Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

I will tell her to keep an eye out for the record fairs mate, she loves Soundgarden as well. Brought her a drum set for xmas loves her music has been playing the trumpet for years as well
Lol
She sounds like an absolute ripper of a kid mate:thumbsu:
Musics great for kids. My sons a pretty damn good guitar player.
Mind you he struggled a bit in yr 11 cos whenever he was supposed to be studying we always used to catch him playing the guitar with headphones on instead :p

All this talk about Vinyl brings up the interesting topic of books vs e-readers. Seems that e-books are starting to lose a bit of popularity vs conventional books (helped by colouring books funnily enough) but we may see more of a trend back towards actual print books.

I read a lot and still buy print books exclusively. Somehow an e-reader, despite being more convenient in a way, never really interested me. I think its the fact you spend so much time with an individual book that ease of storage isnt really a huge factor.

Great article in the online Guardian today about the rebound in the popularity of analog, whether books or vinyl.
People positing it's driven by nostalgia.
But that ignores teens getting into vinyl when their parents don't own vinyl or even a turntable.
Seems the motivation is ownership.
We own our books and vinyl.
We rent the digital versions.

Great article in the online Guardian today about the rebound in the popularity of analog, whether books or vinyl.
People positing it's driven by nostalgia.
But that ignores teens getting into vinyl when their parents don't own vinyl or even a turntable.
Seems the motivation is ownership.
We own our books and vinyl.
We rent the digital versions.
A fair point, but I also subscribe to the theory that you don't have to have lived through a certain era of time to hold nostalgic thoughts toward it.
Woody Allen raises the idea of 'golden age thinking' in his film 'Midnight in Paris' fairly well.

Steve Honig's 2012 article on the subject is a decent read.
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/steve-honig/golden-age-thinking_b_1178176.html

All this talk about Vinyl brings up the interesting topic of books vs e-readers. Seems that e-books are starting to lose a bit of popularity vs conventional books (helped by colouring books funnily enough) but we may see more of a trend back towards actual print books.

I read a lot and still buy print books exclusively. Somehow an e-reader, despite being more convenient in a way, never really interested me. I think its the fact you spend so much time with an individual book that ease of storage isnt really a huge factor.
Comparing real books and records to e-books/downloaded music is a bit like comparing masturbation to real sex.
You probably still get the same result at the end but its just not quite as fun.

Comparing real books and records to e-books/downloaded music is a bit like comparing masturbation to real sex.
You probably still get the same result at the end but its just not quite as fun.
Snake, thanks for that, I think

I wouldn't quite say that.

I've still read the book, haven't just pretended to read the book.

I've gone 100% iPad . No more books and hardly any mags. I use to buy Picture People ACP Fortean Times etc etc regularly I reckon I was spending fifty a week at least on magazines. Plus extra on books.

I'm definitely down for some good weird shit. look no further than my avatar :D
Mike Patton is a genius, there's no other way of looking at it. I guess I never heavily got into his music, but yeah I still like a lot of his stuff

The Mr Bungle records are still fantastic.

Anyone interested in some Collingwood gossip?
Silly question!
Okay, I originally posted a few months ago the question "Had anyone heard of troubles at Collingwood?"
This was the result of a very interesting story told to me that day by someone whom I've known for years, who is a mad Collingwood supporter, and whom I see every month or so.
And I do trust this person completely.

However my original post generated the obvious question (from memory by Rors); "What troubles?" And at that point I realised I should have kept my mouth shut, because to answer would have placed my source in a potentially difficult situation.

Well, a few months has passed and a key person in the tale has moved on from Collingwood.

So here is the gossip.

My source is best buddies with a guy who operates in the same field.
For simplicity, we will call this best buddy "X".
My source has known X for years, trained together, best of friends.
X is also a Collingwood supporter.
Well X had been assisting at Collingwood on an ad hoc basis but they were keen to get him on board as a permanent. X was not totally enamoured with this but thinks it's not going to hurt him long term and might prove to be a nice earner on his resume.
So X signs on and joins the Collingwood football department in the sports medicine, sports science and player welfare field.
All is going well and X is enjoying the role, the environment, and the colleagues with whom he works.

Then Collingwood appoints Gubby Allen.

Well Gubby doesn't like what X and his colleagues are doing, "Collingwood doesn't need that stuff", and soon after his appointment calls a late pm meeting and sacks them all, effective immediately.

Well X returns to the club early the next morning to empty his desk, and is doing so, when Bucks rocks up and starts having a conversation with him.
X thinks this is a bit odd given he'd been shafted the prior afternoon but Buck's the coach so whatever, and he continues to empty his desk.

Finally Buck's asks him what he is doing, X tells him he's emptying his desk.

Buck's asks why, X tells him that Gubby Allen had sacked him and his colleagues the prior afternoon.

At which point Buck's goes ballistic.

Caro alluded to this in a couple of articles she wrote about Gubby getting the gig there, and the fallout from his appointment. Primarily her stories focused on Balme and his departure, but she does mention these terminations.

So there you have it: the Collingwood coach out of the loop about staffing in the football department. Not a good look for Buck's. Not a good look for the security of his tenure.

Reckon Buck's might have celebrated with a fine glass of red the day Gubby was forced to resign.

Love those guys too. Some of the best gigs I ever went to (also loudest). "Father and Son" is an absolute classic for Saints supporters.

I'd never heard that before today Berg.
Thanks, the lyrics absolutely ring true for me and my old man.
Brilliant.

Watching round 21, 2005 vs Fremantle on fox footy - the Longmire goal after the siren

Will only watch 3.5 quarters lol
I was out for lunch on Sat with the wife & kids .
On the wall of the resturant/bar was a huge telly showing the last qtr of the 09 GF.
Everything i ate just tasted bitter :(

I was out for lunch on Sat with the wife & kids .
On the wall of the resturant/bar was a huge telly showing the last qtr of the 09 GF.
Everything i ate just tasted bitter :(
Know how you feel mate.

I can watch the draw, 09 first 3 quarters just for the atmosphere but the 10 replay is one game I'll never watch.