Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Reference to "white" guys is more a copy of USA mentality and way of talking.
Foreigner "Dirty White Boy"
Offspring "Pretty fly for a white boy"

Traditionally its been sort of a reference to a more lucrative upbringing.

I don't think the term is really reflective of Australian culture.
Shouldn't use it. Take off the baseball hat and chuck on a footy jumper.

" Known as such considering that the majority of political leaders and effective individuals in the united states "

I think it's still pretty apt in Australia. My wife was a lawyer for the last 20 years and we go to heaps of corporate events and the majority of positions of power and influence in the corporate world, politics and even sport are represented by middle aged or older white guys. It's a stereotype but it's a stereotype for a reason. The people who make decisions are from a very small pool too, the AFL guys know all the politicians and the politicians are all career pollies or ex-lawyers and they are all heavily connected in the corporate world. They have a fluid movement into corporate jobs once their political career ends.

honestly i think its even more relevant here then anywhere else.... in the US there is at least a small representation of non-white older males in position of power (i class the orange president as white cause the orange is not natural)..
i saw an interesting stat the other day saying that currently there are more CEO or higher with the first name John then there is female CEO's.. i reckon Australia would have one of the least diverse upper class in the western world.. i think as a nation we do have an issue with strong outspoken people of darker skin.. i remember talking to an aboriginal fella about this a few years back during the Adam Goodes saga and i reckon he made an interesting point had Martin Luther King Jr been Australian the uncomfortable white folk would most likely have called him a flog as well, he reckons white australia has a big problem with a mirror being held up to their actions ... its an interesting concept and i kinda think he has a point

honestly i think its even more relevant here then anywhere else.... in the US there is at least a small representation of non-white older males in position of power (i class the orange president as white cause the orange is not natural)..
i saw an interesting stat the other day saying that currently there are more CEO or higher with the first name John then there is female CEO's.. i reckon Australia would have one of the least diverse upper class in the western world.. i think as a nation we do have an issue with strong outspoken people of darker skin.. i remember talking to an aboriginal fella about this a few years back during the Adam Goodes saga and i reckon he made an interesting point had Martin Luther King Jr been Australian the uncomfortable white folk would most likely have called him a flog as well, he reckons white australia has a big problem with a mirror being held up to their actions ... its an interesting concept and i kinda think he has a point

There is something so depressing about the corporate guys with their trophy wives and their old boys attitude. One of my wifes friends was married until recently to a guy who's a partner at a big 4 corporate law firm. He's a flog of the highest order. At their wedding he wore his old boy tie and had video of his semi pro sporting achievements playing on loop, he talked about himself the whole time in his speech and his family talked him up. They hardly had time to notice someone was actually going to marry him.
He has 2 kids who he hardly cares about and is close friends with a whole bunch of the AFL hierarchy, he ended up finding a younger woman and pissing off my wifes friend, he sent all his money off shore and she got jack shit even though they lived off her money and were apparently saving his. He knows Lethlean and that stuff was his bread and butter, he sleazed all over town with female junior lawyers. I caught him all over a girl who was about 20 years younger than him, groping her in public while married. He's just everything objectionable in humanity in one package and he's pretty much a clone of most of his peers.

Of course they are mostly White guys, it would be a statistical anomaly if they weren't .
We didn't DO the bringing slaves from Africa thing. So kind of irrelevant.
I also think its ridiculous to try to categorise other races who may be darker but not real dark so are they white or not. Newsflash Irrelevant.

Australians don't normally refer to people as "Black" ( though they may unfortunately have other derogatory terms ).
In the USA there are some 13% of the population descended from the forced migration.

Jackie Lambie is Indigenous.... is she black? Do we decide that Somalian refugee's , Indigenous Australian and Indians should be grouped together?

Much better to find a different term to categorise people if you want to categorise people I think.

Boomers are arguably the most selfish generation of modern time.

They only care about now with total disregard for future generations.

Apart from climate destruction and obscene waste of resources... what will their legacy be for future generations?
Plastic.

Of course they are mostly White guys, it would be a statistical anomaly if they weren't .
We didn't DO the bringing slaves from Africa thing. So kind of irrelevant.
I also think its ridiculous to try to categorise other races who may be darker but not real dark so are they white or not. Newsflash Irrelevant.

Australians don't normally refer to people as "Black" ( though they may unfortunately have other derogatory terms ).
In the USA there are some 13% of the population descended from the forced migration.

