Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Fair enough if you don't like or respect him. Cheap shots regarding his mental health are not appropriate, or of your normal excellent and respectful standard.

Unfortunately I didn't have a pleasant experience 20 yrs back with Kennett, let's leave it at that SS..

Depression has crucified many in my family, including a cousin as recently as 2 yrs back via suicide..

I commend Jeff for his positive work with BB today, his empathy for others is much appreciated..

Our own Kosi, even alluded to not enjoying his footy as much as he did in his early days..

Whether Kosi had depression only he would know, but i suspect depression will receive greater attention over the next few years in the AFL..

OK I wont get political but after Cain dropping the VIctorian economy into a black hole, then Joan ( do nothing at all ) Kirner letting it slide further into the crap , there wasn't much option.
After all that someone actually doing something was pretty refreshing.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: Similar thing happened in the UK. Libs had to also fix the mess.

Also, Q&A last night, I kind wanted to punch that Liberal bloke with his "mandate"

I find the "mandate" concept hilarious.

So the House of Reps has a mandate but the senate doesn't?

And if they voted because Tony Abbott looks to have some nice daughters (you can't laugh at this concept given who has been elected per the article above), what are the policies of the girls?

''If you want to know who to vote for, I'm the guy with the not bad looking daughters."

"I think it's quite easy for blokes to lose their way, because I think hard-wired into just about every bloke is this kind of hunter-warrior instinct and in modern society, there aren't that many outlets for the hunter-warrior instinct."

"What the housewives of Australia need to understand as they do the ironing is that if they get it done commercially it’s going to go up in price and their own power bills when they switch the iron on are going to go up, every year."

"Climate change is absolute crap."

"If you want to put a price on carbon why not just do it with a simple tax."

"Now, I know that there are some Aboriginal people who aren’t happy with Australia Day. For them it remains Invasion Day."

"Western civilisation came to this country in 1788 and I’m proud of that."

"I think I can probably say [candidate Fiona Scott] has a bit of sex appeal."

"If we’re honest, most of us would accept that a bad boss is a little bit like a bad father or a bad husband … you find that he tends to do more good than harm. He might be a bad boss but at least he’s employing someone."

"I think it would be folly to expect that women will ever dominate or even approach equal representation in a large number of areas simply because their aptitudes, abilities and interests are different for physiological reason."

"Jesus knew that there was a place for everything and it’s not necessarily everyone’s place to come to Australia."

"We can’t conclusively say whether man-made carbon dioxide emissions are contributing to climate change."

Australia needs to go and take a suppository.

I find the "mandate" concept hilarious.

So the House of Reps has a mandate but the senate doesn't?

And if they voted because Tony Abbott looks to have some nice daughters (you can't laugh at this concept given who has been elected per the article above), what are the policies of the girls?

''If you want to know who to vote for, I'm the guy with the not bad looking daughters."

"I think it's quite easy for blokes to lose their way, because I think hard-wired into just about every bloke is this kind of hunter-warrior instinct and in modern society, there aren't that many outlets for the hunter-warrior instinct."

"What the housewives of Australia need to understand as they do the ironing is that if they get it done commercially it’s going to go up in price and their own power bills when they switch the iron on are going to go up, every year."

"Climate change is absolute crap."

"If you want to put a price on carbon why not just do it with a simple tax."

"Now, I know that there are some Aboriginal people who aren’t happy with Australia Day. For them it remains Invasion Day."

"Western civilisation came to this country in 1788 and I’m proud of that."

"I think I can probably say [candidate Fiona Scott] has a bit of sex appeal."

"If we’re honest, most of us would accept that a bad boss is a little bit like a bad father or a bad husband … you find that he tends to do more good than harm. He might be a bad boss but at least he’s employing someone."

"I think it would be folly to expect that women will ever dominate or even approach equal representation in a large number of areas simply because their aptitudes, abilities and interests are different for physiological reason."

"Jesus knew that there was a place for everything and it’s not necessarily everyone’s place to come to Australia."

"We can’t conclusively say whether man-made carbon dioxide emissions are contributing to climate change."

Australia needs to go and take a suppository.

I'm in the Auto industry , and I sort of regret the loss of Rudd's big payment to save it. But then I wonder if it will actually happen. Trouble is these guys will ask Holden, and Holden will say "give us money". They wont say "introduce tariffs or import restrictions ( like the USA and EU and China have ) because they make more money for their global corporation from imports . Holden will send the cash to Head office.
Holden and Ford and Toyota do not have a vested interest in Australian manufacturing and if the government wants them here they need to think independently about ways to motivate them.
Australian suppliers are lumped in with Asian suppliers and forced to think dumber ( more and more manual quality checks ) rather than smarter. Making it hard to compete.

If man made emissions are stuffing up the environment it doesn't help to burn resources to keep making disposable cars that need to be replaced every 5 years, when a HQ easily lasts 20 years.

If Hazelwood and the watery coal in Gippsland is really stuffing up the environment build a big massive gas station or 2 ( oops we didn't want Newport ) and sell it to the highest bidder. Then Hazelwood will shut down by itself. Stop Stuffing around.

The history of this rock we live on suggests that there is an uncommon trend of stable temperature which just happens to coincide with human existence. It will be sad if it ends and stuffs up our existence ( just as likely to be too cold as too hot ) but its pretty self centred to think we've caused it .

We criticize these guys based on their public speaking and "witty comebacks" just like we criticize Arron Fiora for being soft. Put most of us in their place and we fail dismally.
I don't have to socialise with Abbot and ( regrettably ) his daughters and if he goes away and turns Australia into something more than an enormous quarry good luck to him and us.

