight among themselves, and not bat an eyelid.
I might be overly optimistic but there's something about the younger generation coming though. I hope they don't just accept stuff like my generation has done.

I hope they improve equality and the distribution of wealth

The only reason we exist as the dominant species is we breed more than we kill & die our own species.

That and the eventual lack of predators.
I don't mean to dampen your sentiment as I enjoy your tone, but that is historically incorrect. For millenia the world's population was essentially stagnant while we were clearly the dominant species. Population growth really only picked up with the industrial revolution and its advancements. Sorry, demography nerd.

You a

You are right that a world war would cull people...the only two significant types of events that have culled global population have been war and disease. Overpopulation has never been an issue, and really isn't an issue, globally. These matters are particularly local and tend to sort themselves out.

You a

You are right that a world war would cull people...the only two significant types of events that have culled global population have been war and disease. Overpopulation has never been an issue, and really isn't an issue, globally. These matters are particularly local and tend to sort themselves out.

The first world war had the double, Spanish flu came home with the soldiers and wiped out 3 to 5% of the worlds already reduced population.

See i can't buy the "technology will fix it " argument. We are in a confined space, and we keep adding more population.
I don't buy the "some countries " argument as more and more issues are becoming global, which means we are even less able to address them. (For example shipping transport emits more greenhouse gasses than Australia ) .
Just because technology has fixed things in the past doesn't mean it can continue to do so.

Inequality of wealth? Take it and spread it evenly ( globally ) and we are all poor, one big shade of grey.

Where does the wealth come from? The more you distribute the source of that wealth, the thinner it spreads. The more people the less wealth each.