Discussion Random Discussion

Apparently all of them are talking about what "they say" their opponents are "going to do".
So the Liberals are talking about the taxes that Labor will raise after they get in to finance their lucrative promises.

Similarly Labor are talking about the Education funding shortfall that Liberal are on track for ( still an increase on the current) ......compared to the funding that Labor are proposing to have 2 budgets into the future if they get elected.

Getting ******* sick of the Hollowmen.

On the Environment. Australia has 1.5% of global emmissions.
Now it would be great if we could drive Bill's electric cars. ( there are a million good reasons why that promise was idiocy and the best the Liberal dickheads could come out with , was that it would be like driving a toaster. Dumbass obviously doesn't know about Tesla ) and fix Australia's climate. But it GLOBAL.
We can stop all of our Emissions and this will still be happening.
---------------------------------
A report released yesterday by a consortium of researchers known as the GlobalCarbon Project finds that global carbon dioxide emissions from burning fossil fuels are likely to have increased by about 2.7 percent in 2018, after a 1.6 percentincrease in 2017
----------------------------------
Global carbon emissions in 2018 are set to hit an all-time high of 37.1bn tonnes. Almost all countries are contributing to the rise, with emissions in China up 4.7%, in the US by 2.5% and in India by 6.3% in 2018. The EU's emissions are near flat, but this follows a decade of strong falls.Dec 5, 2018
---------------------------------

Every year the GLOBAL emissions increase by more than ALL of Australia's emissions.

Now if you came from another planet and saw this problem , and decided to convince the idiot humans to fix it. Would you single out the Australian Prime Minister ? Looks like a job for SUPERSCOTT.
Yet Greenpeace , who have been on the scene a bit longer, seem to think thats the appropriate place to start.
I guess if they tried their BS in China they'd quietly vanish. Maybe even in the US :/ Chickenshit Greenpeace choosing soft, but insignificant targets.

Europe doing great, but by the same token, lets not forget that Australia still has a lot of remote places that still have to generate their own.

Hey I have a great idea. We could get all of Energy from Alkaline D Cells. If we import them from China or India , the energy from making them won't count against Australia and we will reduce our Emissions. OK its stupid, but it points out that anything to do with global warming needs to take a holistic approach.

It's going to need to switch eventually and if you start to move into it now, it won't be all at once. We have obviously shifted manufacturing to poor parts of the world and then act like they should do something to fix solution despite us consuming most of their crap that they are producing.

Legislation could end lots of issues but governments are weak willed or corrupt. You could make people pay a leveraged tax on bigger cars so that it promoted the use of less polluting cars. You could tax plastics to encourage reuse of glass etc. Governments are not really acting to fix issues any more, they usually just * around and not do anything while trying to polish their turds until the next election cycle begins.

Remote areas are ideal for self generation because joining grids is expensive.

We had my daughters long hair clog up the turbo head on the vac cleaner.

Was trying to cut through it a pair of pointy surgical scissors. Slipped and straight through the webbing on my left hand.

A mate nearly sliced his leg off with a circular saw.

It happens.

Ouch, I'm not a fan of pain.

When i was an apprentice i cut the entire top of my thumb off in a metal band saw , about 1cm from the top of the thumb down all the way through to the nail , funny part is it didnt hurt that bad and even funnier 4 band aids and some tape and i was good to go again , jagged cuts heal so much quicker than say a sharp knife cut

I cut my finger on knife cooking a few years ago, went to the GP and paid $100 for him to glue it back together with medical superglue. Last time I badly cut myself I tried normal superglue, not the same apparently and hurts tipped into the open wound and won't stick to bleeding flesh. Who'd have thought, possibly the most tight arse hillbilly thing I've done.

VDS66

Oct 4, 2011
Family friend of my wife is a Croatian sparky who lost 3 fingers in a similar way.

Tried to give him a hi-7 one day.

He wasn't impressed.

