Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Very nice. Drinking cooking wine is something else though....Lol.

I'm just going with the stock standard, classic Lowenbrau. Been into German beer for a while now because of the no added preservatives...in the unlikely chance that you drink responsibly you don't get a hangover!

5.2%, good value for money!

I'm just going with the stock standard, classic Lowenbrau. Been into German beer for a while now because of the no added preservatives...in the unlikely chance that you drink responsibly you don't get a hangover!

Get some Carlsberg Elephant beer that stuff is like 7.2 %. When I was in Germany they convinced me that Karmeliten Kloster Dopplebock was good for jet lag, Works great but the the next day you can't remember the night before, that's over 8% but good.

Actually Georgie, the comedian on the Bump Gocsy had the suggestion we should get Hungry Jacks as a sponsor because of the amount of Jacks we have, make it happen George. Would look pretty right with the red logo.

Get some Carlsberg Elephant beer that stuff is like 7.2 %. When I was in Germany they convinced me that Karmeliten Kloster Dopplebock was good for jet lag, Works great but the the next day you can't remember the night before, that's over 8% but good.
I'll check them both out mate! 15 of these has me legless as it is, but always room for improvement!

470_1.jpg

I just visited South Australia and saw this product (a favourite brand nostalgia / memory for my wife)

The Brand is Nurses, the product is CORNFLOUR, the next line tells us what it is made from

Good beer that. weihenstephaner hefe is good.

Moved onto red wine last year though and haven't looked back

Good beer that. weihenstephaner hefe is good.

Moved onto red wine last year though and haven't looked back
The ones I like are Lowenbrau, Asahi 500ml cans, Birra Moretti, Molson Canadian and Budvar Czech Lager. Wine gets me w***ered easily, might be a while until I step up to that lol.

The ones I like are Lowenbrau, Asahi 500ml cans, Birra Moretti, Molson Canadian and Budvar Czech Lager. Wine gets me ******ed easily, might be a while until I step up to that lol.
Mcguigans Red is what got me hooked. Seriously good beginners red

Thought I'd chuck in my 2 cents about the discussion on player behaviour towards fans that has clogged up the D&T thread in the hope we can keep it going but in the right thread:

The anecdotes about Jimmy Webster are sad and consistent with my sole interaction with him. I responded to something he tweeted a few years ago which might have caused a little public angst of it were noticed, in the vein of "I don't mind but some do, be careful". His response was "sorry if any offence was caused" type. Fair enough. But his original tweet suggests there's not a lot of reflection going on there about how he comes across.

He is a footy player. At the end of the day, much as we want our guys to be great role models, I'm happy for them to be good at their job. Hopefully we have enough great PR guys like Paddy, Mav and Acres who genuinely care about the fans.

I have a lot of empathy for these guys who are mostly pretty simple minded (I don't mean stupid) and sports and fitness oriented. A lot of football fans are more junk food, beer and passive observation oriented, which doesn't lead to bring in great shape. Must be hard for those sporty guys not to at least have a little distain for all the slobs in front of them. They get paid bucket loads more than most of their fans too.

There is also a power trip that any performer or entertainer can get sucked into with their audience if they aren't careful. Very easy to see fans as beneath you, despite the truth that without fans you wouldn't have your privilege. Especially when fans want more and more from you, selfies, autographs, news, gossip, friendship. Hey mate, I don't even know you, I just wanna get on with my job. Get out of my face. Of course if that fan is a hottie, or someone with a lot of cash/power, maybe it's worth your time, but just a kid? Bah, who cares?

I was once in a band that had moderate success in Victoria. Not remotely famous or anything but I guess we got folks into our music and whatnot. When I think back to my attitude towards audience members now, it wasn't always respectful and could even sometimes be classed as arrogant. We don't always have the ability to realise how we are perceived in the moment.

Sad, but most people would find themselves thinking like that after a few years in the AFL system unless they actually reflect on how much of a difference their actions and attitudes can make.

Many of our guys go through the motions, some out of obligation, some cos they are genuine down to earth and humble. That is to be respected, but it can't really be expected.

Thought I'd chuck in my 2 cents about the discussion on player behaviour towards fans that has clogged up the D&T thread in the hope we can keep it going but in the right thread:

The anecdotes about Jimmy Webster are sad and consistent with my sole interaction with him. I responded to something he tweeted a few years ago which might have caused a little public angst of it were noticed, in the vein of "I don't mind but some do, be careful". His response was "sorry if any offence was caused" type. Fair enough. But his original tweet suggests there's not a lot of reflection going on there about how he comes across.

He is a footy player. At the end of the day, much as we want our guys to be great role models, I'm happy for them to be good at their job. Hopefully we have enough great PR guys like Paddy, Mav and Acres who genuinely care about the fans.

