Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

It's funny, I have lots of international friends. The French people I know are the happiest most good natured people I know. I was out with my US mates the other night and they are as down beat as ****. One is from New York and has a very pessimistic outlook. They are lefties though and see the Trump regime as the dark years.

I know plenty of Aussies that are pretty bleak about the future too. It's just a bit of a mixed bag where ever you're from.
Your French buddies are happy because they are not in France! I think people are generally a bit more open minded and happy when they have travelled a bit.

I know one who loves back in Paris too though and he lived here for about 5 years and saw more of Australia than anyone I know. He's also an honorary Aussie, he's always putting Aussie music up on Facebook so he can get it out to his French mates and putting up all his nostalgic pics of scenic bits of Australia. He's almost cringy with it. He's got a photo of him and John Butler sitting round a camp fire somewhere in outback WA even.

yeah its ******* horrible. even bill shortens obsession with STEM is hilarious, the guy has literally zero understanding on what he's talking about or the industry. it's almost like if he says STEM enough he'll transform the very fabric of the country its self.

There is a point to reviewing the schooling system though, I mean I'm only low 30's and for a few years now it's been "most of what you were taught is wrong, dated, useless or otherwise" and to then basically waste 13 + years on it is a bit disheartening, yet if you have anything power tool related I can probably fix it, teach you how to do it, explain how it works and the composition of its components, what it is used for how it is used and how the job can be completed.

All based off an incomplete now outdated diploma I never finished because health issues.:thumbsu:

Then I hear someone with an actual debt from their supposed success instead of my subsidised 1 variable income fam schooling and wonder if really we're creating something tangible instead of simply pissing into the wind long term.

Anywho, just wanted to pipe up that we have 3 TV's and only one is even connected to FTA, in my 4 weeks in England a fair chunk of it was rehashed rerun shit so was bored mostly, was just fun hearing all the "weird" accents floating around and people identifying as compass points.

I know plenty of Aussies that are pretty bleak about the future too. It's just a bit of a mixed bag where ever you're from.

Or where you are, for the past 20 odd years for instance the mood in town has gone from one of familiarity and comfort to one of negativity and resentment.

I mean, the sheer fact that I've now had 5 groups of people as neighbours and all 5 have had cops arrive with drug abuse and threats of physical violence is kinda proof to the point, where previously we'd walk over for as cup of tea, a scone and a chin waggle then play cricket in the street with wheelie bins.

i must say since the catch up apps came on line and we got our fetch TV box to set record our shows the only TV we watch live in our house is the footy and even that i gotta say Channel 7 are killing Friday night footy so i generally (outside of a saints game) turn off before half time ..
i love the movie selections on SBS on demand they got some fantastic movies ... especially their Nordic Noir range..

if you are looking for something to get hooked on i seriously recommend checking out Fortitude
Nordic noir absolutely rocks.

I reckon I've binged just about every series lol.

About to start grey zone.

Counterpart is a much watch!

Cardinal and Bosch also great.

Who needs soaps and drama when you have Big Footy?

Best reality show ever...

I very rarely watch any television now. The TV is currently on more at the moment, due to the World Cup, but I really only watch the news now, unless there's a series on BBC 4 (Scandinavian noir for example) which I really want to see. I just can't abide soaps, talent shows and those fly-on-the-all types things. Much prefer reading.

Big memories of my time in Tokyo doing the same thing. I hadn't been around many Americans prior to that job, now having worked and spent time with many, I have a much more positive view of the USA. I think generally speaking that the New Worlds of the USA and Australia create a population with a much more positive and openminded outlook than those from the stodgy established cultures in Europe and so on, thinking of the UK and France but could easily be any number of other places.
I know what you mean, but in terms of sexuality, taking care of the environment and other things Europeans are pretty open to change and progression.
It's hard to generalise really, each country has it's advanced and backward points - but being an expat yourself I'm sure you're aware of that.
Japanese...jesus. Not just 20, but 30-40 years behind in some areas. But you know, fighting robots and then there's cross-dressers hosting major TV programs e.t.c.
On TV, I used to avoid Japanese TV - so much of it is bad beyond belief. Once you know which shows to watch though, I'd never miss some of those shows even if I returned home. I guess the same could be said for TV anywhere.

I know what you mean, but in terms of sexuality, taking care of the environment and other things Europeans are pretty open to change and progression.
It's hard to generalise really, each country has it's advanced and backward points - but being an expat yourself I'm sure you're aware of that.
Japanese...jesus. Not just 20, but 30-40 years behind in some areas. But you know, fighting robots and then there's cross-dressers hosting major TV programs e.t.c.
On TV, I used to avoid Japanese TV - so much of it is bad beyond belief. Once you know which shows to watch though, I'd never miss some of those shows even if I returned home. I guess the same could be said for TV anywhere.