On the others side of the ledger , i went out and purchased a quiet expensive set of Japanese kitchen knives , now those mothers are so sharp you cant even let the blade rest on your skin with the weight of the blade or they will cut you , hence why the misses made me keep my old knives , one set for when im drinking and one for when im not for obvious reasons :oops:

I cut my finger on knife cooking a few years ago, went to the GP and paid $100 for him to glue it back together with medical superglue. Last time I badly cut myself I tried normal superglue, not the same apparently and hurts tipped into the open wound and won't stick to bleeding flesh. Who'd have thought, possibly the most tight arse hillbilly thing I've done.
Two words mate ,,,,,, You idiot
But so funny

On the others side of the ledger , i went out and purchased a quiet expensive set of Japanese kitchen knives , now those mothers are so sharp you cant even let the blade rest on your skin with the weight of the blade or they will cut you , hence why the misses made me keep my old knives , one set for when im drinking and one for when im not for obvious reasons :oops:

That's why I'm cutting myself, when I had the same old knives I never sharpened I never cut myself. Got a set of beautiful German chef's knives and they are so sharp they seem to turn around and attack the moment you stop concentrating. You sharpen them and they stay sharp too, lethal *ers.

VDS66

Oct 4, 2011
even if you do not believe in climate change, surely you can't disagree with the reasoning behind moving away from fossil fuels... i mean even if you look at it from a national security point of view it makes sense to get away from them ASAP

renewable's are definitely the way to go and if someone like the UK is moving there faster than we are, i think we should accept we have an issue with innovation in this country. slowly falling behind with no real want to stay ahead of the game.
In the broader context you are correct.

Take climate change out of the equation, there is still a case for renewables.

Living standards are directly related to productivity gains.

Productivity has stagnated over the past two decades even with automation.

So you have two options... Innovate or cut wages to 3rd world levels, the latter takongbus back two centuries IMO.

The other option is cost input in the production-distribution channel.

This is where renewables will be a game changer. Once the infrastructure is built, then the cost will decline so rapidly, allowing for a greater profit margin, or both competition a downward push on prices to the consumer.

The same should have happened with the NBN with the increased use of clouds for businesses.

Instead they ****ed that up thanks to conservative dinosaurs running the joint who think the internet is only for Netflix and porn...

Two words mate ,,,,,, You idiot
But so funny

It seemed like logic to me. Save a hunge and a trip to wait for an hour in a GPs reception. My wife had a similar response to you though. Could only stop laughing at me between episodes of questioning my intelligence, while I was literally going mental from the pain it caused.

I captured a big red back spider at my sisters property a few weeks back with a set of pliers , while walking away from the house to squash it on the grass i rolled my ankle in a pot hole in the grass , here i am laying on the ground in agony still with the spider in the pliers with three people laughing their guts out at me , Funny for some

It's going to need to switch eventually and if you start to move into it now, it won't be all at once. We have obviously shifted manufacturing to poor parts of the world and then act like they should do something to fix solution despite us consuming most of their crap that they are producing.

Legislation could end lots of issues but governments are weak willed or corrupt. You could make people pay a leveraged tax on bigger cars so that it promoted the use of less polluting cars. You could tax plastics to encourage reuse of glass etc. Governments are not really acting to fix issues any more, they usually just **** around and not do anything while trying to polish their turds until the next election cycle begins.

Remote areas are ideal for self generation because joining grids is expensive.

I agree with most of that Gringo.
Cars are actually going the wrong way.
We used to drive Falcadores, a pretty heavy car.
Switching to a 2 tonne pickup truck isn't reducing emissions. ( Currently most popular vehicles are pickups ). Bill hasn't told the bogan's he's going to be taxing their Hilux to make them buy electric cars. (( unluess he's going to subsidize Tesla's.....a lot ).