I have a lot of empathy for these guys who are mostly pretty simple minded (I don't mean stupid) and sports and fitness oriented. A lot of football fans are more junk food, beer and passive observation oriented, which doesn't lead to bring in great shape. Must be hard for those sporty guys not to at least have a little distain for all the slobs in front of them. They get paid bucket loads more than most of their fans too.

There is also a power trip that any performer or entertainer can get sucked into with their audience if they aren't careful. Very easy to see fans as beneath you, despite the truth that without fans you wouldn't have your privilege. Especially when fans want more and more from you, selfies, autographs, news, gossip, friendship. Hey mate, I don't even know you, I just wanna get on with my job. Get out of my face. Of course if that fan is a hottie, or someone with a lot of cash/power, maybe it's worth your time, but just a kid? Bah, who cares?

I was once in a band that had moderate success in Victoria. Not remotely famous or anything but I guess we got folks into our music and whatnot. When I think back to my attitude towards audience members now, it wasn't always respectful and could even sometimes be classed as arrogant. We don't always have the ability to realise how we are perceived in the moment.

Sad, but most people would find themselves thinking like that after a few years in the AFL system unless they actually reflect on how much of a difference their actions and attitudes can make.

Many of our guys go through the motions, some out of obligation, some cos they are genuine down to earth and humble. That is to be respected, but it can't really be expected.

I have been meeting players long enough to realise there is a progression from new shy kid absolutely shitting themselves to flog and then finally at the end realising the fans paid their wages and that they were lucky for their time in the game. Some are just better people and seem to keep it real or pretend better and others stay floggish to the end. There are all types too from the smart kids like Mc Kenzie who is well bred and well spoken and has impeccable manners to country Tasmanian kids like Jimmy who are a little bit wild colonial boy and not very big picture. They range from impressive leader types like Newnes to loose units who you can just tell are handfuls for the club. It's kind of like high school with the range of personalities. There will always be a few that won't conform.

They also range from good actors to people who are honest and are really themselves. Webster is a good knock about guy as far as I can tell. Sometimes he is to honest. maybe he should learn to not be himself like a few others show. I have to be honest and say 5 minutes here or there should never be how you think a player is really like. Its so unfair.

ripping post mate

i guess its one of the challenges of the industry, where the talent or stars are thrust in the spotlight from a very early age maturity wise and are expected to be held to a higher standard than those at a similar age out of the spot light

i wouldnt/couldnt have been able to do what they do. i was far too immature at 18-22. like most kids my age i did some really dumb shit which in a high profile position probably would have been enough to get me sacked on the spot

its just a totally different world, where i've heard it explained like the mix between a primary school and military type environment

one thing i do worry about is that these kids coming through are being removed from risk. so they have no opportunity to learn from life. they basically dont have the opportunity the rest of us have where we can try stuff, **** up and still be able to live our lives without the massive amounts of scrutiny

having said that they do get paid very very well

i think if you are going to hang it on a players attitude you then need to also look at the fans attitude as well - some fans have this sence of entitlement that because they are supporters they can disregard normal social protocols.. ive seen some ugly ugly interactions from fans to players and officals . i think as a rule as a fan you should understand that the fan/player relationship is not a personal relationship be polite and respectful and you will get that back every interaction with a player i have ever had i have tried to make it a short and polite as possible for two reasons : one to ensure the next person can have an interaction with the player and two i understand how it can be uncomfortable when a stranger becomes too familure with you so i would hate to make the player feel uncomfortable with my interaction..

great post!

i've always found it way too daunting... i mean how do you even break the ice:
"oh hey, you dont know me, but i think you're awesome, please talk to me"

to me, love watching them play, would attend any functions/presentations/speaking opportunities etc. but to go up and talk to them i cant do that. i dont know them. they're not my friends or family. feels to stalkerish

Mcguigans Red is what got me hooked. Seriously good beginners red
That is a seriously good drop........a mate bought a bottle around at a pizza night last year...........took a few sips and said .."where did you snag this from"

Anwser......"Dan Slurpies"

Next day down to Slurpies and bought a carton of 6 bottles.

Every person who has tried it since asks..."where did you get this from"

Great price at times at Slurpies.

That is a seriously good drop........a mate bought a bottle around at a pizza night last year...........took a few sips and said .."where did you snag this from"

Anwser......"Dan Slurpies"

Next day down to Slurpies and bought a carton of 6 bottles.

Every person who has tried it since asks..."where did you get this from"

Great price at times at Slurpies.

hahaha good man!!! so cheap!

whats your drop of choice? up for any recommendations to try

george's posts had me buying a couple of german beers recently
Love my Penfolds any 389 - RWT Mmm
Jacobs creek double barrel is a good $20 bottle