Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Not really. Saad and Schneider, Fisher was rookied because he was near-permanently injured and McQualter was an utter hack in his first incarnation as a Saint. Allen was Rookied for the reason specified. The rest are either permanently or temporarily upgraded Rookies.

I can do a 'Rookies Who Never Made It' team if you want, but it wouldn't be pretty reading...
Mini as well, but hey, I'm not going to quibble. It's a great effort, Barrells. Just some fun discussion that comes out of it.

Just one thought: Maybe the Big Pig, Daniel Archer, instead of "KHAN!"? Piggy actually debuted at least.

Not really. Saad and Schneider, Fisher was rookied because he was near-permanently injured and McQualter was an utter hack in his first incarnation as a Saint. Allen was Rookied for the reason specified. The rest are either permanently or temporarily upgraded Rookies.

I can do a 'Rookies Who Never Made It' team if you want, but it wouldn't be pretty reading...

I think a real rookie find is:-

- an untried player
- a tried player with limited exposed form, e.g. Dawson.

Schneider - was always a good player. Clearly, after playing 200 games, he gets rookied when he's past 31 for list management purposes, then it's not a true "rookie find". It's just twisting of the rules.

Fisher - did he play the game as a rookie? Or did was he just drafted and then delisted for salary cap reasons?

Here we go... Read on at your peril*... current Senior game-less Rookies excluded;

FB: McDonnell - Wall - Gowans
HB: BSchwarze - Pfitzner - Chivers
RK: McGrath - Mullins - Hutchings
CR: McGarry - Berry - Andreoli
HF: Corr - Staley - Wittison
FF: Tungatulum - Trand - Dicketts
IC: Barham Pickford LBrown

Could have put Haretuku in, but at least he's had some success in the VFL and despite not making it for us James Wall became a very decent VFL player.

I couldn't find a spot for big Luke van Rheenan and there were a few others I simply ignored.

* there's really no peril.

I think a real rookie find is:-

- an untried player
- a tried player with limited exposed form, e.g. Dawson.

Schneider - was always a good player. Clearly, after playing 200 games, he gets rookied when he's past 31 for list management purposes, then it's not a true "rookie find". It's just twisting of the rules.

Fisher - did he play the game as a rookie? Or did was he just drafted and then delisted for salary cap reasons?
Were they/are they/have they been rookies? If so, they're good.

Stop quibbling.

Cracking first game of the NBA finals. Kyrie's knee will most likely rob us of what would have been a great series.

And jeez Lebron James. If you had any doubt about who the best player since Jordan is, doubt no more.

Novak started well in the final. Wanna see a good game, but I think he deserves to complete a career grand slam here.

Stan can certainly take it to him though, are we gonna see another 5 set epic? Hope not, I need some sleep haha.

Novak started well in the final. Wanna see a good game, but I think he deserves to complete a career grand slam here.

Stan can certainly take it to him though, are we gonna see another 5 set epic? Hope not, I need some sleep haha.
You should be booted as mod for barracking for Novack.

Boooo

Have you guys seen the Bishoo delivery to Haddin!?

FQu6xPw.gif

Brilliant delivery, but those talking in the same vein as the ball of century need to reassess their opinions of just how good, marginally outside leg that one as opposed to well outside leg and turning square to hit off. Haddin also played the completely wrong line to cover a standard leg break, that would have either slid off the face into the keeper or off the leading, he was playing it like it was a googly / zooter / whatever and going straight on in which case missing leg with the angle and he could pad up.

Still, brilliant ball, blokes definitely a talent.

Brilliant delivery, but those talking in the same vein as the ball of century need to reassess their opinions of just how good, marginally outside leg that one as opposed to well outside leg and turning square to hit off.

Still, brilliant ball, blokes definitely a talent.

Agreed

Haddin also played the completely wrong line to cover a standard leg break, that would have either slid off the face into the keeper or off the leading, he was playing it like it was a googly / zooter / whatever and going straight on in which case missing leg with the angle and he could pad up.

Ball had Haddin confused no matter what he did.

Length - do I go back? do I go fwd? ends up doing neither (can see ball hitting top of off stump)

Line - do I play it on the onside? straight back down to bowler? jam it out on the offside? whoops, none...

Just a brilliant ball, as you said - some balls are just 'unplayable'.

not that relevant but last night i spent it with jimmy webster, we met him out with a couple of his tassie mates and he is truly one of the best blokes going around. the man loves a drink/ hit on anything that moves but he is generally is a ripper bloke, he wasn't even fazed by the fact he had the review and recovery at 10am today.

also saw lonie, acres and sammy dunnel out last night along with heaps of other afl players

not that relevant but last night i spent it with jimmy webster, we met him out with a couple of his tassie mates and he is truly one of the best blokes going around. the man loves a drink/ hit on anything that moves but he is generally is a ripper bloke, he wasn't even fazed by the fact he had the review and recovery at 10am today.

also saw lonie, acres and sammy dunnel out last night along with heaps of other afl players

Pretty much how I pictured Jimmy. Seems like fun dude.

So started watching Sense8 on Netflix because it popped up on the recommendations and I thought "eh why not, I need to kill 2 hours" and you know what, kinda not that bad.

As with anything TV / movie related though that is kinda scifi/supernatural, I am waiting for the tie in to some make believe alien species getting it on with dogs.