Discussion Random Discussion

Lockdown starts tonight, so people mad rushing because "essential" means lose your collective sh*t apparently.

Current expectation is 6 weeks to sort out this new spike.
It appears the goal is to put our foot on the throat of this and rid it out of the community.

Yep, won't happen though, we're a society of idiots.

Yeah, I was at Chadstone just after the restrictions lifted. Everyone thought it was over and gave zero shits.

The street was 60km/h but people were speeding down the road at 120.
They lowered the speed limit to 40km an hour, a lot of people slowed down but not everyone.
The police booked the ones who were going so fast so they stopped.
THen the police took the limit back up to 60.
They accidently gave a heap of speeders their cars back. ( Quarantine Hotels)
A heap of people sped around at 120 and the cops ignored them. ( Biker funerals, Black lives matter ).
Other people ignored the speed limits until the street wasn't safe.
Now they have dropped the speed down to 40 again, even though 60 would be fine if everyone did it.

There must be a fire drill in Melbourne this evening. The roads are packed.

Well, we cancelled our three day trip to the Mornington peninsula last night, Were going this morning, but according to traffic reports, it appears no one else did.
Happy to say we got complete refunds from the accommodation and the hot springs with no issue.

It happened. We actually flattened the curve and got it down to zero.
Enter the HQ stuff up and here we go again.
The majority of people did the right thing. Whether they’ll do it again remains to be seen.

It happened. We actually flattened the curve and got it down to zero.
Enter the HQ stuff up and here we go again.
The majority of people did the right thing. Whether they’ll do it again remains to be seen.

It will flare up elsewhere. We were just unlucky here. Places that locked down then opened back up seem to spike. Israel is worse than us and followed a similar path. Other states here will get it too. We just have ideal conditions and a few outbreaks that weren't contained early. The meat works seem to have been the worst spreader despite the hotel stuff getting the media attentioni. It's not even what they say it is. The army just transports passengers to the hotel in other states. It's a beat up. I have my money on NSW as the first to have a big outbreak and then Queensland. Others have small populations that are pretty cut off so should hold out longer.

Friend of mine’s sister-in-law came home from America three weeks ago. She was on a years work contract so couldn’t come earlier.
Was quarantined in Sydney where she lives. Every time she put her nose out the door to get her food there was an ADF guy there telling her to go back inside. Absolutely the truth.

Israel is a tiny country with much more densely populated living than here. I don’t really think it’s a good comparison.

I hope the other states at least hold out long enough to get the footy season done. If we end up with outbreaks in nsw and qld it's probably done.

Friend of mine’s sister-in-law came home from America three weeks ago. She was on a years work contract so couldn’t come earlier.
Was quarantined in Sydney where she lives. Every time she put her nose out the door to get her food there was an ADF guy there telling her to go back inside. Absolutely the truth.

Israel is a tiny country with much more densely populated living than here. I don’t really think it’s a good comparison.

Lots of places that were locked down are now spiking harder than before the initial lock down after opening up. I just chose that as it was one I'd just read about yesterday.

We have a friend who is from Katoomba who came back to hotel quarantine in Sydney and they had hotel staff minding them. He didn't even get tested and was driven in a mini van with others to Sydney city from the airport. He didn't see anyone from ADF. I guess it depends on the hotel and the flight, he came in from India.

We were lucky to get the virus in Australia when we did. In our Summer.
Now we’ve hit winter and community transmission is through the roof. No surprises there.

Daniel Andrews legacy has been tarnished for the hotel quarantine disaster. Low paid security guards in charge of something so important? I understand there’s an enquiry into it but heads have to roll after that monumental stuff up.

should have been ADF.

Now we’ve hit winter and community transmission is through the roof. No surprises there.

Daniel Andrews legacy has been tarnished for the hotel quarantine disaster. Low paid security guards in charge of something so important? I understand there’s an enquiry into it but heads have to roll after that monumental stuff up.

should have been ADF.

I saw a story on ABC that was suggesting Sweden had a huge problem with infection in immigrants in public housing. I think our health service must have latched on and locked up ours. A lot of migrants can't afford time off work and work in jobs that are easy to spread infection. The meat works around the world are a big problem. Old people's homes, schools etc.

Well, we cancelled our three day trip to the Mornington peninsula last night, Were going this morning, but according to traffic reports, it appears no one else did.
Happy to say we got complete refunds from the accommodation and the hot springs with no issue.

Sadly there is no reported Covid in Packenham, nor anywhere on Mornington Peninsula .
Don't you feel great that the Premier is on TV wagging his finger at you.
Like a classroom where the teacher is too stupid to work out who put the drawing pin on his chair, so the whole class has to stay back.

