Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

The huge corporations who have to pay shareholders dividends are all about making money quickly on the current watch, in the old days corporations were more about longevity and slow build up. They are cold and impersonal these days and will flick staff and cut corners to make money now rather than offering long term employment. Pretty much the whole way capitalism is structured and taken to it's ideal market lead demand doesn't stack up. If you automate everything and don't employ people with and real amount of money there is no one to buy goods and services. If the corporations then don't pay tax, including well paid members of the executive the whole system breaks down.
Interesting article about our ageing population.

Basically as the % increases, more people going into self preservation mode. No appetite for big reforms or projects.

All about affordable health, pension and tax breaks for their super and negative gearing.

Boomers have much to answer for.

Interesting article about our ageing population.

Basically as the % increases, more people going into self preservation mode. No appetite for big reforms or projects.

All about affordable health, pension and tax breaks for their super and negative gearing.

Boomers have much to answer for.

spot on mate! havent heard it described like that before but its absolutely spot on

My take on affordability - Live within your means.

Round figures on a hypothetical -

Husband, Wife and 2 kids of primary school age. Single income.

$1600 take home per f/night (50k per year)
less
$720 - Rent
$80 - Petrol
$80 - Train ticket
$110 - UTL
$60 - Insurance
$25 - Phone
$40 - Foxtel
$40 - Internet
$45 - Misc personal spend (drinks, takeout lunch at work, see a movie etc)
leaves
$400 per f/night

The remainder goes towards saving for one off payments like rego, car service, school fees, Christmas, Birthdays, Holidays and activities for your 2 kids. Your wife gets around $400 through centrelink and that covers food, nappies etc.

I gave this breakdown to a couple of guys I work with (both in their early 20's and going to Monash for Law degrees) and they couldn't believe it was possible to support a family on a single income.

If you are in a spot where you make anything over 50k a year then it's possible to do it and be more than comfortable. All about living within your means and making things last. Way too many people want to buy/rent in the inner suburbs, drive a newer car, update their phone every 12 months and go out every week then they wonder why they are broke and blame it on 'cost of living'.

So you get to buy a couple of lunches, go to a movie and buy a single drink.
The rest of the family stay home and watch pay tv lol .

My take on affordability - Live within your means.

Round figures on a hypothetical -

Husband, Wife and 2 kids of primary school age. Single income.

$1600 take home per f/night (50k per year)
less
$720 - Rent
$80 - Petrol
$80 - Train ticket
$110 - UTL
$60 - Insurance
$25 - Phone
$40 - Foxtel
$40 - Internet
$45 - Misc personal spend (drinks, takeout lunch at work, see a movie etc)
leaves
$400 per f/night

The remainder goes towards saving for one off payments like rego, car service, school fees, Christmas, Birthdays, Holidays and activities for your 2 kids. Your wife gets around $400 through centrelink and that covers food, nappies etc.

I gave this breakdown to a couple of guys I work with (both in their early 20's and going to Monash for Law degrees) and they couldn't believe it was possible to support a family on a single income.

If you are in a spot where you make anything over 50k a year then it's possible to do it and be more than comfortable. All about living within your means and making things last. Way too many people want to buy/rent in the inner suburbs, drive a newer car, update their phone every 12 months and go out every week then they wonder why they are broke and blame it on 'cost of living'.

$360 a week on rent? Stuff that for a joke lol my house repayments are less!

So you get to buy a couple of lunches, go to a movie and buy a single drink.
The rest of the family stay home and watch pay tv lol .

You could look at it that way but worrying about what YOU get out of the situation is part of the discussion.

You look at a movie and a couple of take out lunch and think "Geez that sound like a bad deal" but others look at $400 worth of savings and say "Geez that would be great".

Its usually the people spending every last dollar on going to the pub/club or splurging on a week in Bali who then turn around and say cost of living is too high.

They cant have it both ways.

You could look at it that way but worrying about what YOU get out of the situation is part of the discussion.

You look at a movie and a couple of take out lunch and think "Geez that sound like a bad deal" but others look at $400 worth of savings and say "Geez that would be great".

Its usually the people spending every last dollar on going to the pub/club or splurging on a week in Bali who then turn around and say cost of living is too high.

They cant have it both ways.

I've had the single income thing going on for years. Was a massive relief when my wife started working casually

**** that! That's crazy.

We have family friends who live in Caulfield and didn't buy when it was affordable, they pay over $1000 a week in rent....they didn't say how much over, for a three bedroom house. It's ****ed up how expensive rent and property prices are now. You need one person working just to pay rent. Their house isn't flash but it's a good size with a yard.

