Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

By the way, can you all confirm you speak with the famous Australian rising inflection, so that everything you say sounds like a question? :D
There is actually quite a bit of variation in Australian English, but it's subtle. If you lived here and travelled about a bit you'd pick up differences here and there. For a while there I was really good at picking Taswegians and Brisvegans just by the way they spoke. Adelaidians often used to sound a bit British. Just a bit though.
It could be changing these days though, I haven't been back much for about 10 years. I feel like we grew up on mostly British TV shows when I was young, but today kids get so much American input things might be different.
Worked with lots of Brits in my last job. Used to get really irritated by the way they kept saying "innit?" on the end of everything and greeting each other with "You right?". In Australia, that'd be like greeting someone with "What's your problem?". Still the Americans kept greeting with "Sup?". Couldn't bring myself to reply with "Sup." the way they did.
Still, pretty happy that, despite the internet, English hasn't homogenised too much.

nah they were differant seasons .... Jonny told the big lie in Pearl Islands .. Rupert made the failed bunker in his second go on the show in Survivor Allstars ...
that bunker was a total bonehead idea ... digging in the sant to make a cabbin on the beach with the tide to come in ... seriously such a stupid idea
Oh yeah! thats right, thanks Trav. Legit was a dumb idea.
Thanks for putting names to faces too mate - my memory, she aint so good :)

did you get into the Australian one?
i enjoyed it but the first one was over filled with hungry jacks brand placement .. i mean your in the jungle living off rice and fish and every second reward is HJ's....
i think they fixed it for the second series as it wasnt as noticable .... the third series should be interesting pitting sports stars against underdog every day life people ...

the other show i do enjoy is the Amazing Race... it like the dream competion for my wife and myself :)

loved the first aussie one but mainly because of the novelty of it being aussie

did the 3rd season air last night?

it makes money .. he cares little about the content ....
the thing is now though the way the content is flooded into the market it becomes popular not because its loved but because its what we are force fed ...
maybe its cause im getting older and my political leanings more towards the left but i find myself bar the footy avoiding anything shown on Seven and spend most of my viewing watching SBS on demand
I know I'm grumpy but some of the garbage on TV is just beyond belief.

I catch 5 minutes here and there and think surely people don't really go on like that.

I truth I don't watch much other than some lifestyle, ABC and live sport.

I would ditch fox tomorrow but that means no baseball, football, NFL, NBA, golf etc.

I think netflix kills fox on entertainment and price but there's no sport.

I catch 5 minutes here and there and think surely people don't really go on like that.

I would ditch fox tomorrow but that means no baseball, football, NFL, NBA, golf etc.

I get everything on my Qbox except consistent AFL (Sometimes i get it through a Canadian channel) if I could get consistency Foxtel would be gone.

spot on... i remember from a young age my father got us kids reading the newspaper.. his belief was that in order to be successful you have to have the ability to converse with people on a number of subjects often that you had little interest in but to know the basics of it and for him the newspaper was a great source of information across a wide range of subjects... now days news reports are split into three categories
1. mindless gossip
2. agenda driven propaganda
3. not so subtle advertising

there is litterally no value at all in the news be it the paper or TV or even on the net... if the goal was to make us stupider its working.... the funny thing is our generation get bagged out for being self absorbed and not interested in anything yet the generation before us are the ones filling our airwaves with rubish to promote these traits ..

When I was younger there was something called investigative journalism. Tomorrow the labor party is debating supporting a bill that the Libs have put up to jail whistleblowers and journalists if they get in the way. It's alright though it's only 25 years.

These days journalism is Op-ed pieces and sourced news from a single origin like Rueters for overseas stuff. Murdoch keeps his papers because most of his financial interests are in investments and the political clout is worth more than the losses the papers make. He sold off the profitable parts of FOX. Kevin Rudd went to Murdoch who calls himself the "kingmaker" and got his backing so he could be elected. The Koch brothers in the US spend so much money on manipulating the political system that the US government spend less than them.

News is awful and really adds nothing these days. I'm ECO on politics and news these days. It's just depressing. There is little to do to stop them, I support organisations like Get-up because they don't align themselves with the major parties and actually disrupt the political system a little bit at least. The whole democratic process is just a way to make people feel good about their limited choices.

