Discussion Random Discussion

Some people are still working so have a decent income still. One of my mates has been saving heaps because he's dropped a lot of spending and is still employed. Plenty of tradies are still flat out. Certain sectors have been decimated and others are booming. Hopefully those who can do give some to the club.

I got work last week and cashed up but then followed up a hand injury with the surgeon today. No cover from the private health and nerve damage so not covered. They just quoted me around $4000 for it. For one hour with a plastic surgeon in a private hospital. I ******* hate insurance. I worked out we've paid around $20,000 to the health insurance over the years and all I've got out of it is my teeth cleaned once a year.
What you do mate ? hope it works out
Myself never been busier in the last couple of months and can't go out to spend it

What you do mate ? hope it works out
Myself never been busier in the last couple of months and can't go out to spend it

I ****ed my hand cutting down a tree and ignored it and it didn't magically heal. It will be fine...except when I have a heart attack when I have to pay for it. I like spending money until it's for something shit like a hospital visit. I haven't visited as many hospitals in the last 10 years as I have in the last couple of weeks. I'm pretty sure I'm cursed. I might as well go and lick people coughing, I'm definitely going to get it at this rate.

I f’ed my hand cutting down a tree and ignored it and it didn't magically heal. It will be fine...except when I have a heart attack when I have to pay for it. I like spending money until it's for something shit like a hospital visit. I haven't visited as many hospitals in the last 10 years as I have in the last couple of weeks. I'm pretty sure I'm cursed. I might as well go and lick people coughing, I'm definitely going to get it at this rate.
Tree lopping good money dangerous work

Doing it for myself, didn't get any money for it. Now I know why they get the big bucks. I tried to change the direction of a falling tree by grabbing it. Worked out about as good as it sounds like it would.

Why doesn’t health insurance cover it? Seems strange. You should have asked mowman or myself to do it. I would have charged $3999 so you would have saved a dollar.

Why doesn’t health insurance cover it? Seems strange.

Paid for the basic family cover and if it's classed as tendon or bone damage it's covered, but nerve damage isn't. I need a plastic surgeon because it's damaged the nerves and it's specialist work so it's 100% out of pocket. I don't honestly know why we pay it. We get dental but only check up and clean. When you need fillings and any work you still pay the bulk of it, none of my son's braces were covered. I don't actually know what you get out of it.

I’ve got full but only paying for one person obviously makes it cheaper. It’s still a rip off though. $100 a fortnight for one person. The stupid thing is in the last 3 months I’ve had a big skin graft for skin cancer and my gall bladder out and healthy insurance didn’t pay for either because I went through the public health system. I did do the right thing though and got my private health to pay for my stay at sandy hospital even though it wasn’t necessary. Makes you wonder about the value of private health.

Cant get it done in the public system ?

I pay about $6,000 a year and frankly it’s more an insurance policy against something cataclysmic than health cover.

Even then it’s kind of dirty, it’s so you can go straight into a private hospital get the specialist you want and avoid a queue. If you’re non urgent then the public system is just as good with the same surgeons you just don’t get to pick them.

Everyone of my kids cost us a fortune in gynaecologist fees etc, dental even with top cover is a joke. The insurance companies are getting worse and worse, they change things and invent new ways to cut your cover but keep prices the same. It’s getting more difficult year in year out having to check you’re not getting ripped off on insurance, utilities etc.

The one thing about your injury is that I assume if you stump up the cash you can just get it done, in the public system you’d be waiting a long time imo to get that fixed. I wonder how many hospital admissions are because as men we’re really not that bright, she’ll be right oops.

Some people are still working so have a decent income still. One of my mates has been saving heaps because he's dropped a lot of spending and is still employed. Plenty of tradies are still flat out. Certain sectors have been decimated and others are booming. Hopefully those who can do give some to the club.

I got work last week and cashed up but then followed up a hand injury with the surgeon today. No cover from the private health and nerve damage so not covered. They just quoted me around $4000 for it. For one hour with a plastic surgeon in a private hospital. I ******* hate insurance. I worked out we've paid around $20,000 to the health insurance over the years and all I've got out of it is my teeth cleaned once a year.
I f’ed my hand cutting down a tree and ignored it and it didn't magically heal. It will be fine...except when I have a heart attack when I have to pay for it. I like spending money until it's for something shit like a hospital visit. I haven't visited as many hospitals in the last 10 years as I have in the last couple of weeks. I'm pretty sure I'm cursed. I might as well go and lick people coughing, I'm definitely going to get it at this rate.
I’ve got full but only paying for one person obviously makes it cheaper. It’s still a rip off though. $100 a fortnight for one person. The stupid thing is in the last 3 months I’ve had a big skin graft for skin cancer and my gall bladder out and healthy insurance didn’t pay for either because I went through the public health system. I did do the right thing though and got my private health to pay for my stay at sandy hospital even though it wasn’t necessary. Makes you wonder about the value of private health.
I pay about $6,000 a year and frankly it’s more an insurance policy against something cataclysmic than health cover.

