Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

I remember when we owned all the utilities etc, their buying some back in Britain I believe.

Governments need to tax any company replacing workers with automation or AI. If they don't our tax base will disappear with our jobs. It's just the tip if the iceberg, I've have 4 kids and while 3 hopefully 4 are very well qualified and on their way I wonder if even a fantastic education will be enough, probably better off with a trade.

They have a word in that Nordic system for a concept we don't seem to have it means an adequate sufficiency.

Yeah I met some guys back packing in St Kilda and they were from France, one guy had a double degree in Law and commerce and hadn't been able to get a job in the last 6 years. He said in France he was working hospitality to get by but he's got debts and little hope for the future. His mate was an electrician there but said he was struggling because the EU lets workers in from Eastern Europe who will work for a third of the money or cash in hand and sleep in their van then spend it back in Romania or Poland and live like kings. They were saying it's a generational thing there, anyone under 25 has little hope of steady employment and home ownership isn't happening for them. It's a scary world we are sending our kids into but hopefully the system makes adjustments to make it fairer and to keep up with technology. I guess the industrial revolution had it's own growing pains though.

Whelp, there goes $300 due to a HDD deciding that it wanted to try suicide.

Dodge a bullet in that it's not the one with windows and all the drivers and such on it, but still, my wallet feels a lot lighter.
That sucks StFly - my HD crapped out a month ago but luckily it only had my steam library on it.

Yeah, PC was working fine then we had a blackout and I noticed that I had to effectively force windows to initialise on reboot, so thought it was my OS on the SSD and starting crapping myself that I'd have to reinstall 7, upgrade again to 10 and do all those yay upgrades since it launched. Dude said coincidental though, but I can't see any other reason why it would start to die.

So thankfully it was also my games drive as I just picked the wrong drive and started getting raid errors last night which was strange since I don't have raid enabled, but was just intel being intel. Which is strange in a way since I can still play steam games, bnet shits itself and I haven't tried origin or GOG yet to test those, but tech guy said all my errors were disk errors on the 3TB game drive, so is coming back Monday arvo to do the shit.

Good thing I'm on leave since I assume the old man would want him to stick in the toaster if I wasn't. :D

L
Yeah, PC was working fine then we had a blackout and I noticed that I had to effectively force windows to initialise on reboot, so thought it was my OS on the SSD and starting crapping myself that I'd have to reinstall 7, upgrade again to 10 and do all those yay upgrades since it launched. Dude said coincidental though, but I can't see any other reason why it would start to die.

So thankfully it was also my games drive as I just picked the wrong drive and started getting raid errors last night which was strange since I don't have raid enabled, but was just intel being intel. Which is strange in a way since I can still play steam games, bnet shits itself and I haven't tried origin or GOG yet to test those, but tech guy said all my errors were disk errors on the 3TB game drive, so is coming back Monday arvo to do the shit.

Good thing I'm on leave since I assume the old man would want him to stick in the toaster if I wasn't. :D
as long as steam, gog and origin are functioning I'm a happy gamer!!
Best of luck mate

Yeah I met some guys back packing in St Kilda and they were from France, one guy had a double degree in Law and commerce and hadn't been able to get a job in the last 6 years. He said in France he was working hospitality to get by but he's got debts and little hope for the future. His mate was an electrician there but said he was struggling because the EU lets workers in from Eastern Europe who will work for a third of the money or cash in hand and sleep in their van then spend it back in Romania or Poland and live like kings. They were saying it's a generational thing there, anyone under 25 has little hope of steady employment and home ownership isn't happening for them. It's a scary world we are sending our kids into but hopefully the system makes adjustments to make it fairer and to keep up with technology. I guess the industrial revolution had it's own growing pains though.
The indi rev is over for the western world and the sooner we get used to it the better.

Manufacturing has moved to China and India and as their middle class grows, it will move to Africa and other sources of cheap labour.

And therein lies the issue with capitalism... move moves to where the biggest profit is, regardless on the impact on the local population.

That's why no one wants to invest in renewable energy... not profitable at this stage. Then a foreign country does it and we slide further into 3rd world territory.

We are so short sighted in business. To much focus on bottom line and share bonuses.

No different in politics with the influence of lobby groups who donate to maintain the status quo.

Just look at how they stuffed up the NBN.

The problem here is that people actually believe that the conservative actually give a **** about small business and workers.

They are bankrolled by the multi national and fossil fuel industry.

Even Keating has the sense to admit the reform model they pursued has come to a grinding halt. Trickle down is bullshit.

A system that relies on increased consumption to expand is unsustainable.

I'm not advocating a socialist model but we have to develop a sensible middle ground where any industry is there for and has an obligation for the community as a whole.

