Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Received an email from the AFL it's heading was KICKSTART AND ALL NATIONS REGIONAL TRIAL DAY. Before opening it I thought great my 12 year old football mad son will be as keen as to try out. As I read down it said to be eligible you had to come from Aboriginal or a Torres Strait Islander back ground. How is this fair? I rang the AFL and no other program was being run other than the above. This has now become a joke.
Sure has . My kids school has a didgeridoo come on before the national anthem . And the anthem has tapping sticks in it during the song . That is beyond offensive to me . But if I were to complain if be called racist . In actual fact I am offended my national anthem has been butchered to accomodate others

Yeah a two young blokes in the same team as my son have played on the MCG 4 times and they arent 12 yet. Both didnt make the Interleague squad and are battlers at best. My son and 22 others have all played the same amount of years 3 of them including my son played interleague non have played a game on the G. again HOW IS THIS FAIR?

You poor thing. Was your watering hole poisoned or your child taken off you? You get no special treatment like those good for nothing abo's do you?

I have all the sympathy in the world for your terrible plight.

Your anthem doesn't need didgeridoo or tapping sticks to be butchered mate. Even performed to perfection it resembles the mess left on the table after every sellable cut is gone.

Sent from my LG-P713 using Tapatalk

You poor thing. Was your watering hole poisoned or your child taken off you? You get no special treatment like those good for nothing abo's do you?

Hang on he didnt do any of those things and I bet his kids didnt either.

Your anthem doesn't need didgeridoo or tapping sticks to be butchered mate. Even performed to perfection it resembles the mess left on the table after every sellable cut is gone.

Thats your opinion.

Yeah a two young blokes in the same team as my son have played on the MCG 4 times and they arent 12 yet. Both didnt make the Interleague squad and are battlers at best. My son and 22 others have all played the same amount of years 3 of them including my son played interleague non have played a game on the G. again HOW IS THIS FAIR?
It sucks when the shoe is on the other foot doesn't it. To be ostracised from a football team. The inhumanity.

This is my point . I'm too white to be offended .

Maybe so , but it's the Australian anthem , I'm Australian . So it's mine . It's not be be changed about to suit others .

Hang on he didnt do any of those things and I bet his kids didnt either.
Very accurate . I was born in 1983 , no poisoning , raping, or killing at my end or my kids for that matter . If the flag ever changes and it includes any version of the aboriginal flag or colours I would set it on fire in the street and join whatever vigilante was available to protest . I'm over all this include everyone pc bullshit lead by the bleeding hearts gang .

The anthem can go because it's shit. No amount of Yothu Yindi can save it, kill it before it becomes self aware.
The flag stays as is, not to be exclusive but because damnit, I had family who fought and family who fight today, you are not changing that goddamn flag (unless we become a republic in which case then sure, you can alter it because it's a new chapter).

As stated previously;
Day of Mourning = OK
Invasion Day = Inflammatory language by people who cannot accept that that misunderstandings occur and blame lays on both sides for how things have evolved.
Australia day = OK
All three days = Same day

Because issue is taken with the term "Invasion Day" does not mean that we disassociate responsibilty or do not accept history, it means that you are purporting the division by using inflammatory terms meant to incite anger in one side and paint individuals in a light whereby they were not those people.

Ultimately I do not care if the day gets changed, if we can find common ground for all of us to celebrate us being, well, us and here, I am all for it. My issue is that no one is saying you cannot be solemn, no one is saying you cannot feel the things you feel, what we are saying is you sound angry, you sound like you are laying blame, you sound like you are accepting no responsibility at all for how things went and continue to go, and you sound like you are ignorant calling the first landing an invasion.

It is language that is the issue, because it gives intent that otherwise is not there and should not be there.

O
It sucks when the shoe is on the other foot doesn't it. To be ostracised from a football team. The inhumanity.

Ok so let's just repeat the process then.

The anthem can go because it's shit. No amount of Yothu Yindi can save it, kill it before it becomes self aware.
The flag stays as is, not to be exclusive but because damnit, I had family who fought and family who fight today, you are not changing that goddamn flag (unless we become a republic in which case then sure, you can alter it because it's a new chapter).

As stated previously;
Day of Mourning = OK
Invasion Day = Inflammatory language by people who cannot accept that that misunderstandings occur and blame lays on both sides for how things have evolved.
Australia day = OK
All three days = Same day

Because issue is taken with the term "Invasion Day" does not mean that we disassociate responsibilty or do not accept history, it means that you are purporting the division by using inflammatory terms meant to incite anger in one side and paint individuals in a light whereby they were not those people.

Ultimately I do not care if the day gets changed, if we can find common ground for all of us to celebrate us being, well, us and here, I am all for it. My issue is that no one is saying you cannot be solemn, no one is saying you cannot feel the things you feel, what we are saying is you sound angry, you sound like you are laying blame, you sound like you are accepting no responsibility at all for how things went and continue to go, and you sound like you are ignorant calling the first landing an invasion.

It is language that is the issue, because it gives intent that otherwise is not there and should not be there.
I agree with a lot of what u say which is why i favour probably just replacing the union jack with something like the aboriginal flag and becoming a republic as the easiest why to find a new day that we can celebrate that honors everything we have become.
Arthur Phillip was a great man and under appreciated in laying the foundation for the society we live in today. He even demanded no retaliation when he was speared and tried to bring the Sydney aboriginal population into the colony. There were other well meaning people in our history but there were also people who today would be called war criminals like George Arthur and the Queensland colonial police or most any part of colonial queensland government.
But even the well meaning people usually did not respect peoples right to choose there religion or way of life which lead to the stolen generations and distruction of aboriginal language and culture and we all know the horrors that were common in orphanages and different churchs until very recently and the devastating effects that has on people and their children
Also i dont hate the first verse of the anthem but surely even just singing the second in a different language would be better and i would worry what australian idol crap we would get today if we voted on a new one

O

Ok so let's just repeat the process then.
Sure. Where can I pick the kids up from? Don't worry I'll re-educate them. They'll be much better off for it.

I started this Aussie day topic by posting this
images

Purely cos it was a funny pisstake of the aussie Larrikin spirit. And to say Happy Australia day to the good peeps on here.
Its branched off into different Aust Day topics and Its fair to say it grew more legs than a centipede on roids:eek:
Nothing wrong with robust conversation :thumbsu: We are never all going to have the same views on dates, flags, anthems, indigenous Aussies and so on.
But this is a footy site. If your view is extreme either way its gonna ruffle feathers.
There is definately a time and a place for strong discussion about injustice, it cant be ignored.
And sometimes there is also just a time for " G'day mate Happy Australia Day."
37170877.jpg

I'm guessing you are labeling me Racist
What i am doing is defending our right to be happy about the fact that Australia was colonized and able to be built into the nation it is today.

How do you get off telling me what Jade Greshams opinion is. I'm sure he is his own person with his own idea's or are you just stereotyping?
I started this Aussie day topic by posting this
images

Purely cos it was a funny pisstake of the aussie Larrikin spirit. And to say Happy Australia day to the good peeps on here.
Its branched off into different Aust Day topics and Its fair to say it grew more legs than a centipede on roids:eek:
Nothing wrong with robust conversation :thumbsu: We are never all going to have the same views on dates, flags, anthems, indigenous Aussies and so on.
But this is a footy site. If your view is extreme either way its gonna ruffle feathers.
There is definately a time and a place for strong discussion about injustice, it cant be ignored.
And sometimes there is also just a time for " G'day mate Happy Australia Day."
37170877.jpg

;)