I love Japan, it's got so many odd contradictions. It would be a hard place to live for a long period after Australia though. The spaces of Australia make it easy to live in, It's hard to get too pissed off with no one under your feet. I have Japanese friends and they are very hard to know intimately, even ones who grew up here. There is a closed repressed vibe with nearly all of the Japanese people I now. I have one friend that went to American school but is full Japanese and he's very western and open though. He's arm around your shoulder open and friendly, he's got the hottest Aussie wife....I'd be so happy I'd hug everyone too. Most of my other Japanese friends struggle to retain eye contact and would shift away if you tried to touch them.

There's a saying in Japanese culture "The nail that sticks out gets hammered down.” It’s hard to be different, and any deviance is met with resistance.

Let me guess - your must see shows are Tokyo Friend Park (is it still on?) and anything hosted by any of the guys from SMAP ;)

There's a saying in Japanese culture "The nail that sticks out gets hammered down.” It’s hard to be different, and any deviance is met with resistance.

Someone should have told Jeremy Cameron, but paraphrased it as 'The elbow that sticks out cops 6 - 8 weeks at least for that sort of nonsense'.

In
St trav IMO the traits you ascribe to the green party are often claimed by all parties, whether you see it in them depends on your own views.

Views often driven by self-interest, people would like to believe otherwise but it's actually normal and healthy to generally put your own interests ahead of the interests of others.

You really don't like badly boomers do you, at some point in time you will realise that nobody got out of the way for us nor were we handed anything. Do you think it was all a walk in the park for your parents.

We dealt with the world we lived in just the same as we still do. Being nostalgic is not a crime I'm sure you feel it to from time to time.

You do know that it's pretty hard to find a job over 40 and incredibly difficult for people over 50.

What was considered a good education in my day for most is the bare minimum now.

One thing you can depend upon is change, it's something we all have to deal with. I was always taught that people who embrace inevitable change do better.

Yes the news is full of rubbish but to pin it on my generation is a bit hot IMO.

I could just as easily argue that the news and news cycle is driven by the attitudes and lifestyles of the younger generation.

So many opinion pieces and the subject matter would lead me to believe it's definitely not pitched at my generation.

Lindsay Tanner's book dumbing down democracy is well worth reading, you might like it.

I have 4 children st trav so I give a dam about the future and what we will leave to others.

I see the difficulties my children and their friends face and the incredible opportunities they have. I actually think they have things pretty good to be honest.

Love the debate by the way.

In any political debate I always refer back to Paul Keating's quote (via Jack Lang), " in a race, always back self interest. At least you know it's trying." If I had to sum up my time consulting to the APS and government in Canberra, it is neatly encapsulated by this. The country is run, not by the politicians, but their faceless minions, or mandarins as we called them. As one of them told me, "politicians are just passing through, mostly. We're here for the long haul. Far better to keep us on side, than our temporary bosses. What amused me the most is how the pollies saw themselves. The Greens apparently had a mortgage on conservation and tolerance, the ALP prided itself on its social conscience and egalitarianism, whilst the LP was the only party that could successfully manage the economy and stimulate growth. All of these things, are of course, self conceits. They pay millions of dollars to spin doctors to reinforce these myths and ensure we don't see the truth about them. There are good and dedicated politicians, but they are in the minority. Most are like bananas. When they arrive in that place they are green, hard and full of promise. After a few years, most of them end up yellow, back, rotten and soft.
*Sorry, but I had to throw in this famous Keatingism when he addressed his Cabinet Colleagues, "If they handed out degrees for greed, you c*nts would all be awarded PhDs!"

let me clarify ... i dont hate baby boomers ... but i do hate the way a percentage of baby boomers push the faults of the world onto the Millennials... i respect my elders and the sacrifices they made but im not going to accept the mud thrown our way especially when most of our generations problems were the results of their generations doings ...

nostalgia is fine except when its used as a tool on dictating our future boomers like the Abbotts and the PHanson's in politics use this warped sence of how great the good old days were and use that to dictate how we move forward.. this is a very very bad idea...
Nostalgia is the ultimate use of confirmation bias. Things weren't that much better in the so-called good old days, if at all. We choose to remember things that comfort us and reinforce our world view. I'll never forget stories my dad told me about POW camp in WW2. Almost made it sound like a holiday camp where everyone got up to mischief. There were snippets of reality that occasionally slipped through, balancing the nostalgia ledger somewhat.

I just look back and realise how stupid I was not to take advantage when times were good. I'd hate to be young and starting out now. When I bought my first house we bought in Elwood and the 3 bedroom house cost 2 years wages for 2 people. Electricity, petrol, gas, telephones etc were cheap. Uni was free, I didn't even know private health cover was thing and if I wanted to see the doctor I'd walk in with out paying a cent. I could holiday overseas and buy a nice car on a very average wage. It was so good I thought it would last for ever. should have bought 4 houses.

