Discussion Random Discussion

They do corruption really well haha, I felt sorry for her today she’s obviously used to a bit more respect.

There was a point at which someone put it to her that perhaps he was using her, well obviously but the connotation was that’s why he hooked up with her. At one stage she made that going green I might blub face then swallowed a bit of bile and fought back quite well.

I think she’s dead man walking but Gladys is made of stern stuff and these are unusual times, I wouldn’t put the house on her going.

Theerosion of standards is really sad. O'Farrell stood down over a bottle of wine. Now you just hold your ground long enough and the news cycle moves on. The Sport Rorts showed the model. Once you would have been marched out of parliament, now no-one cares.

Yep the buggers are everywhere, we had a tiger snake just down the road last year outside the primary school.

I nearly got my son bit on the face by a tiger snake from the canoe in Gippsland last summer. Hadn't seen one up there for years. It was a big mofo too. I nearly ran over a Brown snake up at Marysville the year before. Moving stick style.

Someone pointed out that she was responsible for selling a $750 million power station to private bidders for $1 million and now the federal government is going to step in and pay for it to be converted to a gas powered station on our purse. They did that here too, sold our utilities because they are expensive to upgrade, they use them until they are f’ed and walk leaving us to build a new one anyway. Politicians should all be sent to Manus Island, they are like a roach infestation.

Its mental to convert a coal station to gas.

Coal station oxidises coal forming CO2 . This is used to boil water and drive a turbine.
Gas station oxidises gas forming CO2. This is used to boil water and drive a turbine.
Gas Turbine oxidises gas forming CO2. using the direct pressure from the combustion to drive a turbine.
Combined cycle gas is essentially a gas turbine which recovers the energy from the exhaust to drive a secondary turbine.

Essentially its the same chemical reaction, so the amount of CO2 emitted is directly related to the efficiency.

Brown coal is only around 25% efficient i think , because all the water and crap in the lignite needs to be evaporated off to turn it into black coal before it will burn. Briquettes used to be essentially brown coal turned into black coal.
Black coal is around 33% efficient.
A thermal gas power station like Newport has 42% efficiency. ( Back when it was built the scientists that ran the unions decided that Newport would be too polluting. They cancelled the second stage , but they already had the turbine, so they converted the design of Loy Yang to run the Newport turbine at a cost that was more than that of just throwing away the turbine --- Dickheads all round ).
A simple open cycle gas turbine is 30-40%. I'd guess that the old ones we bought from NZ, ( the fixed in place version of a DC10 engine ) are closer to 30%.
A modern combined cycle gas turbine can get close to 60%. In europe they build them in cities to use the waste heat for central heating. I assume their unions are not as dumb as ours.

So whereas the typical person only see's "Coal, gas. or renewable. its actually a pretty broad spectrum.

My point is.
YES its worth building a gas station. We can almost halve our emissions for the same amount of energy produced by using a combined cycle gas turbine.
NO its not worth converting an old Coal station to gas for the pissy benefit we'll get.

Sure as hell worth putting in a big gas turbine in Victoria so we can close W.Station when it hits its use by date, rather than 20 years later.

Someone pointed out that she was responsible for selling a $750 million power station to private bidders for $1 million and now the federal government is going to step in and pay for it to be converted to a gas powered station on our purse. They did that here too, sold our utilities because they are expensive to upgrade, they use them until they are f’ed and walk leaving us to build a new one anyway. Politicians should all be sent to Manus Island, they are like a roach infestation.
C'mon Gringo - this is privitisation - they wouldn't have paid that much.

AGL said in its investor presentation that they effectively bought Liddell for ZERO from the NSW govt, partly because of the Govts assumption that it would close in 2017 when the Tomago aluminium smelter (its biggest customer) was supposed to close.

Then the very same govt encouraged Tomago to stay open because they realised they would be stuffed in the short term if Liddell closed, then the Feds jumped on board and are now demanding that Liddell be upgraded.

End result AGL is making squillions from a facility that the NSW govt gave to them for nothing and now wants them to continue to operate because they didn't have the brains to develop an energy policy.

I just think someone should make a comment on the pink shoelaces.
Women, you know. Think it was a python. Still to me a snake is a snake.

I take it as a sign that we should sign Carlisle.

C'mon Gringo - this is privitisation - they wouldn't have paid that much.

AGL said in its investor presentation that they effectively bought Liddell for ZERO from the NSW govt, partly because of the Govts assumption that it would close in 2017 when the Tomago aluminium smelter (its biggest customer) was supposed to close.

Then the very same govt encouraged Tomago to stay open because they realised they would be stuffed in the short term if Liddell closed, then the Feds jumped on board and are now demanding that Liddell be upgraded.

End result AGL is making squillions from a facility that the NSW govt gave to them for nothing and now wants them to continue to operate because they didn't have the brains to develop an energy policy.

One of my best mates was working for AGL during that deal. He reckons the government and their support crew were absolutely clueless. He was laughing at them, came unprepared, had no solid plan and just generally impractical. He said they were almost begging to be ripped off. He said that AGL could have had what ever they wanted but for a few egos stopping internal decisions being made.

The classic thing now is that Tomago realise they can make more money out of the NSW govt by "offering" to partly close down the smelter when the electricity demand gets too high - for a price of course.