I saw a story on ABC that was suggesting Sweden had a huge problem with infection in immigrants in public housing. I think our health service must have latched on and locked up ours. A lot of migrants can't afford time off work and work in jobs that are easy to spread infection. The meat works around the world are a big problem. Old people's homes, schools etc.

Where i work , we have had only a couple of people doing any significant work from home.
Not a huge work place , but we have plenty here on minimum wage.
Some ignored our workplace social distance rules, but they were enforced, and soon we got everyone onto it. Lots of people telling others to back of, with a smile on their face. We designated people to clean things identified as frequently touched.
Lots of awkward, shuffles round the coffee area, but its taken in good humour.
Boss here is anal about it, sending people home ,( on paid sickleave even if they have none owing ) until they are tested , if he thinks they have any symptoms.
Of course there is a chance that if someone brought it in someone else here would get it, but it shouldn't be wide spread.

Then i read some of the reports about the management at the meat plant in Braeside. Yes meat processing is a bad environment for spreading it.
No they didn't give a shit.

should have been ADF.

If i was Daniel i'd dump it on the Health minister.
She's a minister, it was her operation, failed dismally.
He should be able to assign such things to her without having to double check all the details.
Then again, the current operations are vastly different to what a health minister would normally have to deal with in Australia, and perhaps Andrews should have recognised that.

Like "The Castle" , we all knew that Dennis Denuto wasn't going to cut it arguing constitutional law in the high court , no matter how good he was at property settlement.

The issue with going on and off 'lockdown' is how often, how long and how many times we plan on doing this.

Assuming the numbers go down over the next 6 weeks. We come off lockdown. A month later there is a spike. This should be expected as people begin to mingle again.

Do we then go back on lockdown? For how long this time?

I honestly think that in 6 weeks time people are going to just throw their hands in the air, say '**** it' and do what they like. The attitude will be "Im going shopping, Im getting a coffee, Im seeing my friends etc" and the numbers are going to spike massively.

How the government manages schooling and the viability of small business is super critical. We can't just yo-yo in and out of schools and work every couple of months.

If i was Daniel i'd dump it on the Health minister.
She's a minister, it was her operation, failed dismally.
He should be able to assign such things to her without having to double check all the details.
Then again, the current operations are vastly different to what a health minister would normally have to deal with in Australia, and perhaps Andrews should have recognised that.

Like "The Castle" , we all knew that Dennis Denuto wasn't going to cut it arguing constitutional law in the high court , no matter how good he was at property settlement.
Ease up on Dennis mate , he knew what he was doing , just like our man Dan :rolleyes:

That's one of the things i like about that movie, Dennis knew he was in way way over his head, but his mate had no-one else , so he sucked it up and tried.

should have been ADF.
And the only ones to suffer from the hotel stuff ups are the Brands that run those hotels , constantly standing out the front of them doing their news stories with the hotel logo in the background , the hotels were taken over , they had no say in anything , well done Dan you dumb kent

That's one of the things i like about that movie, Dennis knew he was in way way over his head, but his mate had no-one else , so he sucked it up and tried.
It Marbo , gotta love him

And the only ones to suffer from the hotel stuff ups are the Brands that run those hotels , constantly standing out the front of them doing their news stories with the hotel logo in the background , the hotels were taken over , they had no say in anything , well done Dan you dumb kent

Someone needs to name and shame the security agency involved.

Privatization results in worse outcomes over the entire length of the project even though there are immediate short term financial benefits? Whoda thunk it. Surely this is the first time this has ever occurred!

It was a good idea in theory, you pay hotels to stay open instead of having to start field hospitals and quarantine stations which take time and money. Also kept a heap of security staff operating when nightclubs etc were closed. Only, dumb ****s always ruin it for everyone else. I'd still suggest the numbers coming out of those hotels and protest marches are minimal compared to workplace infections then spreading into families. It's super contagious so one person can give it to about 10 people a day and those 10 can hit another ten and it goes on and on. There were a few clusters in meat packing plants, schools and old peoples homes that got out. Schools also send it around despite them saying it's a non issue.

It will spread around Australia now there is no real lock down. It really only takes a few getting out like they did in Vic and the whole thing turns to shit. It will be years before we have it under control. We are trying to balance the whole thing but there won't be a vaccine or an end to it for a long time. We probably have to learn to live with it to some extent.

8.00 this morning two goons (security guards) turn up in the foyer of our hotel , we ask them who the fkuc they are and what they are doing in our hotel , the two goons play tough and just say the DHS sent them here , we make numerous phones calls and finally some little turd turns up and says sorry that they sent the guards to the wrong hotel , it took them 2.5 hours to work out they were in the wrong hotel FFS
Dan, you are the flog that keeps on giving