• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Ok team- need your input

Good call / bad call:

I should continue to drink $2 beers in an Aussie bar in Saigon while I watch the Aussies bring it home for us (the other option is I go home to my mrs and screaming kids)

I'm having a tough time deciding, both are so tempting! ;)

Have beers bring the Aussies home, then go back to Mrs and get the job done ;)

Too late. I've already had 25 beers. I may need a super sub!

The World Cup is back where it belongs!!! What a match. That feeling when Starc got rid of McCullum...just electric. Fitting way to end it with Smith getting the runs.

What a game of cricket, perfect execution from Australia. When I watch Clarke bat, I forget why I dislike him so strongly, just a glorious stroke player.

Genuinely can't imagine how you could dislike the bloke. Top bloke, honestly. There are old perceptions of him which haven't been true for years now, but he's been nothing but a good captain for a long time now. Consistently credits the opposition, always soberly honest and also very intelligent.

If your complaint is about sledging, that's such a small issue. You need only observe his response to Hughes passing.

Genuinely can't imagine how you could dislike the bloke. Top bloke, honestly. There are old perceptions of him which haven't been true for years now, but he's been nothing but a good captain for a long time now. Consistently credits the opposition, always soberly honest and also very intelligent.

If your complaint is about sledging, that's such a small issue. You need only observe his response to Hughes passing.

TBH I only love our blokes more if they sledge. I honestly don't see why people in any sports shouldn't play with an edge, if I'm better than you, I should have the right to let you know it. I applauded Wahab Riaz getting into the face of Watson, I like players who have that fire, that edge. What I do hate however, he went hard at Watson, but as soon as Watto returned a bit of fire, he went crying to the umps.

Part of the reason why Hawthorn have been so good, beyond superior gameplan execution, players etc, is their ability to be hard and uncompromising. Given AFL is a contact sport, playing with an 'edge' should manifest itself in the physicality of the game. Given cricket is more of a mental game, I see sledging as the same as that Roughead tackle on Hannebery that shook him in the GF. Sledging is brilliant.

TBH I only love our blokes more if they sledge. I honestly don't see why people in any sports shouldn't play with an edge, if I'm better than you, I should have the right to let you know it. I applauded Wahab Riaz getting into the face of Watson, I like players who have that fire, that edge. What I do hate however, he went hard at Watson, but as soon as Watto returned a bit of fire, he went crying to the umps.

Part of the reason why Hawthorn have been so good, beyond superior gameplan execution, players etc, is their ability to be hard and uncompromising. Given AFL is a contact sport, playing with an 'edge' should manifest itself in the physicality of the game. Given cricket is more of a mental game, I see sledging as the same as that Roughead tackle on Hannebery that shook him in the GF. Sledging is brilliant.

I'm definitely not too bothered about it. I would probably be happy if they didn't, but it certainly doesn't bother me that they do. Not only is it a cultural thing, but you're right that it's a part of the attitude they want to play with. As long as it doesn't go too far then I'm really not concerned.

There's a clear line between sledging and threatening to give someone a "broken ****ing arm". His issue with Katich also stands out and his involvement in homework gate is an embarrassment to Australian cricket.

There's a clear line between sledging and threatening to give someone a "broken ******* arm".

See IMO there's blokes you give it too and blokes you don't. In that case it was fair game

But giving vettori a send off is just low and poor sportsmanship. 36 years old, retiring, well mannered. No need for it. Johno just comes off looking like an absolute tool

There's a clear line between sledging and threatening to give someone a "broken ******* arm". His issue with Katich also stands out and his involvement in homework gate is an embarrassment to Australian cricket.

To be clear, he didn't threaten that he would give someone a broken ****ing arm. He suggest that their poor playing of good bowling would end them up with a broken ****ing arm. They are both for intimidation but starkly different. If they play well, he can't exactly "give them" a broken arm, can he?

We loved Botham for it, and Viv Richards and Merv, but it's now not about a mental edge, it's just pure bogan dicheadedness.

Don't ban it, but it needs to be scaled back.

See IMO there's blokes you give it too and blokes you don't. In that case it was fair game

But giving vettori a send off is just low and poor sportsmanship. 36 years old, retiring, well mannered. No need for it. Johno just comes off looking like an absolute tool
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1427666346.950752.jpg

Note the guy to the right of the SA batsmen. You give it, you get it, that's sport.

I'm always bemused by this 'i don't like how the Aussies's sledge' line that is constantly run. Rahul I know you're an absolute cricket diehard & would hope that you could see the 'broken arm' comment from Clarke to Anderson was a small payback for the consistent barrage that the Aussies copped from Anderson, Broad & their team mates when the Poms won Ashes series.

Having played local cricket in the Northern suburbs of Melbourne for 20 odd years, I would have welcomed being told to prepare for a broken arm. That would be somewhat of a compliment compared to some of the stuff we used to cop from certain sides from the Western region of Heidelberg!

It was a pleasure to be at the G yesterday...it was especially nice seeing all the wide range of nationalities celebrating a great game.

Sledging is one of the best parts of sport. Cricket needs more of it, I hate when a bowler says one little thing to a batsmen and the umpire says THATS ENOUGH. Why don't we just send robots out there.

View attachment 119707

Note the guy to the right of the SA batsmen. You give it, you get it, that's sport.
This is brilliant!

I cant get over the amount of sooking by the Kiwis supporters about our sledging & arrogance on the field.... Have they ever watched Richie McCaw play rugby?!?!?! He'd be up there as one of the biggest sledgers in world sport FFS!!!

