Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

The other thing that's bad is that some of the yes campaigners thought they needed to bully their way in. It was never the case and IMO the yes vote may have gone higher if they'd not campaigned at all.

It WAS OK to vote No. But "NO" was never going to be the consensus.
Yeah I agree.
Voted Yes myself. But I got the feeling you were classed as a backward thinking caveman if you made it public you endorsed the No Vote.
It's not a crime to be conservative or even to be ignorant.
Was a bit of stupidity/bullying by both sides but I think for a ( so called) forward moving intelligent country the YES was always gonna win.
Was a shame we had to spend $120 million to end up at an obvious conclusion.
That's a lot of money that could have gone to funding education,hospitals etc.

I understand the lubrication requirements, particularly on older cars.
These are all post 2012, one is only a couple of years old.
Surely this is something he’s picked up from his old man.

see from my point of View the libs are stuffed either way .. keep Mal and they lose cause the guy stands for nothing and is getting white anted by his own party , if they cut Mal then the "unstable goverment" that Abbott used to oust labor is firmly directed at them and Labor will be sure to go hard at them for it..
the conservitive think they are all powerful and mighty but the fact is most of us are growing tired of the conservitives and see our country being left behind on the world stage because of them.. while Brexit and Trump gave the right confidence the fact that both have been facepalms even by those who thought they were good ideas at the time is seeing the Left look more desirable... if only the Left had a decent leader to take hold of the opportunity

Yep the hard right think that Trump was sign of people returning to old school conservative values but the US has it's left behind masses who just wanted to smash the place up.... probably helped Trump win. I reckon there will be a generation of social change coming soon. They said 3 out 4 americans said they would be happy with a socialist system when they asked millennials in a survey. That's unheard of in a country where you were black listed or jailed for having communist sympathies. If you are young here you are shut out of the property market and just work to pay rent and bills.

I met some French guys who were trying to get permanent residency here, they reckon that France is the same, over 35 you are cruising if you own property and have a job but youth have degrees they can't use. All the jobs are the bottom of the service industry with no scope.

I understand the lubrication requirements, particularly on older cars.
These are all post 2012, one is only a couple of years old.
Surely this is something he’s picked up from his old man.

After reading the start of the first line I thought you'd decided to get graphic with the same sex marriage debate.

see from my point of View the libs are stuffed either way .. keep Mal and they lose cause the guy stands for nothing and is getting white anted by his own party , if they cut Mal then the "unstable goverment" that Abbott used to oust labor is firmly directed at them and Labor will be sure to go hard at them for it..
the conservitive think they are all powerful and mighty but the fact is most of us are growing tired of the conservitives and see our country being left behind on the world stage because of them.. while Brexit and Trump gave the right confidence the fact that both have been facepalms even by those who thought they were good ideas at the time is seeing the Left look more desirable... if only the Left had a decent leader to take hold of the opportunity

Bill Shorten has a funny head and an annoying voice.
People simply don't want him on TV more than he already is.

Yeah I agree.
Voted Yes myself. But I got the feeling you were classed as a backward thinking caveman if you made it public you endorsed the No Vote.
It's not a crime to be conservative or even to be ignorant.
Was a bit of stupidity/bullying by both sides but I think for a ( so called) forward moving intelligent country the YES was always gonna win.
Was a shame we had to spend $120 million to end up at an obvious conclusion.
That's a lot of money that could have gone to funding education,hospitals etc.
look i have no problem with people voting no ... but if you are voting no have a decent reason for it .. my grandmother a devout catholic voted no because her faith see's it as a sin , my mates parents voted no cause their Muslim faith had them believing it was wrong... but when you get people saying they are voting no cause they dont like "****s" or you get people saying its harmful for kids , or if we let gays marry what going to stop marriage to you pet dog blah blah blah then i reckon you are fair game to be ridiculed for you dumbarse opinion

Yep the hard right think that Trump was sign of people returning to old school conservative values but the US has it's left behind masses who just wanted to smash the place up.... probably helped Trump win. I reckon there will be a generation of social change coming soon. They said 3 out 4 americans said they would be happy with a socialist system when they asked millennials in a survey. That's unheard of in a country where you were black listed or jailed for having communist sympathies. If you are young here you are shut out of the property market and just work to pay rent and bills.