I love Japan, it's got so many odd contradictions. It would be a hard place to live for a long period after Australia though. The spaces of Australia make it easy to live in, It's hard to get too pissed off with no one under your feet.
Lots of space, but also lots of dickheads. I actually find it hard going back to Oz now and putting up with all the aggression you encounter especially if you go out at night. Not to mention all the crime. Had my car broken into countless times in my 20s. Here people leave their ski luggage in the foyer of the station and go off and have dinner somewhere.

I have Japanese friends and they are very hard to know intimately, even ones who grew up here. There is a closed repressed vibe with nearly all of the Japanese people I now. I have one friend that went to American school but is full Japanese and he's very western and open though. He's arm around your shoulder open and friendly, he's got the hottest Aussie wife....
It's ok, I got revenge on Australia's behalf. :p

I'd be so happy I'd hug everyone too. Most of my other Japanese friends struggle to retain eye contact and would shift away if you tried to touch them.
Yeah, you're right overall - but there are friendly people whichever country you visit. A bartender was hugging me the other night at the end of a pretty loose evening. Some people here will tell you their life story the moment you meet, others you can know for years and not know a thing about them.

Lots of space, but also lots of dickheads. I actually find it hard going back to Oz now and putting up with all the aggression you encounter especially if you go out at night. Not to mention all the crime. Had my car broken into countless times in my 20s. Here people leave their ski luggage in the foyer of the station and go off and have dinner somewhere.

It's ok, I got revenge on Australia's behalf. :p

Yeah, you're right overall - but there are friendly people whichever country you visit. A bartender was hugging me the other night at the end of a pretty loose evening. Some people here will tell you their life story the moment you meet, others you can know for years and not know a thing about them.

Yeah I love that about Japan it just feels really safe where ever you go. I'm probably being a bit of a stereo typer anyway. Some are more open than others. One of my mates has a Japanese wife who is like silent demon. She never raises her voice or conveys anything outwardly but radiates ill will when we go out drinking or stay too late when she's had enough. She's awesome. She looks sweet as pie but you can just feel the inner hard arse coming through. She has him by the balls without needing to make a noise. My wife is eastern european so no filter, if she thinks it she says it. They couldn't be more different.

My other mate with a Japanese wife has the opposite she's chill as **** and like doesn't get upset about anything, she's like one of the boys.

Let me guess - your must see shows are Tokyo Friend Park (is it still on?) and anything hosted by any of the guys from SMAP ;)
I've never heard of the first one! Nah, not a boy band fan or middle aged man band fan. But actually Nakai from SMAP grew on me. Can't sing for crap but seems like a really great guy. The others I'd be happy to never see again.

But yeah anything by the Downtown guys, Ametalk and loads of the annual comedy specials. Some of the Dokkiri surprise and monitoring shows are cruel as, but jeez they're funny.

Does anyone have any experience/knowledge of CBD cannabis? It is strain developed only recently, I believe.

In Ireland and the States, CBD cannabis is legal to sell if it's THC content is 0.2% or under.

For those who aren't aware, CBD is a very mild, organically grown weed used for anti-anxiety, relaxation and medicinal purposes. It does not get you stoned in the traditional sense, due to low THC content. Personally I haven't used it, but would have no hesitation.

Anyone know of other countries that have legalised selling CBD cannabis/hemp in bud/flower form?

With the recent repealing of the legislation in this area, there is significant potential for businesses I feel to open up stores/cafes selling buds/coffee, Etc.

CBD weed is booming in California, apparently.

Does anyone have any experience/knowledge of CBD cannabis? It is a relatively new strain of cannabis, I believe.

In Ireland and the States, CBD cannabis is legal to sell if it's THC content is 0.2% or under.

For those who aren't aware, CBD is a very mild, organically grown weed used for anti-anxiety, relaxation and medicinal purposes. It does not get you stoned in the traditional sense, due to low THC content. Personally I haven't used it, but would have no hesitation.

Anyone know of other countries that have legalised selling CBD cannabis/hemp in bud/flower form?

With the recent repealing of the legislation in this area, there is significant potential for businesses I feel to open up stores/cafes selling buds/coffee, Etc.

CBD weed is booming in California, apparently.

A friend lives in Colorado and they aren't smoking mild weed there. One of my American mates was laughing at a meme someone sent him that was something along the lines of "5 ounces of weed and 7 joints for $50...what a time to be alive". If Trump doesn't destroy the american empire the weed should do the rest.

LOL. True true, one of my concerns with it (from a purely business perspective) is that it may not get the stoners in, as you don't get stoned.

However, it could potentially open up an entirely new and much larger market.

According to this -- https://www.eaze.com/blog/posts/eaze-insights-2017-cannabis-data-report

Every 10 seconds in the States, someone orders pot from that website.