Even then it’s kind of dirty, it’s so you can go straight into a private hospital get the specialist you want and avoid a queue. If you’re non urgent then the public system is just as good with the same surgeons you just don’t get to pick them.

Everyone of my kids cost us a fortune in gynaecologist fees etc, dental even with top cover is a joke. The insurance companies are getting worse and worse, they change things and invent new ways to cut your cover but keep prices the same. It’s getting more difficult year in year out having to check you’re not getting ripped off on insurance, utilities etc.

The one thing about your injury is that I assume if you stump up the cash you can just get it done, in the public system you’d be waiting a long time imo to get that fixed. I wonder how many hospital admissions are because as men we’re really not that bright, she’ll be right oops.

You need a fully socialist system of health, such as our National Health Service. Everyone contributes what they can via earnings then you are covered for everything, no matter the cost. I'm very lucky, in that I've never needed to stay in hospital or have expensive treatment, but I'm happy to fund the system for those who do, knowing it's there if I ever need it. I don't ever need to consider private health insurance. Our NHS is the greatest thing about the UK.

Cant get it done in the public system ?

Probably but the surgeon that the GP sent me to is only working at the Children's apart from his private stuff and apparently I'm too old :( Pretty much in constant pain and getting woken up by it. He'll do it next Thursday if I go private. I'll pay it begrudgingly. If I have to wait months I'll go nuts.

I rang up and cancelled the policy them rang back and put it back. My eyes are starting to **** up when I read at night. I can get the lenses free so might try to get that so I actually claim something. I hate private health. It's a scam. My dad has private but was taken to the nearest hospital by ambulance which was the Alfred. A friend was saying the Baker Institute and the Alfred Cardiologist team are rated as some of the worlds best who train international surgeons and doctors. All of it free and super fast.

As soon as I get my eyes tested I'm done. Knowing my luck something will **** up immediately.

You need a fully socialist system of health, such as our National Health Service. Everyone contributes what they can via earnings then you are covered for everything, no matter the cost. I'm very lucky, in that I've never needed to stay in hospital or have expensive treatment, but I'm happy to fund the system for those who do, knowing it's there if I ever need it. I don't ever need to consider private health insurance. Our NHS is the greatest thing about the UK.
Our public system is very good it’s called Medicare and you could comfortably never spend a penny on private insurance.

All GP visits are covered by Medicare it’s only when you start needing to see specialists or need elective surgery that private insurance can be of benefit. The problem is that sometimes potentially life threatening conditions have a long waiting list that’s what encourages people to take out private insurance.

My brother for example had dropped his private insurance when he has sailing around on his yacht. The system has a penalty weighting that makes it more expensive the latter in life you take it out. This of course encourages young people who generally don’t use the system as much to take out insurance and subsidises older policy holders, call it a loyalty system. Anyway he had an electrical problem with his heart that caused an arrhythmia, he needed an ambulance and his heart stopped and restarted over a dozen times but they kept just releasing him. This operation is also more effective the younger you are and generally not done over a certain age. He had to put up with that for over 12 months, anyone of those events could easily have killed him, now he’s fine and back to normal but that’s why people take out private insurance.

Now if you could ensure that wouldn’t happen in the public system many people would ditch private cover tomorrow.

Probably but the surgeon that the GP sent me to is only working at the Children's apart from his private stuff and apparently I'm too old :( Pretty much in constant pain and getting woken up by it. He'll do it next Thursday if I go private. I'll pay it begrudgingly. If I have to wait months I'll go nuts.

That's outrageous; what if you don't have the money to pay? Tough, just deal with it? The ability to be cured shouldn't be related to how much money you have. Healthcare isn't like buying washing powder.

Our public system is very good it’s called Medicare and you could comfortably never spend a penny on private insurance.

All GP visits are covered by Medicare it’s only when you start needing to see specialists or need elective surgery that private insurance can be of benefit. The problem is that sometimes potentially life threatening conditions have a long waiting list that’s what encourages people to take out private insurance.

My brother for example had dropped his private insurance when he has sailing around on his yacht. The system has a penalty weighting that makes it more expensive the latter in life you take it out. This of course encourages young people who generally don’t use the system as much to take out insurance and subsidises older policy holders, call it a loyalty system. Anyway he had an electrical problem with his heart that caused an arrhythmia, he needed an ambulance and his heart stopped and restarted over a dozen times but they kept just releasing him. This operation is also more effective the younger you are and generally not done over a certain age. He had to put up with that for over 12 months, anyone of those events could easily have killed him, now he’s fine and back to normal but that’s why people take out private insurance.

