Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

I loved tennis in the 80s and early 90s. Now it's just full of baseliners, double handed backhands and people who've done nothing but hit a ball since they could walk. Most have no personality, and that's actually preferable to when they open their mouth, ie Nick. Maybe I've just seen enough tennis for one lifetime and am tired of it.
Yeah i must admit im judging tennis players by what i see on the news.
I only like contact sports , i wouldnt watch a game of Tennis if they were giving away free beer*

*well maybe if the beer was really cold

I heard a couple of interviews on SEN.
One was Jelena Dokic who spoke about what she'd given up " going to school having friends maybe going to the movies "
( my 18 year old said she'd gladly give up that crap for the money and travel ).
Still got the impression she didn't have a clue about real life.

The other was Andy Murray's mother. I was left thinking no wonder he's grown up successful and well adjusted.

I'm trying to compile a Best XI of current Test cricketers who you generally consider to be extraordinary w***ers, but I'm a bit stuck...

Warner
Kohli (c)
Samuels
Wade (wk)
Stokes
Starc
Broad
Anderson

Is the team so far, but it has to be workable; Ishant Sharma misses out behind the pace battery of Anderson, Starc and Broad for example, du Plessis may be a cheat but doesn't strike me as a true w***er, and Glenn Maxwell isn't really a genuine Test cricketer.

Mitch Marsh also misses cos it's not his fault he's an undeserving gumby.

So, who have I missed?

Lol, public and personal personas can be totally different, so you can only go by what you see.

My view is that the expectations placed on sports people by fans and the media are obscene.

We want them to succeed because it somehow makes us feel good about ourselves, but when they don't behave lime we want, we can them.

Why does every entertainer have to be perfect?

Lol, public and personal personas can be totally different, so you can only go by what you see.

My view is that the expectations placed on sports people by fans and the media are obscene.

We want them to succeed because it somehow makes us feel good about ourselves, but when they don't behave lime we want, we can them.

For me I don't expect them to be perfect. I just expect them to be respectful.

I don't like Kyrgios. I may never like him. It's not because he is different. It's not because he is brash or has attitude. It's because he presents as a petulant child with a sense of entitlement and inflated self worth. I don't care that he is an idiot. Hell, at his age I was an idiot (my wife tells me I still am). But one thing I've always had is respect for others. It costs nothing but generates a lot of good will.

I may be a grumpy old bastard, but these people live privileged lives, largely supported in their early days by the system they then choose to demonize and blame for their own poorly self created public image. I don't expect them to cow tow to the media or the public. I just expect them to show some respect.

Who knows, behind closed doors he may be a decent guy. But all I can judge on is what I see. And I don't like what I see.

For me I don't expect them to be perfect. I just expect them to be respectful.

I don't like Kyrgios. I may never like him. It's not because he is different. It's not because he is brash or has attitude. It's because he presents as a petulant child with a sense of entitlement and inflated self worth. I don't care that he is an idiot. Hell, at his age I was an idiot (my wife tells me I still am). But one thing I've always had is respect for others. It costs nothing but generates a lot of good will.

I may be a grumpy old bastard, but these people live privileged lives, largely supported in their early days by the system they then choose to demonize and blame for their own poorly self created public image. I don't expect them to cow tow to the media or the public. I just expect them to show some respect.

Who knows, behind closed doors he may be a decent guy. But all I can judge on is what I see. And I don't like what I see.
Not sure about privileged. Kids and parents give up a fair bit to get to that level. It's a shit life for about 90% if them.

I agree with pretty much all of that:thumbsu:
And i for one usually dont mind somebody who is a bit of a ratbag in the public eye. Or somebody who isnt as robotic as most sports people are forced to be nowdays. Im bloody glad im not a woman cos i always seem to like the bad boys.
I guess its damn hard to please everybody isnt it.
But as for Kyrgios i just dont see any of that when i watch him.
I just see a real sook of a kid who is prone to give up and then is just petulent in most interviews. I dont care if you work at the local supermarket or your a world class sportperson i just cant warm to that type of personality.

Thats just my opinion. If people want to get excited about him cos hes our best tennis player then thats thier choice and fair enough.
We cant all agree on everthing.

Kyrgios spac attack coming right up!

He's carrying on like a petulant brat..again. Have stopped watching, would rather watch Barty, she's going so well, looks like she'll win her match.

Alex Di Minaur and Jordan Thompson would love to be where Nick is....pretty sure they wouldn't blow their chances like he does.

No expert but reckon there's a chance we'll find out later in his career that he's bipolar.

Kyrgios melting down in prime time is absolutely compelling viewing...

IMG_0073.JPG

He's got more talent than just about any I've ever seen, but...

No expert but reckon there's a chance we'll find out later in his career that he's bipolar.
Something i've often pondered.
He ticks all of the external boxes for BPD as well fwiw.

Something i've often pondered.
He ticks all of the external boxes for BPD as well fwiw.
Yes he does.
They would be worried about treating it with the drugs in sport thing anyway so probs what we see is what we're gonna continue to see.

Yes he does.
They would be worried about treating it with the drugs in sport thing anyway so probs what we see is what we're gonna continue to see.
It certainly would create a few inconveniences if he was willing to undertake medication.

On the other hand, his 'handicap' if you will, is almost becoming his trademark. That again adds to the conundrum as you would imagine there is a lot of money to be made as the tour's 'bad boy'.

He's not somebody i'd be in a rush to have a beer with, but as an avid people watcher, he certainly makes for interesting viewing.

His press conference is gonna be intriguing

If every tennis player set themselves on fire plus all the commentators pkus the fanatics, I might
Ch 7 management would be saying, '"finally. FINALLY! We got joffaboy in to up the ratings!
Wasnt easy and we had to make some sacrifices. But we eventually won him over."

Oh dear...
You lot need the footy back and now!

Love a good game of tennis. Nothing like ripping a backhand down the line, or belting a forehand top spin cross court to watch it start low find its apex just millimetres above the net than dip quickly to just catch the side line.

If you want to see awesome tennis though, go find two Kiribati [emoji1140] players and they'll show you pacific island flair on the tennis court. Unbelievably good to watch.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Could set himself on fire and I still wouldnt watch tennis.
I was flicking channels last night. The 2 minutes of tennis i happen to see was Kyrgios making an error then he seemed to turn to his entourage and blame themo_O.
Couldnt change the channel quick enough after that. Then this morning i hear his press conference on the radio and he said " i lost interest" .

Kid has all the talent in the world.
Unfortunately he also has the mental toughness of a wet tissue.