Pot.... Kettle.... (all) Black :D

To be clear, he didn't threaten that he would give someone a broken ******* arm. He suggest that their poor playing of good bowling would end them up with a broken ******* arm. They are both for intimidation but starkly different. If they play well, he can't exactly "give them" a broken arm, can he?
"Get ready for a broken ****ing arm" is not, has never been, and will never be said in the spirit of the game. The context is irrelevant, especially if you are the captain. This is coming from someone who strongly dislikes Jimmy Anderson.
Sledging is one of the best parts of sport. Cricket needs more of it, I hate when a bowler says one little thing to a batsmen and the umpire says THATS ENOUGH. Why don't we just send robots out there.
My issue isn't with sledging, I loved Wahab Riaz spell and comments to Watson, I have an issue with 1) send-offs 2) threats on the cricket field and 3) waiting to meet the new batsman in the middle of the pitch.

I used to hate it when bowlers and fielders started sledging.

My response - back away when the bowler was almost at the point of bowling - at least 4 balls in a row - then keep doing it and complain to the umpire that the keeper or the slips were talking or the fielders were moving. At least it gave them something to whinge about.

My other favourite was smashing the crap out the ball when the bowler aimed a throw at the "stumps" when I was clearly in the crease. Now that used to fire them up - always guaranteed a few loose balls after that.

Sledgers = losers

"Get ready for a broken ******* arm" is not, has never been, and will never be said in the spirit of the game. The context is irrelevant, especially if you are the captain. This is coming from someone who strongly dislikes Jimmy Anderson.

I'm not defending the remark, even if I don't think it's quite as bad as you do. I think you just misrepresented it, and I was just calling you on that part of it. I think it's fair to dislike the remark or the aggressive manner which he insists upon, but again, I think he has shown over the last couple of years to be very stand up outside of cricket.

It's not about what Clarke is like off the pitch, it's about how he is on it and how his Australian team is on the pitch.

Basically, this great piece from Greg Baum: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/coarse-tongues-leave-stain-on-the-cup-20150330-1mb9q3.html

In a corner of the glowing image of Australia's World Cup triumph is a blot that no amount of rubbing ever will remove. It is the disposition of the Australians at the dismissals of three New Zealanders

And they are, and they bask on. But there is a difference between best and champion.

People go too hard on sports people.
I actually had a close meeting with Clarke a few yrs ago and to be honest it wasnt all that great. Lets just say he didnt leave a lasting impression.
But you can go two ways . You can think hes a big headed arrogant turd, or think to yourself that he mightve just been having an off day and was very pre occupied with a million things.
They play like crap and we all rubbish them. They get themselves all fired up to represent their country and sometimes emotions go over the top and we rubbish them.
Cant win , even when they win sometimes.

It's not about what Clarke is like off the pitch, it's about how he is on it and how his Australian team is on the pitch.

Basically, this great piece from Greg Baum: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/coarse-tongues-leave-stain-on-the-cup-20150330-1mb9q3.html
5e02dab91af005a51f7eb87895a213e6a5511d68.jpg

CA1HYxoUYAAezMG.jpg:large

Spare me the 'holier than thou' & 'never say a bad word' bullshit that the Kiwis are peddling....

The Aussies smashed them & let them know about it... The Kiwis would have been doing exactly the same in the circumstances & did in fact do the same in the game at Eden Park 3 weeks ago.

As a mate said to me yesterday... "We won... The losers can do as they please, I don't really care for them"

I also remember being at the SCG about 7-8 years ago & witnessing Harbajhan Singh on the boundary ropes taunting the crowd by making monkey gestures then pointing at Andrew Symonds who was batting.... And then at racial vilification hearing, he somehow made out that he was the victim in the all verbals between the pair.

Made my blood boil when that prick got off that charge... I saw him with my own eyes, as did about 2000 others in the surrounding bays. I will never forgive or forget

I also remember being at the SCG about 7-8 years ago & witnessing Harbajhan Singh on the boundary ropes taunting the crowd by making monkey gestures then pointing at Andrew Symonds who was batting.... And then at racial vilification hearing, he somehow made out that he was the victim in the all verbals between the pair.

Made my blood boil when that prick got off that charge... I saw him with my own eyes, as did about 2000 others in the surrounding bays. I will never forgive or forget

I find it rather irritating that world media seems to be having a one-sided go at the Australians, while coincidentally completely ignoring what happened at Eden Park. Its a load of crock if I'm honest.

Nobody is disputing that H Singh was (and probably still is) a shit person on the cricket, field, and probably a shit person. As for "holier than thou bullshit", I don't want the Aussies to be angels on the field, I just don't want them to come across as arrogant dickheads every single time they step on the pitch. FWIW, I have no problems criticizing Kohli, Dhawan, Singh, Aaron for what they do on the pitch.

As for your mate's comment, winning is all good and well, but at what cost? Is it really as enjoyable if you lose respect in the way you win, and if you win without playing with the spirit of cricket, heck, the spirit of sportsmanship? This comment is aimed at Haddin and Faulkner, couldn't see anything wrong with what most of the Australian players did on Sunday.

Nobody is disputing that H Singh was (and probably still is) a shit person on the cricket, field, and probably a shit person. As for "holier than thou bullshit", I don't want the Aussies to be angels on the field, I just don't want them to come across as arrogant dickheads every single time they step on the pitch. FWIW, I have no problems criticizing Kohli, Dhawan, Singh, Aaron for what they do on the pitch.

As for your mate's comment, winning is all good and well, but at what cost? Is it really as enjoyable if you lose respect in the way you win, and if you win without playing with the spirit of cricket, heck, the spirit of sportsmanship? This comment is aimed at Haddin and Faulkner, couldn't see anything wrong with what most of the Australian players did on Sunday.

Perhaps they copped a fair bit at Eden Park, and wanted to get some revenge? There's always two sides to the story. I'd imagine the Kiwis would've cut into Haddin while he tried to drag us out of a hole at Eden Park, and he would've copped it for the longest.