Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

You call that a dream? Dreams are meant to involve supermodels and that kind of shit - not stuff that would make you wake up in a cold sweat!

****, now I'm thinking of Abbott in red speedos and a Collingwood jumper. Thanks Krus :rolleyes:

I heard our long winded independant referred to as Rob Buckshott, as he shoots off without warning. So true.

that's one twisted vision :p

In the dream he was actually in a suit, sort of like a depot resembling IMO kim-jong il with bigger ears. :D

You call that a dream? Dreams are meant to involve supermodels and that kind of shit - not stuff that would make you wake up in a cold sweat!

****, now I'm thinking of Abbott in red speedos and a Collingwood jumper. Thanks Krus :rolleyes:

I heard our long winded independant referred to as Rob Buckshott, as he shoots off without warning. So true.

Jennifer Hawkins in a G-string and a StKilda jumper ( sleveless ) , mmmmmmmm.
F*** Off Tony, and bloody Gillard better keep out of my dreams as well.

Jennifer Hawkins in a G-string and a StKilda jumper ( sleveless )

Much better.

I'd reckon Miss Australia would have had a better chance in that set-up (as opposed to that Aboriginal/Sheepskin thingy she wore). Mind you, she's obviously not that bright:

http://www.couriermail.com.au/enter...re-to-play-cupid/story-e6freq7o-1225916295601

Jesinta asks Eddie McGuire to play cupid

She might be one of the hottest women in Australia, but Jesinta Campbell is looking for a date.

She's on the hunt for a nice young footballer - with a ticket to the Brownlow - to walk her down the red carpet.

Campbell appealed to Triple M Hot Breakfast host Eddie McGuire to find her a handsome prince.

(I guess if she's after a nice footballer Eddie won't be able to justify anyone on Collingwood's list)

Oakeshott said he'd take a couple of days to talk through the offer of a Ministry with his family.

Poor buggers - haven't they suffered enough?

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/opinion...-minutes-of-fame/story-e6frfhqf-1225916105212

The bloke who delivered Julia Gillard government, Rob Oakeshott, is like one of those Big Brother contestants you instantly like and vote for in the first few weeks of the show.

Then he starts showing his true colours, upsets the other housemates and you think he might be a bit of a loose cannon. Suddenly, you are voting for anyone but him.

Like those contestants seeking their 15 minutes of fame and then attending the opening of a fridge door when they get evicted, the member for Lyne, in regional NSW, has done his level best to become famous.

Oakeshott took several minutes - a gruelling, tedious and embarrassing wait - to announce his intentions. This was after he bowed to the waiting media like a performing seal.

He went on and on without a self-edit button. He said he and his family would be talking about this time in his life for many Christmases to come, Yes, so will we - but not for the same reasons.

But Oakeshott seemed to lap up the attention, giggling like a schoolboy during media conferences and making the most of his time at the microphone.

Much better.

I'd reckon Miss Australia would have had a better chance in that set-up (as opposed to that Aboriginal/Sheepskin thingy she wore). Mind you, she's obviously not that bright:

http://www.couriermail.com.au/enter...re-to-play-cupid/story-e6freq7o-1225916295601

Jesinta asks Eddie McGuire to play cupid

She might be one of the hottest women in Australia, but Jesinta Campbell is looking for a date.

She's on the hunt for a nice young footballer - with a ticket to the Brownlow - to walk her down the red carpet.

Campbell appealed to Triple M Hot Breakfast host Eddie McGuire to find her a handsome prince.

(I guess if she's after a nice footballer Eddie won't be able to justify anyone on Collingwood's list)

IF she does go to the brownlow with a Filth player I just hope they catch a taxi this time.
For her sake, I'd hate to see the poor lass in trouble with the law.

she's already suffering from a case of gross stupidity.

IF she does go to the brownlow with a Filth player I just hope they catch a taxi this time.
For her sake, I'd hate to see the poor lass in trouble with the law.

Doesn't matter - you just plead stupidity and the judge takes one look at you and says "yeah, I see your point - dismissed".

Didn't know where else to post this and it probs won't get many views but...

Was looking up the 1965 season, which we finished on top, and ended up losing the GF to 4th places Essendon.

In that season, we were the most accurate side, with 53%...second best was 50%. Essendon was 46%

Anyways after being the most accurate side the whole season, we kicked 9.15, 9.10, 12.13 in the last 3 weeks. Before kicking 13.24 in the first final (to beat Collingwood by a point...epic lols) and 9.16 in the Grand Final. Had we kicked 16.9 we would have drawn with Essendon. But then they also kicked a horrible 14.21 so it's a long bow to draw.

