Discussion Random Discussion

If anyone political party uses the bushfire to their mileage come election time, they should be thrown out.

we're burning, literally burning apart. I'm not sure why the government never has the right plan implemented.

we have seen this before, why not prepare ourselves in advance.

perhaps organize more firefighters from foreign countries in advance

I know it's time to be united and all but it's really frustrating to see this.

going to sleep knowing you've friends and family out there fighting for themselves, and animals suffering, the ones we call our national treasures.

People need to really help and donate now to this national disaster. The politics, climate change stuff and PM bashing need to stop also. Its run its course. Now is not that time.

I'm proud that Australia has come together on a lot of fronts. I think this will make our beautiful country much stronger.

Lastly, although its slightly political it would be nice to have more help off other countries going forward now. Only NZ, Canada and the US have sent firefighters to us so far (from what I know). Its all I would expect off close allies but we need more help. We have been there for so many countries during their wars and national disasters since our country was founded.

I reckon we need to invest in a lot more equipment to stop fires getting out of hand. Maybe work out how we could separate large areas by delineating around national parks and having no one build near them and stuff. Think bigger picture. We can’t rely on others if it’s going to happen more all over the world. They need their own.

If anyone political party uses the bushfire to their mileage come election time, they should be thrown out.

we're burning, literally burning apart.

So if one party (for example) cut finding to regional fire services and failed to prepare as advised by experts in the field then another political party shouldn't mention that?
Righto.

Well, I would always take 90% over 5-10%.

The Greens are not the only progressive political Party here in Australia, together with the Labor Party they represented 43.7% of votes in the last election, Liberal Party polled 41.something% making determining a majority problematic and annulling your argument about going with the majority groupthink.

we're burning, literally burning apart. I'm not sure why the government never has the right plan implemented.

going to sleep knowing you've friends and family out there fighting for themselves, and animals suffering, the ones we call our national treasures.
Ah this sort of thing should most definitely be bought up around election time so the idiots who didn’t prepare or take enough action aren’t around for it happen again.

People need to really help and donate now to this national disaster. The politics, climate change stuff and PM bashing need to stop also. Its run its course. Now is not that time.

I'm proud that Australia has come together on a lot of fronts. I think this will make our beautiful country much stronger.

Lastly, although its slightly political it would be nice to have more help off other countries going forward now. Only NZ, Canada and the US have sent firefighters to us so far (from what I know). Its all I would expect off close allies but we need more help. We have been there for so many countries during their wars and national disasters since our country was founded.

PNG sent some helicopters, or planes. I can’t remember which

Good on him but he hasn't changed his stripes.

Never forgiven the man for his insult to Bernie, the man is scum and it was a great time to see him kicked out of an office he did not deserve to be in.

Maybe he can be the onion knight and Phillip can side swipe him in a volvo.

Of course its the time - if the govt is crap - call them out - if the Australian people hadn't done anything - guess where Morrison would be - sitting on his a*** in Hawaii sipping Pina Colada's.

And whats he and the LNP done since he came back - only implemented the things he/they was told they needed to months or years ago.

He's a waste of space and I can quite comfortably call him and s** party out and help my neighbour's at the same time.

PS Any answers to my questions yet?

Yeah, whatever mate.

Keeping showing your political bias and nonsense during the tragedy. This is much bigger than ScoMo and a political party that won a majority but yeah, keep playing politics in your comfy safe space.
Yeah right mate - once again you've proved your very quick with a comment but very short on content. Simple questions - that you are obviously incapable of answering.

As for comfy space - mate - you've got no f***ing idea.

Because the government which is always in power refuses to make adequate preparations then places the blame on a minority party for being unprepared. It's quite simple really. Massive cuts to state emergency services and fire prevention services. Massive federal cuts to firefighting subsidies and a plan that has remained unchanged in 12 years in the face of overwhelming urgency related to climate change. Allowing cotton farmers to siphon 80% of the water from the murray darling basin leading to a drought exacerbated by climate change that they still refuse to even acknowledge let alone deal with. It's pretty ****ing obvious why we aren't prepared.

This was the intended plan from the labor government should they have been elected: https://www.billshorten.com.au/_labor_s_national_fire_fighting_fleet_sunday_17_march_2019

This is the plan we got: https://www.bluemountainsgazette.com.au/story/6488160/mp-slams-cuts-to-fire-services/
Not to mention a $15 million cut to the National Aerial Firefighting Unit that wasn't covered, the same one Scumo so generously gave $11 million back to after being lambasted for weeks on end.

Never forgiven the man for his insult to Bernie, the man is scum and it was a great time to see him kicked out of an office he did not deserve to be in.

Maybe he can be the onion knight and Phillip can side swipe him in a volvo.
Don't tarnish the memory of Davos. He's the onion squire at best.

Yeah, whatever mate.

Keeping showing your political bias and nonsense during the tragedy. This is much bigger than ScoMo and a political party that won a majority but yeah, keep playing politics in your comfy safe space.
I reckon someone's already told you this, but you're the most biased person here. By far. You sound like a lunatic and you cherry pick more than a forward in soccer.

Keep playing politics and promoting propaganda. Well done!

Support the firies, volunteers, people and donate instead.

