Discussion Random Discussion

Re: Saints had Grant Thomas and Ross Lyon in the coaches box.

With all due and sincere respect to Sainter and Kildonian, might I humbly suggest this actually could have been kept as the thread NH started. Despite all the usual, predictable rantings (right on the mark Squizz with your broken reckon pic), there were some VERY interesting little tid-bits in this post. Nexus, you inadvertantly recognised that Ross Lyon is playing with a little more of a, as you put it, "Grant Thomas" mentality. Actually, I think he's taking the best of what a good coach put in - attack and flair and run, to GT's credit - but refining out some of the more unhelpful elements of GT's game. GT was unreactive, and that was his big let down.

Ross's game plan is responsive - it responds not so much to the opposition (in which case it's reactive), but to the normal momentum too-and-fro of a footy game. This is why I call it a TIDAL game-plan, rather than a flooding game-plan.

What do you say, Nexus? Maybe you could squeeze out a little bit of hope and give Lyon a little, tiny, incy-wincy bit of credit? Maybe there's a just a smidgen of hope for your beloved club yet? What d'ya say?

I deliberately did not respond and waited, hoped, that someone might seriously understand what my hidden message was. Congratulations Persevering Saint, you basically hit the nail on the head.

For the first time this season we saw St kilda play defensive, accountable football PLUS, some good old attacking football. Maybe RL has realized that he did indeed go too far, mind you the whole of the football world already knew this anyway.

Now don't get too excited Persevering Saint, I still believe that GT should be our coach and that Lyon was a very poor replacement. I am prepared to hold off on the sack RL for now and see what happens in the next 7 weeks.

If RL and GT are both in the coaches box like last Friday for the rest of the season I'll be happy. If though, RL boots out GT again and it is only RL calling the shots then I will be back calling for his head.

I deliberately did not respond and waited, hoped, that someone might seriously understand what my hidden message was. Congratulations Persevering Saint, you basically hit the nail on the head.

For the first time this season we saw St kilda play defensive, accountable football PLUS, some good old attacking football. Maybe RL has realized that he did indeed go too far, mind you the whole of the football world already knew this anyway.

Now don't get too excited Persevering Saint, I still believe that GT should be our coach and that Lyon was a very poor replacement. I am prepared to hold off on the sack RL for now and see what happens in the next 7 weeks.

If RL and GT are both in the coaches box like last Friday for the rest of the season I'll be happy. If though, RL boots out GT again and it is only RL calling the shots then I will be back calling for his head.
I'm really glad that you're starting to see some sense here. HOWEVER, the flaw in your thinking is to suggest that Ross Lyon is ONLY Ross Lyon when he's being defensive, as if he's naturally a purely defensive Coach. It may well have seemed like that for a while, and we can speculate as to why that was (a lack of confidence coming into the new job on Lyon's part, or a lack of understanding his game plan on the players' part) - BUT we're starting to see that Lyon is actually both a defensive AND attacking coach, depending upon the context of each moment in the game. To say he's GT when he's attacking, and only RL when he's defensive, is unfair, because it fails to recognise that Lyon is his own man - and indeed, it fails to recognise that attacking footy was never Thomas' EXCLUSIVE domain (plenty of teams play attacking footy, as Geelong, the Doggies, Hawthorn, etc have shown...). Besides, are we to understand that since Lyon is NOT being GT when he stops the opposition scoring, that you've recognised a weakness in GT's coaching that needed to be rectified?

Perhaps. One thing I will say is that I'm not impressed with Kildonan. I didn't think this post deserved to be moved to the junk posts.

With all due and sincere respect to Sainter and Kildonian, might I humbly suggest this actually could have been kept as the thread NH started. Despite all the usual, predictable rantings (right on the mark Squizz with your broken reckon pic), there were some VERY interesting little tid-bits in this post. Nexus, you inadvertantly recognised that Ross Lyon is playing with a little more of a, as you put it, "Grant Thomas" mentality. Actually, I think he's taking the best of what a good coach put in - attack and flair and run, to GT's credit - but refining out some of the more unhelpful elements of GT's game. GT was unreactive, and that was his big let down.

Ross's game plan is responsive - it responds not so much to the opposition (in which case it's reactive), but to the normal momentum too-and-fro of a footy game. This is why I call it a TIDAL game-plan, rather than a flooding game-plan.

What do you say, Nexus? Maybe you could squeeze out a little bit of hope and give Lyon a little, tiny, incy-wincy bit of credit? Maybe there's a just a smidgen of hope for your beloved club yet? What d'ya say?

THANK YOU. I have been trying to say this for a long time to people now. But no one believes a kid in year 8. Very annoying. Rossy Lyon has taken the best out of Thomas' world and Roos' world by getting numbers back when we dont have it and move it quickly when we do. About time the players go the plan tho. Hopefully they can go on and beat the Hawks this week.