Maybe we need to look at countries where this approach works?

How about a sustainable pay model that ensures a decent income and protects jibs during downturns?

Automation means that people will work less and less hours. If we continue to under employ, it will eventually explode and wreak havoc with the have nots running riot.

Eventually will need a state administered minimum wage, plus work income. Robots will need to be taxed lime humans as well.

The indi rev is over for the western world and the sooner we get used to it the better.

Manufacturing has moved to China and India and as their middle class grows, it will move to Africa and other sources of cheap labour.

And therein lies the issue with capitalism... move moves to where the biggest profit is, regardless on the impact on the local population.

That's why no one wants to invest in renewable energy... not profitable at this stage. Then a foreign country does it and we slide further into 3rd world territory.

We are so short sighted in business. To much focus on bottom line and share bonuses.

No different in politics with the influence of lobby groups who donate to maintain the status quo.

The problem here is that people actually believe that the conservative actually give a **** about small business and workers.

Even Keating has the sense to admit the reform model they pursued has come to a grinding halt. Trickle down is bullshit.

I'm not advocating a socialist model but we have to develop a sensible middle ground where any industry is there for and has an obligation for the community as a whole.

How about a sustainable pay model that ensures a decent income and protects jibs during downturns?

Automation means that people will work less and less hours. If we continue to under employ, it will eventually explode and wreak havoc with the have nots running riot.

Eventually will need a state administered minimum wage, plus work income. Robots will need to be taxed lime humans as well.

Agree, post WWII there were companies that looked after workers and the whole structure of them revolved around keeping people employed and jobs local and pride in standards etc. That why people like Trump have an easy time selling the nostalgia. Lots of people are working three jobs to just get by in the states and hardly any of the new jobs have security.

ckle

trickle down started with thatcher and was picked up by regan how many years ago was that.

Yet here we are and whats on the agenda in the states and here business tax cuts for ***** sake.

You know every time I called my telco it was India now it's the Phillipines, as wages and the middle class grow capital just finds cheaper labor.

Well I've tried to tell people good luck living in Brighton and wearing your bling we will reach a point where that just isn't possible, what a world to leave our kids.

I'd run for office but I can't pass the citizenship test.

On the NBN, I called Telstra the other day as my contract for work ended and I thought I'd cost broadband. The average speed in St Kilda is the same as ADSL. I had to ask a couple of times if he was serious. They said if I wanted the real high speed NBN I'd have to spend $5 to $10 grand to connect fibre to the premises and for your money you get to pay more on your bills. After I drilled him about the best option he admitted the NBN wasn't very good and said stick to what you have until they force you to change over. He said it's so slow rolling out we should have a few more years before they force people on to it.

It's literally slower than current technology, more expensive and apparently the copper section needs up grading anyway so will need replacing a major part as soon as it's done. Absolute stupidity, Turnbull should be jailed for that, it cost more than the snowy river scheme the last biggest infrastructure project in our history and is already useless.

trickle down started with thatcher and was picked up by regan how many years ago was that.

Yet here we are and whats on the agenda in the states and here business tax cuts for ***** sake.

You know every time I called my telco it was India now it's the Phillipines, as wages and the middle class grow capital just finds cheaper labor.

Well I've tried to tell people good luck living in Brighton and wearing your bling we will reach a point where that just isn't possible, what a world to leave our kids.

Great post Yawkey (is that a reference to a certain part of Boston??? - sorry mate had a few and it just clicked)
The missus and I moved way out to south gippsland in the hope of a better life for our kids than what we've struggled through. Honestly it's all any of us can do for our kids - try and make it a little easier for them.
It's looking like a fairly bleak future for the majority of Aussies aiming to be financially independent unfortunately...

If you believe conspiracy nuts it started with Neo Liberalism's invention in the 1890s, they were just a bit slow on the uptake. I read a good article that said Nixon losing office caused a domino effect that caused the economic radicals to get a foothold in the Republicans and lead to Reagan. Don't know if it's true but it sounded plausible.

Great post Yawkey (is that a reference to a certain part of Boston??? - sorry mate had a few and it just clicked)
The missus and I moved way out to south gippsland in the hope of a better life for our kids than what we've struggled through. Honestly it's all any of us can do for our kids - try and make it a little easier for them.
It's looking like a fairly bleak future for the majority of Aussies aiming to be financially independent unfortunately...
Yeah it is, it's a famous area outside Fenway. Yep yawkey was a racist old bastard by all reports but it's really like tipping your hat to Linton street.

These guys own the clubs and are in it to make a profit, Boston is or was perhaps not the most racially friendly city in the past so I guess you could just as well blame the city as the owner.