Anyways yeah! That's what I spend my time doing when I should be writing one of my 3 essays due in a week.

Sometimes there are parallels between AFL footballers and people in your workplace:

Aaron Sandilands (Warehouse Stock Coordinator): If he ever has a day off sick, the place will fall apart.

Daniel Motlop (Creative Director): Big reputation and salary, but has to be carried by the rest of the team.

Andrew Walker (IT Manager): Offers key solutions to all problems but all that happens is the system breaks down.

Brendan Fevola (PR Director): Always on the phone. Regularly embarrasses himself at the office Christmas party.

Brock McLean (New Business Manager): The young bull, poached from rival company, who can star on occasions but ego might be a problem.

Dustin Fletcher (Production Line Manager): The 70-year-old manager who just can't let go and you know what, is still better than the kids out of uni trying to take his job.

Scott Lucas (Assistant Workflow Manager): When he’s around you think he’s not much and he just seems to lurk around the place. But then he leaves and you realise he's single handedly held contracts together for the past 12 months.

Brad Johnson (Accounts): Accident-prone 67-year-old veteran who has to be forced to retire. Somehow (but barely) keeps up with changes to GST and other tax legislation.

Travis Johnstone (Retail Manager): The irritating but immensely talented bloke you should get rid of but he sells just enough to keep his place.

Jason Laycock (Office Assistant): The PA you feel a bit sorry for because he has no idea, but the boss likes him and will give him time to develop. Who knows? He may even make a competent middle manager one day.

Jordan McMahon (Sales Executive): The face of the company with a big laugh, a flash car and charisma to burn. Does he ever sell anything? No idea.

Josh Fraser (Assistant Marketing Manager): Been at the company for years, nobody likes him, nobody rates what he does. Must have compromising photos of the boss to keep his job.

James Hird (CEO): Allegedly in charge but hasn't been seen around the office for months. His shadow remains.

Jake King (Marketing Manager): Annoying worker who wants to be PR Director but can't get a shot at the job. Attends anger management courses.

Eddie Betts (Intern): Always smiling, keen, energetic. Outwardly looks like a model employee. But has sick days just when you really need him.

Matthew Knights (Company Secretary): Recently retrenched. Was last seen being led from the building by security.

So, we just got home from a spot of shopping, we being myself and my little sister and as is usually the case, the phone rang and she answered it since she was closest. It of course ended up being a telemarketer transferred through India (judging from the initial delay) and the conversation degraded into her abusing the guyon the other end before hanging up the phone, problem #1 with this scenario;

She doesn't live at this address anymore.

So since she had frozen things in the car she was then heading off and the phone rang again to her picking it up again and more abuse on both ends and another hang up, again she goes to leave and it rings again and she screams out she'll get it but of course I know better so irush to answer it since Ido live here and I'd rather not have a pissed off telemarketer ringing us because she pissed him off. Transcript is as follows;

Me: "Hello?"
Him: "Hello"
Me: "Do you need something in particular?"
*silence*
Me: "Who may I ask is calling?"
Him: "Your father"
Since it was a relatively thick accent it sounded more "fader" so I didn;t exactly want to worsen the situation by being rude.
Me: "Pardon?"
Him: "Your father"
Me: "Good day to you sir"

And I hung up. It's now been 7 minutes and he's not wrang back so I am hoping that, that is the end of it, but I must sa that is quite childish from a telemarketer to purposely use their position to insult individuals, who, while my sister might have deserved such efforts initially due to her verbose language, surely it comes with the territory that it's water off the ducks back and you then move on to the next call. (coming from a guy who had a friend working at Telstras call centres) I'm beginning to regret havign her answer the phone to begin with.

Me: "Hello?"
Him: "Hello"
Me: "Do you need something in particular?"
*silence*
Oh god i hate this. Answering your phone or door and having to ask/guess what they want. Instant unwanted, uncomfortable awkwardness that makes it weird for all involved.

I found a way to combat it.

Me: Hello.

Woman: Hello. I'm from the Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints. I believe too many people have lost faith.

Me: Well not me. I believe Ross Lyon is doing a great job.

Woman: Speechless.

Me: Have a great day. Go Saints!

Just when my voice started to break, I had great fun with the Indian telecommunications/telemarketers.

Me: Hello?
Him( Indian): Hello I am Steve calling to enquire...
Me (squeaky voice) : Hang on, I'll pass you onto my step dad
(Fumbles with telephone)
Me (Indian voice): Hallo! I am understanding that you are calling about my XXXX service. But how would you like to get a once in a life time Deal! For only $39.95 a month, I can get get you IPhone model 2.2, complete with carry case, $30 iTunes credit and more on a $35 a month setup, but wait there's more, etc.

