Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

The relevance as I've I said about 5 times now is the setting up of new clubs. Any sporting organisation setting up new franchises will look at other organisations to see how what they've done it and what they can borrow. WSW were competitive very early because they used heaps of experienced players. The AFL model was to use large amounts of draft picks and IMO that has made their progress slower and created a large pool of players playing in a below standard comp (it's about the numbers they have). Yes GWS has got some experienced players but not as many as they could have - they are using what the AFL gave them. The AFL swamped them with picks - there was always going to be the go home factor. IMO this isn't a great model. End of point really.

The problem was that they didn't specifically legislate that they had to obtain senior players. The intention was that they would do so.

They were given permission to recruit one OOC player from each club, picks 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13 and 15 in the draft, and across 2011 and 2012, four 17 year olds (who must be traded on) and 10 Non-AFL players.

GWS, of its own accord chose to recruit Callan Ward, Rhys Palmer, Tom Scully and Phil Davis, youngsters in themselves as uncontracted players. Of the remainder of their concessions:

Mature Player 1: Steve Morris + #15 traded to Richmond for #14
Mature Player 2: Marty Clarke + Jamie Elliot (Zone Selection) + #67 traded to Collingwood for #25
Mature Player 3: Ahmed Saad + Terry Milera (MP4) + #25 traded to St. Kilda for #20
Mature Player 4: Terry Milera (see MP3)
Mini-Draft pick 1: (Jaeger O'Meara) +#31 to Gold Coast for #4 and a 1st round compensation pick
Mini-Draft pick 2: (Brad Crouch) + Luke Brown (MP5) to Adelaide for #10 and a 1st round compensation pick
Mature Player 5: Luke Brown (See MDP2)
Mature Player 6: Jarrad Boumman to Hawthorn for #56
Mature Player 7: Tim Mohr
Mature Player 8: James McDonald

Mini-Draft Pick 3: (Jack Martin) + End of round 1 compensation pick to Gold Coast for #2, #67 and end of first round compensation pick
Mature Player 9: Tom Lee + #24 + #45 to St Kilda for #12
Mini-Draft pick 4: (Jesse Hogan) + Dom Barry (GWS Zone) + #20 to Melbourne for #3 + #14

I might have missed one or two players, but nonetheless, all these concessions were intended to either Bring in mature bodies to the club itself, or provide valuable currency for the club to bring in more mature players, and although they also traded in Power, Cornes and Brogan, the AFL couldn't have done much else to give them a leg up in that regard unless the specifically leggislated for it.

The relevance as I've I said about 5 times now is the setting up of new clubs. Any sporting organisation setting up new franchises will look at other organisations to see how what they've done it and what they can borrow. WSW were competitive very early because they used heaps of experienced players. The AFL model was to use large amounts of draft picks and IMO that has made their progress slower and created a large pool of players playing in a below standard comp (it's about the numbers they have). Yes GWS has got some experienced players but not as many as they could have - they are using what the AFL gave them. The AFL swamped them with picks - there was always going to be the go home factor. IMO this isn't a great model. End of point really.

The whole idea of the GWS type model, is that player will leave. So they get plenty of draft picks to cover the fact that they will bleed players.

That's my whole point. Don't start with truck loads of kids expecting them to run off. Create a system where GWS utilise experienced players from other clubs to make them more competitive from the start.

I think at the start there was encouragement for players from clubs to go to GWS. They just didn't take it up - they should have been given more incentive.

That's my whole point. Don't start with truck loads of kids expecting them to run off. Create a system where GWS utilise experienced players from other clubs to make them more competitive from the start.

GC did a bit more of what you are suggesting and GWS are much better placed to win a flag. I don't see the issue apart from GWS becoming to strong. They have done what they think is best for the club and it seems they are looking very good. They will lose plenty of players along the way but so had Brisbane and they have been around for many years. It doesn't matter that they weren't competitive from the start because that is now finished.

Time will tell. Clubs look after clubs and fair enough. The young players that got drafted and spent years in the NEAFL were probably the biggest losers. Any way each to their own opinion, I just thought the AFL IMO didn't implement the best system.

But using Port as a model, didn't a heap of players from S.A request a trade there.

To be fair gws only spent the first 2 years being genuinely shit, a look at plenty of other teams who started "normally", including the mighty saints, and they are well ahead of schedule..
I don't think the setup was poor, I do think that gws exploited it to gain maximum advantage, something we all want from our administrations.

Can any of you bf legends help me out?? What is the best way of watching our beloved Saints all season, also watching the latest movies..... But without paying foxtel 100 bones every month? Apple TV? Google chrome? I'm lost: (

Afl live app or get a vpn and get the international subscription

Ditigal membership - all AFL games live including finals & NAB cup.

Pretty Random
is anyone on here a player agent or know anyone that is a player agent?
Matt Bain is a good mate of mine...Tom Petoro is an acquaintance involved at my local club.

Watching the 97' prelim for the first time on IQ :rainbow:
Keep an eye out in 2nd tier of the Ponsford stand, front row. A good looking bloke in his late 20s with a beer in his hand welling up in the eyes late in the last qtr:p

Looks like a wet & cold night in Melbourne :D

i can't remember where I was sitting at that match but just remember Burkey and Cookiemonster taking out North's ruck man who I have just gone blank on his name. That was when all the Saints fans near me went ****ing feral (me included)- it was like lord of the flies with people hoping he'd be dead or in a wheel chair. It absolutely erupted, it was like circuit breaker moment and the relief set us all off. I took a family member who was an older lady and had been a North fan as a kid and a whole bunch of Saints mates. I don't think she would have gone back to the footy again after that.