Jackie Lambie is Indigenous.... is she black? Do we decide that Somalian refugee's , Indigenous Australian and Indians should be grouped together?

Much better to find a different term to categorise people if you want to categorise people I think.

I think that's a different issue though. People who have had a history where their race was used to negatively stereotype them or even prejudice them are sensitive to names that could be taken as derogatory. Old white guys aren't too worried about that term, I'm a middle aged white guy and I don't care if people call me white.

The white male as a leader is not a statistical anomaly if you look at the corporate world now. My wife has worked for some big firms and diversity in the law is very common now. You would be surprised how much diversity there is, same in medicine. It's harder to find a medical student that is anglo Australian now. In positions of power though, as in CEOs, partner structures etc it would be 95% old, white, private school old boy Aussies from personal observation.

American Terms such as "White Trash" are still racist. It implies a low standard of White person. A White person living l
I think that's a different issue though. People who have had a history where their race was used to negatively stereotype them or even prejudice them are sensitive to names that could be taken as derogatory. Old white guys aren't too worried about that term, I'm a middle aged white guy and I don't care if people call me white.

The white male as a leader is not a statistical anomaly if you look at the corporate world now. My wife has worked for some big firms and diversity in the law is very common now. You would be surprised how much diversity there is, same in medicine. It's harder to find a medical student that is anglo Australian now. In positions of power though, as in CEOs, partner structures etc it would be 95% old, white, private school old boy Aussies from personal observation.

So what's a "white"? If they guy is Jewish do we count that as white? Greek? Asian? Indian? Do we really need to categorise people into White and Other?
I get that there are a lot of non Anglo med students, but they don't graduate and get put in charge of the Royal Children's.
Not every old "White" guy comes from a privileged background. Gerry Ryan? Lindsay Fox?
It actually makes more sense to say that "most people sitting on boards come from a similar private school background ". Rather than saying "Old White "

American Terms such as "White Trash" are still racist. It implies a low standard of White person. A White person living l

So what's a "white"? If they guy is Jewish do we count that as white? Greek? Asian? Indian? Do we really need to categorise people into White and Other?
I get that there are a lot of non Anglo med students, but they don't graduate and get put in charge of the Royal Children's.
Not every old "White" guy comes from a privileged background. Gerry Ryan? Lindsay Fox?
It actually makes more sense to say that "most people sitting on boards come from a similar private school background ". Rather than saying "Old White "

I don't disagree with the principal and eventually people will probably stop giving a shit as much as we mix it up more and more. White trash is double prejudiced as is suggests that some how white people are usually at a higher standard as others. It suggests that some how poverty is a thing for people of other races.

I live in Caulfield and there is still a very big Jewish population where we are. there are a few Jewish families that go to my kids school and they are non practicing and you would imagine that they were just normal anglo Aussies. A few pretty liberal minded people have slipped up in front of them and said offensive anti-semitic stereotype things about Jews in front of them. It's interesting how we all have our own prejudices or racial biases that we don't notice.

Anyway, Australia is probably as good as anywhere for our acceptance of minorities and we are pretty fair minded people generally. The power structures will change in time but right now they are still pretty old boys club. If you look at politics, it's amazing how many come from the same schools on both sides of the fence.

I only object to skin color references if they are beings used to infer behaviors. For example dark skinned people drink too much, or can't speak English properly, or can't drive or are bad at math.

I actually get called black/brown a lot (especially by children and oft to the mortification of their parents), and I don't take any offence to it if it's being used in a descriptive context. Because it's accurate. I know most non-European cultures have a term for white people. In Fiji we call white skinned people 'Ky-va-langi' (phonetic spelling) which means Englander, regardless of where they are from. Maoris have the generic term Pakeha, Africans use Mzungu and so on.

Let's be clear about one thing though. Europeans don't have a monopoly on prejudice. It's prevalent in every culture. Europeans though have, by and large, been the the biggest offender at wielding military and economic power to enshrine their prejudices and subjugate (even obliterate) populations throughout the world. Sometimes the roles get reversed. But if we are horrified by the likes of Mugabe and his regime, we should shit our daks when we review Australian history.

On the whole most racism that I have encountered in Australia derives from an inherited ignorance, and not a sociopathic hatred.

I just wish that we could discipline ourselves to STOP seeing skin color all together.