Just piss them off.

Pretending to be suicidal, lonely, insane, can't speak English, putting them on hold ( dumping the phone next to a cd player), or even just breathing very heavily into the phone is all really good fun.

Re: Rnd 5 vs Brisbane Lions

They are lacking a good forward line at the moment, rather than focus too much on our defence, I'd be more inclined to put efforts into winning the midfield battle (where they are strong) and improving our ruck situation to give our mids a chance.

I'd leave Stanley in to see how he goes playing the third forward role that Gilbert doesn't want, and Gamble doesn't appear to understand yet.

Have Kosi ruck with Ben, both of them alternating between the ruck and forward.

So that's in Kosi, out Gamble.

We really seem to need another bigger body, the likes of Power Rich and Black will need to be shown respect before we can even think of the ball getting into the hands of our more outside players.

I'd bring Mini in to have a crack playing in the midfield, freshen his mind and ask him to win his own ball, and play a role that doesn't have 'defensive' in front of the title.

So that's in Mini for mine.

I'd also then push Goddard to the half back line where he is most comfortable, to run into some form, so someone from our defence can go I guess?

Don't see the need to bring in a heaps of kids for the sake of it, our side already has Smith, Stanley, Steven that we should persist with. Ben and Armo also taking regular spots in the 22, that weren't there last year.

Only other change is perhaps Winmar given a chance to play given this would be reward for effort, not sure who's role would be under threat though as I'm unsure which position Ross would likely play him. Could someone help me out here?

So in summary

In Kosi, Mini, Winmar
Out Gamble, Raph, ?

GET OVER MQUALTER!!!!!!!!!!!!! wat is he ur brother os something????
The guy is a complete hack he's been delisted before for a reason and now that we're trying to freshen up the side u want poor old mini back in the side to give us some grunt in the middle!!! PLEASE STKILDA F.C spare us all the pain and delist that hack

GET OVER MQUALTER!!!!!!!!!!!!! wat is he ur brother os something????
The guy is a complete hack he's been delisted before for a reason and now that we're trying to freshen up the side u want poor old mini back in the side to give us some grunt in the middle!!! PLEASE STKILDA F.C spare us all the pain and delist that hack

Excuse me?

For one it's my opinion, which is usually encouraged on here.

I also hardly think that in the couple of weeks you've been on here that I've obsessed about him to the point that warranted that kind of reply.

Excuse me?

For one it's my opinion, which is usually encouraged on here.

I also hardly think that in the couple of weeks you've been on here that I've obsessed about him to the point that warranted that kind of reply.

deary me havent i been on here long enough to tell you mqualter aint good enough!!!!! comments were directed at everybody wanting mqspud in the side with u as an example of the crap some supporters want back in a side that desporately needs to be rejuvinated, as for ur encouraged opinion anybody who agrees with u bout mqspud aint looking for a flag....
he aint the answer

deary me havent i been on here long enough to tell you mqualter aint good enough!!!!! comments were directed at everybody wanting mqspud in the side with u as an example of the crap some supporters want back in a side that desporately needs to be rejuvinated, as for ur encouraged opinion anybody who agrees with u bout mqspud aint looking for a flag....
he aint the answer

But what is the question?

I think Kildonan was pretty clear that shitcanning players isn't "how we roll" on this board.

he aint the answer

The key is, you haven't, about a month isn't long when you are comparing to people who have been here for years for them to think you aren't just some newbie slagging off the usual targets (Mini, Raph and Gamble these days) to gain some "amirite fellas?" support. You also don't do yourself any favours by effectively writing McQualter (do please at least learn how to Google player names if you cannot remember how to spell them, it's not like it's Koschitzke or anything)and then blatantly rubbising him with every other mention of him to prove a point. It's not constructive, it's not "new", you aren't the fresh prince of Bel Air, so of course people are going to be of the opinion you're having a dig merely for the sake of it.

Anywho, the bye is actually a curious thing since small sample size a team that has used it has thus far been quite abysmal, since as much as it does allow players to refresh and hone up on skills, it also does break any momentum you have, it will be interesting for mine to see Collingwoods momentum given they have a bye in R#7 and R#13, if the trend continues, they could very well have a disastrous start to the second half of the season. So I guess what I'm getting at here is that regardless of how poor you think Brissie are playing, it is a good thing they're coming off a bye as well for mine.

