Discussion Random Discussion

These revelations of Defence Dept information not being passed to the President are insane

Have you go a link? I didn't see that. The only stuff I can see is Trump putting loyalists into the Pentagon and sacking existing staff.

Kelly's Meats in Tooradin. Amazing stuff, especially their range of gourmet snags.

Gaffney's Bakery in Heathcote. Best pies I've ever had. Hands down. Bar none.
Can you send me one.

There use to be a bar in Mt Isa called the Suave Bar. It wasn’t really all that suave but there was less violence there, Basically if you weren’t in the Pig Pen or the Snake Pit you were in the Suave Bar.

Interesting the election did turn out to be landslide against trump.

Havent won Arizona since 1996. Havent won georgia since 1992.

Trump must be seriously seriously on the nose to lose Arizona and Georgia.
In some ways yes, especially when the popular vote is taken into account.

But there were also really tight results in swing states and it looks like trump has consolidated Iowa and Florida. Hard to see them going Democrat in future elections.

The rural/urban divide is really showing itself and only growing bigger. Imagibe 20 years ago saying that the working class are now voting predominantly for the Republican party.

Arizona loved John McCain and Trump shitting on him probably would have swung a lot of voters.

And apprently Arizona is having younger people move there

In some ways yes, especially when the popular vote is taken into account.

But there were also really tight results in swing states and it looks like trump has consolidated Iowa and Florida. Hard to see them going Democrat in future elections.

The rural/urban divide is really showing itself and only growing bigger. Imagibe 20 years ago saying that the working class are now voting predominantly for the Republican party.

It's the same in Britain and here too. The conservative governments appeal to the working classes and the workers parties appeal to the educated city people. The Labor parties always pushed for education so when they managed to get universal education from governments and the kids that would have grown up to work in industry came with them. Then it kind of became a brand, the working classes that stayed working class became more affluent too but the conservative model of looking after yourself and not sharing the pie with the less fortunate became appealing because they were more likely to earn less. Now they have a tradie class who are affluent they kept the brand too. The left has moved into the individuals have rights to be free from offensive pronouns and to have everyone have a chance in life. The right has moved into a corporate lapdog who dog whistle to the ignorant model. Then you have cross over where the labor parties have moved to the right for mass appeal but are appealing to neither and the tories have moved to the right to differentiate themselves from the cramping of their style. Then you have pressure from the green parties who want a kind of more extreme brand of identity politics. Right wing factions have taken hold of most of the Tories around the world and are following a some kind of quasi religious, autocratic dog whistlers who are offended by the offended and work mostly for large scale private enterprise while saying that they don't. It's a ****ing mess.

I wouldn't call it a landslide, Trump got more votes than he got in 2016 and won some states the polls predicted him to lose like Florida, Ohio and even Texas.

It's a still a close count in Arizona and Georgia and they will have re-counts there and there is some questionable dodgy shit going on in other swing states.

Biden winning more votes than any other US presidential candidate including Obama has to raise some serious questions, he only got 3 men and a dog to his rallies while Trump got tens of thousands to his rallies.

I copped a thread ban from the election thread on the politics board for posting this pro Trump stuff, that whole thread is just one big pro Biden echo chamber.

How I picture Biden/Democrat supporters.

source.gif

It's the same in Britain and here too. The conservative governments appeal to the working classes and the workers parties appeal to the educated city people. The Labor parties always pushed for education so when they managed to get universal education from governments and the kids that would have grown up to work in industry came with them. Then it kind of became a brand, the working classes that stayed working class became more affluent too but the conservative model of looking after yourself and not sharing the pie with the less fortunate became appealing because they were more likely to earn less. Now they have a tradie class who are affluent they kept the brand too. The left has moved into the individuals have rights to be free from offensive pronouns and to have everyone have a chance in life. The right has moved into a corporate lapdog who dog whistle to the ignorant model. Then you have cross over where the labor parties have moved to the right for mass appeal but are appealing to neither and the tories have moved to the right to differentiate themselves from the cramping of their style. Then you have pressure from the green parties who want a kind of more extreme brand of identity politics. Right wing factions have taken hold of most of the Tories around the world and are following a some kind of quasi religious, autocratic dog whistlers who are offended by the offended and work mostly for large scale private enterprise while saying that they don't. It's a ******* mess.

