Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

That's why our economy is ****** if property crashes. I only know one person that owns a luxury car that isn't on supposed equity in their home and chucked on to the mortgage. If you have owned a house for 15 years and paid it all off of course you have genuine equity because prices will never go back that far but people buy stuff with magic money that is made from gains in property value in short periods. That's utter dumb arse stuff, cars are the worst investment ever, I know people who've bought S class Benz' for $180,000 and 5 years later they are worth $40,000, 10 years $7500 and so on. There is literally nothing that devalues quicker than an ageing luxury car.

It wasn't the tax cuts so much as negative gearing and changes to the capital gains tax rules that Howard and Costello brought in. Also super schemes that are self funded where people pull money from diversified funds to buy property helped push prices and to top it off we had banks that would lend to anyone with nothing to back it. When I got my mortgage last time they didn't ask for documents as I was self employed. I had a spread sheet and they didn't even check it. I could pay it but they didn't know that.

I'd love a law that says if you are stupid enough to drive a car worth more than $100 000 then YOUR insurance pays for anything over that amount if i hit it.
Its insane.

If you want a real laugh at aging luxury cars. Only trouble is this presenter's voice is weirder than the car, and far more annoying.

I don't think i agree with you McFly , but i always love the way you express your opinion.
:D
(( our freaking labor party keeps building freeways with traffic lights, cheap ones that use clockwork timers i think - dandenong road had synchonised lights in the 1970's but they stuck a stupid clockwork thing at Mc Donalds at the end of it all and wonder why the gridlock. ))

I don't agree with me either, but I agree with me more than sitting members of parliament at times.

Checkout the brawl in the boomers game. Phillipenes bench basically jumped two players. Would be taking security there next time, in case the crowd got involved too
That Kickert bloke should get a life ban. Disgraceful behaviour, dragging Australia into a brawl like that. Yeah, there was a bad foul just before that, but outside of play he walked up with a hard elbow to the face. The overhead view of it is damning.
https://www.cbssports.com/nba/news/...awl-includes-flying-kick-by-bucks-thon-maker/

That Kickert bloke should get a life ban. Disgraceful behaviour, dragging Australia into a brawl like that. Yeah, there was a bad foul just before that, but outside of play he walked up with a hard elbow to the face. The overhead view of it is damning.
https://www.cbssports.com/nba/news/...awl-includes-flying-kick-by-bucks-thon-maker/
i agree .... its a terrible look for international basketball but its crap like that is rampant in social basketball hence i dont play anymore ....
the observations of it was Goulding in his usual manner was being an irritating twat.. there is trash talking and what not but when you have guys representing their country and they are 31 points down a weed like Goulding yapping at you gets a bit much , smacks of the boomers being poor winners rubbing salt into a weaker opponent and not showing any class or respect to a lets be honest hot headed philippines team...
as the incident occoured Guolding has actually instigated the foul by putting a illegal screen on the philippines player (note his arms lift away from his chest to make the contact).. the Philippino guy has seen this and has dished it back to Goulding who proceeds to do a clayton oliver and exagerate the contact ( note he acts like a flog laying on the floor with his arms up just being a tool) , Kickert then starts the whole fight by totally over reacting with a flying elbow ... this clears the bench understandably and the fight starts ... Thon Maker then becomes the biggest bell end in the fight by thinking he is Bruce Lee trying to give flying knees to anyone and everyone ... thats when it go's apeshit chairs go flying blokes beating on other blokes and the aussie team running away scared (i dont blame them but if you are going to push this brand that you are tough guys you cant run away)....
honestly it makes both teams look poorly the philippines team should cop the majority of the critisim rightfully so but the Boomers were certainly to blame for the esculation ....
i think thats the issue with this Boomers squad .. the got skills but they lack class and humility, most teams can have one or two floggish blokes the boomers run 6 or 7 deep..