Now if you could ensure that wouldn’t happen in the public system many people would ditch private cover tomorrow.

A national insurance system, such as we have. It's taken directly from your earnings and EVERYTHING is covered. If you have no earnings for a time, you pay nothing in, but are still fully covered. There is no private insurance and no bills; it's just there whenever you ned it, totally free at the point of delivery. It's magnificent.

The GP visit is still about $40 out of pocket for a 10 minute window and had to do 2 visits. Yesterday the surgeon charged $175 for 5 minutes consultation and they said I'll get $70 back. They used to bulk bill everything and you'd pay nothing. Unemployed or low wage earners probably get it free still and kids are 100% free I think.

I wish guys like Anthony Pratt and Reinhardt would pay tax, then we'd be able to fund our systems like we used to.

That's outrageous; what if you don't have the money to pay? Tough, just deal with it? The ability to be cured shouldn't be related to how much money you have. Healthcare isn't like buying washing powder.

Then no-one would pay to get insurance if they didn't. It's all they have to sell it on. Our private hospitals had to be publicly funded during the corona panic because their business model doesn't stack up. They should have nationalised them while they had the chance.

I rang up and cancelled the policy them rang back and put it back. My eyes are starting to fu** up when I read at night. I can get the lenses free so might try to get that so I actually claim something. I hate private health. It's a scam. My dad has private but was taken to the nearest hospital by ambulance which was the Alfred. A friend was saying the Baker Institute and the Alfred Cardiologist team are rated as some of the worlds best who train international surgeons and doctors. All of it free and super fast.

As soon as I get my eyes tested I'm done. Knowing my luck something will fu** up immediately.
My dad was in the epworth, Cabrini and the Alfred over the years for bypass surgery and the Alfred was as good as any.

You can claim a pair of glasses every Calendar year but even still they have a cap on all the extras so you’re always miles behind your premiums. Have a good think about it before you drop it don’t forget there’s the Medicare levy surcharge and it’s more expensive when you’re older if you decide to join again.

The GP visit is still about $40 out of pocket for a 10 minute window and had to do 2 visits. Yesterday the surgeon charged $175 for 5 minutes consultation and they said I'll get $70 back. They used to bulk bill everything and you'd pay nothing. Unemployed or low wage earners probably get it free still and kids are 100% free I think.

I wish guys like Anthony Pratt and Reinhardt would pay tax, then we'd be able to fund our systems like we used to.
Yep and our fifth columnist twiggy Forrest.

He’s a very lucky man that China managed apparently to lock things down and we didn’t have a crossover crisis. Self serving turd sold us out for business purposes and then paints himself as a visionary patriot.

My dad was in the epworth, Cabrini and the Alfred over the years for bypass surgery and the Alfred was as good as any.

You can claim a pair of glasses every Calendar year but even still they have a cap on all the extras so you’re always miles behind your premiums. Have a good think about it before you drop it don’t forget there’s the Medicare levy surcharge and it’s more expensive when you’re older if you decide to join again.

This is all double Dutch to me: premiums, surcharges etc. Give me our NHS every time: not for profit and for the health of all. I actually find the idea of private companies making profit from ill health disgusting. Our private sector is minimal, with private health companies only there to cater for any NHS waiting lists, though of course, if the system is properly funded, waiting lists are eradicated. It has never crossed my mind to go outside the NHS.

I rang up and cancelled the policy them rang back and put it back. My eyes are starting to fu** up when I read at night. I can get the lenses free so might try to get that so I actually claim something. I hate private health. It's a scam. My dad has private but was taken to the nearest hospital by ambulance which was the Alfred. A friend was saying the Baker Institute and the Alfred Cardiologist team are rated as some of the worlds best who train international surgeons and doctors. All of it free and super fast.

As soon as I get my eyes tested I'm done. Knowing my luck something will fu** up immediately.
I hear what you’re saying but over the years it has saved us thousands and thousands Daughter with her scoliosis we got to choose the surgeon and seen the bill over 60k. The wife eyes are fk they take her eye out cut the nerves off sew back on and adjust eyes to stop the double vision and that needs doing again , once again we got to pick who done it where and when

As much as I hate paying it I really can’t get rid of it

Sorry not the nerves the muscles attached to the eye

It can all still go through in the public system for free but it just takes longer as there's more people in the queue publically.

I don't know much about the NHS.
How much does it actually cost everyone?
Medicare is I think 2% of of your taxable income.