I benefited from free education, but studying a more technical course, politics were not really a subject any of us were interested in. I probably took it all for granted to be honest, and certainly didn't feel a closeness with any political party because of it.
Those doing MBA's and Art and Welfare, were right into it, lots of socialist, their courses were also filled with a lot of people who were more interested in being a student than achieving what the study would bring.

So i think you are over stating that aspect to an extent.

I wouldn't call it a landslide, Trump got more votes than he got in 2016 and won some states the polls predicted him to lose like Florida, Ohio and even Texas.

It's a still a close count in Arizona and Georgia and they will have re-counts there and there is some questionable dodgy sh*t going on in other swing states.

Biden winning more votes than any other US presidential candidate including Obama has to raise some serious questions, he only got 3 men and a dog to his rallies while Trump got tens of thousands to his rallies.

I copped a thread ban from the election thread on the politics board for posting this pro Trump stuff, that whole thread is just one big pro Biden echo chamber.
Well he said it was a landslide in 2016 when he won 306 delegates - when Biden is declared winner in Georgia guess who'll have 306 votes.

Wonder if Donald still thinks its a landslide!!!

It's a still a close count in Arizona and Georgia and they will have re-counts there and there is some questionable dodgy sh*t going on in other swing states.

Serious questions like... why do people hate trump so much?

Trump isn't easily controlled, the US establishment want an easily controlled puppet President like Biden that does what he is told.

The mainstream media are part of the brainwashing that Trump is bad and Biden is this hero that is going to save the world.

Trump is the only US president in the last 30 years that didn't start any wars, he signed peace deals in the Middle East and de-escalated tensions with North Korea.

He also stood up to China and their attempts to take over the US by building up their own industries again and not being so reliant on China for their products.

I don't think it's any coincidence that Covid, ie. the China virus, was unleashed on the world at the start of this year to derail Trump's re-election campaign and pave the way for the more China friendly Democrats to take power and allow China to take over the US and the rest of the world.

This is some grade A crazy mate.

Also some basic research shows American manufacturing being basically the same under Trump as it was under Obama. Calculating in population growth it likely went down under Trump. This is only one aspect of their economy but lol if you really think Trump has been a boom for the American manufacturing sector.

I benefited from free education, but studying a more technical course, politics were not really a subject any of us were interested in. I probably took it all for granted to be honest, and certainly didn't feel a closeness with any political party because of it.
Those doing MBA's and Art and Welfare, were right into it, lots of socialist, their courses were also filled with a lot of people who were more interested in being a student than achieving what the study would bring.

So i think you are over stating that aspect to an extent.

It was pretty tongue in cheek and very much a huge generalisation.

How I picture Biden/Democrat supporters.

source.gif

My impression of them is people who think at least he isn't Trump. He's as dull as **** but at least he's not mental, well possible senile but still he isn't a nutsack.

Very good question because for the life of me I don't really know why people dislike him so much and why he triggers so many people.....:confusedv1:

I still reckon this guy sums it up best........

Someone on the question-and-answer website Quora asked “Why do some British people not like Donald Trump?” Nate White, an articulate and witty writer from England wrote the following response:

A few things spring to mind.

Trump lacks certain qualities which the British traditionally esteem.
For instance, he has no class, no charm, no coolness, no credibility, no compassion, no wit, no warmth, no wisdom, no subtlety, no sensitivity, no self-awareness, no humility, no honour and no grace – all qualities, funnily enough, with which his predecessor Mr. Obama was generously blessed.
So for us, the stark contrast does rather throw Trump’s limitations into embarrassingly sharp relief.

