- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
- Other Teams
El Toro Macho from Aldi is spanish and very very very drinkable for the money.

System Upgrade - Search is back! - Post feedback.
PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
I couldn't believe what a good price it sells for....on special even better.hahaha good man!!! so cheap!
Good bear budvar.The ones I like are Lowenbrau, Asahi 500ml cans, Birra Moretti, Molson Canadian and Budvar Czech Lager. Wine gets me ******ed easily, might be a while until I step up to that lol.
I had one of those cheap wine discount places near me years ago and I used to grab some mcguigans shareholders reserve I think it was called, it was a decent drop and at a give away price.Mcguigans Red is what got me hooked. Seriously good beginners red
.I'm always stunned by Aldi's wine selections, especially at the discount end.
NOTE : Don't touch the "Precious Earth" at $3.00 per bottle.
But their cleanskins ( dry red and dry white )at 6 for $12 are very drinkable. Great for parties, you stack them up and no-one knows what it is.
Start getting into the $10 and more per bottle range, and its all very good.
Apparently, rather than just stock the shelf with whatever the sellers offer, Aldi employ a guy to stock a good range, and as well as selecting the wine, he works with some of the wineries to produce a suitable product.
Both nice wines, grange isn't for everyone that's for sure it took it quite a while like hill of grace to gain a following, drink what you like.Yeah we had a guy who worked in the liquor industry at our footy club and he said Aldi rebadge a lot of stuff and lots is a small portion of the price or the proper label stuff. That Toro Macho is quite good for a cheap bottle of red. I like Annies Lane Shiraz for a decent every day wine and St Hugo's is nicer than Grange IMO and a heap less.
Both nice wines, grange isn't for everyone that's for sure it took it quite a while like hill of grace to gain a following, drink what you like.
I'm getting an early start I have just opened a bottle of taittinger to celebrate with my son, he just submitted his thesis his days Monash are over.
Yeh that would be the normal routine for me as well but it's not often these things happen so I'll grudgingly choke down the French piss.I just opened a stubby if VB to celebrate Friday.
Yeh that would be the normal routine for me as well but it's not often these things happen so I'll grudgingly choke down the French piss.
I had one of those cheap wine discount places near me years ago and I used to grab some mcguigans shareholders reserve I think it was called, it was a decent drop and at a give away price.
I read this last night and I made a reference to a wine in another thread and it made me think of this. Drink whatever you like the wine experts are all on the payroll and their not drinking it you are.
Back in the day my brother in law used to buy a nice reasonably priced red for his staff bbqs at his factory that wine was hill of grace, I kid you not.
If you like Sauvignon Blanc anything from the Marlborough region in NZ is great. I must have tried a dozen different brands they were all good, some quite different but all good.
Your awash with good wine in WA as we all are until you get past the hunter in NSW, but then again I suppose it doesn't bother them in QLD they do drink XXXX and bundy rum.
Totally agree with the quality of whites from New Zealand Marlbourough region.
Try some of the wines coming out of Queenslands Granite Belt and you might be pleasantly surprised as well.
A beer I'm coming to terms with recently is Blue Moon 5.4% unfortunately brewed in Australia under licence but still a very hearty tipple served with a fat slice of orange.
I'm trying to sound like a real ale twat.
Your not missing much according to my wife who doesn't drink, their are so many good cheap wines if you can afford beer you can drink wine.If I wont Lotto I couldn't drink wine. Never had any type of wine apart from crap on a Rutherglen red footy trip. I'm limited to VB, water, milk and coke.
I love the taste of hops in a good pale ale, corona is a mass produced summer beer the lemon is about the only thing giving it taste.Im certainly no real ale twat as I only drink the bogan beer, VB but ive always been of the opinion if you have to add something to a beer then there must be an issue with the beer that's why ive never understood Corona drinkers. Happy for someone to explain though.
Variety is the spice of life.Im certainly no real ale twat as I only drink the bogan beer, VB but ive always been of the opinion if you have to add something to a beer then there must be an issue with the beer that's why ive never understood Corona drinkers. Happy for someone to explain though.
Im certainly no real ale twat as I only drink the bogan beer, VB but ive always been of the opinion if you have to add something to a beer then there must be an issue with the beer that's why ive never understood Corona drinkers. Happy for someone to explain though.
I don't really like them but I do like cascade and James boag premium light.Some of the European or "specialty" Beer are nice if you are going to have "a" beer.
If you want to knock back a few its hard to go past the bread and butter local variety.
Though i've got to say i'm now used to the low carb variants ( pure blonde for example ).
The lemon was originally used in Mexico to sterilise the glass that you drank from. It had nothing to do with the taste. Love my Coronas after a big hot day mowing and prefer lime with mineI love the taste of hops in a good pale ale, corona is a mass produced summer beer the lemon is about the only thing giving it taste.
No really it's not a bad beer and strangely in does go quite well on a hot day, I guess it's the tart sharp lemon as a counter point to what is a quite sweet beer.
Yeah we had a guy who worked in the liquor industry at our footy club and he said Aldi rebadge a lot of stuff and lots is a small portion of the price or the proper label stuff. That Toro Macho is quite good for a cheap bottle of red. I like Annies Lane Shiraz for a decent every day wine and St Hugo's is nicer than Grange IMO and a heap less.