We have family friends who live in Caulfield and didn't buy when it was affordable, they pay over $1000 a week in rent....they didn't say how much over, for a three bedroom house. It's stuffed up how expensive rent and property prices are now. You need one person working just to pay rent. Their house isn't flash but it's a good size with a yard.

Bugger me dead! No wonder a lot of IT company's are setting up shop in the Latrobe valley. $1000 for rent is robbery

You can buy a brand new house on 5 acres for 350-400k down here or you could buy a nice old weather board for 225k.

Bugger me dead! No wonder a lot of IT company's are setting up shop in the Latrobe valley. $1000 for rent is robbery

You can buy a brand new house on 5 acres for 350-400k down here or you could buy a nice old weather board for 225k.

Yeah, got land starting at $189k, neighbours sold at $410k, but they have to demo the deck because white ants, but it's on sizeable land in town you could fit 3 units on if you wanted to.

Conversely $700 rent for anything around Box Hill that's comparable, and on smaller acreage.

People just don't "want" to do the whole saving thing and turn around and blame someone or something else when they can't cope

I've had the single income thing going on for years. Was a massive relief when my wife started working casually

Yeah that was us as well, single taxi driver income 3 kids. He recently retired and can pay off to own the house completely because we've been without for 20 odd years so that we can get to this position where older sister has bought a home, I'm looking at building, old man is looking at downsizing or otherwise owning the land & house and it's just the younger sister living a bit beyond what she can afford.

As soon as one of us left, things were much easier, when it was just the two parents and me as primary carer for them as they were sickly & on disability, it was like night and day. The Centrelink stuff helped, but we'd have been screwed without our neighbours & an uncle who had 3k acres in NSW on farmland as well, since that helped with some savings and a barter system.

spot on mate! havent heard it described like that before but its absolutely spot on

A higher % of 50+ year olds voted for Brexit than under 50.

We are seeing the same trend here.

Health care now rates in the top 3 important issues.

Also explains why there was such a ruckus about super changes and negative gearing.

It's also why they don't care nor understand the importance of the NBN, or even climate change.

These matters do not rate and all they can see is the effect it will have inchworm hip pocket.

Self interest has moved into a new age demographic and by the sheer ageing, that demographic is becoming larger each year.

The boomers had an amazing run in life, but sadly, they are going to leave the joint much the same way that Lyon left our list when they depart.

There's a house in St Kilda that is $1800 pw for a double story victorian house on real estate so $1000 sounds good, it a grand for a town house now. Some friends went to bid on a house in Brunswick the other day and it went for over $2 million, that's seriously stupid. It's got to crash soon.

Yeah, got land starting at $189k, neighbours sold at $410k, but they have to demo the deck because white ants, but it's on sizeable land in town you could fit 3 units on if you wanted to.

Conversely $700 rent for anything around Box Hill that's comparable, and on smaller acreage.

People just don't "want" to do the whole saving thing and turn around and blame someone or something else when they can't cope

Yeah that was us as well, single taxi driver income 3 kids. He recently retired and can pay off to own the house completely because we've been without for 20 odd years so that we can get to this position where older sister has bought a home, I'm looking at building, old man is looking at downsizing or otherwise owning the land & house and it's just the younger sister living a bit beyond what she can afford.

As soon as one of us left, things were much easier, when it was just the two parents and me as primary carer for them as they were sickly & on disability, it was like night and day. The Centrelink stuff helped, but we'd have been screwed without our neighbours & an uncle who had 3k acres in NSW on farmland as well, since that helped with some savings and a barter system.

We are on a single income at the moment because my wife has gone back to uni full time. She had a good income and we have had to readjust to not wasting money and it's a shock to the system, we bought our house so long ago the mortgage is nearly gone and it's still a struggle to get to the next week. Sports, outside school activities, shopping, clothes etc all cost heaps.

I would hate to be a young family starting out wanting a house. If you do move a long way out the commute can cost you plenty too. If you have to get a train from Warragul every day you lose a few hours of seeing your kids and probably cost you $40 a day in transport. They should drop negative gearing so it doesn't drive investors into the domestic market.