Haha I just was on the tram up Flinders St standing next to Jake Stringer and one of his tatted up mates. Poor bloke reeked of piss, said he was going to see Drake tonight? That's what I thought I heard anyway. Is Drake performing?

Bloke was munted either way, and a lot smaller than I thought he was.

I only object to skin color references if they are beings used to infer behaviors. For example dark skinned people drink too much, or can't speak English properly, or can't drive or are bad at math.

I actually get called black/brown a lot (especially by children and oft to the mortification of their parents), and I don't take any offence to it if it's being used in a descriptive context. Because it's accurate. I know most non-European cultures have a term for white people. In Fiji we call white skinned people 'Ky-va-langi' (phonetic spelling) which means Englander, regardless of where they are from. Maoris have the generic term Pakeha, Africans use Mzungu and so on.

Let's be clear about one thing though. Europeans don't have a monopoly on prejudice. It's prevalent in every culture. Europeans though have, by and large, been the the biggest offender at wielding military and economic power to enshrine their prejudices and subjugate (even obliterate) populations throughout the world. Sometimes the roles get reversed. But if we are horrified by the likes of Mugabe and his regime, we should shit our daks when we review Australian history.

On the whole most racism that I have encountered in Australia derives from an inherited ignorance, and not a sociopathic hatred.

I just wish that we could discipline ourselves to STOP seeing skin color all together.
i think for the most part we are getting closer to seeing the person not the race but there are pockets of people who think that this kind of movment is political correctness and are fighting it .. ive had this conversation many times with people about the differance between us becoming more accepting and less hurtful being differant to political correctness.
and again i will generalise but its the older boomer generation who are the ones that are most vocal about the world being too politically correct and how its not like the good old days when you could call a "****" a "****" when you could call a "wog" a "wog" so on and so on..

i think for the most part we are getting closer to seeing the person not the race but there are pockets of people who think that this kind of movment is political correctness and are fighting it .. ive had this conversation many times with people about the differance between us becoming more accepting and less hurtful being differant to political correctness.
and again i will generalise but its the older boomer generation who are the ones that are most vocal about the world being too politically correct and how its not like the good old days when you could call a "****" a "****" when you could call a "wog" a "wog" so on and so on..
Dont know if i can trust you dude.
With that imported suit ,monocle and pipe you look like one of those old, rich, out of touch with society type sharks:drunk:

a4b12eaac797bbcfadc9bbc0e330184e.jpg

Whoa. Is this for real? Elon Musk is going to be the greatest human being of our time I think.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I think these kind of baby boomers are the culprits who destroy the economy, not the working ones.

https://newrepublic.com/article/145813/cause-consequences-retail-apocalypse

I work for a place that used to be owned by KKR.
I detest their operation.
Imagine you owned a pumber business.
They decide you are worth more than what everyone else thinks , they take out a loan , buy you , and make your business pay the loan before you can draw wages.
Lucky we went pear shaped last decade and someone decent bought out the debt.

a4b12eaac797bbcfadc9bbc0e330184e.jpg

Whoa. Is this for real? Elon Musk is going to be the greatest human being of our time I think.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

You get to charge it using the most expensive electricity in the world. An efficient diesel would be similar running cost and just as good for the environment.

The people across the road have six cars but parking spaces only for three.
Three cars are always parked on the street.
These are the 21yo’s lowered V8’s: two late model sedans and a ute.
They’re the love of his life (I fear live-in girlfriend is a poor last).
He’s got a lot of money invested in these cars.
Each one can be heard a mile away.
But none of the above impacts me.
What does intrigue me is his insistence on letting the engines idle for five minutes before he moves them, or goes up the street for his smokes, booze or pizza.
The idling lasts longer than his smoke or tinny runs.

Why does he feel the need to let his cars idle?
Because most engine wear happens on a cold motor

Oh but I run synthetic oil..........up to temp is it???

Always warm your car up

You get to charge it using the most expensive electricity in the world. An efficient diesel would be similar running cost and just as good for the environment.

That's why they need renewables contributing a lot more. Anyway the idea is to be less carbon polluting, I don't think diesels do that too well. Diesel is dirty fuel.

I don't think the price of the electricity is the key issue. If he's delivering clean energy at the front end and then smart enough to deliver high quality engineering that feeds off that at the back end then he's built himself a money printing machine.