VDS66

Oct 4, 2011
I captured a big red back spider at my sisters property a few weeks back with a set of pliers , while walking away from the house to squash it on the grass i rolled my ankle in a pot hole in the grass , here i am laying on the ground in agony still with the spider in the pliers with three people laughing their guts out at me , Funny for some
Once took my motorbike helmet off and had the first burning pain on my hand.

Looked down to see a wasp on the ground.

Little campaigners with wings...

[QUOTE="Winmar2Lockett, post: 60876526, member: 69335"]80 odd countries have similar emissions to Australia... how would global emissions be effected if they all followed the lead of a country like Australia in moving towards an energy economy based heavily on renewables?

I find the whole 'we don't do too much damage so why should we do anything' argument to be absolutely pathetic. It's not as if we don't have the expertise and climate conditions to become a world leader by transitioning away from coal.

Anyway, the reason I came to this thread was to post news that the New Orleans Pelicans have won the NBA draft lottery after having only a 6% chance of doing so. Wolves with #2 and Knicks got #3.

Zion going to the Big Easy![/QUOTE]

But that's a lie.
and...
No-one is following our lead. ( which is not a lead .

Agree. Let's just sticknour head in the sand and do nothing.

That'll fix it...

Pathetic.

We can Stop ALL the emmissions in Australia, and you'll "fix it" no better than sticking your head in the sand.
Labor party are pushing the "vote for bill and we won't cause all these disasters " agenda. You're on their bandwagon and passing out the cool aid.

If an asteroid is heading towards earth , nothing that you or the AUstralian PM do can fix it. Your umbrella won't work.
This is the same. Your little electric car wont help.
Your delusion is pathetic.

VDS66

Oct 4, 2011
We can Stop ALL the emmissions in Australia, and you'll "fix it" no better than sticking your head in the sand.
Labor party are pushing the "vote for bill and we won't cause all these disasters " agenda. You're on their bandwagon and passing out the cool aid.

If an asteroid is heading towards earth , nothing that you or the AUstralian PM do can fix it. Your umbrella won't work.
This is the same. Your little electric car wont help.
Your delusion is pathetic.

That's probably the difference between you and me.

When your grandkids ask you: what did you do to help fix the mess you helped create?

If my delusion is pathetic, your lack of social moralality is disgraceful.

I guess we might as well disband the Police force because people will always commit crime.

You see, unlike you I'm not morally bankrupt. You keep voting for the clowns that sell water rights for $80m to a shelf company owned by a minister.

I genuinely feel sorry for you.

[QUOTE="Winmar2Lockett, post: 60876526, member: 69335"]80 odd countries have similar emissions to Australia... how would global emissions be effected if they all followed the lead of a country like Australia in moving towards an energy economy based heavily on renewables?

I find the whole 'we don't do too much damage so why should we do anything' argument to be absolutely pathetic. It's not as if we don't have the expertise and climate conditions to become a world leader by transitioning away from coal.

Anyway, the reason I came to this thread was to post news that the New Orleans Pelicans have won the NBA draft lottery after having only a 6% chance of doing so. Wolves with #2 and Knicks got #3.

Zion going to the Big Easy!

But that's a lie.
and...
No-one is following our lead. ( which is not a lead .[/QUOTE]

We are actually pretty high emitters for a small population that off shored all our industry. 1.7 percent was it? That's much bigger than our global percentage of population I imagine.

That's probably the difference between you and me.

When your grandkids ask you: what did you do to help fix the mess you helped create?

If my delusion is pathetic, your lack of social moralality is disgraceful.

I guess we might as well disband the Police force because people will always commit crime.

You see, unlike you I'm not morally bankrupt. You keep voting for the clowns that sell water rights for $80m to a shelf company owned by a minister.

I genuinely feel sorry for you.