I haven't heard that much about him except he was the last owner by some way I believe to field an African American player.

South Gippsland I love it down there, I'd move to Hobart I love it but with my kids i guess I'm here for good now. My daughter and her fiancé have bought a place and planted their flag 1 Klm from us in Elwood so that's it for me.

She is carved out of chocolate this one, she looks like a doll is on a full scholarship for her Ph.D. add that to her teaching at university which brings in $100.00 per hour plus her research work and it's a pretty good living.

She follows tony Abbott and he her, she will probably run the place one day , god help us all.

If you believe conspiracy nuts it started with Neo Liberalism's invention in the 1890s, they were just a bit slow on the uptake. I read a good article that said Nixon losing office caused a domino effect that caused the economic radicals to get a foothold in the Republicans and lead to Reagan. Don't know if it's true but it sounded plausible.
Reagan was a very interesting guy he's responsible for quite a few things that benifit actors even today, it's worth a read.

He was a lot more than just an ex actor.

A bit like George bush who people love to dismiss and hate on, I think both guys were basically good men. It's interesting how gracious and well liked bush is by his peers post office, Bill Clinton is apparently treated like a member of the bush family.

Agree, post WWII there were companies that looked after workers and the whole structure of them revolved around keeping people employed and jobs local and pride in standards etc. That why people like Trump have an easy time selling the nostalgia. Lots of people are working three jobs to just get by in the states and hardly any of the new jobs have security.
Not saying that they are all model citizens, but the reduction of union power is bad.

For whatever reason, they are demonised by the right, and even the workers themselves who are too stupid to understand the strength in numbers.

And yet every single benefit enjoyed by workers today is thanks to the unions.

No doubt I've just opened a can of worms about rogue unions, but on the whole they have been the only resistance to worker exploitation.

The anti-union agenda has been pushed for 2 reasons... firstly to drive down wages and increase profits and secondly, well unions means less $$ for the ALP, which aids the neo-cons.

This is why democracy is not only a myth, but a farce. What ever perceived value we gain is crushed by the adversarial nature of politics where parties a forced to take opposite sides in order to discredit the other and take power.

Classic case... NBN. Mining tax (multinationals are raping us and taking profits overseas)... and the buffoons are falling over each other for dodgy Adani FFS.

Trumbull tried to give bipartisan support once for an ETS, but was rolled by Abbott with the support office fossils. Case in point.

Not saying that they are all model citizens, but the reduction of union power is bad.

For whatever reason, they are demonised by the right, and even the workers themselves who are too stupid to understand the strength in numbers.

No doubt I've just opened a can of worms about rogue unions, but on the whole they have been the only resistance to worker exploitation.

The anti-union agenda has been pushed for 2 reasons... firstly to drive down wages and increase profits and secondly, well unions means less $$ for the ALP, which aids the neo-cons.

This is why democracy is not only a myth, but a farce. What ever perceived value we gain is crushed by the adversarial nature of politics where parties a forced to take opposite sides in order to discredit the other and take power.

Classic case... NBN. Mining tax (multinationals are raping us and taking profits overseas)... and the buffoons are falling over each other for dodgy Adani FFS.

Trumbull tried to give bipartisan support once for an ETS, but was rolled by Abbott with the support office fossils. Case in point.
I wish my industry had a union :-(

Had a pizza for dinner last night. Really nice one with the lot.
Had two slices left to take to work today for lunch. I'm a simple man and life is good:thumbsu:

Just wanted to provide some " simple talk" for those of us like me on here who don't even know what half of the words mean in most of the above global politics post.
:D
Let me simplify is for you. Everybody through history has always thought they were at a unique point in time where everything is new, amazing and incomprehensible. It always turns out it's nothing new and mere ego determines that people think it's the end of days.

In short, carry on, it's all been done before just labeled with a different date.

As you were.

Absolutely essential for workers rights as they have always been.

Just a few rogue examples that have thrown things out of whack, people might not remember Norn Gallagher and the builders labourers, he was a disaster.

Tradie wages probably has more to do with jeff Kennett and the governments that came after him. When you close schools and sell them off doing away with trade schools in the process then a shortage of tradies is what you get.
Add to that so many metrosexuals who can't change a tyre, fix a leaking tap etc and no wonder they can charge what they like.

It's a big sad watching the kids all trying to get into dubious Uni/tafe courses when in days gone by they would have had an apprenticeship and have been happy and productive.

Some strange traps in the system for kids, I was trying to help out one of my kids friends who wanted to get an apprenticeship and had made it clear to a job service provider (don't get me started) they had sent him on a six week security guards course. It is classified at the same level as an apprenticeship and you can only ever get funding for two courses at that level, he's done his two on useless pieces of crap he was sent on by the job service provider so that's it for him.

