Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

All the huffing and puffing statements Trump used to get some of the disenchanted Americans to vote for him wont happen.
There will be no Great Wall of Mexico and i doubt very much there will be a total ban on Muslim immigrants.
More than likely he will just make industrial change that will help America short term and maybe piss off a few countries they usually trade with. He is a ruthless business man after all.
He will probably do some good and also do some bad.
No different than most polititions.
I think the " omg were all screwed now" response is a bit unwarranted .
I think hes just an egotistical bafoon albeit a clever one.
He wont last too long.
Thats my opinion anyway:thumbsu:

I'm not sure it will be "short term" enough.
So lets see what happens if he DOES do his stuff. How does it look by the next election just 4 years away.

1. Wall across Mexico. He rushes to build a wall, presumably made of reed fencing on special at Bunnings.
Some local jobs are created in area's close to the mexican borders where Mexican day workser's currently commute. Just a few States affected, and the Americans don't like those jobs much when they get them.
People don't notice any change due to the ban on Muslim immigrants.(Question - How do they know if someone is a Muslim? How do they know if i'm not? )

2. Trade barriers are put in place and free trade agreements are closed. This immediately puts up the price of cars, car components, and all sorts of consumables. 100% affecting all Americans. Existing car suppliers and manufacturers in the USA may have some immediate benefits creating "some" jobs. BUT for anyone to invest in USA manufacturing they would need the full 4 years. The uncertainty over the NEXT election would make them reluctant.
Minerals and Farming would probably realize immediate benefits, but food would increase in price for the entire population.

I actually think they could have a long term benefits if they stuck to the second item long enough. If there are enough quality jobs there are less poor. Food will cost more, but those with jobs won't be hungry. The rich pay more for their steak and BMW's its a better way of doing it than by trying to equalize the tax burdon. Its far easier for them to fix the issues here than it will be when we come up against them here.

BUT 4 years and he won't have enough people believing in him.

I'm not sure it will be "short term" enough.
So lets see what happens if he DOES do his stuff. How does it look by the next election just 4 years away.

1. Wall across Mexico. He rushes to build a wall, presumably made of reed fencing on special at Bunnings.
Some local jobs are created in area's close to the mexican borders where Mexican day workser's currently commute. Just a few States affected, and the Americans don't like those jobs much when they get them.
People don't notice any change due to the ban on Muslim immigrants.(Question - How do they know if someone is a Muslim? How do they know if i'm not? )

2. Trade barriers are put in place and free trade agreements are closed. This immediately puts up the price of cars, car components, and all sorts of consumables. 100% affecting all Americans. Existing car suppliers and manufacturers in the USA may have some immediate benefits creating "some" jobs. BUT for anyone to invest in USA manufacturing they would need the full 4 years. The uncertainty over the NEXT election would make them reluctant.
Minerals and Farming would probably realize immediate benefits, but food would increase in price for the entire population.

I actually think they could have a long term benefits if they stuck to the second item long enough. If there are enough quality jobs there are less poor. Food will cost more, but those with jobs won't be hungry. The rich pay more for their steak and BMW's its a better way of doing it than by trying to equalize the tax burdon. Its far easier for them to fix the issues here than it will be when we come up against them here.

BUT 4 years and he won't have enough people believing in him.
Yeah its gonna be a interesting waiting to see exactly what he does. And just how much he follows through with his more radical plans.
Personally i dont think he will "talk the talk and walk the walk" as much as he wanted Americans to believe during campaining.
All pollies talk tuff during the lead up to a poll.
Then most backflip more than a dolphin at Seaworld.
Like a lot of others i just hope Aussie trade relations and our Farmers etc dont get the rough end of the pineapple .

Yeah its gonna be a interesting waiting to see exactly what he does. And just how much he follows through with his more radical plans.
Personally i dont think he will "talk the talk and walk the walk" as much as he wanted Americans to believe during campaining.
All pollies talk tuff during the lead up to a poll.
Then most backflip more than a dolphin at Seaworld.
Like a lot of others i just hope Aussie trade relations and our Farmers etc dont get the rough end of the pineapple .

Unfortunately i see us as "low hanging fruit".
BANG. No Australian food/wine etc. Instant better profits for the Farmers in the USA. No real pain to the general consumer except a bit less choice in the bottle shop and some slight price changes.

And we can bank on our government to play hardball. Which means they say "we'd rather not" before they say "OK then ".