Re: St Kilda - Kings of the flood

So what's your point? How do you know for a fact that we will be down the bottom in two years time mate. WE WILL NOT BE. I'm standing up for my club that I have been a member of on and off sine 1981 so don't tell me..........................:(

I hope we're not, im not an one eyed footy fan. I do biase towards my team but maybe not as much as others on the forum. I think Carlton will be a finals team in a couple of years time while we'll be rebuilding in 3 or 4 years. if a Carlton fan was bagging St Kilda with no base to it whatsoever then of course i'd bag the shit out of Carlton and defend my team, but this guy had a fair point and i think he deserves a fair reply.

Re: Saints as a serious premiership threat

Ross Lyon is nothing more than a caretaker coach, will NEVER coach a grand final. Grant Thomas would of. IF St Kilda reach a GF it will not be 2008, St Kilda HAS peaked, like it or not and before they get a strong enough side to challenge they should invest (tank/trade) in getting some development types into their squad before the new teams drain the system. Saint Kilda in 2008 will be a filler team in the bottom half of the 8.

Good old unlisted.

So many flaws is this ridiculous dribble.

Please refrain from posting your crap here ever again.

haha

What flaws?

That Ross Lyon is a caretaker coach? You've won some games, but you're very 2 dimensional. The saints have a good list. A great list, but once the other side finds a good way to beat them, then Lyon has NO answer. Thomas should never of been sacked, it was purely a personal thing. He was a very shrewd coach.

Easy to say that there are alot of flaws, hard to point them out huh? ;)

could have said the same about Mark Thompson in the end of 06

True about Bomber, but he had been at the club alot longer then Lyon. And they nearly did lose him. But We finished 10th that year. You were a game away from the GF with thomas. I am still spewing about that move. How do you see the Saints contending for a GF?

In the next 3 years the saints should have a window. HArvey will be in his prime ;) I think it has to be before Max Hudghton retires though.

haha

What flaws?

That Ross Lyon is a caretaker coach? You've won some games, but you're very 2 dimensional. The saints have a good list. A great list, but once the other side finds a good way to beat them, then Lyon has NO answer. Thomas should never of been sacked, it was purely a personal thing. He was a very shrewd coach.

Easy to say that there are alot of flaws, hard to point them out huh? ;)

That's a flawed statement.

We were down and out against the Roos, changed things up and bang a victory. There's a flaw for you.

It's your opinion that Thomas was a shrewd coach, I disagree wholeheartedly with this comment. Please show me an example of said shrewdness.

Happy now?

True about Bomber, but he had been at the club alot longer then Lyon. And they nearly did lose him. But We finished 10th that year. You were a game away from the GF with thomas. I am still spewing about that move. How do you see the Saints contending for a GF?

Jumped on the Geelong bandwagon I see. Well done.

Busted. I have always been a Geelong supporter and Member. But I didn't want to join a new forum (I have been at another for years, but it's alot smaller in the AFL area) and i didn't want to look like what you said 'jumping on the bandwagon' because I don't want to talk about Geelong so I put down unlisted.

I hope we're not, im not an one eyed footy fan. I do biase towards my team but maybe not as much as others on the forum. I think Carlton will be a finals team in a couple of years time while we'll be rebuilding in 3 or 4 years. if a Carlton fan was bagging St Kilda with no base to it whatsoever then of course i'd bag the shit out of Carlton and defend my team, but this guy had a fair point and i think he deserves a fair reply.

Are you buying a carlton membership aswell next year you pest?

Why is being sensible such a bad thing on this board? If u ask my mates i'm just as loyal to my club as every other football fan

SSS - I'd have to query whether you've copped it for enough years from Carlton supporters. When they are up and going they treat the Saints like a sloppy dog t u rd on the front lawn. If we want to return the favour in better times by bagging the t u rd and throwing it at their front door so be it.

Squizzy im a school kid in year 8 so i probably haven't been through what you have. In my memory the Saints have generally won and pretty comfortably as well. Different generation i guess

You are yet to feel the wrath of the carlton scum.. we must not let them rise again. THEY MUST BE KEPT DOWN LIKE THE DOGS THEY ARE

I get that sometimes :D

Well, I sometimes wondered - St Kilda may have finished 3rd after Rd 22 in 1970, but were thrashed in the preliminary final by ... well, who cares anyway. A good year for St Kilda standards, but not a great year.

So I assume that the 1070 in Squizzy1970 will not refer to a special St Kilda performance...

Nothing wrong with 1970 though - quality vintage actually ! :eek:

No, just signifies my age - and all you BF whippersnappers need to respect your elders!!!

I'm also about 97kg, so as Cartman says "You Will Respect my Authoratay!!!" And yes, I am Big Boned.

Seriously, that's the good thing about blogs. Your point should be valid whether you are 15, 25 or even 37 (going on 38). :D