The Greens are disappointing too they have some well meaning members but on a whole side with their political interests instead of common sense. The one guy I rated was Scott Ludlum but he's gone.

Oh yeah! thats right, thanks Trav. Legit was a dumb idea.
Thanks for putting names to faces too mate - my memory, she aint so good :)
hahah i think i just prove my nerdness on the show ... litterally my head is filled with usless survivor info but you reckon i can remeber my wifes mobile phone number without hitting search on the phone :)

When I was younger there was something called investigative journalism. Tomorrow the labor party is debating supporting a bill that the Libs have put up to jail whistleblowers and journalists if they get in the way. It's alright though it's only 25 years.

These days journalism is Op-ed pieces and sourced news from a single origin like Rueters for overseas stuff. Murdoch keeps his papers because most of his financial interests are in investments and the political clout is worth more than the losses the papers make. He sold off the profitable parts of FOX. Kevin Rudd went to Murdoch who calls himself the "kingmaker" and got his backing so he could be elected. The Koch brothers in the US spend so much money on manipulating the political system that the US government spend less than them.

News is awful and really adds nothing these days. I'm ECO on politics and news these days. It's just depressing. There is little to do to stop them, I support organisations like Get-up because they don't align themselves with the major parties and actually disrupt the political system a little bit at least. The whole democratic process is just a way to make people feel good about their limited choices.

The Greens are disappointing too they have some well meaning members but on a whole side with their political interests instead of common sense. The one guy I rated was Scott Ludlum but he's gone.
Scott was fantastic ... Jordan Steel is another quality person ... he gets shouted down cause he promotes the younger demographic but he is a breath of fresh air ... Sarah Hanson Young is now days more concerned in her own popularity then actually doing anything .. her weekly spit fight with Phanson on gutter morning TV highlights this ...

I'm with you Mr Grumpy.

Fta is crap these days.

Netflix and SBS on Demand.

7 for footy and no time for anything else TBH.

And this place, sadly...

Scott was fantastic ... Jordan Steel is another quality person ... he gets shouted down cause he promotes the younger demographic but he is a breath of fresh air ... Sarah Hanson Young is now days more concerned in her own popularity then actually doing anything .. her weekly spit fight with Phanson on gutter morning TV highlights this ...

scott was literally the last hope of having anyone capable of understanding very basic IT concepts. the rest are completely inept and you wonder why we get the outcomes we get.

i still shudder thinking about the likes of Banaby Tone Katter Bernardi Pyne Scomo ect ect making decisions on the direction of technology in this country when all of them would rely on their office clerks to rotate their PDF's for them so the dont have to turn their heads to the side to read them ....

I'm with you Mr Grumpy.

Fta is crap these days.

Netflix and SBS on Demand.

7 for footy and no time for anything else TBH.

And this place, sadly...
Download the free apps 7plus, SBS on demand etc.

Buy a Chromecast $44 plug it in set it up and then pick and choose what and when, casting from your phone or the kids Xbox.

7 plus have these two dags on a fishing show called big angry fish, great NZ scenery, great fishing and their amusing.

I would rather give myself an uppercut than watch some of that rubbish, I read more than I watch.

I very rarely watch any television now. The TV is currently on more at the moment, due to the World Cup, but I really only watch the news now, unless there's a series on BBC 4 (Scandinavian noir for example) which I really want to see. I just can't abide soaps, talent shows and those fly-on-the-all types things. Much prefer reading.

We're having our best summer in years and it's forecast to get hotter this week, with temperatures up to 30 degrees; and whilst the World Cup is on too. Magic.

Download the free apps 7plus, SBS on demand etc.

Buy a Chromecast $44 plug it in set it up and then pick and choose what and when, casting from your phone or the kids Xbox.

7 plus have these two dags on a fishing show called big angry fish, great NZ scenery, great fishing and their amusing.