Aluminium is like that though.
The price of Aluminium is directly proportional to the price of electricity used to produce it.
If you can't make it cheap enough you can't sell it.

Victoria was probably worse.
They politically decided to allow a smelter at Portland. ( Rather than South Gippsland or Geelong etc which would have been closer to power sources ).
They gave a price guarantee for the electricity at an extremely low rate, tied to the price of Aluminium.
They found out how much it would cost to build a power transmission line to Portland.
They built an interstate electricity grid to S.A. to cover up the cost of building the transmission grid to Portland.
When they privatised the energy sector , the SEC was retained as an entity to purchase electricity and sell it at a loss to the Portland smelter.

In 2009 it was reported that the smelter in Portland has cost Victorian taxpayers $4.5 billion in subsidies.[7] Mr Rob Maclellan, who served as a minister under the Hamer and Kennett governments, said the decision to build the smelter 500 km away from the power station was a mistake and the subsidies given to the smelter should not continue

Until there is a National ICAC nothing changes .

Really good article. Our problems politically go far beyond left-right arguments and the simplistic LNP v ALP fan clubs. Our whole system is being undermined and eroded by corruption on a massive scale. I'm sort of glad I'm getting old. I really struggle to see how Oz gets out of this now, let alone the world. China is the joker in the pack.

Agree particularly when every day all we get are announcements spun daily .

Yep, the dreaded media spin/media advisors. I prefer old terms like bullshit, bullshit artist & lies..

Aluminium is like that though.
The price of Aluminium is directly proportional to the price of electricity used to produce it.
If you can't make it cheap enough you can't sell it.

Victoria was probably worse.
They politically decided to allow a smelter at Portland. ( Rather than South Gippsland or Geelong etc which would have been closer to power sources ).
They gave a price guarantee for the electricity at an extremely low rate, tied to the price of Aluminium.
They found out how much it would cost to build a power transmission line to Portland.
They built an interstate electricity grid to S.A. to cover up the cost of building the transmission grid to Portland.
When they privatised the energy sector , the SEC was retained as an entity to purchase electricity and sell it at a loss to the Portland smelter.

In 2009 it was reported that the smelter in Portland has cost Victorian taxpayers $4.5 billion in subsidies.[7] Mr Rob Maclellan, who served as a minister under the Hamer and Kennett governments, said the decision to build the smelter 500 km away from the power station was a mistake and the subsidies given to the smelter should not continue
Portland is a shocker but the situation with Tomago is different.

They don't get any subsidies on electricity (other than the fact that AGL got such a great deal on MacQuarie Energy) - they have a long term fixed price deal with AGL for their electricity (which comes from the supposedly defunct Liddell power station - go figure!!!) until the spot price reaches a certain point at which point they then have to pay a higher price to AGL.

But given that Tomago uses about 10% of all NSW electricity, they've realised that when the spot price gets to that point (which unsurprisingly occurs when the grid is under the most pressure), they'd be better off if they did a deal with the govt where Tomago cut production (which they can do in 5 minutes) and free up electricity and NSW then doesn't have a blackouts.

And of course - all for a better price than they make selling aluminum.

Wish me luck.
Off to family court tomorrow to start the process to get my kids back. Been 14 weeks with held now . despite no family issues ever especially with the kids I’m now just in the last 3 months a risk to the kids , violent and sexually coercive to her wheN We were together for 16 years.

it’s horrible what can be said about someone with no truth or evidence and kids are kept from their loving dad and there’s nothing that can be done other than sit and wait and cry and follow the process.

Wish me luck.
Off to family court tomorrow to start the process to get my kids back. Been 14 weeks with held now . despite no family issues ever especially with the kids I’m now just in the last 3 months a risk to the kids , violent and sexually coercive to her wheN We were together for 16 years.

it’s horrible what can be said about someone with no truth or evidence and kids are kept from their loving dad and there’s nothing that can be done other than sit and wait and cry and follow the process.
All the best PT hope it all goes well

Its not right how Dads have nowhere near the rights that they should have

All the best PT hope it all goes well

Its not right how Dads have nowhere near the rights that they should have
I’ve found it near impossible to get help in this system . I’ve been my kids footy and soccer coach, take my daughter to her dancing classes, paint murals on their walls, help with school , the only thing I would brag about myself is that I’m a brilliant dad .
It’s all about money and the ex scared of her self and her secrets ...

It’s disgusting

I’ve found it near impossible to get help in this system . I’ve been my kids footy and soccer coach, take my daughter to her dancing classes, paint murals on their walls, help with school , the only thing I would brag about myself is that I’m a brilliant dad .

It’s disgusting
All you can do is be there for your kids and be the best Dad you can for your Kids
Stay positive Buddy

Wish me luck.

Can you get some character witnesses? She sounds like a nightmare. Good luck PT.

It’s disgusting
I’m not sure what’s available in Vic but there’s some very active men’s groups in Qld. Worth a google if you haven’t already done that.
It’s really tough but you just have to stay as calm as possible and preserve your energy. You’re in a marathon not a sprint. A heavy punching bag worked wonders for me to get rid of the anger, which is of no use at all in these situations. Guilt’s no use either, so don’t let that eat at you.
Yes, the kids are important but you’re only of use to them if you keep your shit together. Time takes care of many things.
The law is more balanced these days but you will need good representation unless you’re particularly gifted that way.
Good luck mate, you’ll get through this.