Discussion Random Discussion

Aged care is mostly "privately owned" , "federally funded ".
The feds give them the funding based on them passing audits involving "standard of care", which may be an issue but is probably not related to anything Covid.
It was never a case of "oh that's a Federal Government facility , Victoria has no jurisdiction.
Victoria has the same rights over them as any other private business.

It sounds like the federal minister didn't send out regulation updates in the wake of COVID19 even after a massive swathe of cases in NSW. Making a whole lot of safety regulations mandatory would have helped. It's no different to the private security in Victoria. Private enterprise didn't do enough and government wears the blame but only one is a huge media shit storm. Both cases the government guidelines probably weren't adequate.

Pretty happy with the outcomes from the federal budget. The tax breaks will put extra money into the middle class & back into the economy.

I don't reckon it's the best way to go. The business asset write offs probably do more. That will pump retail up and car sales etc. Funny enough the current economy is much less awful than expected because they pumped money into the poor's pockets. Those campaigners spend like mother ****ers. People like me don't spend, they tighten the purse strings because you can and you want o be careful incase everything turns to shit. Give the pensioners and dole bludgers money and it goes through heaps of small businesses and every cent goes back in. We might get $40 or $50 a week and that won't even buy a takeaway meal.

I don't reckon it's the best way to go. The business asset write offs probably do more. That will pump retail up and car sales etc. Funny enough the current economy is much less awful than expected because they pumped money into the poor's pockets. Those campaigners spend like mother f***ers. People like me don't spend, they tighten the purse strings because you can and you want o be careful incase everything turns to sh*t. Give the pensioners and dole bludgers money and it goes through heaps of small businesses and every cent goes back in. We might get $40 or $50 a week and that won't even buy a takeaway meal.

The middle class is the largest category. Focus on them & it’s the best way to pimp money into the economy. Personally, the tax breaks will give my household close to an extra $200 per f/n in the pocket. I feel sorry for pensioners though, they get a measly $500 across two payments. That’s hardly going to help them.

I haven't checked out the amounts but they said $40 to $50 pw on an average household. $200 is substantial.

It is dependent on your income. For us in the first financial year it works out about 2-2.5k per income. Fortnightly about $80-$100 for each income.

Nice, that actually makes a difference. We are on one income at the moment so probably not that big for us but I'd take a hunge extra a week.

It is dependent on your income. For us in the first financial year it works out about 2-2.5k per income. Fortnightly about $80-$100 for each income.
Don't get me wrong that's excellent for you Bro.

But from a purely economic perspective, the Govt's definition of what is middle class is skewed towards what the majority of people would call wealthy and that's why these tax cuts are so flawed.

If you're both getting $2.5K relief this year that puts you both in an income bracket that puts you way way way above the OECD definition of "middle class" which is those households with disposable income of between 75 per cent and 200 per cent of the median (or mid-point of the income distribution) which is Australia is between $70k to $180K per annum for a couple.

Now if everyone who gets that money spends it - that's great because that's means the initiative is working as a stimulus - but if much of that money goes to consolidating wealth its pretty much wasted. (which is why stimulus should be directed to lower income earners simply bcause they are more likely to spend it.)

Pretty happy with the outcomes from the federal budget. The tax breaks will put extra money into the middle class & back into the economy.
It will go straight into everybody's morgages like the last million tax cuts. And given everyone's out of work it wont be leaving thier bank account for any kind of non essential spending.

Any NBA fans in here?

Lakers too good

My son follows the Heat so it seemed like a Saints like fairytale. They were a bit like the Saints a black white red club with no stars taking it up to the big boys and not getting as much respect as they deserved.

Yeah love the not so big teams a bit like us - I’m Phoenix Suns never won a championship & have our own little Gresh in Devon Booker gun :thumbsup:

I don't reckon it's the best way to go. The business asset write offs probably do more. That will pump retail up and car sales etc. Funny enough the current economy is much less awful than expected because they pumped money into the poor's pockets. Those campaigners spend like mother f***ers. People like me don't spend, they tighten the purse strings because you can and you want o be careful incase everything turns to sh*t. Give the pensioners and dole bludgers money and it goes through heaps of small businesses and every cent goes back in. We might get $40 or $50 a week and that won't even buy a takeaway meal.
I will look at upgrading the good ride on and look at new ute around Xmas time

Looks like something out of Japan. No Aussie public transport is that clean.
Japanese PT is the best i have ever been on, but they actaully do care about those things as a society.