So its all about you feeling good about yourself when you talk to your grandkids. "Don't blame me kids...i bought a Prius. "

If there is widespread Crime in Melbourne , you crack down on the criminals that live in Nar Nar Goon. Its not going to help the big picture. That's not to say abandon the police force, what its saying is that "Operation Nar Nar Goon" won't be effective. That's my analogy - Australia vs the World -Climate change.

I don't advocate doing nothing, i just don't agree with the "everyone doing their bit" idea, because it simply won't work. ( but good for making Mr Moral virtue feel good ).

If you want to stop climate change the USA and China need to drastically reduce their emissions. Even international shipping is a massive opportunity.
International shipping putting out more emissions than all of Australia, should be able to be drastically reduced far more easily than "Australia" simply because the emission sources are not as diverse. Yet there seems to be very little international focus on it. Where are the Solar powered ships?

Things like electric cars will come with time, as an international phenomenon. What Australia really needs is a power grid that can deal with the infrastructure and charging requirements for such things. Right now we don't have the capacity for peak loads.

Unlike you i haven't been waving a particular political flag on here. But it does bug me that one particular party is showing a range of environmental disasters and implying that one party will make it happen, and the other will stop it.
The fact is both potential governments will have no effect on GLOBAL warming. They are only able to influence ( and probably not much ) the 1.5% that Australia contributes.
There seems to still be a twisted mentality that stopping pollution in Australia will stop bush fires and droughts in Australia.

Yawkey way

May 8, 2017
Red sox
But that's a lie.
and...
No-one is following our lead. ( which is not a lead .

We are actually pretty high emitters for a small population that off shored all our industry. 1.7 percent was it? That's much bigger than our global percentage of population I imagine.[/QUOTE]
Some serious discussions about population and wealth need to be had yesterday.

It’s well past time multinationals paid their way and the wealthy contributed to raising the living standards of the poor. Then maybe as has been found to be the case in the past the birth rates will drop and the population will stabilise. We can’t be pissed at the 1% when in a global context we are the 1%, the answer isn’t shifting a few million of usually poor countries best and brightest. That just makes the countries poorer and leaves out billions which is no fix at all. I find the whole debate wearying and quite sad to be honest. The questions about technology, innovation and what’s a fair profit etc. It’s like the drug companies charging a million per dose for a life saving medicine, isn’t there an obligation to make essential tech available to the world at a fair price.

I agree we need to act on climate change but this is a massive part of the problem, there are twice the people alive today compared to when I was born. Interesting article on technology below, new tech inventions and smarter uses of what we already have are part of the solution as well imo.

https://www.news.com.au/technology/...y/news-story/803a4216260dac6cef2542fdca50d9ce

PS. Apologies for the ramble my internet is driving me to distraction this week.

I learnt a few things from this thread

I ran over my foot with an industrial mower about 25yrs ago, so i must be an idiot.

I drive a diesel 4x4 UTE, i must be a bogan.

too funny

Yawkey way

May 8, 2017
Red sox
I learnt a few things from this thread

I ran over my foot with an industrial mower about 25yrs ago, so i must be an idiot.

I drive a diesel 4x4 UTE, i must be a bogan.

too funny
Did you do much damage?. 4x4 Ute 😂😂 you have plenty of mates around here.

One on my daughters was sitting in her boyfriends hilux a couple of days ago when she heard a bloke walking past with his wife ask “since when does everybody drive a hilux”. He just brought it so she was tempted to say this week.

Did you do much damage?. 4x4 Ute 😂😂 you have plenty of mates around here.

One on my daughters was sitting in her boyfriends hilux a couple of days ago when she heard a bloke walking past with his wife ask “since when does everybody drive a hilux”. He just brought it so she was tempted to say this week.

I took 4 toes off and they were all welded back on :D

I do a lot of remote traveling, i need all the torque a diesel has to offer, especially if i am out in the desert. I traded my old turbo diesel Landcruiser for a new D Max 12months ago, the emissions are Euro 5 complient on the new beast, all the pollution gear doesnt stop the little truck performing very well indeed.