We have family friends who live in Caulfield and didn't buy when it was affordable, they pay over $1000 a week in rent....they didn't say how much over, for a three bedroom house. It's stuffed up how expensive rent and property prices are now. You need one person working just to pay rent. Their house isn't flash but it's a good size with a yard.
Absolutely makes sense, but trouble with it there, is attracting the right people. I knew a company in Moe that had trouble with Engineers, Marketers etc leaving as soon as they could, and only ever commuting from the city.

I get it, you get it, but people are desperate to pay 1000/week so they can walk to the nightlife.

Absolutely makes sense, but trouble with it there, is attracting the right people. I knew a company in Moe that had trouble with Engineers, Marketers etc leaving as soon as they could, and only ever commuting from the city.

I get it, you get it, but people are desperate to pay 1000/week so they can walk to the nightlife.

These people are too old for that, I think it's the schools and stuff they pay a premium for.

This is my point exactly about the nbn. When you eliminate the need for commuting, a whole range of lifestyle choices open up.

Also saves a shit load for employees. NAB in Docklands now has less desks than employees because some jobs don't require office attendance.

They save on rent, power, insurance, water, toilet paper. You name it.

My dad can run his business almost anywhere there is an internet connection.

Where we live, we only get adsl which is a joke at peak times and school holidays as it slows down beyond belief. A family friend who lives nearby spends a fortune on Wi-Fi because she wouldn't be able to get any work done.

So yeah, given q bit of visionary planning, people would have the option to live further out and save heaps.

Yep! As soon as I left the area, prices were sure to climb.
Became a quiet suburb again.

I dont think its a case of not wanting to do the whole saving thing or a case of wanting everything

Its just completely out of reach for many people

Yeah i agree the single income can be real tuff for some familys mate.
Im lucky as im on a pretty good wage.
But yeah when the wife stopped working after the latest bub was born its a massive difference financially to be on the one wage with a house full of kids.
I guess im lucky cos my wife and i arent real extravagant type of people. Having a family bbq at home with a few relaxing frothies or spending time watching our kids do their sports/hobbies is usually enough for me and the missus to be happy.
When we got our house yrs ago we didnt make the choice of buying a McMansion and having all our money tied up on a house.
We have a modest house which isnt fancy but its a real ' home' for us and the kids.
So im not living in a huge house our driving around in a new car but as a family if we ever want to go out or buy something we can cos ive only got a small mortgage and i own my cars so im pretty comfortable i guess.
Im not having a crack at anybody with a 5 bedroom house with 5 dunnys who drives around in a brand new Jeep. Good on them if thats what they want.
Might sound a bit wanky but im all about Family, possessions arent as important.

But with 3 kids id love my own bloody toilet though :p

This is my point exactly about the nbn. When you eliminate the need for commuting, a whole range of lifestyle choices open up.

Also saves a shit load for employees. NAB in Docklands now has less desks than employees because some jobs don't require office attendance.

They save on rent, power, insurance, water, toilet paper. You name it.

My dad can run his business almost anywhere there is an internet connection.

Where we live, we only get adsl which is a joke at peak times and school holidays as it slows down beyond belief. A family friend who lives nearby spends a fortune on Wi-Fi because she wouldn't be able to get any work done.

So yeah, given q bit of visionary planning, people would have the option to live further out and save heaps.

Please don't confuse wifi with mobile data. I have to explain the difference to my family 3 times a week.
The NBN is frustrating, because they've rolled it out to country area's but much of the city still has ADSL.
Surely it should go where demand is higher first.

Yeah i agree the single income can be real tuff for some familys mate.
Im lucky as im on a pretty good wage.
But yeah when the wife stopped working after the latest bub was born its a massive difference financially to be on the one wage with a house full of kids.
I guess im lucky cos my wife and i arent real extravagant type of people. Having a family bbq at home with a few relaxing frothies or spending time watching our kids do their sports/hobbies is usually enough for me and the missus to be happy.
When we got our house yrs ago we didnt make the choice of buying a McMansion and having all our money tied up on a house.
We have a modest house which isnt fancy but its a real ' home' for us and the kids.
So im not living in a huge house our driving around in a new car but as a family if we ever want to go out or buy something we can cos ive only got a small mortgage and i own my cars so im pretty comfortable i guess.
Im not having a crack at anybody with a 5 bedroom house with 5 dunnys who drives around in a brand new Jeep. Good on them if thats what they want.
Might sound a bit wanky but im all about Family, possessions arent as important.

But with 3 kids id love my own bloody toilet though :p
+1 snake.

I was lucky enough to have done FIFO work in my early 20s which has set me and my family up.

Just got to find a nice balance, with everything.