I met some French guys who were trying to get permanent residency here, they reckon that France is the same, over 35 you are cruising if you own property and have a job but youth have degrees they can't use. All the jobs are the bottom of the service industry with no scope.
oh yes change is coming and when it does come its going to be big, the world is being held back and the people are growing tired of the rich old white dudes screwing everyone over. GenX are sick of being told that they are lazy and expect too much , GenY are getting furious that they are branded lazy entitled brats and both are sick of building the baby boomers retirement plans..

People should be allowed to vote NO whatever their reason, logical reasons or not, and without ridicule or bullying tactics. Simple as that.

Glad it was a resounding Yes.......but it annoyed the hell out me the tactics used. Nasty doesn't describe fully how each side acted.

oh yes change is coming and when it does come its going to be big, the world is being held back and the people are growing tired of the rich old white dudes screwing everyone over. GenX are sick of being told that they are lazy and expect too much , GenY are getting furious that they are branded lazy entitled brats and both are sick of building the baby boomers retirement plans..

What a bulls..t post that is......us baby boomers planned our own retirement, your generation had stuff all to do with it.

edit: with apologies to my Saints "in-laws" still love you all.:)

Should never have been a vote.
Got nothing to do with the government or anyone else who marries who. But we all now know the price of getting over special interest groups who lobby and fund political parties. $120mil
The whole thing is a sham.
Your tax dollars hard at work.
At least we got the right outcome.

What a bulls..t post that is......us baby boomers planned our own retirement, your generation had stuff all to do with it.
planned your retirment off the back of pushing everyone else out of the housing market... great plan buy up homes with equity from the $700k home you purchased for $30k back in the day then buy 3 more homes that you can rent out at inflated rates to genY... then with the money made from that you slide in and blow GenX out of the water by banging on an extra $50k on a home you can negative gear to lower your tax ...
brilliant .. then while you sit on your retirement fund getting fatter and fatter you complain that if we want a home then we should get a better job.. so we go to school to get better qualified only to get gouged by uni debts so when we do graduate we head off to the job market but you bastards are still sitting in those good jobs cause you "wanna hold out 3 more years just to puff up my super a lil more" so we take up retail or service jobs to you know pay off our uni debts.. then you Boomers complain that the prices are to high so you cut penalty rates so your coffee doesnt cost 10c more on a sunday..

People should be allowed to vote NO whatever their reason, logical reasons or not, and without ridicule or bullying tactics. Simple as that.

Glad it was a resounding Yes.......but it annoyed the hell out me the tactics used. Nasty doesn't describe fully how each side acted.
if you are an idiot you deserve to be called an idiot ... religous freedoms are fine but if you are hanging on to the "im just old fashoined" view then you are out of date and irrellivant

look i have no problem with people voting no ... but if you are voting no have a decent reason for it .. my grandmother a devout catholic voted no because her faith see's it as a sin , my mates parents voted no cause their Muslim faith had them believing it was wrong... but when you get people saying they are voting no cause they dont like "****s" or you get people saying its harmful for kids , or if we let gays marry what going to stop marriage to you pet dog blah blah blah then i reckon you are fair game to be ridiculed for you dumbarse opinion
If we didn't have stupid people the clever people would just be average people.
Free speech is great no matter how ridiculous it seems sometimes.

If we didn't have stupid people the clever people would just be average people.
Free speech is great no matter how ridiculous it seems sometimes.
im all for free speech but im also for fredom to call out a knuckle head when they are saying knuckle head statments

planned your retirment off the back of pushing everyone else out of the housing market... great plan buy up homes with equity from the $700k home you purchased for $30k back in the day then buy 3 more homes that you can rent out at inflated rates to genY... then with the money made from that you slide in and blow GenX out of the water by banging on an extra $50k on a home you can negative gear to lower your tax ...
brilliant .. then while you sit on your retirement fund getting fatter and fatter you complain that if we want a home then we should get a better job.. so we go to school to get better qualified only to get gouged by uni debts so when we do graduate we head off to the job market but you bastards are still sitting in those good jobs cause you "wanna hold out 3 more years just to puff up my super a lil more" so we take up retail or service jobs to you know pay off our uni debts.. then you Boomers complain that the prices are to high so you cut penalty rates so your coffee doesnt cost 10c more on a sunday..
Nothing wrong with a bit of anti establishment rage:thumbsu:

But I got my house from doing shit loads of overtime to pay for my deposit . I purchased it quite a bit before Melbourne's property boom. When I sell it I will probably make 4 or 5 times more than what I paid for it.
I can do what ever the hell I want to do with that money.