honestly if you are Ben Simmons, Dante Exum, Paddy Mills or Joe Ingles and you see that carry on the desire to want to represent in the green and gold wouldnt be a high priority or a great look for your image

i agree .... its a terrible look for international basketball but its crap like that is rampant in social basketball hence i dont play anymore ....
the observations of it was Goulding in his usual manner was being an irritating twat.. there is trash talking and what not but when you have guys representing their country and they are 31 points down a weed like Goulding yapping at you gets a bit much , smacks of the boomers being poor winners rubbing salt into a weaker opponent and not showing any class or respect to a lets be honest hot headed philippines team...
as the incident occoured Guolding has actually instigated the foul by putting a illegal screen on the philippines player (note his arms lift away from his chest to make the contact).. the Philippino guy has seen this and has dished it back to Goulding who proceeds to do a clayton oliver and exagerate the contact ( note he acts like a flog laying on the floor with his arms up just being a tool) , Kickert then starts the whole fight by totally over reacting with a flying elbow ... this clears the bench understandably and the fight starts ... Thon Maker then becomes the biggest bell end in the fight by thinking he is Bruce Lee trying to give flying knees to anyone and everyone ... thats when it go's apeshit chairs go flying blokes beating on other blokes and the aussie team running away scared (i dont blame them but if you are going to push this brand that you are tough guys you cant run away)....
honestly it makes both teams look poorly the philippines team should cop the majority of the critisim rightfully so but the Boomers were certainly to blame for the esculation ....
i think thats the issue with this Boomers squad .. the got skills but they lack class and humility, most teams can have one or two floggish blokes the boomers run 6 or 7 deep..

honestly if you are Ben Simmons, Dante Exum, Paddy Mills or Joe Ingles and you see that carry on the desire to want to represent in the green and gold wouldnt be a high priority or a great look for your image

pretty fair post

the worst part though was the australian player being held down and proceeded to be assaulted by pretty much an entire team of players and officials. punching him, kicking him. all on a defenseless player. that is seriously scary stuff. tbh they should be charged with assault.

tbh i don't think they were running away they more pulled their heads in. the difference between the two teams is one team was restrained once it escalated. the other had their entire bench and officials square up. one team decided to hold some down so he couldnt defend himself then had a 10 on 1 beat down. the other didn't. really not good.

Seriously you must be kidding, that foul looks a lot like a deliberate elbow to the face.

Kickert overreacted and should cop his right wack but to have coaches, officials and god knows who attacking on mass is just the biggest disgrace.

They should have all and any hosting rights removed forthwith.

Please spare me the fairy stories of bad sportsmanship on Australia's part, nobody knows what was said and nothing can excuse that behavior.

Shane heal reporting that he heard the instruction to hit them when the Philippines were 30 points down.

Pathetic all round but once you have anyone other than players involved you loose any and all credibility.

pretty fair post

the worst part though was the australian player being held down and proceeded to be assaulted by pretty much an entire team of players and officials. punching him, kicking him. all on a defenseless player. that is seriously scary stuff. tbh they should be charged with assault.

tbh i don't think they were running away they more pulled their heads in. the difference between the two teams is one team was restrained once it escalated. the other had their entire bench and officials square up. one team decided to hold some down so he couldnt defend himself then had a 10 on 1 beat down. the other didn't. really not good.
for sure ... that was disgusting really need to wonder what the security were doing to allow that , especially when the bloke from the crowd got involved and the chair got thrown .... by no means am i excussing the Phillippines team they were shocking in their actions but it was a esculation that really shouldnt have happened .... as i said i dont blame the aussie guys for running off i mean they dont want to get caught up in that at all especially Thon Maker who has an NBA contract but the issue is as a team the boomers have a rep of pushing the boundrys they are a overly physical team and do engage in the niggle a fair bit , with them being that way when a team reacts back at them they gotta stand their ground otherwise they are to be seen as being able to dish it out but not accept it ....

really ive officiated over 800 basketball games in my time and the real problem there was the reffs not getting control of the teams .. it was heated all game the reffs needed to pull both captains aside and tell them to get their teams to pull their heads in and start officiating it closer to avoid the niggle

Seriously you must be kidding, that foul looks a lot like a deliberate elbow to the face.

Kickert overreacted and should cop his right wack but to have coaches, officials and god knows who attacking on mass is just the biggest disgrace.

Please spare me the fairy stories of bad sportsmanship on Australia's part, nobody knows what was said and nothing can excuse that behavior.