Of course it means that Chrysler's Jeeps and US Built Fords will get 5% more expensive. So if you want that Mustang rush out and get it.

all greenies, politically correct, and do gooders beware, the silent majority have spoken in usa, as in uk. the feel good fuzzy wuzzy world is starting to change the rest of the world will follow.

Unfortunately i see us as "low hanging fruit".
BANG. No Australian food/wine etc. Instant better profits for the Farmers in the USA. No real pain to the general consumer except a bit less choice in the bottle shop and some slight price changes.

And we can bank on our government to play hardball. Which means they say "we'd rather not" before they say "OK then ".

Of course it means that Chrysler's Jeeps and US Built Fords will get 5% more expensive. So if you want that Mustang rush out and get it.
We will just laugh at Trump and sell to China and Japan
Asia will do its own free trade pac while America goes down the toliet only downside is more Chinese ownership of Australian agricultural land and real estate

America only made up 5.7% of our export market in 2014 probably less now.
Recent better trade deals with India, Japan and Indonesia plus more government focus on supporting/building other export markets will cover the direct effect of Trump its only an issue if he caused a global economic crisis

Asia will do its own free trade pac while America goes down the toliet only downside is more Chinese ownership of Australian agricultural land and real estate
Currently with our future overlords. Anything you want me to ask them? [emoji4]

Why do you think that?

all greenies, politically correct, and do gooders beware, the silent majority have spoken in usa, as in uk. the feel good fuzzy wuzzy world is starting to change the rest of the world will follow.
I dont think thats what the election was about at all

Dear Eddie McGuire,

Just don't you go getting any bloody big ideas.

Regards,

Australia
Could be too late. May have already picked his running mate :eek:

CHRE88FUkAAGQhV.jpg

Why do you think that?
Government already talking up the RECP Chinese version of TPP but had been held up because it would reduce limits on Chinese investment.
Bullies usually get a gang too support them but the US will be by itself on trade tariffs. The only real threat Trump has is to tip the board if he doesn't get something to take back to his supporters

Its not like we are selling to USA in preference to Asia now. We are sluts who will sell to anyone. What we sell to the USA is not whats stopping us selling other stuff. As more Chinese own Australian producers, the agriculture will be of less benefit to Australia. ( Credit to Gina for putting personal profit first and teaming up with the Chinese to help them get around laws to stop them doing it. ).

We have been trying to Join ASEAN for years. They don't like us, don't want us.
We have individual trade agreements but its not the same.

A widget made from 3 components a,b,c. a is made in china, b is made in thailand , c is made in the phillipines where its all put together.
Under the ASEAN agreement Thailand will buy it without duty , because its from ASEAN countries.

Same widget, a made in china , b made in thailand, c made in Australia where its put together, will have duty payable in Thailand , because under the Australia /Thailand trade agreement it has to have a certain amount of Australian content. - No exemptions for Asian or Thai content.

Furthermore, what do you think we have to offer China apart from unprocessed dirt ( including ore, and minerals ). The average Chinese guy sure as hell can't afford to pay $30/kg for a cut of steak.

Its not like we are selling to USA in preference to Asia now. We are sluts who will sell to anyone. What we sell to the USA is not whats stopping us selling other stuff. As more Chinese own Australian producers, the agriculture will be of less benefit to Australia. ( Credit to Gina for putting personal profit first and teaming up with the Chinese to help them get around laws to stop them doing it. ).

We have been trying to Join ASEAN for years. They don't like us, don't want us.
We have individual trade agreements but its not the same.

A widget made from 3 components a,b,c. a is made in china, b is made in thailand , c is made in the phillipines where its all put together.
Under the ASEAN agreement Thailand will buy it without duty , because its from ASEAN countries.

Same widget, a made in china , b made in thailand, c made in Australia where its put together, will have duty payable in Thailand , because under the Australia /Thailand trade agreement it has to have a certain amount of Australian content. - No exemptions for Asian or Thai content.

Furthermore, what do you think we have to offer China apart from unprocessed dirt ( including ore, and minerals ). The average Chinese guy sure as hell can't afford to pay $30/kg for a cut of steak.
About 250 million of them can these days

Has anyone else heard the rumours of unrest at Collingwood?

I've heard rumours but unsure if there is anything to them . No one seems to have any proof, it's always someone close to somebody etc , no hard evidence so I'm not going to assume anything but I can hope, lol.