I think the point is that young people who enter the market need an even larger deposit and would have to work even more overtime to get there, as the cost of housing has outstripped wages at an almost exponentially increasing rate in the last twenty five years. EDIT: If you put that against the backdrop of tougher lending requirements and the cost of higher education, then I think we can understand why some young people are mad as heck. We would have been.

I came across to Australia in 1998 and the banks were almost handing out loans at the airport back then. An average 3x2 in Perth cost about $180k. Easily worth $480k now. So I'm ahead of the ledger .... but somebody's paying. I don't think it was the generation before me either.

Unless you are a high earner, inherited something, I really can't see how people in their 20s on standard incomes can break into the Melbourne property market.

I am planning to get married soon and hoping to land a job in regional Vic following that, can buy a lot lot more for the money there.

beer_458616.jpg

This is a terrific beer on a hot day...

But I got my house from doing shit loads of overtime to pay for my deposit . I purchased it quite a bit before Melbourne's property boom. When I sell it I will probably make 4 or 5 times more than what I paid for it.
i also worked to get my home i worked rolling 12hr night and day shifts with public holidays and weekends meaning nothing i did that in 2004 before the boom and only just got in.. i got guys doing that in the pilbara region down the bottom of mine pits who are still falling short of getting into the market.. look im not saying all boomers are the devil ... just the crap we are in now is due to the actions of that percentage of greedy bastard baby boomers.. my parents purchased the family home for $35k and my old man worked shift work for 40 years to get to where he is comfortable now and full respect to that but on the other end i work with a bloke who is on a very handsome salary he owns 5 homes that he rents 3 out to uni students he keeps one empty generating a loss for tax and lives in the another he could have easily retired 3 years ago but is hanging on cause he wants to build his super a bit more... this guy spends 5hrs a day watching his stocks move up and down is a tight as a bongo drum with his money and berates the younger guys because they are on their phone during their break.. he does the bare minimum of work cause hes only here to build that nest egg his job could easily be filled by a younger person but he wont budge while he is on a good wicket

Plenty of Zealots on the no side.
The others should have show that they were better than that.

Does anyone have an online link for the Australia v Honduras game?
Would massively appreciate it.

i also worked to get my home i worked rolling 12hr night and day shifts with public holidays and weekends meaning nothing i did that in 2004 before the boom and only just got in.. i got guys doing that in the pilbara region down the bottom of mine pits who are still falling short of getting into the market.. look im not saying all boomers are the devil ... just the crap we are in now is due to the actions of that percentage of greedy bastard baby boomers.. my parents purchased the family home for $35k and my old man worked shift work for 40 years to get to where he is comfortable now and full respect to that but on the other end i work with a bloke who is on a very handsome salary he owns 5 homes that he rents 3 out to uni students he keeps one empty generating a loss for tax and lives in the another he could have easily retired 3 years ago but is hanging on cause he wants to build his super a bit more... this guy spends 5hrs a day watching his stocks move up and down is a tight as a bongo drum with his money and berates the younger guys because they are on their phone during their break.. he does the bare minimum of work cause hes only here to build that nest egg his job could easily be filled by a younger person but he wont budge while he is on a good wicket

"I work with a bloke..''

Statue bro?

;)

You are entitled to do it, the system was set up wrong though with overseas investment the real culprit of the housing over heating. The weakening of capital gains and negative gearing made it attractive to commoditise real estate too. Unfortunately we are all in a big ponzi scheme that is likely to crash at some point. I have done well out of real estate so I'm a complete hypocrite but it's much harder for the kids.

When I bought my first house it was $160,000 at 16% and the electricity, gas etc were all government owned and cheap. Rents were cheap, wages were about half of what we get now and the price of houses has gone up to around 2000% in the same time.

The campaigners should stop eating $15 dollar egg and avo breakfasts to make up the difference though. The reason pensions and other government safe guards are going is because corporations and individuals won't pay their tax share. Nike for example pay tax of about 35% on 95cents on a pair of $120 shoes. Apple off- shore all there tax obligations and then invoice to look like they are paying heaps in tax havens.

Automation and the loss of manufacturing and even office work will leave a lot of people dissatisfied and angry, that will cause change of some type. They could do universal basic wages except that the corporations don't want to pay tax to hand back something to buy their stuff. They will wait until places like China or India get rich instead and sell to them when they stuff our economies though. Globalisation is only good for a small group of people in the west.

Does anyone have an online link for the Australia v Honduras game?
Would massively appreciate it.

Are you outside Oz? It's on channel 9 free to air here.