I would rather give myself an uppercut than watch some of that rubbish, I read more than I watch.
i must say since the catch up apps came on line and we got our fetch TV box to set record our shows the only TV we watch live in our house is the footy and even that i gotta say Channel 7 are killing Friday night footy so i generally (outside of a saints game) turn off before half time ..
i love the movie selections on SBS on demand they got some fantastic movies ... especially their Nordic Noir range..

if you are looking for something to get hooked on i seriously recommend checking out Fortitude

I very rarely watch any television now. The TV is currently on more at the moment, due to the World Cup, but I really only watch the news now, unless there's a series on BBC 4 (Scandinavian noir for example) which I really want to see. I just can't abide soaps, talent shows and those fly-on-the-all types things. Much prefer reading.
im loving the scandinavian shows at the moment ....

antoher show that had us hooked for series 1 and m hanging for season 2 is Hollands hope ... the dutch breaking bad with a bit more of a sense of humour ...

i still shudder thinking about the likes of Banaby Tone Katter Bernardi Pyne Scomo ect ect making decisions on the direction of technology in this country when all of them would rely on their office clerks to rotate their PDF's for them so the dont have to turn their heads to the side to read them ....

yeah its ****ing horrible. even bill shortens obsession with STEM is hilarious, the guy has literally zero understanding on what he's talking about or the industry. it's almost like if he says STEM enough he'll transform the very fabric of the country its self.

im loving the scandinavian shows at the moment ....

antoher show that had us hooked for series 1 and m hanging for season 2 is Hollands hope ... the dutch breaking bad with a bit more of a sense of humour ...

god damn they're good at making tv

By the way, if any Australians have been wondering what Brexit is all about, this guy will give you the general idea of the debate. Straight from the pages of the Daily Mail etc. These are our equivalent of your Pauline Hanson crackpot.

LOL the ****er sounds like Blackadder in the first series.

Just saw this kid on sunrise, can the club get the lad in and treat him for being a good human?

At the age of 46, I aspire to one day achieve something even close to what that child has done with his short life. So grateful to have people like this in our world, the Saints are very lucky he has identified as a St Kilda fan. Something must be done at the club to recognise his achievement.

There is actually quite a bit of variation in Australian English, but it's subtle. If you lived here and travelled about a bit you'd pick up differences here and there. For a while there I was really good at picking Taswegians and Brisvegans just by the way they spoke. Adelaidians often used to sound a bit British. Just a bit though.
It could be changing these days though, I haven't been back much for about 10 years. I feel like we grew up on mostly British TV shows when I was young, but today kids get so much American input things might be different.
Worked with lots of Brits in my last job. Used to get really irritated by the way they kept saying "innit?" on the end of everything and greeting each other with "You right?". In Australia, that'd be like greeting someone with "What's your problem?". Still the Americans kept greeting with "Sup?". Couldn't bring myself to reply with "Sup." the way they did.
Still, pretty happy that, despite the internet, English hasn't homogenised too much.
Big memories of my time in Tokyo doing the same thing. I hadn't been around many Americans prior to that job, now having worked and spent time with many, I have a much more positive view of the USA. I think generally speaking that the New Worlds of the USA and Australia create a population with a much more positive and openminded outlook than those from the stodgy established cultures in Europe and so on, thinking of the UK and France but could easily be any number of other places.

I watch zero FTA TV these days, it's not just because it's all in French! It's all garbage here too, but I have a few British mates here with UK satellites and their TV seems even worse. I don't have much time for UK culture these days, bar watching Liverpool FC. I have Netflix my Saints membership gives me the WatchAFL channel for the footy and watch a few things on YouTube; thats enough for me. The news is the same as it ever was; take it all with a pinch of salt.
French news is funny, guaranteed to have one report about food every day, and then of course there's the nightly 3 hour debate about anything at all; ****ers are obsessed with bloody food and arguing.

Big memories of my time in Tokyo doing the same thing. I hadn't been around many Americans prior to that job, now having worked and spent time with many, I have a much more positive view of the USA. I think generally speaking that the New Worlds of the USA and Australia create a population with a much more positive and openminded outlook than those from the stodgy established cultures in Europe and so on, thinking of the UK and France but could easily be any number of other places.

It's funny, I have lots of international friends. The French people I know are the happiest most good natured people I know. I was out with my US mates the other night and they are as down beat as ****. One is from New York and has a very pessimistic outlook. They are lefties though and see the Trump regime as the dark years.

I know plenty of Aussies that are pretty bleak about the future too. It's just a bit of a mixed bag where ever you're from.