All admist a bushfire tragedy. Real legends some of you blokes!

I'm out of this whacky left wing comfy love fest safe space. You're so blind to it you can't even see it.

See you later!

I'm out of this whacky left wing comfy love fest safe space. You're so blind to it you can't even see it.

See you later!

Wow - now I'm just getting worried for you. I beginning think you may need some help.

In the one post you have a go at people for "playing politics" and then finish with a rant about "left wingers". That some mixed up message!!!

Actually this will be the first time I actually agree with - I think its in your best interest to stop posting here.

See you later!

1578298552109.png

See you later!

Hey Johhnyray - before you go - did you see those nasty greenies in NSW playing politics and having a go at Morrison.

You'd be disgusted no doubt - imagine having some loonie leftie's call Morrison out - simply for lying and bignoting himself in a time of a national crisis.

"A serious rift has developed between senior New South Wales Liberals and prime minister Scott Morrison, over his claims the state government rejected offers of navy ships to help with evacuations from south coast towns ravaged by bushfires.

Both Gladys Berejiklian and the NSW Rural Fire Service Commissioner, Shane Fitzsimmons, again unequivocally rejected that they had turned down offers of federal help.

Senior NSW Liberals said they were “disgusted and embarrassed” that Morrison had chosen to deflect blame on to Berejiklian for the slow response from the federal government to the bushfire crisis. "

While it's easy to give minority groups a kicking, the major parties are even more to blame, the role of the Public Service has been completely changed by successive LIB/NAT Governments. The role they used to play was frank and fearless advice to Government, to use their decades of experience to help Government work out what could or couldn't be done.

We have all heard the criticism, too much red tape, too unwieldy and those criticisms have been valid, understand though the reasons why, red tape is there because people are corrupt and they corrupt the red tape process as well, but the red tape is meant to be there to stop corruption. It's unwieldy because it's meant to be, rational well thought out decisions need to be reviewed and that takes time.

The Public Service have become "the problem", when it should be the answer, but we have lost generations of institutional memory and anyone trying to fight for them becomes part of a deep state conspiracy.

Where we are now is something different, the Public service isn't there for advice it's there to implement Government Policy unquestioned, just before Xmas, Dec 5, the Secretary for the Dept of Environment and Energy, became the Secretary for the Dept of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources. A new Dept. of Agriculture, Water and Environment was formed. Watch any fire chief any spokesman for the a Gov. service in this period and they will not talk about climate change nor will they have anything to say about, readiness to fight fires, equipment, trainer, staff levels. Nor will you hear any NGO criticise Government; they found out under Howard that any criticism of Government or Legislation meant that the NGO lost their funding completely, criticise Government and they don't exist for much longer.

For decades now we've lived with a "Summer Crew", they're not there to fight fires, they're there to keep tracks open, to help manage, but they're not there to understand the forest, They don't have to be paid sick pay, holiday pay, they work short term contracts, sure there are some old soaks amongst them but generally they're the university aged students of local farmers and Environmental Studies students getting some real world experience. We have it this way because it's cheaper, because these people have no weight when it comes to questioning policy, the people above them, even when they know what they are doing is wrong, they know that to question or kick up a fuss means either the end of their career or the end of their job completely and that's even more effective with Summer Crew.

Go back to the Kennett years at state level and a blanket unquestionable 10% cut to the Dept. of Environment, (Marie Tehan didn't even try to fight it, offering to cut deeper) and the Dept. of Human Services. Think on the Dept. of Human Services that money was taken out of Psychiatric Care, a cousin of mine was released out of care into his father's custody and promptly burned his Dad's uninsured house down, at the same time there was a massive increase in stabbings, bashings and fires, just the obvious result of putting thousands of people of really questionable sanity out on the streets without the monitoring of medication.

The Labor Party isn't safe here either, they don't fight it because it can't be fought, it's sold to us as tax relief, lower taxes, better tax returns, bigger super, streamlined government. Even if the Lib/Nats bring it in Labour rolls with it because no one can sell higher taxes. If you really want to blame a political party give the Nats a kicking, these are the seats they stand in, win and hold for generations, they stand by and sell their own voters down the drain so that they can have a share of power, they can get the thrill of being important. They make sure that money isn't spent, country people keep voting for them and they keep getting financial support from Agribusiness and Mining.

The real blame though rests with us, we vote for these governments, we make choices about the reasons why we vote for them, we don't care about the detail, we don't read the fine print, we don't care what it means for other people, we vote on personality, how good looking someone is, how genuine they are, what it means for our back pocket. It's a damned sight easier to believe than to think, it's a damned sight easier to hate than to try and understand. We voted for the governments of all persuasions that have got it wrong for decades.

Maybe people should read it particularly balanced minds

Mate he is narcissistic prick , just heard they have flown out his marketing team from Uk.
They did Liberals campaign ...then Boris Johnson’s ..now they are back mission to through
some state politicians under the bus , watch Murdoch & Sky news defend him hard next few days.

It’s started mate have you noticed the R M Williams & open shirt gone ..no cap.

Business suit & Tie ...leadership material.

Good article about not so much climate change but the politics that won't allow change.

Peter van Onselen - all lies from another rabid greenie!!!

Joins that other loonie lefty from Western Australia.