Shane heal reporting that he heard the instruction to hit them when the Philippines were 30 points down.

Pathetic all round but once you have anyone other than players involved you loose any and all credibility.
see now this is a half truth being streched to become a compleate fabrication ... the Philippines coach said to be physical not tak a backwards step put them on their arse ... he was coaching to get his team to stand up and not be ragdolled around like they had the entire game ... somewhere in the heat of the moment it got out of control, then when the flying elbow came out it just went nuts ... the guys on the philipines team were totally out of line but to say the coach insighted the fight is not a true reflection of the events ... Kickerts elbow started it

Life ban? Seriously. AFL footy 3 weeks. Basketball one year at the most. Probably 6 months would do.
AFL players aren't representing the country. It's a privilege to do that, and his behaviour was an embarrassment.
He can play basketball after a medium term ban, whatever. But he doesn't deserve to wear the green and gold again.
Edit: And yeah, seriously.

Life ban? Seriously. AFL footy 3 weeks. Basketball one year at the most. Probably 6 months would do.
i think FIBA need to be strong on this ... i mean really strong as far as the big pitcure go's Australia are small fry and the Philipines are insignificant ... this stuff hurts sponsorship it also hurts the ability of FIBA to attract the worlds best to play in their competitions .. imagine your Lebron on $200mil why risk hurting yourself playing international basketball against guys who overreact with elbows to the head no thanks ...
FIBA will prob rub out the Philippines team entirely from international competition for 12 months... Australia will cop a warning and possibly lose Maker Goulding Scobby for the rest of the asia comp and Kickert will cop at worst a 12 month ban at best a 3 month ... that said at ful strength i doubt Kickert Scobby and Goulding make the final aussie side anyway

Sorry mate, not sparing you anything. We can't control the reaction by the Philippines, that was atrocious and they should get all kinds of serious penalties.
Don't need players throwing elbows outside of play in Australian colours thanks, sparking bralws, that guy can GAGF at a lower level somewhere.

AFL players aren't representing the country. It's a privilege to do that, and his behaviour was an embarrassment.
He can play basketball after a medium term ban, whatever. But he doesn't deserve to wear the green and gold again.
Edit: And yeah, seriously.

Looked terrible but he doesn't deserve a life ban from playing for Australia. Bad mistake punished by one year not playing for your country.

Their bloke threw two cheap shot dangerous elbows to our players face in the seconds leading up to Kickert retaliating with his cheap shot.
If your gonna start throwing 2 dog act elbows don't be complaining when someone throws a bigger one back.
Poor form by both teams but that bloke Kickert hit deserved everything he got.

Sorry mate, not sparing you anything. We can't control the reaction by the Philippines, that was atrocious and they should get all kinds of serious penalties.
Don't need players throwing elbows outside of play in Australian colours thanks, sparking bralws, that guy can GAGF at a lower level somewhere.
That's OK pal, where do you see me excusing his actions.

see now this is a half truth being streched to become a compleate fabrication ... the Philippines coach said to be physical not tak a backwards step put them on their arse ... he was coaching to get his team to stand up and not be ragdolled around like they had the entire game ... somewhere in the heat of the moment it got out of control, then when the flying elbow came out it just went nuts ... the guys on the philipines team were totally out of line but to say the coach insighted the fight is not a true reflection of the events ... Kickerts elbow started it
I'm repeating what Shane heal reported.

I didn't realise you were there st trav let alone part of the Philippine's huddle.

Their bloke threw two cheap shot dangerous elbows to our players face in the seconds leading up to Kickert retaliating with his cheap shot.
If your gonna start throwing 2 dog act elbows don't be complaining when someone throws a bigger one back.
Poor form by both teams but that bloke Kickert hit deserved everything he got.
Then do it in play. Or man up and deal with it, and be mindful of the fact that you're representing your country, and that other countries feel that same way about the way Australia plays, so you'd reckon we could take it if we're going to dish it out.
Did you watch the overhead video in the link above. No excuses for that when in your country's colours, I don't care what the other guy did leading up to it. Am disgusted by the guy and the pathetic press conference BB Australia gave this morning. Didn't even mention the Aus player's actions until asked about it during question time.