Beer vending machines and all you can drink for 25 bucks for 2 hours, sign me the **** on

Looks like something out of Japan. No Aussie public transport is that clean.
Well it is brand new. It will be dirty when 24 hours after they enter service(The 13th of December if rumor is correct)

Japanese PT is the best i have ever been on, but they actaully do care about those things as a society.

Beer vending machines and all you can drink for 25 bucks for 2 hours, sign me the fu** on
You've clearly not been on:

Dear leader keeps the trains on time there.

You've clearly not been on:

Dear leader keeps the trains on time there.

That's cute as ****. We went to some open air museum thing in Hokone, they had these little cable cars that were like mini trains or busses on rails and you had to get on about 3 different trains to get out there. It was a train nerds wet dream.

Actually no regrets worked in exciting era ...

Just got this from mate who used to be journalist ....those were the days

It's Russia.

Expect hyperbole with instrumentation that makes Israel look like technological powerhouses that didn't shoot their own planes down.

Not to say it wouldn't make a decent sized hole and likely irradiate the joint.

Semi old news (from December 2019) but reading up on Russia's "Avangard" weapon.

This is ******* crazy if it's real - https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-12...-hypersonic-weapon-has-been-launched/11830098

It's real to the point where that is where arms manufacturing is trending, as general ballistic trends are now 'easily" detected by improvements in radar, countries are slowly moving to the "if I have to missile someone, how little warning can I give them" category. So instead of using say the curvature of the Earth to assist with ballistic tracking, hypersonic instances were already engineered for planes, planes run off similar propulsion mechanisms to missiles, hence cruise missiles, now what is better than a cruise? Splitting an atom.

We're also working on it as well as in Aus, this has been mooted for the past 3ish years really as the various treaties for general missile use, stockpiles and SMUT basically, the USA washed its hands from. So Russia being Russia was like "oh yeah? Well here's my bat and it's bigger and better" China was also seeing about it in line with their space endeavour increase with the DF-17 that was around what 2014ish? Whereas the USA went more "we have planes and boats, lets use cruise missile thingies" and all through this people have since gone "if it does hit the fan, can we stop it" and the answer is generally a "no, not really" which is worrying.

Then it's actually Russia with the "better" system to stop incoming, though it being Russia, it's also limited to say "IDGAF about Siberia" for example, this is really the entry to them being operational, as most are mooted for say in 5 years, which is then worrying really for anyone in Russias naughty books if it is in fact operational.

It's Russia.

Expect hyperbole with instrumentation that makes Israel look like technological powerhouses that didn't shoot their own planes down.

Not to say it wouldn't make a decent sized hole and likely irradiate the joint.

It's real to the point where that is where arms manufacturing is trending, as general ballistic trends are now 'easily" detected by improvements in radar, countries are slowly moving to the "if I have to missile someone, how little warning can I give them" category. So instead of using say the curvature of the Earth to assist with ballistic tracking, hypersonic instances were already engineered for planes, planes run off similar propulsion mechanisms to missiles, hence cruise missiles, now what is better than a cruise? Splitting an atom.

We're also working on it as well as in Aus, this has been mooted for the past 3ish years really as the various treaties for general missile use, stockpiles and SMUT basically, the USA washed its hands from. So Russia being Russia was like "oh yeah? Well here's my bat and it's bigger and better" China was also seeing about it in line with their space endeavour increase with the DF-17 that was around what 2014ish? Whereas the USA went more "we have planes and boats, lets use cruise missile thingies" and all through this people have since gone "if it does hit the fan, can we stop it" and the answer is generally a "no, not really" which is worrying.

Then it's actually Russia with the "better" system to stop incoming, though it being Russia, it's also limited to say "IDGAF about Siberia" for example, this is really the entry to them being operational, as most are mooted for say in 5 years, which is then worrying really for anyone in Russias naughty books if it is in fact operational.

I hope its better than the word's first supersonic airliner. TU-144 , or their answer to the Valkyrie Bomber.