Plus, we like a laugh. And while Trump may be laughable, he has never once said anything wry, witty or even faintly amusing – not once, ever.
I don’t say that rhetorically, I mean it quite literally: not once, not ever. And that fact is particularly disturbing to the British sensibility – for us, to lack humour is almost inhuman.

But with Trump, it’s a fact. He doesn’t even seem to understand what a joke is – his idea of a joke is a crass comment, an illiterate insult, a casual act of cruelty.

Trump is a troll. And like all trolls, he is never funny and he never laughs; he only crows or jeers.

And scarily, he doesn’t just talk in crude, witless insults – he actually thinks in them. His mind is a simple bot-like algorithm of petty prejudices and knee-jerk nastiness.

There is never any under-layer of irony, complexity, nuance or depth. It’s all surface.

Some Americans might see this as refreshingly upfront.
Well, we don’t. We see it as having no inner world, no soul.

And in Britain we traditionally side with David, not Goliath. All our heroes are plucky underdogs: Robin Hood, Dick Whittington, Oliver Twist.
Trump is neither plucky, nor an underdog. He is the exact opposite of that.
He’s not even a spoiled rich-boy, or a greedy fat-cat.

He’s more a fat white slug. A Jabba the Hutt of privilege.

And worse, he is that most unforgivable of all things to the British: a bully.
That is, except when he is among bullies; then he suddenly transforms into a snivelling sidekick instead.

There are unspoken rules to this stuff – the Queensberry rules of basic decency – and he breaks them all. He punches downwards – which a gentleman should, would, could never do – and every blow he aims is below the belt. He particularly likes to kick the vulnerable or voiceless – and he kicks them when they are down.

So the fact that a significant minority – perhaps a third – of Americans look at what he does, listen to what he says, and then think ‘Yeah, he seems like my kind of guy’ is a matter of some confusion and no little distress to British people, given that:
• Americans are supposed to be nicer than us, and mostly are.
• You don’t need a particularly keen eye for detail to spot a few flaws in the man.

This last point is what especially confuses and dismays British people, and many other people too; his faults seem pretty bloody hard to miss.
After all, it’s impossible to read a single tweet, or hear him speak a sentence or two, without staring deep into the abyss. He turns being artless into an art form; he is a Picasso of pettiness; a Shakespeare of shit. His faults are fractal: even his flaws have flaws, and so on ad infinitum.
God knows there have always been stupid people in the world, and plenty of nasty people too. But rarely has stupidity been so nasty, or nastiness so stupid.

He makes Nixon look trustworthy and George W look smart.
In fact, if Frankenstein decided to make a monster assembled entirely from human flaws – he would make a Trump.

And a remorseful Doctor Frankenstein would clutch out big clumpfuls of hair and scream in anguish:
‘My God… what… have… I… created?
If being a twat was a TV show, Trump would be the boxed set.

Trump isn't easily controlled, the US establishment want an easily controlled puppet President like Biden that does what he is told.

The mainstream media are part of the brainwashing that Trump is bad and Biden is this hero that is going to save the world.

Trump is the only US president in the last 30 years that didn't start any wars, he signed peace deals in the Middle East and de-escalated tensions with North Korea.

He also stood up to China and their attempts to take over the US by building up their own industries again and not being so reliant on China for their products.

Trump was totally controlled by the Republicans after 3 months. He just worked for the corporates like all Dem and GOP presidents do.

Seriously you need to read some real analysis rather that screen grabs from Twitter or Facebook.

UAE and Bahrain were already buddy buddy with Israel so signing "peace" deals with them did absolutely zero to solve the real problem in the Middle East which is the Palestine/Israel conflict, a conflict which Donald 4 years ago spouted was really simple and easy to solve.

What's he actually done to advance it - absolutely jacks***.

As for North Korea - great - de-escalate tensions he created himself by having North Korea do what exactly?

Have they de-nuclearised yet? Nope

Here's a lifehack that you clearly need to learn - just because Donald says something doesn't make it true.

Investigate, analyse, enquire - learn!!!!