We criticize these guys based on their public speaking and "witty comebacks" just like we criticize Arron Fiora for being soft. Put most of us in their place and we fail dismally.

Well pardon me for expecting a little from someone paid $500k a year, plus a pension for life at 75% of that (when they retire).

The comments that slip out provide an insight into the person, as opposed to the more scripted remarks written by others.

Public speaking is their existence, so tough t***ies if they get scrutinized.

So humans have been credited with depleting the ozone layer, yet pumping all kinds of shit into the atmosphere has no other impacts? Please.

I've read studies on the cost disparity between clean energy and digging coal out of the ground. It's would be ridiculous to not include pollution as part of the cost equation. Entities that pollute can pay thanks.

Otherwise known as "Mark Waugh Syndrome".

I can't remember the player, but there's the old story about Mark Waugh playing in a cricket match and sledging the shit out of the opposition batsman from slip, "You're crap" blah blah blah, who responded "At least I'm the best cricketer in MY family"....

The best sledge of all times IMO was Edo Brandes from Zimbabwe.

When confronted by 'you shouldn't be out here, you're too fat, why are you so fat?' from an Australian fielder, Edo replied, 'because everytime I f**k your wife she gives me a biscuit!'

The whole Australian team near to the bat burst out laughing.

Absolute GOLD!!!!:p

The best sledge of all times IMO was Edo Brandes from Zimbabwe.

When confronted by 'you shouldn't be out here, you're too fat, why are you so fat?' from an Australian fielder, Edo replied, 'because everytime I f**k your wife she gives me a biscuit!'

The whole Australian team near to the bat burst out laughing.

Absolute GOLD!!!!:p

Best sledge of all time goes to Ramnaresh Sarwan....

McGrath: 'so what does Brian Lara's dick taste like?'

Sarwan: 'i wouldn't know, try asking your wife...'

McGrath : 'If you ever F**king mention my wife again, I’ll F**king rip your F**ing throat out'

Sarwan 1 d McGrath 0

Best sledge of all time goes to Ramnaresh Sarwan....

McGrath: 'so what does Brian Lara's dick taste like?'

Sarwan: 'i wouldn't know, try asking your wife...'

McGrath : 'If you ever F**king mention my wife again, I’ll F**king rip your F**ing throat out'

Sarwan 1 d McGrath 0
It might be worth providing the context that at that point in time McGrath's wife was in hospital dying on cancer. There had also been suggestions that he had previously been taunted about that during the match.

So I'd maybe adjust your scoring system somewhat.

It might be worth providing the context that at that point in time McGrath's wife was in hospital dying on cancer. There had also been suggestions that he had previously been taunted about that during the match.

So I'd maybe adjust your scoring system somewhat.
Considering its known fact that other words muttered earlier by McGrath included the words 'black' & 'c---', Sarwan is well within his rights... You can't be a racist arseh*le, then get all fired up when someone dishes it back regardless of the context

Love Glenn McGrath, but he's a tad hypocritical in this instance IMO

Well pardon me for expecting a little from someone paid $500k a year, plus a pension for life at 75% of that (when they retire).

The comments that slip out provide an insight into the person, as opposed to the more scripted remarks written by others.

Public speaking is their existence, so tough t***ies if they get scrutinized.

So humans have been credited with depleting the ozone layer, yet pumping all kinds of shit into the atmosphere has no other impacts? Please.

I've read studies on the cost disparity between clean energy and digging coal out of the ground. It's would be ridiculous to not include pollution as part of the cost equation. Entities that pollute can pay thanks.

No problem granting your pardon Squizz. I just don't think the guy who is quickest on the comeback necessarily makes the best leader ( as opposed to the best campaingner ).
I like to think that someone who goes away and formulates good policy is better, otherwise lets all vote for Russel Brand or someone. He's deadly with a quick quip.

I guess when god put the ancient forests underground he meant it to stay there.

No problem granting your pardon Squizz. I just don't think the guy who is quickest on the comeback necessarily makes the best leader ( as opposed to the best campaingner ).
I like to think that someone who goes away and formulates good policy is better, otherwise lets all vote for Russel Brand or someone. He's deadly with a quick quip.

Russell Brand?

The dufus who participated in the random destruction of property at the G20 riots, and was asked by the media for his opinions on the issue before giggling and saying something like "I don't know" (why I'm here, other than to get publicity).

Yeah, one of the world's great minds right there.

The thing is, Abbott is providing "quips" when he doesn't need to say anything. As he says "it's better to seek forgiveness than ask for permission". Or just flippantly dismiss it as a "daggy dad" moment. :rolleyes:

I think it's catching though:

"He's out on the field playing as hard as the rest of us - he's often the best on ground. But it's when the game's over, when we're back in the change rooms that Tony's real talents come to the fore."

Julie-Bishop-claws.jpg

I'm astonished more of my posts don't end up in here...

I'm amazed you don't save me the trouble :D

This should have many more pages than the trade thread. But to move some of the posts I've read is an offence to "junk".

Haha, cheers mate. Would be good to see the colours flying all round.

Because ALL publicity is GOOD publicity!!!!!

So far he's told of how football pales into comparison with his life, demanded to speak to the US President, told off his coach and made a very conspicuous change back to his maiden name. Any idea what other publicity stunts the mop top can pull? Cos I'm out of ideas!

Im just happy for our boys to stay on the straight and narrow under our new coach:thumbsu:
i couldnt give a Rats Tossbag what a Maggotpie player does .
Harro O or Hepatitis Mumbojumbo as he is now known can do whatever the hell he wants.

I'm not his biggest fan but why does anyone care if he changes his name? It's not like he's broadcasting it. The news just got out and was reported by the media. If it makes him happy, who gives a stuff?