Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

I think i watched that doco, it also showed how washing machine manufacturer's started making them only last 1000 washes.

I threatened my wife to buy one of the washing machines that Launderette's used. They cost a bit , but do heaps of cycles, and most of the bits that can bugger up can be bought from normal industrial suppliers. No bullshit electronic crap either. Why do you need more than a timer and a couple of relays.

Anyway she wouldn't be in it

A former head of "Hoover" admitted that he wished he had bought Dyson when it was first offered to them.
Why?
So he could put it on mothballs and keep selling the same crap.

At one point my wife and I needed a vacuum cleaner, we had a Sanyo barrel type or something, and it hardly did a thing.
My grandmother had died a few years earlier , and we acquired her old original Hoover upright. You could still get the drive belts and everything for it, and it worked ok despite being a noisy *^&#.
A few years later my wife decided we needed a new one, we ended up getting an updated hoover.
Hey it had a headlight!.
But it really didn't work any better than the old one.
Now we have a Dyson. Which is noisy , but man it sucks.
They are a premium, but a seriously good quality item. Plus they keep spare parts for their products on their website which is a godsend if you lose a bit.

There was a documentary about that. I think it started when light bulb manufacturers colluded to put a limited life into them to ensure repeat business.

Unfortunately, people are so gullible to believe that they must have the very latest.

Windows 7 is still perfectly good as is office 10. Then again we all use open office, for free
Open Office, or these days its fork, LibreOffice, is a great example of why the open-source community is so important. They're trying to reverse planned obsolescence. They're doing regular updates of their apps, but for the opposite reasons to Apple, M$, etc: they strip code, trying to make the programs more efficient. Linux operating systems will regularly work on Apple Macs that the official Apple OS doesn't any more, for example.

Its a joke isn't it.

We also have a dyson now after buying crap vacs for 5 years.

I had to buy my wife a new Dyson because after they did our renovation I used the last one to clean brick dust and sand....it blew up. I didn't realise how much she had spent on it until I had to go buy a new one. I would have been too scared to go near it. It does seem to work well but the newer one has a bit that holds the dust that comes in three pieces and you need instructions to reassemble it when it's emptied.

This is great. Go chicks.
Lol its good isnt it. I was thinking this would be even more exciting if it was saints.
What they get 30k? Not bad.
Imagine getting 30k down at moorabbin for wafl. Would be awsome.

Darcy Vescio would've looked mighty good lighting it up in RWB, being a childhood supporter and all.

I feel sick in my stomach for saying this but I'm barracking for Carlton. Darcy Vescio was a semi regular at my old work, and Nat Exon's brother went to my school. You might say I'm totally responsible for all of their success tonight.

Lol its good isnt it. I was thinking this would be even more exciting if it was saints.
What they get 30k? Not bad.
Imagine getting 30k down at moorabbin for wafl. Would be awsome.

Having a blast watching this.

Vescio is lively. They're a lot faster across the board than I was expecting.

The tackles stick, and impressively they can still get the hand ball off under heat.

Really promising signs first up.

This crowd probably has a lot of ' novelty factor' spectators so they might struggle to get a crowd this big again.
But Geez even if the crowd is usually half this size its a bloody magnificent effort.
So far its been pretty entertaining as well.
Ive been pleasantly surprised so far at the intensity/skills.
.Well done girls:thumbsu:

This crowd probably has a lot of ' novelty factor' spectators so they might struggle to get a crowd this big again.
But Geez even if the crowd is usually half this size its a bloody magnificent effort.
So far its been pretty entertaining as well.
Ive been pleasantly surprised so far at the intensity/skills.
.Well done girls:thumbsu:

My daughter signed up last week because of the hype from womens footy, she was playing basketball but can't wait to smash in. She's decided to follow the Dees until the Saints get a team and she likes that Tayla Harris from Brissie. My son has jumped on the Blues because his junior club has their song.

Having a blast watching this.

Vescio is lively. They're a lot faster across the board than I was expecting.

The tackles stick, and impressively they can still get the hand ball off under heat.

Really promising signs first up.
That Vescio was probably BOG. She can really play.

The way the media has forced us to try and become interested in women's cricket and football is pretty average . 46-11 what a joke .20/20 crickey has scored of 125 with the rope in . And now I'll be sexist and a troll . What's next women's wood chopping

Edit

Wood chopping televised with updates everyday in the paper and on tv . 46-11. What a ripper
( there you go joop clarified for you)

Seriously, what is the point of dragging down women's sport? Sorry we weren't born as strong and fast as you.
Saw this on Twitter:

C3vAeo7UoAErF2E.jpg:large

Lets also not forget all of these women will all front up to work on Monday morning like the rest of us.

The way the media has forced us to try and become interested in women's cricket and football is pretty average . 46-11 what a joke .20/20 crickey has scored of 125 with the rope in . And now I'll be sexist and a troll . What's next women's wood chopping

Don't at the very least feel glad for little girls that can have a kick in the backyard and dream of playing pro like us lads did/do?

That was most of my childhood and it was awesome.

Having heroes they mimic and love.

Kids coming from the country to see 'em live.

Damn mate, thought I was grumpy

Don't at the very least feel glad for little girls that can have a kick in the backyard and dream of playing pro like us lads did/do?

That was most of my childhood and it was awesome.

Having heroes they mimic and love.

Kids coming from the country to see 'em live.

Damn mate, thought I was grumpy
It's not atvthe competitors themselves. It's the way it has been shoved at us . Same as the cricket . Then if you say it's not up to scratch which it isn't then your shouted at. I dont bother to articulate my arguments because I don't have the time . I have a daughter and if she wants to play sport that's great but I won't be saying how amazing g women's afl or cricket is because I've watched it and it sucks

You don't have to watch it. My daughter has just had a massive re-interest in footy at 14. She dreams of playing AFL now, it's probably just kept one more Saints member from drifting away from the game. I will take her to see games and encourage her like I do my son and his footy. You don't have to be the best, you can just love playing the game. It's like old school footy where they front up for the love of the contest not a pack of prissy over paid flogs wanting more money to live like rock stars.

It's not atvthe competitors themselves. It's the way it has been shoved at us . Same as the cricket . Then if you say it's not up to scratch which it isn't then your shouted at. I dont bother to articulate my arguments because I don't have the time . I have a daughter and if she wants to play sport that's great but I won't be saying how amazing g women's afl or cricket is because I've watched it and it sucks

I have lost interest in mens and women's cricket. I love having some footy back no matter what it is.

You don't have to watch it. My daughter has just had a massive re-interest in footy at 14. She dreams of playing AFL now, it's probably just kept one more Saints member from drifting away from the game. I will take her to see games and encourage her like I do my son and his footy. You don't have to be the best, you can just love playing the game. It's like old school footy where they front up for the love of the contest not a pack of prissy over paid flogs wanting more money to live like rock stars.
Fair call hope she does well and enjoys it . I really do . But it has been poured down our throats and we've been told to like it . That's all I'm saying