The key is, you haven't, about a month isn't long when you are comparing to people who have been here for years for them to think you aren't just some newbie slagging off the usual targets (Mini, Raph and Gamble these days) to gain some "amirite fellas?" support. You also don't do yourself any favours by effectively writing McQualter (do please at least learn how to Google player names if you cannot remember how to spell them, it's not like it's Koschitzke or anything)and then blatantly rubbising him with every other mention of him to prove a point. It's not constructive, it's not "new", you aren't the fresh prince of Bel Air, so of course people are going to be of the opinion you're having a dig merely for the sake of it.

Anywho, the bye is actually a curious thing since small sample size a team that has used it has thus far been quite abysmal, since as much as it does allow players to refresh and hone up on skills, it also does break any momentum you have, it will be interesting for mine to see Collingwoods momentum given they have a bye in R#7 and R#13, if the trend continues, they could very well have a disastrous start to the second half of the season. So I guess what I'm getting at here is that regardless of how poor you think Brissie are playing, it is a good thing they're coming off a bye as well for mine.

wat is this the ross lyon club or something? minis mates? i can have an opinion on who i want to see in the side regardless of when i joined big footy, forums are usually a place to have an opinion and mine is no MQUALTER in the side along with about 50,000 other people. As for wanting to gain "amirite fellas?" i dont need to champ im not the only one around here complaining bout raph gamble and MQUALTER....

I'm not saying you can't have an opinion, I'm saying the way you're going about it is rather derogatory and forceful to both the players;

Exaggerated criticism of St Kilda players. This board has a variety supporters who all hold individual views on how important or talented our players are. Posters have been known to exaggerate to stress their point. It is a common practice. We will edit or delete posts describing players as "useless" or "talentless" or any other exaggerated negative criticism. If you hate our players - you are welcome to post it somewhere else but not here. Repeat offenders risk being permanently excluded from this board. Reasonable criticism is perfectly OK - especially when made in an immediate post match context.

A key point of this would be to go take a look at the Essendon game thread, because you will see plenty of rubbishing on several players during the match, and since I was at the match, rubbishing of Gram when I got home, funnily enough you do not see anything of the sort in this thread.

And the individuals who then take offense to your rather "forceful" mannerisms;

Differences of opinion are perfectly fine. Flame Wars are not. Sniping others is not.

That being said I did not disagree with your opinion I disagreed with how you conveyed your opinion, considering that, initially you had to clarify that your comment wasn't a dig at someone's opinion and was a general statement. Of course, if you think you're in the right, you're more than happy to continue on as you have been since I'm a far cry from any sort of authority, and I would note you still missed the c, but then you'd feel the need to respond and this thread will likely turn to shit, so I shall say jolly good instead and move on. :p

:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: Couldnt agree with you anymore. Everyone thinks Kosi is our white knight. No 2nd efforts, no defensive pressure, slow... Just what we need :cool:

Mind you I'm all for Kosi's involvement as a competent ruckman if he's over the ankle issue and has been working on maintaining his aerobic capacity to play it, since ATM he is a far better option than Stanley, Archer or Blake in the role. This is arguably where Stanley fell down for mine in that he was then supposed to "drift" primarily forward and failed dismally with positioning around the ground, he looks much better when he's leading up towards the ball and has ample mobility below the knees to play a smaller role as well that effectively I would still put Kosi in for gamble and play Stanley as a permanent forward. Of course then, it's more likely that the resting ruckman will be benched instead (as then the F50 would consist of Archer - Riewoldt - Kosi/Macca - Stanley and be far too tall for my liking) which then screws up a midfield rotation so you run into issues either way as far as stability of the side goes.

I'm not saying you can't have an opinion, I'm saying the way you're going about it is rather derogatory and forceful to both the players;

A key point of this would be to go take a look at the Essendon game thread, because you will see plenty of rubbishing on several players during the match, and since I was at the match, rubbishing of Gram when I got home, funnily enough you do not see anything of the sort in this thread.

And the individuals who then take offense to your rather "forceful" mannerisms;

That being said I did not disagree with your opinion I disagreed with how you conveyed your opinion, considering that, initially you had to clarify that your comment wasn't a dig at someone's opinion and was a general statement. Of course, if you think you're in the right, you're more than happy to continue on as you have been since I'm a far cry from any sort of authority, and I would note you still missed the c, but then you'd feel the need to respond and this thread will likely turn to shit, so I shall say jolly good instead and move on. :p

I am pleased that some of our regular posters feel comfortable helping guide other posters on board ettiquette.

We are a community and we all express ourselves differently, but there are limits.

These boards thrive on the differences between posters, but they are grown by the things that tie us together - mainly our love of footy and especially our love for the Saints.

Threads become tedious when posters argue, they go off track.

I'll stop here