These places tell their clients how to suck eggs, for example i want you to apply for x amount of jobs per fortnight or to attend this course and little else in the way of help finding a job. Then they pick up a truck load of money for every government allocated client plus various bonuses when the client finds a job. This is as big a scandal and waste of money as the private college and university rort was. Their a link in the chain that does nothing and costs us a fortune.

I remember when parties had bipartisan positions on some issues, it appears that is largely a thing if the past. Adani who the hell thinks that's a viable proposition even excluding other factors, yet government appears intent on handing them a billion plus of our money WTF. It's a pattern of behaviour miners pay bugger all and even a call for a flat tax like Canada is met with the boogie man call of sovereign risk every time it's raised.

If Australia changed the rules to a fairer system my bet is bugger all would leave and if they did there would be a que a mile long to replace them.

At any rate on to the big issue, if Brisbane are stupid enough to win bloody north will have pick 1. I'd almost tank today depending on what the club knows about the recruitment position to stop north getting that pick.

Let me simplify is for you. Everybody through history has always thought they were at a unique point in time where everything is new, amazing and incomprehensible. It always turns out it's nothing new and mere ego determines that people think it's the end of days.

In short, carry on, it's all been done before just labeled with a different date.

As you were.

I get what you are saying but if you don't plan for the future it will not go the way you planned it. There are some unique challenges coming up for the next generations and if people my age don't try to help them work it out we are leaving them in a pile of shit. Australia has some issues to work through, a mate works for a power corporation and ironically we have actually produced more power through wind and solar than we were producing at the coal power station we are closing.

The problem is we are addicted to growth so we bring in 200,000 people a year who all move to Melbourne and Sydney. The governments love the growth but sold all the utilities and they don't want to spend money on infrastructure. We keep building houses that are bigger which take more power and the strain starts to mean that eventually the power will start to not work well. Transport, jobs, education, health all suffer too. There is nothing wrong with immigration but you need to put some of the gains back into infrastructure.

The government know this but turn peoples attention to the handful of immigrants who are running away from war zones or persecution. We also need to worry about the threat of nuclear war and climate change, I would say there are some pretty unique challenges coming up in the next 50 years. There needs to be a pretty huge overhaul of the monetary and political system in that period because when you get strain you end up in conflict.

Brisbane Lions don't tank......that winning feeling is too rare for us to throw a game. Welcome each win with great joy.

You guys will be good in a couple of years, love the list you are putting together.

Brisbane Lions don't tank......that winning feeling is too rare for us to throw a game. Welcome each win with great joy.
No you don't that's the problem north will and as a consequence they will have pick 1.

Which they will use in some way to leverage a player or players to them if they can.

They are desperate and desperate clubs do strange things.

I get what you are saying but if you don't plan for the future it will not go the way you planned it. There are some unique challenges coming up for the next generations and if people my age don't try to help them work it out we are leaving them in a pile of shit. Australia has some issues to work through, a mate works for a power corporation and ironically we have actually produced more power through wind and solar than we were producing at the coal power station we are closing.

The problem is we are addicted to growth so we bring in 200,000 people a year who all move to Melbourne and Sydney. The governments love the growth but sold all the utilities and they don't want to spend money on infrastructure. We keep building houses that are bigger which take more power and the strain starts to mean that eventually the power will start to not work well. Transport, jobs, education, health all suffer too. There is nothing wrong with immigration but you need to put some of the gains back into infrastructure.

The government know this but turn peoples attention to the handful of immigrants who are running away from war zones or persecution. We also need to worry about the threat of nuclear war and climate change, I would say there are some pretty unique challenges coming up in the next 50 years. There needs to be a pretty huge overhaul of the monetary and political system in that period because when you get strain you end up in conflict.
Don't disagree with those specifics. However what you describe are technological changes in the main. Those challenges are not unusual. Planning helps to an extent (and definitely at macro city level) However those saying challenges are unique to our time are focusing on th micro rather than macro situation.

Actually that is generally the case but the exceptions have been disastrous.

The world is pretty screwed up right now and there are a lot of issues that won't just go away unfortunately .

People may not be able to do much as individuals but we get a vote and should stay informed and vote accordingly, current immigration levels without infrastructure spending will see our standard of living and life satisfaction plummet.

My eldest has written 2 theses on socio economic disadvantage and life satisfaction as well as journal articles based on them. They weren't I surveyed a hundred people at the city mission crap, he had special access to the census and other ABS databases.

I would have read them but I've got too much on my plate worrying about my sporting teams haha.